We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Whaler's Inn

#3 of 14 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
20 East Main St, Mystic, CT 06355
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Whaler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Whaler's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 485: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the location and small inn feel of The Whaler's Inn. While it was a short visit, it was a great location right in Mystic, even in the cold of winter. The rooms were pretty standard, but fine.

Helpful?
1 Thank CudaRoo
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm so happy to hear that you had a nice stay at the Inn this February. I hope you can visit us in the warmer months too. Mystic offers many outdoor activities such as art & food festivals, outdoor music & dining and many different ways to get out on... More 

Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved everything! Our room was comfortable, cozy and the decor was very nice. The front desk staff went above and beyond. Even to get me a floor fan for sleeping. The continental breakfast was fresh, clean and delicious. The staff was so nice. The parking was so convenient and we walked to stores and restaurants from the Inn. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were in the duluxe room with fireplace and jacuzzi. The only problem was you could not watch TV from bed. The very large and high bed posts were totally in the way. The TV is located on a side wall in a cabinet. SOOOOOOOOOOOOO the cabinet door is in the way as well as the high bed post! I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fran K
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I want to first apologize that you did not receive a response in regards to your email in a timely manner. Due to your comments at checkout and the email we received, the Innkeeper has been diligently looking into alternate television placement. The television cabinets are currently designed so that... More 

CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had plans to take my 3 sisters to diner in Mystic at my favorite restaurant Daniel Packer Inn for my Christmas present treat to my sisters. We all had about an hour drive and it snowed all day so last minute we had to stay overnight because roads were just to bad plus we had a few drinks. So... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Bankerbuddy
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review

I was so excited when I read this review! It sounds like you and your sisters had a great holiday visit in Mystic. That is the exact experience we wish for everyone that visits us. Thank you for the many compliments about breakfast and the guest rooms. I want to wish you and your family have a very Merry Christmas.... More 

bath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Whaler's Inn for a weekend in December. This is not a quaint New England B&B or Inn but a small hotel - not a lot of character in the building or the room we stayed in. We were greeted warmly by the staff and given information about local restaurants, etc. and shown where... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank packardhouse
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I spent three relaxing nights here in a queen room with fireplace, sitting area, jacuzzi, and river view. After my two planed nights, I extended for a third night because the room was so clean, pleasant, and comfortable. The location is on the river and right downtown. It was easy to walk to shop and eat. There are several "houses"... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mbmmn
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the room enough to extend to your stay! I hope we can welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Nicole Capalbo - Assistant Manager More 

Goffstown, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We arrived and asked to be located away from other guests. The front desk was very accommodating and even though I paid for a queen room, we were upgraded to a king at no extra charge (and probably easily since we stayed off-season and arrived on Thursday). The place is not new but it was very very comfortable and clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jlmtheroux
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. I am pleased to hear that the staff was able to accommodate your wishes efficiently and to your liking. It is very important to us that all guests are comfortable! It sounds like the Inn was the perfect fit for you! Thank you again and... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

i stayed here and found it to be awful, the beds were uncomfortable and itchy, the bathroom wasn't up to much either, i have stayed in far better places and look forward to never seeing this place again

Helpful?
4 Thank Ge0rge_TheCat
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not like your stay here at Inn. This review has completely baffled the staff and myself. We cannot identify what room you stayed in, nor were any formal complaints filed with the desk. I can assure you that most of our guests do not feel as strongly about the Inn as you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Don't stay in the Stonington house. Our room had a tremendous mold odor, found it difficult to breathe even. Front desk staff responded to us promptly and moved us into a room in the Noank house which was much better. Would recommend staying on top floor as you can hear a lot of guest noise and foot traffic. Location was... More 

Helpful?
Thank girlswkend
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn. We are happy to hear that the staff was able to move you to a more suitable accommodation. We are sorry for the “odor” and want to assure you we are taking steps to make the Stonington House a more desired building. We will be making many improvements during our... More 

Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location is nice. You can walk to some good restaurants and it's nice to walk or sit along the Mystic River. The staff was extremely friendly. They also offer discounted tickets to Mystic Seaport so I saved $4 each. As for the hotel itself: The bed was very uncomfortable and neither of us slept well either night. The pillows... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobertEY
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. The Main Inn (where your room was located) is a historic New England Inn built in the early 1900’s. We have made the decision to embrace the historic nature of this building (sloping hallways, creaky lobby floors and all!) Many of the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.4 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#2 of 14 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Noted for having the best location in Mystic, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown. Guests can easily walk to our lively Main Street filled with specialty shops and fine restaurants & pubs. During your visit meander past beautiful historic sea captain's homes along the Mystic River. The world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea is just a ten minute walk away. Luxury guestrooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs & water views are perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family friendly rooms as well as conference space for our business travelers. Just a 7 minute walk from Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn and Mystic is perfect getaway between Boston and New York City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 East Main St, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Price Range: $228 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay