We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
155 Alain White Rd, Morris, CT 06763-1419
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (181)
Room & Suite (160)
Dining (25)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Nestled in the Litchfield Hills lies a quiet getaway; Winvian. Set amidst 113-acres and bordering extensive woods and lakes, Winvian was created to recharge and indulge. No less than fifteen architects have designed 18 individualized cottages that combine the whimsical with the traditional, the modern with the historical. Each has enough surprises to lure and charm without detracting from the views, the surrounding nature and the comforts that allow guests to relax and rejuvenate. ~18 individual, custom designed cottages and one (1) master suite~Cottage sizes range from 950 to 1,250 square feet~5,000 full service Spa with 6 individual treatment rooms~Executive Boardroom will full IT and conferencing capability~Celebrations, weddings, parties, events, etc in our Gordon Brown house~AAA 5-Diamond rated restaurant ~AAA 5-Diamond rated hotel~Member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux society~Conde Nast Top 30 US Small Resort~Surrounded by 4,000 acres of the White Memorial Preserve~Privately owned and fully confidential property.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Seating area
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch
256Reviews3Q+A77Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 170
  • 47
  • 27
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MJH161 wrote a review Oct 9
Denver, Colorado197 contributions171 helpful votes
We stayed at three different Relais and Château properties on a trip to the Hudson Valley. The Blantyre was nice but had a few issues. The Bedford Post Inn was flirting with disaster and doesn’t even belong in the group. The Winvian was by far the best. Our maritime cabin in the woods was delightful. We had a wood-burning fireplace, a screened in deck, a very unique king bed set in a lighthouse motif, nice bathroom, A refrigerator, an icemaker, a heated bathroom floor that actually worked! Some of these may seem like they would be obvious inclusions, but that wasn’t the case at some of the other Relais properties. The setting was great with the woods in our backyard and a pond nearby. The food was also outstanding here. Here the staff all seem to be rowing in the same boat and in the same direction. One example is that when we went to dinner, the cleaning crew would tidy up our room. Again that may seem obvious but we didn’t have that experience at other places.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Win S wrote a review Oct 1
Warren, Vermont11 contributions3 helpful votes
First of all. Full disclosure. Winvian is owned by my former wife, but I have no financial involvement in it. I was recently there as a member of a group who stayed four night and three days. Having not stayed there for awhile I was impressed by the safe environment and the COVID protocols that were in place. I also notice that many of the cottages had been updated and refreshed. On my last stay I noticed some deferred maintenance building up but this has been addressed. It was also nice to see that the veteran staff was still in place and their service was as good as I remembered it. They arranged numerous activities for us including golf, tennis, fishing, hiking, and on premise games. A favorite hike was in Steep Rock Preserve in Washington and only 20 minutes away. We had a delicious packed lunch on the summit. We did not participate but they also offer fencing and axe throwing. Next time perhaps. At one dinner we had a talk from staff members of The Litchfield Historical Society and learned about the impact that USA’s first law school (Tapping Reeves) had on our early history. The Society is located in the middle of Litchfield and worth the visit. The Institute of American Indian Studies is located in nearby Washington, CT and also worth a visit. We were also treated one evening to the music of Paul Winter who lives in Litchfield. And, we gathered around the fire on the great lawn after dinner for coffee, discussion and S’mores. Then of course there was the cuisine of Chef Chris Eddy who was mentored by Alain Ducasse and has been at Winvian since opening day. Much of his product is grown right at Winvian, and his dishes are creative and delicious. Serving a group of twenty can be challenging but it was done flawlessly. Ask for the Risotto. Several from our group flew into Bradley Airport which is only an hour away. They commented on the efficiency of the airport and how close it was to Winvian. One special treat was seeing a mother bobcat with two of her kittens in the field. We watched her from a distance for some time and one of the group took some excellent photos of them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: They are all uniqure so it really depends on what type of experience you prefer.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
despinaalves wrote a review Sep 2021
Boston, Massachusetts1 contribution
Exceeded my expectations. Came for my husband 40th. Staff treated us like family, the service was so detailed. Loved every minute. The food was extremely unique and tasteful. The property had alot to do.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Smith, Owner at Winvian
Responded 4 weeks ago
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and that you choose Winvian as the location to celebrate your 40th birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back. Heather Smith Managing Director
Read more
Karen4ideas wrote a review Sep 2021
New York City, New York4 contributions4 helpful votes
Billed as a luxe resort, it was hardly that. One of our 3 cottages had non-functioning lights so we needed lamps dragged in. The bikes barely get you from point A to point B. The magnetic keys lose their magnet easily, forcing you to walk in the pitch black to reception at night. Breakfast hour ends at 9:30–hardly relaxing. And you are nickel and dined for everything. A basket of cheap chips cost $56? S’mores with marshmallows and chocolate crackers cost $75? Most notably, bookkeeping is a travesty. Bills were a mess and we were accused of drinking beverages we didn’t touch. So rude, so insulting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Smith, Owner at Winvian
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Morning Karen, I have seen your comments about your recent stay. I take our guests feedback quite seriously, the praises as well as the rare criticism. While I make a point to address any feedback privately with the guests, I did feel the need to address this here due to many of the inaccuracies that you posted. First, you are correct, there was a lighting issue with a few of the panels. We have a full-time maintenance and facilities team and we pre-check each cottage before checking in but at times an issue can arise that we are unable to predict. That, apologetically, did happen to occur with your cottage. As you are aware the moment we were informed of the issue we attempted to remedy it. When that did not work we offered you an upgrade from cottage you were in to a cottage in our top tier 4 which you declined. We then delivered extra lamps to replace the lights which were on the lighting system and not working properly. I am sorry that the breakfast hours were not to your liking. Due to the impact COVID has had on the hospitality industry we have adjusted some of our restaurant hours to ensure our guests still receive the 5 star service we are known for. It is true that Winvian offers high quality products that have a higher price point but the reference of nickeling, and diming is not true. The basket you requested included more than just chips - it has two bags of deep river chips, popcorn, four bags of Yum Earth Gummy bears, two containers of Pringles and a large Miss Maude's Chocolate bar. You were shown this basket when you were in the reception area, and you then requested one be brought to your cottage. As for the S'mores - at your request We set up a private bonfire with S'mores for you and 6 of your party which incurred the price of $75. The price was communicated in advance and is also easily available online. I am sorry you did not report the issues with the bikes considering you and your parties’ consistent usage over the three days you visited. Had we known we would have replaced and/or attended to them immediately. I did check our pre-check notes and the bikes were inspected per usual. Our team goes above and beyond, are gracious and respectful even when they do not receive the same treatment from some guests. If you would like to discuss the matter further I can always be reached at hsmith@winvian.com Heather Smith Managing Director Winvian
Read more
jmsgnewyork wrote a review Jul 2021
New York20 contributions20 helpful votes
Just spent two nights here and it was tranquil, relaxing and very Covid friendly. I gave it five stars because the setting was magnificent and the service was really good, but it was not without fault. A few things I’d like them to improve, especially considering the price…1) the times for meals were very narrow and not conducive to a relaxing vacation. If you’re hungry at 2:30, only option is to go off premise. 2) the bugs are out of control at night, so eating dinner outside was not enjoyable. We asked for bug spray, but there were no candles or fans or anything to naturally deter them and we got eaten up! 3) everything had to be booked in advance. Spa appointments especially. Overall, if you have 48 hours to getaway, and want to do almost nothing, it’s a great place to go, unwind and recharge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book things in advance - spa appointments, dinner reservations (go to Arethusa one night) and...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Smith, Owner at Winvian
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback and I am happy to see your enjoyed your time with us. I do understand that the dining hours are a bit restrictive right now. COVID has had a very large impact on the hospitality industry. We had had to make some adjustments in timing to ensure we can continue to deliver the 5 star service we are known for. I appreciate the feedback on the bugs during your dinner outside I am sorry that impacted your experience negatively. We hope to welcome you back to Winvian. Heather Smith Managing Director
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
winvian hotel morris, winvian resort morris
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutMorris
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Winvian
Which popular attractions are close to Winvian?
Nearby attractions include White Memorial Conservation Center (1.7 miles), Topsmead State Forest (4.1 miles), and Bantam Cinema (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Winvian?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Winvian?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Winvian?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Winvian?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Winvian?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arethusa al tavolo, West Street Grill, and Litchfield Saltwater Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Winvian?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, an outdoor pool, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Winvian located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Morris.
Are pets allowed at Winvian?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Winvian offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Winvian?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Dutch.