We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Middletown

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (44)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Middletown
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Water park offsite
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
740Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 463
  • 161
  • 70
  • 34
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mitzy S wrote a review Apr 14
1 contribution
My experience was excellent. My car battery died, and the attendants Joe and Paul were v very helpful getting the car jumpstarted and got me to my event on time and helped put my very heavy suitcases in the car. The rooms were clean, spacious and the beds comfortable. The brioche French toast in the restaurant was a delicious treat!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Do let the valet know if you want your car on the street or in the courtyard when they go get it...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Middletown
Responded today
No one wants a dead car battery that is for sure! I am so relieved that our staff were able to assist you with this so that you were able to get to your event in a timely manner. It is wonderful to hear of the deeds of fellow team members and to hear directly from guests how this impacted their stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding staff as well as the quality of the rooms and food in our restaurant, we greatly appreciate this. I hope all is well with the car and that we see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laurie M wrote a review Apr 8
1 contribution
My recent visit to the Inn was less than what I had expected for an establishment with such history and higher room rates. Although staff was accommodating, the uncleanliness of my room did not make for a great experience. The room was dusty, stains on the carpet, rusty nails lying on the heating/cooling system and left behind food was found in a corner. When I checked out, I brought all of this to the attention of the maitre d', for future reference and future guests stay. The gentleman at the front desk offered breakfast, which was appreciated, however, did not influence my overall dissatisfied experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Middletown
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us - these are items of concern that should absolutely be addressed, especially concerning cleanliness. This is not at all what we hope for our guests to take away from their experience here with us and I am very sorry this is what you will remember. If you do decide to give us another chance, please make sure to ask to speak to Mason or Nicole when booking the reservation so that we can discuss your previous stay and try and create a better experience for you and memory of the Inn. The items you addressed have been relayed to the appropriate department to be handled accordingly. Thank you for sharing, and again, us falling short of delivering a quality experience for you is unacceptable and if you do wish to discuss this any further, do not hesitate to reach out and ask for Brent Thomsen, the General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sharon wrote a review Apr 1
9 contributions2 helpful votes
I made this reservation for two rooms weeks in advance as going to see a show at Wesleyan which my niece was in. My other niece and friend were joining me hence the two rooms. I booked one room with a king size bed and one with two doubles (all that they said they had left). I checked the day before and they were still taking reservations for king bed rooms but thought I did not mind having the double bed room and my family (a couple) could have the king room. Unfortunately both rooms were two doubles, my room had (old) coffee stains on the carpet and the towels had long threads hanging off them and were very thin. Not what you expect at a hotel like this. We (both rooms) were booked right over the parking lot where a party took place the night we were there at 3AM and was not shut down by the hotel. Then around 6 and again around 6:30 two garbage trucks came by to dump dumpsters-also right under the room's windows. The check in person announced my room number to me on check in which is not a safe practice - there were many other people around-thought this was Hotel Safety 101 practice to not announce room numbers I complained the morning of check out about the many interruptions during the night and the front desk person got quite defensive when I asked if I got poor room placement because I booked through Expedia/Hotels.com. They did give us a free breakfast but we waited over 20 minutes to get served as there was just one very overworked service person in the restaurant. It does have a lovely lobby! Oh well.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Middletown
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Sharon, I appreciate you taking the time to leave an honest review. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We have let our housekeeping staff know about the stains and to check towels to take out of rotation. I appreciate you letting us know about these things. I have also talked to my staff about not saying the room number out loud, this is not in our regular practice and is definitely against safety protocols. As for your room placement, both reservations you booked came directly from expedia as handicapped double reservations. We only have three of these in the hotel and they are all in similar locations on the first, second, and third floors. I can assure you we did not place you in a room we thought would be unsatisfactory because of your booking method. Our front desk representative you talked to informed me that it was not her intention to be defensive. She wanted to assure you that we do not "target" guests. I am sorry your sleep was interrupted by noise. We always are staffed at the front desk and are happy to keep the peace and quiet guests and parties when they are too loud. We received no complaints on the night of your stay. As for the garbage trucks, they are for the restaurant next door and come once per week. I appreciate you letting me know so that I can make a schedule of local trucks and try to move guests away from that side of the building when they come. Unfortunately because we were sold out that night, it was not an option. Again, thank you for leaving a review and if you would like to talk to upper management about your stay, do not hesitate to call and ask for our Brent, our general manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
C G wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Requested late checkout and early check in weeks earlier when we made the reservation. When I arrived, I was told they could not accommodate the late check out if I also wanted an early check in. I asked why and they could not provide an explanation. I found out later, they accommodated another family staying there that weekend that hadn’t requested a late check out and had checked in after we did. Honor your requests and do better with your customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Middletown
Responded 4 weeks ago
I am disappointed that this is your overall takeaway from this experience and it saddens me that we did not execute excellent service for you. When it comes to late check-outs, unfortunately they are never a guarantee. I am happy we were able to accommodate for your early arrival at least; those unfortunately cannot be guaranteed either, however, if we can, we do make them happen. We do the absolute best we can to achieve every guest's requests to the best of our ability. As much as we wish we could accommodate for all individuals, it is not always achievable. There are extenuating circumstances for other situations and other guests that we of course cannot share that might explain why one and not others were granted that were discussed in private with front desk; regardless, we are so sorry it feels we let you down. Discussions are being had in regards to events like last weekend that may return, so we can try and navigate the possibility of addressing such an extensive request of late check-outs for this specific type of event in the future. It does require a different set of circumstances and requirements. I realize this does not help you now, and again we are sorry that it resulted in your frustration and disappointment with your stay . This is never what we want and I cannot express enough that we did not want this to be the outcome for anyone when it came to the late check-out requests. We simply could not approve them all unfortunately, and again, if there was someone approved after you, you say, I can not speak to private conversations had with front desk regarding certain circumstances. That being said, I do hope you give us a chance in the future to try and create a better experience and more rewarding memory for you. Please do not hesitate to reach out to the front desk and ask for a manager to discuss any future reservations you may have planned here with us. Thank you for your time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erika J wrote a review Jan 2024
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution
I wasn’t going to write a review, but I sent them an email a few weeks ago about our stay and didn’t receive any response or acknowledgment. I still feel weird doing this as I don’t like to complain, but I’m disappointed in the lack of follow up. I'm a Middletown native who no longer lives in CT, and neither does my extended family. When I need to go to Middletown, I usually make it a day trip or stay in a hotel due to having a toddler and a dog. Growing up, I always looked at the Inn at Middletown as a very elegant place. My sister had her rehearsal dinner there in 2008, and her out of state guests stayed there for her wedding and had wonderful things to say. I have eyed the Inn multiple times since my parents moved out of CT in 2021, but the prices were a bit too high due to the seasons I was visiting. When I needed to stay the night in Middletown in late December, I was so happy to see that, while not cheap, the prices at the Inn were reasonable enough to justify staying there. The front desk was extremely friendly, and the building was gorgeous as always. But I was very disappointed in the room I stayed in. The beds were made and high-touch surface areas wiped down, but I was a bit taken aback at the state of the room and the more detailed cleanliness. Having a toddler, I am a little more cognizant of cleanliness than I was before. There was trim falling off the corner of the wall. The AC/heating unit had dust and a stain that was easily wiped off with one of my clorox wipes. When I was wiping down the shower, I saw two strands of pubic hair in the shower. There were visible strands of hair on the bathroom floor. The towels had seen better days. There was no cord to the phone, it was completely detached. Also, as someone else noted, the AC/heating unit was so loud it prevented us from being able to sleep. My main issue was regarding the bedding on both beds. On the bed my sister slept on, there were two large holes in the sheets, leaving her exposed to the mattress protector which I assume is not washed in between guests. On my bed, there was a blood stain on the duvet. While I appreciate the duvet had clearly been bleached due to the coloring of the stain, it still was unnerving. Finally, when we returned to the hotel at about 9pm one night, there was no one at the front desk. Not a big deal at all to me. But there was someone, who judging by her demeanor, was neither a guest nor an employee, wandering throughout the first floor. I'm assuming to avoid suspicion, she stopped right at our room door, not realizing that it was actually our hotel room. Once we also arrived at the room and took out the key card, she appeared taken aback and kept walking. She appeared harmless and it was cold outside, so I did not escalate this, but since no one was at the front desk and we did not have a phone, even if I wanted to alert the staff, I'm not sure how I would have. Due to the prices of the hotel, I would think that there would be better security measures in place. Overall, while the location is fantastic and it was nice to be "home" again, I am not sure if I will stay at the Inn in the future. The options right outside of Middletown have proven to be not only cheaper, but had a higher standard of cleanliness as well. During past occasions where we almost stayed at the Inn, prices were ~$400+ a night. While I still feel that I paid a lot during my visit, I would have been much more upset had I paid that much money for a room in the state it was in. This is in no way meant to single out any person who worked at the hotel during my stay, nor to the employee who cleaned our room prior to the stay, as again, towels were provided, the beds were made, and high-touch surfaces were wiped down. The service industry is tough and I'm sure everyone was doing their best. Rather, I think this may be more indicative of a systemic issue at the Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Santiago, Owner at Inn at Middletown
Responded Jan 24, 2024
There are no words to express how saddened I am reading this, especially regarding the lack of follow through. This is not the standard we expect to deliver at the Inn at Middletown, and I myself am frustrated knowing that no-one reached out to you. I will speak directly to management regarding this because it is unacceptable. I imagine you feel ignored and that is the absolute last thing I would ever want our guests to feel. I apologize that this was not handled appropriately and I appreciate your candor as well as kindness through all of this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ArtichokeontheGo wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Room heater so noisy we couldn't sleep with it running but froze with it off. Hallway and elevators smell mildewy. No soap in the shower dispenser. No towel racks. If it wasn't for the absolutely terrific staff at the front desk, I would have given it an even lower score.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Santiago, Owner at Inn at Middletown
Responded Jan 24, 2024
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. This is not the experience we want for our guests and all of what you have highlighted is being relayed to the general manager on site. I am grateful and happy to hear of your experience with the front desk. The items you highlighted regarding equipment and housekeeping items are concerning and I will relay this to the appropriate departments. It saddens me that this is your take away from your experience, that being said, your honest is appreciated. I do hope you might give us another chance in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andreas S wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Warm reception. Nice rooms and fantastic bar/restaurant in the hotel. The bar tender Lisa is very attentive and makes the best old fashions in town. Just a lovely experience. Had the strip steak for dinner. Made to perfecion. So Much credit also goes to the chef!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Parking outside is metered. Download the parking app.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Santiago, Owner at Inn at Middletown
Responded Jan 18, 2024
We are so happy to hear of your stay with us! Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave feedback for our team here. The encouraging and supportive words always go a long way. Thank you again and we hope you have the chance to return for a stay with us in the future or even just to try out another Entrée at the Tavern.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gail R wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Stayed at the inn while visiting family. Check in and out was effortless. Room was clean and updated. Rooms were quiet. No noise from other rooms or hallway. Bed was comfy. Self parking could be a problem but there is also valet parking. Ate breakfast in the restaurant. Waitress was great. She remembered us on our 2nd visit. Food was plentiful and delicious. Would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Santiago, Owner at Inn at Middletown
Responded Jan 1, 2024
Happy New Year to you and yours! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us at the Inn; that is always our goal and it is rewarding to hear it was achieved. We hope to have you back with us sometime again. Never hesitate to give us a call at the front desk and one of us would be happy to assist you. Thank you for helping us step into 2024 with such positive feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sean B wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
My wife and I came in on a date night and the food was amazing. Everything was so great but Darcey really made the night so enjoyable. So nice, great recommendations, and amazing old fashioned. Definitely coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Middletown
Responded Nov 24, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Tavern with us. The positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we love nothing more than to have our team members deliver excellent service and then also be recognized for this. We look forward to having you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jennifer L wrote a review Nov 2023
Marin13 contributions6 helpful votes
I really wanted to like this hotel, as it appears to be the only and closest hotel to Wesleyan. There were many small-ish events that were cumulative and resulted in a mediocre stay. I arrived exhausted at 12pm after a 10 hour red-eye. My room was ready, but I was told that I would be charged $50 extra to go to my room prior to 3pm check-in, although and again, it was ready and unoccupied. Annoying, but fine. I paid the $50 and went to my room. When I got there, there were about 16 people, wildly drunk (drinks in hand) running up and down the hallway. It was a bridal party. Yay. They were obnoxious and I just wanted to rest for an hour or so, but that was impossible with the noise. I asked the front desk if there was a wedding and I was informed "there are 3, so every floor is a party floor". Great. The front desk was not wrong and I was woken up the first night to the drunk bride getting locked out of her room at 2am screaming that "this is bullsh$%! this is the bridal suite". When I entered the room, the blackout blinds were down, covering the windows, but they were also broken, so I couldn't raise the darkening blinds. It was pitch black dar. I called the front desk and the phone rang and rang for 5 minutes with no answer and the call was disconnected. I tried again, no answer. I went down to the front desk and they sent an engineer, who wasn't able to fix the issue until the next day. Depressing. I sat in the dark for 24 hours. I also noticed that when I used the phone, there was dust caked onto the receiver. The room apparently hadn't been cleaned in some time because the clock wasn't changed with DST. I just went downstairs at 12pm to see if I could get a muffin from the restaurant, but was told kitchen was closed, but that they had packaged muffins that I could have for free because "THEY ARE EXPIRED". What? You are trying to give me packaged muffins that are expired. Ok, I was not expecting to check into the Four Seasons, but at the rate I paid, this was gross and totally unacceptable. They will not clean your room unless you ask, but when you call to the front desk, no one answers. Very frustrating. I wanted to support a local business when I travelled to Middletown, but I'm going to rent an Airbnb or stay in Hartford next time. It's not worth the frustration, mediocre service, poorly maintained rooms and lack of food options in a pinch.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicole Santiago, Owner at Inn at Middletown
Responded Nov 17, 2023
Thank you for reaching out and leaving this feedback for the Inn. I am really disappointed that this was your overall experience here with us, and a little bit at a loss for words. I have sent this over to the general manager so that all appropriate departments involved in the review you have detailed, will be followed up with, so these issues can be addressed in a thorough manner. The General Manager would love to hear from you if you find you have the time to reach out, it would be greatly appreciated. If you email frontdesk@innatmiddletown.com just ask for it to be forwarded to Brent. That being said, everyone's time is priceless, so I do not also expect you to take any more of your own time to follow up regarding this, it is truly your decision. I understand nothing can be done at this point to remedy the situation. I am terribly sorry this was your take away, and while I am not confident you would return again in the future, I would like us to have the chance to show you if you are to return, a positively memorable experience that we hope to always give our guests. Thank you for your time and hope to hear from you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Middletown area.
PRICE RANGE
$182 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at middletown hotel middletown
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutMiddletown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN AT MIDDLETOWN $186 ($̶2̶1̶4̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - CT

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Middletown
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Middletown?
Nearby attractions include Harbor Park (0.3 miles), Conspiracy (0.3 miles), and General Mansfield House (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Middletown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Middletown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Middletown?
Conveniently located restaurants include MONDO, Fiore II Restaurant, and Amici Italian Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Inn at Middletown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Middletown.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Inn at Middletown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Middletown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castle Craig (9.7 miles) and The Isaac C. Lewis Mansion (7.9 miles).
Is Inn at Middletown accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.