We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
70 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457-3407
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$214
Travelocity$214
Hotels.com$214
Priceline$214
FindHotel$214
Trip.com$232
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (39)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn at Middletown
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Middletown
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Water park offsite
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
673Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 438
  • 155
  • 51
  • 20
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JoanneNY wrote a review Sep 27
2 contributions
Hotel was really nice and enjoyed our stay for our sons wedding. I just wish there was a bit better parking, we decided to just use valet parking. The reception desk, gentleman was very nice and friendly at checkin and checkout. The restaurant downstairs food was good, service was good. Waitresses are excellent. So sweet and very helpful. I rate them all a 5*****. I will definitely stay there again if I am back in town again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tobine2930 wrote a review Sep 25
13 contributions27 helpful votes
Very nice hotel in good location- right on main street next to Mondos - fun casual pizza/pasta/panini place with great food and bar. Taverns place at hotel not open for lunch, just breakfast and dinner. I was annoyed the whirlpool was closed, specifically booked for some relaxation there. That should be communicated on website or when booking. So call before if you’re interested because they said “its been down for some time.” Pool is very small but nice. Room is a good size and very clean! Woman at front desk very kind and helpful. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Whirlpool out of order 👎🏼
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vtm2733 wrote a review Sep 14
Los Angeles, California27 contributions19 helpful votes
The Wi-Fi is just terrible which just shouldn’t be the case. And we were surprised to learn there is no maid service. I have never been to a hotel before that doesn’t offer maid service. It’s an adequate place to stay here in Middletown. That’s about it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry J, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. I'm sorry to hear your stay was less than excellent! I am disappointed to learn your Wi-Fi wasn't working as expected, We will certainly look into this to make sure it was an isolated incident. We do provide housekeeping service, it is based on request. I'm sorry to hear that wasn't communicated to you at time of Check-in. We strive to make each of our guests' stay perfect, and I'm sorry we failed to do that for you. I'm always available to discuss your stay in further detail if you'd like. please feel free to reach out anytime.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madhu U wrote a review Sep 3
Lagos, Nigeria1 contribution
Great location & very polite & helpful staff. Rooms we stayed in were excellent. Parking was also very easy as the Car Park is big enough. Would definitely come back & stay at the Inn. Highly recommend the Inn to anyone visiting Middletown
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry J, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded 1 week ago
Hi MadhuU, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we're doing! I'm pleased to hear your room was excellent as well as the ease of parking. We're happy you enjoyed the location and we certainly appreciate the kind words regarding the team. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Middletown.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark O wrote a review Aug 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived in the evening at a very nice entrance and a sign indicating valent parking. (there was no one present to valent the vehicle). The evening manager, a gentleman, seemed like he could not be bothered with our questions and where to park. We parked behind the building with limited spots and many signs that we would be towed in many available spots. The rear entrance was at the beginning of an alleyway with dumpsters near the entrance. Not a safe area for a woman arriving alone. Dirty and smelled to boot. The room was clean, and the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. A very poor experience, and not to be repeated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: None. Find another place to stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry J, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Hi Mark, I'm so terribly sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations or ours. Arriving late in an unfamiliar area and unsure of parking protocol is not a great start to what should have been a great stay. Parking for the Inn can be a bit of a challenge but your car was safe in the rear of the building. I'm sorry our team didn't deliver the service that you deserved. I'm happy to hear the room was cleaned but saddened to hear your room wasn't comfortable. If you're ever back in the area, please give me a call- I'd be happy to ensure a great stay in the future! My best,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Early check in for the wedding party that arrived on early flights was so accommodating. The location made it walking distance to anything you could need, snakes, adult beverages, restaurants ect. Highly recommended for stays in middletown.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry J, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Hi William, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. We appreciate the great feedback and will share with the team!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sierra U wrote a review Aug 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania5 contributions
We chose the Inn at Middletown to use as the preferred hotel for our wedding, including a room block of 35+ rooms and suites (which is pretty substantial in a hotel that has under 100 rooms) and renting out the hotel bar for a wedding after party. The hotel itself is very nice, comfortable, and clean and the front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating from check in to check out. Can't say enough good things about them! The management/sales team and restaurant/bar staff were an entirely different story. They were extremely disorganized, unresponsive, and the customer service was far less than stellar. When I booked the after party, I was informed that the final payment was due at least 1 week in advance and they would not remind me, so I had to keep track of that date strictly (which was fine). About 3-4 weeks in advance I started checking in with the hotel, only to get passed around to 3+ different contacts at the hotel, all of which had no idea about my booking and seemed to think it was someone else's responsibility. I finally spoke with someone who seemed like they knew what they were doing, and they assured me they would reach out the week of for final payment. That never happened. The week of, I had to reach out again to ensure I would not be charged a late fee, and was once more passed around between staff members, all assuming it wasn't their job to deal with. This level of unprofessionalism was all baffling to me, especially since the hotel charges a 22% "service fee" for event bookings, which is separate from gratuity. 22% for this service??? The night of the after party, the bar staff was straight up rude to my guests and to my parents, who were footing the bill. I was extremely unimpressed and would not recommend wasting any of your money on hosting events at this site. We expected more when we were spending thousands of dollars on just a couple hours of relaxed drinks & pizza.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry J, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Hi Sierrans, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we're doing and the team. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our guest services team was available and accommodating. I am saddened to hear the rest of our team was not as accommodating. I'd love to have a phone call and discuss your experience and see what we can do to make that right. Best,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigate541209 wrote a review Aug 2022
Fort Collins, Colorado1 contribution
I stayed for a week at the Inn for work. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. They allowed me to check in early with my flight being changed which was so helpful. Online through Kayak the website said they were full but then I called the Inn directly and they had available rooms at same cost. The bed was comfortable, linens were nice. The photos on their website are a true representation. Nice location, can walk to many restaurants. Parking was easy. The hotel was clean and quite. Internet was good. Work out room is nice. Pool clean. Would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry J, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Hi Fort Collins Traveler, We're so very happy to hear you had a great stay during your week in Middletown. There truly isn't a better location when considering walking, restaurants, sightseeing, many downtown businesses, and just a stroll down Main street. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Middletown!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S wrote a review Aug 2022
Kansas City, Missouri5 contributions2 helpful votes
i was very excited to attend a wedding and for my wife and i to enjoy a luxury get-a-way. The inn looked amazing and we splurged on an upgrade. The bed was very comfortable and the staff were nice, but other things really dampened our enthusiasm. The internet was slow and unreliable and we weren't really able to use the TV to watch Netflix. The linens were not very nice and the coffee maker/coffee was bad and there was only 1 caffeinated and 1 decaffeinated offered. While I would not normally complain, this was a very expensive room and I had expected a much nicer experience. Nest time i will just stay at the Marriott...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry J, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Aug 3, 2022
Hi John, I'm so terribly sorry to hear that your stay was less than amazing while staying with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our beds but very disappointed to hear your Internet wasn't up to yours or our own expectations. We will look into that to ensure it was an isolated incident. Coffee is the first jolt of the day so I very sorry to learn you were not satisfied with that. Our coffee is a local roaster and we try and support as much as local as possible. We're also happy to provide as much additional coffee as you'd like. I understand your stay wasn't exactly what you were expecting - we would like to make this up to you. Please give me a call, I'd be happy to connect.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Nice place to stay. Room was clean and well taken care of. Staff was great with everything.Good restaurants with in walking distance. Staff made great suggestions on where to eat. The bar down stairs was a great place to grab a few drinks at after work.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry J, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Aug 3, 2022
Hi! Thanks for sharing your experience with us, we love that you had a great stay! We have lots of terrific restaurants within the walking distance as well as our our bar and restaurant as you mentioned. Our Tavern at the Amory is am awesome place to unwind and relax with a few night caps. Come back and visit us anytime!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$201 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at middletown hotel middletown
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutMiddletown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Middletown
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Middletown?
Nearby attractions include Adventure Rooms (0.6 miles), Kidcity Children's Museum (0.4 miles), and Wesleyan University (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Middletown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Middletown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Middletown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, a parking garage, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Middletown?
Conveniently located restaurants include MONDO, Celtic Cavern, and Luce.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Inn at Middletown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Middletown.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Inn at Middletown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Middletown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castle Craig (9.7 miles) and The Isaac C. Lewis Mansion (7.9 miles).