We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Middletown

Save
Share
70 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457-3407
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (37)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn at Middletown
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Middletown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Water park offsite
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
646Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 424
  • 148
  • 47
  • 18
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Martha w wrote a review Sep 2021
Augusta, Maine1 contribution
The accommodations were as expected. The staff was phenomenal. We were here with a big wedding group which isn’t the easiest crowd to accommodate but the staff went out of their way. Made early check in possible, everyone was pleasant and actually happy. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Nagler, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Sep 7, 2021
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your stay at the Inn. I have always said it that the staff makes the stay as they are the best. You cannot teach being friendly and kind. You need a lot of that if you want to work at the Inn at Middletown
Read more
Carolyn H wrote a review Sep 2021
White Plains, New York6 contributions
Our hiking club stayed at the Inn at Middletown, and they gave us a good group rate. The rooms were clean, spacious, and airy. The bed was very comfortable, and so were the pillows! I've never had such comfy pillows in a hotel. The blackout shades worked perfectly. My room was quiet. All of the staff were quite helpful, including one who helped one of my friends move to another room in the middle of the night due to mysterious noises in her room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Nagler, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Sep 7, 2021
Thank you for your great review. We enjoyed having your group stay with us as your club was extremely friendly and kind to my employees. I remember moving your friend as we had a short in a smoke detector and it kept chirping. All fixed now!!! We hope to see you next year.
Read more
Cherie R wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Great check in! Nice and helpful staff Clean public areas and rooms Bathrooms only ok need an update Hot tub still drained? COVID ? But pool full? Parking terrible on street only No valet Upon arrival Pillows are terrible bring your own We all woke up in neck pain Location great for Wesleyan
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Nagler, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Thank you for your review about your stay. I am sorry about any issue you had with parking as we have multiple options including valet and a self park lot behind the hotel. As for the hot tub we are waiting on a heater part and everything is backed up due to covid. We also have feather pillows for those who request something a little softer.
Read more
Dave L wrote a review Jul 2021
Perkasie, Pennsylvania4 contributions3 helpful votes
We journeyed to the Inn for a weekend wedding. Resrvations for the stay were simple and problem free. We received a pleasant notice from the Inn early in the week, welcoming or coming visit. We drove to the hotel using GPS. When we arrived at 720 Main Street, GPS said we were there. However, the only sign one could see from car window level was for a Lounge. Puzzled, we made a turn at the stop light a half block away. A person walking along the sidewalk was asked if they knew where the Inn might be. He said he was hiking there now. The puzzle is that the SIGN for the Inn is located on the Roof of the Inn...7 stories up. The gentleman said he was also in a wedding, but that he thought the valet parking fee was excessive, ($20 per day, his choice) so he was walking from the lot located BEHIND a local movie theatre, a distance of about 4-5 blocks away. He choose to do this, carrying his tux. The point here is that your options for parking are to valet or park behind a local strip shopping mall movie theatre. When arriving at a hotel or motel, we are used to being able to drive to the front door, unload, enter and check-in. Not at the Inn. At the Inn, if there is room, one can drive up into a three to four car semi-circle, open the trunk, unload the luggage, then enter and check inn. There is precious little room in the driveway, and there is no cover from sun or weather. You don't want to choose this option if it is raining. Unusual, no? Inconvenient, yes. Upon our arrival, the little drive was filled with four cars. Our option was to drive behind the Inn to a shared parking lot. The lot was accessible to different businesses on Main Street. Signs admonished potential parkers that the space was the property of such and such. We found a space, about two blocks from the rear of the Inn. From the space, I walked to the hotel building, thinking I would enter, check-in, then drive to the front of the building, in hopes of being able then to unload my luggage. Bad thinking. One cannot enter the rear of the hotel without a key. One cannot get a key, unless one checks in; you get the picture. Instead, one walks around the rear of the hotel, back around to Main Street, then down Main Street to the now famous semi-circle of a driveway... you get that picture. On the afternoon of our arrival, the temperature outdoors was 94 degrees and humid. Its not the Inn's fault that the walkabout was a sweaty journey. That said, it is the Inn's fault that the effort and procedures put in place are burdensome to the unwary traveler. Having made it into the lobby of the Inn, I was greeted by a person who had no intention of greeting me, or making eye contact. The opening greeting, (demand) was "I.D." This was followed with several pieces of paper I was to sign, but no eye contact. It was mechanically correct whilst being absent any charm, you know, like they often provide in the "hospitality" industry. After checking in, we then managed to walk to the back of the hotel, out to the parking lot. From there, we drove around to Main Street, got into the drive way queue, entered the hotel, got one of the two luggage trawleys, (no bell service offerred or available) and hauled the luggage to the room. Consider if you will, who hauls the luggage, and who moves the car. As there were two of us, I asked my spouse to stay with the car. I moved the luggage through the lobby, then to the elevator located, you guessed it, in the rear portion of the hallway, then up four floor, unload and come back down to the lobby, then out to the driveway. At this point, the queue is now four cars, with four more waiting on Main Street. My spouse is now the least popular person on Main Street;she is taking up driveway space and we have one of the two luggage trawleys available. Look, the rooms are fine. Clean, reasonably sized, nicely furnished. I've detailed the parking, check-in, luggage problems. The staff, other than a man named Clarence, were indifferent, at best. Finally, a note for those who like to celebrate weddings with family and friends. The Inn's lobby is microscopic. Aside from check-in, there is a curving staircase that descends from a mezzanine level, an entrance to the bar/lounge and,,,two side chairs and a little round table. The owners must be afraid that people entering their facility might "gather." I could go on, but what would the point be? This venue, in my opinion, would grade out from C minus to C, at best.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Nagler, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Jul 26, 2021
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay with us was not a positive one in many ways. We try and do the best we can with parking as we are in a downtown area where there is limited options right in front of the Inn. We keep the rear doors locked as we do not want uninvited visitors access which is pretty standard in most hotels. Our lobby is charming but not meant for large social gatherings as right on top of our spiral staircase we have a large prefunction area for our guests to mingle and gather
Read more
Jennifer K wrote a review Jul 2021
New York City, New York4 contributions
Lovely spaces, room and delicious carrot muffin waffles for breakfast! We stayed 1 night while attending a local wedding. Check in was fast and valet parking was very convenient. I will note that Google maps sent us to the loading dock in the back not the front entrance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary Nagler, General Manager at Inn at Middletown
Responded Jul 16, 2021
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I to love the carrot muffin waffles. I am sorry about the google confusion as sometimes technology is not what it is cracked up to be. Thank you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at middletown hotel middletown
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutMiddletown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Middletown
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Middletown?
Nearby attractions include Adventure Rooms (0.6 miles), Kidcity Children's Museum (0.4 miles), and Wesleyan University (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Middletown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Middletown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Middletown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, a parking garage, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Middletown?
Conveniently located restaurants include MONDO, Luce, and Celtic Cavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Inn at Middletown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Middletown.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inn at Middletown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Inn at Middletown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Middletown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castle Craig (9.7 miles) and The Isaac C. Lewis Mansion (7.9 miles).