We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
East Hartford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I made reservations on Hot Wire with my fiancé and sadly We weren't impressed by the appearance, location and reviews of this hotel when we drove by to see it. We were told it was a 3.5 to 4 star hotel. Successfully, we were able to cancel our reservation and obtain a full refund.

Helpful?
Thank Tara C
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
862 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is very nice right across from Bushnell Park. We had a stunning view of the State house from our window. The room was nice and pleasantly decorated with comfortable beds. Coffeemaker and efficient WIFI. Ample with outlets fir charging phones, PCs and so on. We were however three staying in the room (which our reservation confirmed). Still cups... More 

Helpful?
Thank EllenChr
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located very near from downtown, walking distance. Rooms are clean and housekeeping service is good to. Has good view for Bushnell park. Drawback is no restaurant, have to goto downtown. Has BF included.

Helpful?
Thank aamitg
i0498, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Aamitg, Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience while staying with us. We strive to provide excellent service at all times here at the Red Roof Plus Hartford and is happy to hear that you were pleased with the services rendered to you. We do not... More 

Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While this hotel is in a convenient location, it does leave a bit to be desired. There are multiple options for (paid) parking, but when booking you are only informed of the $17 lot at the hotel. Half a block before the hotel is a lot for $10 overnight. The doors to the rooms are not soundproof, and don't come... More 

Helpful?
Thank KnitWit G
i0498, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear KnitWit G, Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on your experience while staying with the Red Roof Plus Hartford. Making our guest feel welcomed and appreciated is our top priority so I am happy that you were pleased with the service you received... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
210 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Hartford for a concert at Black eyed Sally restaurant and wanted to stay within walking distance of restaurant,the last year we stayed at holmwood suites, we decided to stay at Red roof as it was close and cost was moderate. We came early so we paid extra for an upgrade for a room with great views, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank beverley d
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we came to know this hotel through Hotwire. it was a good experience. the rate was very reasonable; 83CAN$ for 3 adults + 17$ parking. for the breakfast who was supposed to end at 9AM, surprisingly it was closed before that time. but later on the manager offered to bring us some donuts from Dunkin Donuts but we already had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Razek S
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited with my wife during a long 6,000 miles road trip from and to Chicago. The hotel is well placed in downtown next to Bushnell Park directly opposite the beautiful State Capitol building. It occupies 9 floors but only the top 4 or 5 floors on the front of the building have a view of the Capitol and these are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoffers1817
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and have nothing but positive things to say. The hotel is located directly across from the Capitol and within a short walk to anywhere you need to be in downtown Hartford. The rooms were clean and relatively modern with comfortable beds. Plenty of good food options for any budget, several trendy restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank travj1212
Matawan, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

it was a beautiful room with a great view of the capital. It was clean. When we asked for additional towels - they came immediately. Beds were comfortable and linen clean. Hotel staff very friendly. Must eat at the Alladin Halal for pizza - it was soooo good: thin crust,just the right amount of crunch and great flavor!!

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
Franklin, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

We had chosen this on Booking.com, as we found a good rate for a couple nights. Too bad we weren't aware that parking was an additional $17 a day!! The staff knew I was there due to my father's passing, so they were mostly quite nice and did give me a nice room with a beautiful view of the capitol... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellkat24
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear kellkat24, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that we did not come close or be at par with your expectations. We aim to be able to support you in your journey to success and your comments value to us. It's because of this that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.3 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The rooms at the 100% Smoke-Free Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown offer a completely remodeled and upgraded stay! This hotel is conveniently located near many great restaurants, such as Black Eyed Sally's-Southern Kitchen & Bar, Hot Tomato's Ristorante - Italian Fare and Parkview, Black Bear Saloon, The Tavern Downtown, and Agave Grill. Local attractions include Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Connecticut Science Center, XFINITY Theatre (formerly Comcast), The Mark Twain House, University of Hartford, Hartford Fairgrounds, Lutz Children's Museum, and Dinosaur State Park, all within 11 miles of the hotel! If you enjoy the excitement of casinos, Foxwoods Casino Resort and Mohegan Sun Casino are both just a thirty five minute drive from the hotel. Mystic Seaport: The Museum of America and the Sea in Mystic, Connecticut is the largest maritime museum in the world, and it is less than an hour away from this Red Roof PLUS+. The hotel is also located near corporations such as Met Life, Aetna, The Hartford, and Prudential. Union Station, which provides easy transportation including Amtrak and city bus service, is located within walking distance. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our newly renovated rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke-Free inn feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, new high-end bedding, new flooring, and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with a snack ready in your room! Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown is set in an amazing downtown location. The hotel is centrally located and close to restaurants, bars, transportation, and the beautiful Bushnell park. The hotel features free WiFi, two elevators, interior corridors, a fitness facility, and in-room safes. Complimentary coffee & tea are offered in the lobby and one well- behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum St, Hartford, CT 06103-1901 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Price Range: $87 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay