We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
$379
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Booking.com
$303
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Marriott Hotels
$303
View deal
Hotels.com$379
Travelocity$379
Priceline$303
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (205)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (14)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hartford Marriott Downtown
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 12 hotels in Hartford
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Silver level
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking garage
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
943Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 497
  • 303
  • 90
  • 31
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Quest670761 wrote a review Jul 2022
Houston, Texas5 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is exceptionally clean and conveniently located. My experience with front desk staff , however, was shockingly unpleasant . I am certainly aware that all hotel guests are not traveling for business,, and when a group of excited teenagers occupied my floor the second night of my stay, the noise level was concerning ( shouting in hallways , doors slamming, and loud music) . I’d asked to have security intervene ( two separate times) and was told by front desk manager that she “could not guarantee” , and would “ try her best” to remedy the problem ( not very assuring) . Instead of ensuring ( and maintaining) the expected quality of “ luxury” hotel experience ( or at least a peaceful stay ), she offered to “ change my room” . Not acceptable., and not suitable for business travelers who expect a peaceful and restful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: A word of caution for business travelers staying here during summer travel season.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Fleming, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay with us. We certainly strive to ensure that we exceed all expectations for every guest, and I am so sorry to hear that we were unable to do that in this instance. I have shared your feedback with my team as a training opportunity in an effort to ensure a similar situation is not repeated in the future. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the cleanliness and location of the hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you here with us in the future. If there is anything further that I may do, please feel free to contact me directly at (860) 760-2224. Sincerely, Tina Fleming
Read more
Gail S wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Overall pleased with the hotel. Nice room and enjoyed the restaurant/bar. The policy regarding not cleaning the rooms and not giving fresh towels daily is not what I would expect from an upscale hotel. We did not ask for more towels to be sent up but felt there should be more then two total adult sized towels given to start with especially if you are staying two nights. Keep in mind you pay for parking but if you are going in and out they will validate it to be one fee for the day.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Trance86 wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York175 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here on a business trip. Was upgraded to a corner room with beautiful city views. This location has a concierge room, with spectacular views and snacks. It also has a pool and spa, along with a great lobby. The check-in is around back. The only shortfall is they chare for parking. There is a discount for hotel guests however.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: They charge for parking. Check out the spa and pool and concierge rooms, beautiful views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alvaro E wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom364 contributions303 helpful votes
Stayed on night as part of a business trip and the hotel serves its purpose as a place to sleep, but that's it. Is very standard, and quite basic. It is a standard hotel, with clean room, standard Marriott bed and quite basic service. I arrived after a 8 hours flight from London on JFK and a 3 hours car ride to Hartford, it was in the evening, asked about room service, they told me that it was available. Called from my room, ordered a salad and was very, very poor. Overpriced for what I got. Location is good if you are attending the Conference centre, which is next door. Seems to me as the only or the best alternative in Hartford, so will stay again if business takes me back to Hartford, but as said, hotel just for one night given the lack of amenities and basic service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Fleming, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Dear Varito, Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your stay. We are so sorry to hear that your dining experience was less than perfect, and we will be certain to review with our culinary team. It is our goal to have all services and amenities available and re-opened, as we have continued to see increases in travel. We are certainly thrilled to hear that you will return to our location should you be in the Hartford area again. Please do not hesitate to reach out in advance should you have any questions or need anything in the future.
Read more
Investor888 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Cheap motel service. They only do maid service twice a week on Wed and Sat. If you need more toilet paper or towels, you have to make a special call to the front desk to get it delivered to you. If you need your garbage taken out, you have to make a special call to the front desk to get them to remove it. And when the staff do deign to give you the toilet paper, towels or garbage removal they made you beg for, they are nasty and snarky about it. They disconnected the high speed internet service and say there is no ETA on restoring it so forget about using the hotel for business. The L Bar in the lobby is first rate with great food and service. And despite the mostly spotty service, some of the hotel staff seemed to be first rate professionals. So 3 stars overall: 2 for the hotel and 5 for the L Bar and hotel staff that were good. If I were paying cheap roadside motel prices or at a campground, I wouldn’t have much to complain about. But given they are charging luxury hotel prices - the price was the same as what I paid for a luxury hotel in Chicago last week - for this cheap motel/campground service, it’s hard to see how Marriott expects this to work.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Fleming, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay. We are so sorry to hear that your experience was less than perfect. We are in the process of reinstating daily housekeeping service, and plan to be back on track with that this summer. We are uncertain as to what may have happened with your internet service, as nothing has been disconnected. We still offer complimentary internet throughout the building, with an option to purchase upgraded service. I suspect there may have been an issue with your device that could have been resolved with our service and support team. In the future, do not hesitate to reach out to any member of our team should you experience a problem. We are thrilled to hear that your food experience was fantastic, and will be sure to share your feedback with our food & beverage team! Please let us know if you plan on returning to the Hartford area in the future, as we would love to welcome you back!
Read more
onthemach wrote a review May 2022
238 contributions384 helpful votes
It is hard to even fathom to imagine that this review is written about a Marriott property. Unfortunately, since the merger, Marriott's loyal guests have been let down time and time again. My experience as an Ambassador member (it does not mean anything, any longer) is no different from the ones described by many other members. One team member checking in 17 guests. Understaffed??? Booked a room with a king side bed. Offered one with two beds. After a negotiation worth that of a visit to a souk, I was offered a suite featuring: stained sofa, unusable lamps, inoperative USB ports, a missing pillow and the ever-classic pop-corn ceiling. The extent to which my room was a quiet one extended to: facing the ice-machine AND the close proximity to an elevator. After the GM's intervention, I was offered a king size bed, in a room where the air-conditioning was not properly functioning. The check out was meant to be the topping on the cake, when, once again, a team member told me that IF I wanted anything printed I had to proceed to a third party office, that -for a fee- would have printed the one single page I needed. I also asked to separate my invoice (laundry and room+tax). Impossible, must wait for an email. Staff too busy. Do yourself a favor, stay elsewhere! The property uses the "Post Covid", song and dance, as they sang the "Covid" tune a few months ago and the "merging growing pain" a couple of years ago. They sprinkle words such as "pandemic" and "team care", not Customer Care, faster than a Japanese bullet-train. The 2 weddings, and loads of conventioneers did the rest. RIP Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Fleming, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded May 13, 2022
We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered while staying with us! I know that the beginning of your stay was somewhat challenged due to the fact that you preferred a king bed but were booked for a double-bedded room. Regarding the issues that you encountered in the suite upgrade you were given, your feedback was shared with the appropriate members of our leadership team so that we could address those items we are able to control. I was a bit surprised to read that the air conditioning was an issue in the room that we moved you to once you and I connected, as I went through the room personally and everything seemed to be in working order. However, we will certainly follow-up to ensure there is no issue. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble getting your bill split at check-out. That is a typical request, and one that generally does not create an issue for our guests. I will be certain to follow-up with my front office team. We take feedback from every guest seriously, and we work to ensure every guest has a positive and memorable experience. There are undoubtedly times when things are not perfect, but we will do whatever we can to rectify challenging situations when they arise. We have made great strides in returning to normal after the last couple of years, yet there are some things that have not totally gone back to the way that they were prior to the pandemic. Rest assured, we are looking forward and rebuilding our team and services in quick fashion so that we can reinstate everything our guests have become accustomed to over the years. We certainly hope you will give us an opportunity to host you should you return to the Hartford area. If there is anything else I may do, please do not hesitate to reach out. Sincerely, Tina Fleming General Manager
Read more
eeyore10479 wrote a review Mar 2022
Allentown, Pennsylvania19 contributions50 helpful votes
The Hartford Marriott Downtown was a very nice hotel and located so close to the Convention Center. The room was VERY clean, although the furniture showed some wear and tear. The beds were very comfortable! I am super picky when it comes to clean hotel rooms, and this one was very close to perfection in the area of cleanliness. The staff was wonderful, despite having 100% occupancy. They had a grab and go for all meals and the best part of all was there were gluten free options available, too! I'm not sure if that is something they only do when a convention is in town. I look forward to staying here again next year, if the convention still held in Hartford!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rachel T wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Megan at the L bar was a godsend. I had a terrible trip in and a not great experience checking in. Megan was so amazing and sweet. I’m an overworked mom just trying to get away for the night and she was phenomenal, seeing I was a bit overwhelmed and doing everything she could to make me feel better. I would stay here again just to grab drinks from her!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
aspiretravel wrote a review Feb 2022
New York City, New York27 contributions41 helpful votes
Things are obviously not "normal" due to Covid-19 but the staff is working very hard to make visitors' stays as enjoyable as possible. If you are in Hartford for an event at the convention center, this hotel location is perfect... you don't have to go outside at all. The flip side of that is that the onsite Starbucks is mobbed and that is compounded by limited onsite restaurant hours right now.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bobbX1293LI wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions
This is a really nice hotel. I stay here frequently when in Hartford. Last night checking in, I was assisted by Joyce at the front desk. She made my day. It had been a long day of traveling. She greeted me with the biggest smile and was super throughout the check in process. I can't say enough good things about her willingness to help and she is exemplary at her job! Very Well done!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I like higher floors so that is where I stay. Beautiful views of the river
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$247 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hartford marriott downtown hotel hartford, marriott hartford
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutHartford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
409
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hartford Marriott Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art (0.2 miles), Connecticut Science Center (0.06 miles), and Connecticut's Old State House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Capital Grille, Bear's Smokehouse BBQ, and Vivo Seasonal Trattoria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hartford Marriott Downtown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Hartford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hartford Marriott Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Mark Twain House & Museum (1.7 miles), Harriet Beecher Stowe Center (1.6 miles), and Webb-Deane-Stevens Museum (3.7 miles).
Does Hartford Marriott Downtown have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.