We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hartford Marriott Downtown

Save
Share
200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Marriott Hotels
$149
$119
View Deal
Booking.com$119
Priceline$119
Hotels.com$149
Expedia.com$149
Agoda.com$119
Travelocity$149
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (172)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (14)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hartford Marriott Downtown
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 12 hotels in Hartford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking garage
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
919Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 488
  • 297
  • 87
  • 27
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joshua S wrote a review Jan 5
Auburn, Maine227 contributions71 helpful votes
Honestly, I don’t think 20 rooms were taken. The front desk staff learned our names and always referred to us by it. Nice people who seemed to appreciate we were there. The restaurants were closed because of COVID but their pantry was open as was room service. Both were decent and did the trick. Got a corner room. Beautiful views on two sides which was amazing. I will only stay here in Hartford again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Guest Services, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting Hartford. We appreciate your support during these challenging times. We also appreciate the kind words regarding the hotel team and your interactions with our team members during your stay. They enjoy taking care of all of our guests and genuinely appreciate the opportunity to do so. The corner rooms are my favorite, too! We can't wait to welcome you back. Warm regards, Fabio Pari-Di-Monriva General Manager
Read more
McGee_7 wrote a review Nov 2020
Washington, DC52 contributions45 helpful votes
We stayed there one night for few hours as possible in October. I tried it even though they reduced me from a suite to a regular room without telling me (they did compensate me). The hotel suite we had this time was old, small, very dusty, and smelled badly--not what I expected based on the pics and some the reviews. We left as soon as we could. The front desk person late at night was unfriendly and unhelpful, though the front desk manager in the morn was the opposite. Wasn't Covid-friendly, either, beyond the poor air quality--insufficient sanitizing wipes around. I have Marriott Ambassador status, meaning I stay in a lot of hotels, and this was one of the worst. We need to stop in CT every so often and we'll be avoiding this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Guest Services, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded Nov 10, 2020
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Our hotel was renovated not too long ago, and our Executive Suite is one of our largest guest rooms featuring a dedicated living room and separate bedroom area. While we do not have many of these suites in inventory, they are always in high demand. The safety of our guests is always our highest priority. We are compliant with Marriott's Commitment to Clean program and also the State of Connecticut's stringent operating guidelines. In addition to plexiglass partitions at the front desk, stanchions, mask mandates, physical distancing decals, and elevator occupancy limits, we have automatic hand sanitizer dispensers in all high traffic areas. We also provide guests with a packet of hand sanitizing wipes in the bath amenity packs at check-in. We are always happy to provide our guests with more upon request. I would like to better understand your concerns and hope that you will reach out to me directly to discuss further. Should you visit us in the future, I want to be certain that your stay is an enjoyable one. Fabio Pari-Di-Monriva General Manager
Read more
vladsuperman2 wrote a review Oct 2020
East Liverpool, Ohio1,237 contributions140 helpful votes
we stayed here and it was bad, the shower didnt work right, the room service was too expensive, no one was at the parking lot, you had to pay at the ticket machine then there was no one at the gate so we didnt have to pay the $20 parking if i knew the gate was open. no microwave, and the pillows were terrable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from N Mullings, Guest Services / Front Office at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded Oct 29, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We are truly disappointed that your stay was not up to par. We sincerely apologize for any shortcomings during your stay. We understand that you have choices when you travel and are committed to continue working hard to make each of our guest experience great. Your feedback helps us to review ways that we can improve our service. Thank you for taking the time to provide valid points on how we can improve. Hopefully if you give us another chance in the future, you will see our efforts to make the guest experience the best possible. Regards,
Read more
Eric R wrote a review Sep 2020
Sterling, Virginia40 contributions19 helpful votes
Recognizing that COVID has impacted all businesses, my stay at this Marriott was a horrible experience. On could describe the experience as hospital-like, but it was closer to prison-like. At checkin you are given a sheaf of papers that explain all the normal amenities that you will not receive - housekeeping, food, restaurants, etc. the last page is your only opportunity to order your next day’s breakfast that you can pick up at the front desk at an appointed time the next morning. My sausage scramble was plopped in a plastic to-go container with plastic utensils. There was no attempt made to add garnishes or make the food presentable. It was simply a pile of left over scrambled egg. Now keep in mind, the clerk can take your food selection back, but can not touch or take back the sheaf of papers. COVID paranoia reins. During the 15 hours I was in and out of the hotel I saw less than 7 people total and only two guests. I am certain there was no one on my floor. Like a prison, you are given a plastic pack of “amenities” including soap, shampoo, etc. There are no amenities in the room. No coffee maker, no hair dryer, and only about 5 tissues. The room was your typical room. The entire experience was pathetic. I am so disappointed in Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from N Mullings, Guest Services / Front Office at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded Oct 29, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us and for choosing to stay at the Hartford Marriott Downtown and providing your honest feedback Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your or our own expectations. We’re extremely sorry that your experience related to amenities being offered at the Hotel was not up to par. We sincerely apologize that because of the temporary restrictions put in place to enforce Guest and staff safety due to COVID-19 ,has impacted your stay in a negative way. We are working to put guest and staff safety first during this pandemic, we have implemented certain precautionary measures to ensure the well-being of everyone, while staying in compliance with local and CDC guidelines. These include some of the measures that you have listed. We extend our sincere apologies that these temporary restrictions have caused you some inconvenience. However, we assure you that once things turn around, and when it is safe to do so, we will resume these services to make sure all guest experience be the best possible. Best Regards,
Read more
rcaldin wrote a review May 2020
Los Angeles, California704 contributions258 helpful votes
2nd time I Hartford, first time here. Rooms are excellent. Staff well trained and friendly. Hotel is in a great location. Valet staff was extra friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. My hotel of choice next time in Hartford.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from WHGGuestService, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown
Responded Jun 10, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Marriott Hartford Downtown. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$166 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hartford marriott downtown hotel hartford, marriott hartford
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutHartford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
409
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hartford Marriott Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art (0.2 miles), Connecticut Science Center (0.06 miles), and Old State House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Capital Grille, Bear's Smokehouse, and Vivo Seasonal Trattoria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hartford Marriott Downtown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Hartford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hartford Marriott Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hartford Marriott Downtown?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Mark Twain House & Museum (1.7 miles), Harriet Beecher Stowe Center (1.6 miles), and Webb Deane Stevens Museum (3.7 miles).
Does Hartford Marriott Downtown have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.