We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed only one night but was pleasantly surprised by both the quality and size of the rooms. They were well mantained and clean. The service from the front desk was also excellent, with a very friendly and cheerful attitude.

Helpful?
Thank universltravelr
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

How great to learn your stay was so memorable and that you enjoyed the comfort of our well-appointed guestrooms and fabulous service we provide. Thank you for letting us know about your experiences here at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Residence Inn Hartford Downtown. More 

Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,462 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time staying here. Its not cheap at $300/night. And lets face it Hartford is where hotels go to die. All of the options are VERY poor. I travel all over the world and Hartford has the most expensive, junky hotels anywhere. So this one is nice, but not that great. I asked for a quiet room and they put... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucycan
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

We value your feedback about your stay with us as it let us know how our guests experience was. We want our guests to be able to relax and unwind during their stay and we truly regret any disturbances to your rest. We hope any inconveniences were minimal and we will look into potential improvement we can make. The next... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a gorgeous hotel! I am someone who loves ambiance and an experience and this place rocks! The building itself is beautiful, and so it the lobby. It's historical on the outside and modern on the inside. The front desk was courteous and hip. Although I had a difficult time understanding their parking directions, we found it eventually. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin H
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

We loved reading about all the aspects of your stay that you truly enjoyed including our well-appointed rooms and fresh breakfast options we serve. Our staff loves to create a welcoming experience for our guests and we are pleased your stay was reflective of just that. Thank you for your review of Residence Inn Hartford Downtown and we look forward... More 

Huntington, MA USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is clean. Newer furnishings and appears recently renovated. Loft layout is very strange with a ton of wasted space. Tiny bathroom and only a queen bed in a huge space just makes no sense. We were there for one night to attend Xfinity Theatre outdoor show. It is about a mile walk. We Ubered there and walked back without... More 

Helpful?
Thank Damfarm
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

We are happy to learn our convenient location worked well for the show you attended at the Xfinity Theatre. We are also pleased to read you appreciated the cleanliness of our hotel and updates we completed. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown. We offer many special packages when you book directly with us... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

I love staying at this location because I can walk everywhere I need to go. Tons of food options all within walking distance. The staff is so friendly. The gym is nice and clean. The rooms are huge and kitchens. My only issue is the walls are so thin. Get a room away from the elevator. If you are on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Misty K
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Our central location is perfect for exploring the area and we are thrilled you enjoyed this along with the friendly service and guestroom amenities we provide. We do regret any disturbances to your rest and hope any inconveniences were minimal. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown. We can’t wait to welcome you back... More 

hartford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

We were going to a wedding across the street at the Hartford Society Room. With the wedding code we paid $140 for an apartment sized studio with a loft bedroom and kitchen. Very clean and well worth the money to be able to enjoy ourselves at the wedding and not have to drive. After the wedding we went to City... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth M
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to accommodate you for the wedding! We take great pride in the services that we offer and are happy that we could provide you with a comfortable and convenient stay. It seems like our hotel was the perfect fit for your needs and we hope you’ll choose the Residence Inn Hartford Downtown again. More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

This hotel is a pleasant surprise when you get into the rooms. Each one is a different configuration, so if you don't like one, try another. Located in a remodeled historic building, most of the rooms have very high ceilings with a loft feel to them. Some are actually lofts, some have separate bedrooms, some are one level - so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shrega
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

What a wonderful review of the Residence Inn Hartford Downtown. Thank you for your kind words, as we are fully committed to our guests’ satisfaction and love hearing when we have met their expectations. We truly appreciate you sharing your impressions of our spacious suites and the services that we have available to our guests. It would be a pleasure... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Stayed here for 11 nights while I was in town for work and brought my wife and two kids. Because of the length of our stay, we got to know the property pretty well and have a lot of thoughts which I've summarized below: Pros: Very Spacious Rooms- While the space was better than a small room, the vaulted 20+... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pieperjm
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciated the time you have taken to share your detailed review of your stay with us. It is regrettable that your time here was not as you had anticipated and we apologize for any frustrations that imparted your stay. Your feedback will help us pinpoint areas that need our attention and we will review your comments about the amenities... More 

Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Checking in very late on a Wednesday night, I had to be separately "buzzed in" through two separate sets of doors -- which didn't give me a great sense of security to start my stay. The front desk associate was unable to get my credit card to process -- despite it working fine everywhere else (and in fact, it worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelDaveTA
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

From the moment you walk in our doors, we want our guests to feel a welcomed and do try to quickly get them checked on so that they can relax and unwind. We apologize for the challenging experience you were faced with when checking in and will have our management team look into this. We will also address your concerns... More 

new jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

With all the traffic, this is a pretty good place to stay as it is relatively close to the local concert venue. It is walking distance to the concert center and you'll probably get there quicker than driving. That being said, it is about 1 to 1.5 miles to get there. It is also connected to an excellent brewery pub.... More 

Helpful?
Thank krazeyraze
ResidenceInnHartford, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Although we are happy that you appreciated the convenience of our hotel and comfort we provide, we do regret if you were less than impressed with our staff. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management team so that we can address this with our staff and make improvements in our guest’s satisfaction. We hope you had a great time... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Address: 942 Main St, Hartford, CT 06103-1214
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Price Range: $180 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Hartford Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay