We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
1114 E Putnam Ave I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878-1306
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$228
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/04/20
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel$229
Booking.com$229
CheapTickets$228
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (77)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (19)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Greenwich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
For the distinguished traveler, no other hotel in Greenwich, Connecticut offers a more contemporary lifestyle experience than The J House. Our high-tech guest rooms, world-class meeting facilities, and award-winning service set us apart. Convenience, connectivity, and comfort are all incorporated in our room designs as we ensure you feel at home.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bowling offsite
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
35Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
458Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 280
  • 96
  • 40
  • 25
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I just received an email from Living Greenwich advertising about the J House sharing their first responders rate to everyone. That rate is $149/night. That is a deal? First of all, first responders should be free. Second, I'm sure your hotel is vacant. To be advertising $149/night as a great deal while we are living through this pandemic is insensitive at best.
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
We arrived late with our three children, one of whom was feeling poorly, our room was a bit small for two double beds and a single so we were given the room next door so our daughter could have a good night rest. The staff were so friendly and couldn’t do enough for us, the rooms were fantastic, beds really comfy. The next day we used the pool which was fabulous and friends met us for brunch in the cafe. Overall our stay was excellent, I just wish we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Response from Steve W, Director of Operations at The J House Greenwich
Responded Aug 20, 2019
Dear Michelle W, Thank you very much for your review! I am very glad to hear that we were able to provide you with excellent service during your stay and were also able to find comfortable accommodations for you and your family. I am happy that you had a great time at the pool, along with a nice brunch. Thank you so much for staying with us, and please come back and see us again soon! Best Regards, Steve Wissing Director of Operations
Read more
We stayed at the J House for a week as we were waiting to move into our new apartment nearby. We really lucked out as it was was such a wonderful and relaxing way to endure/end our moving days. What the rooms lack in size, they make up for in amenities (we miss that automatic toilet and in-bathroom TV!). A special shout-out to ELIRA at the front desk who greeted us every morning with the sweetest smile, and always asked if she could help...and did when we needed her. All the gentlemen that worked in the café and the complimentary breakfast was fresh and SO delicious, I'll be back to buy more of their homemade granola. Absolutely loved the J House and now that we're locals, we'll definitely be recommending it to all our friends/family that come to visit.
Read more
Response from Janice Perna-Nicholas, General Manager at The J House Greenwich
Responded Mar 22, 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at the JHouse! We truly appreciate your business and welcome your feedback. Many thanks for the 5 star review! We are thrilled you stayed for a week and had a pleasant experience. We are further delighted you enjoyed our amenities, including our complimentary continental breakfast. Most importantly, pleased you had the opportunity to meet Elira at the front desk and both Joelle & Preet in our Coffee Bar. We are extremely fortunate to have such talented employees on the JHouse team. Rest assured, we will share your favorable feedback with them. If I can be of further assistance to you, your family or friends, please feel free to contact me directly at (203) 698-6997, or at Janice@JHouseGreenwich.com, so I may personally assist you. Once again, thank you for very kind and thoughtful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you - Warmest regards, Janice Perna-Nicholas GM, The JHouse Greenwich
Read more
I will never go there again..Restaurant, room service, valet, coffee shop so wonderful and go over the top. But one employee screaming at me just to get my bill in front of customers. In a personal call at the time....
Read more
Response from Janice Perna-Nicholas, General Manager at The J House Greenwich
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Jhouse Greenwich! We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback. We are delighted you had a pleasant experience overall. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you further about the situation with our front desk agent. Please contact me directly at (203) 698-6997, or at Janice@JhouseGreenwich.com. Hope to hear from you soon! Thank you - Warmest regards, Janice Perna-Nicholas GM, JHouse Greenwich
Read more
This is my go to hotel! We always do a stat vacation here. Great reception staff and the rooms are really nice and clean. Love the bathroom in this hotel. Tony’s is a great place to eat as well. Have a great band Thursday’s through Saturday. Love this place.
Read more
Response from Janice Perna-Nicholas, General Manager at The J House Greenwich
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Dear Jeanette, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Jhouse! We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback. Many thanks for your 5 star review! We are thrilled you continue to stay at the JHouse when visiting Greenwich and pleased you found our front desk staff friendly & efficient, and the rooms very clean. Delighted you enjoyed dining in Tony's as well. Rest assured, we will share your favorable comments with our team. If I can assist you in the future, please contact me directly at (203) 698-6997, or at Janice@JHouseGreenwich.com, so I may personally assist you. Once again Jeanette, many thanks for your kind and thoughtful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you - Warmest regards, Janice Perna-Nicholas GM, The JHouse Greenwich
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson riverside
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutGreenwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The J House Greenwich
What are some of the property amenities at The J House Greenwich?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The J House Greenwich?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The J House Greenwich?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The J House Greenwich?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The J House Greenwich?
Conveniently located restaurants include Valbella, Tony's at the J House, and Little Pub Greenwich.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The J House Greenwich?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The J House Greenwich?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The J House Greenwich?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The J House Greenwich offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The J House Greenwich?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Putnam Cottage (1.8 miles).
Is The J House Greenwich accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.