We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1114 E Putnam Ave I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878-1306
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (97)
Dining (22)
Room & Suite (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The J House Greenwich
Updated 12/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Greenwich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
For the distinguished traveler, no other hotel in Greenwich, Connecticut offers a more contemporary lifestyle experience than The J House. Our high-tech guest rooms, world-class meeting facilities, and award-winning service set us apart. Convenience, connectivity, and comfort are all incorporated in our room designs as we ensure you feel at home.
Read more
Room & Suite (21)21
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bowling offsite
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
50Car recommended
Grade: 50 out of 100
36Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
504Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 313
  • 102
  • 42
  • 28
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kaongs wrote a review Yesterday
Cos Cob, Connecticut31 contributions69 helpful votes
This "boutique" hotel is nasty. Is there a pandemic going on? You wouldn't know that by staying here, which still smacks of the Howard Johnson Motel which preceded it. Let's just say the walls are very thin and you can hear EVERYTHING going on next door. And everyone here was pretentious. Never staying here again. We previously had a lovely stay at the Greenwich Hyatt just down the street and will definitely stay there when we're next in town.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I'm sure all of the rooms have thin walls. Avoid.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Marianne B wrote a review Apr 2021
New York City, New York2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
What a find. Beautiful hotel, great location, staff so friendly and professional. Lobby is so attractive - great seating areas, very fun vibe, perfect coffee spot. Room was just right - perfect size, so clean, incredibly comfortable. And their restaurant Tony’s - absolutely glorious. One of the best meals I have enjoyed in a long time. This place should be on you to do list!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Perna-Nicholas, General Manager at The J House Greenwich
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Marianne, Thank you for choosing to stay The J House Greenwich! We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback. Many thanks for your 5 star review! We are delighted you had a pleasant experience overall, and our staff was both friendly & helpful. We are pleased you enjoyed our fun vibe, attractive living room and coffee bar; and thrilled you had the opportunity to dine in Tony's for an "amazing" meal! Marianne, if I can of further assistance when you return to Greenwich, please contact me directly at (203) 698-6997, or at Janice@JHouseGreenwich.com. Thank you once again for your kind & thoughtful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest regards, Janice Perna-Nicholas GM, The J House Greenwich
Read more
kaw3902021 wrote a review May 5
1 contribution
What a place! The J house is a tip top establishment. The room was in pristine condition with interesting features aplenty! One night is not enough to explore the wonders in store inside the walls of this premium marketed establishment. For instance, even the toilet seat is heated. There’s switches everywhere and the helping automation was beyond comforting.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Perna-Nicholas, General Manager at The J House Greenwich
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at The J House Greenwich! We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback. Many thanks for your 5 star review! We are thrilled you had a pleasant experience and your accommodation was in pristine condition. We are further pleased you appreciated our high-tech rooms and heated commodes. If I can of assistance on your return visit to Greenwich, please contact me directly at (203) 698-6997, or at Janice@JHouseGreenwich.com, so I may personally assist you with your reservations. Once again, thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warmest regards, Janice Perna-Nicholas GM, The J House Greenwich
Read more
Aimee E wrote a review Apr 2021
Oakdale, Connecticut9 contributions
My husband and I booked a family package, we have 2 kids 9 and 12. On our way to the hotel we stopped at Chelsea Peirs, which was included in our package. The kids got to rock climb and jump on the trampolines. From the moment we walked in to the hotel the staff was welcoming and accommodating. We were even offered prosecco upon checking in (Which made Mama happy 😊) When we got to the room, there were gift bags for the kids, chocolate milk on ice, snacks. They also provide some card games. The room was immaculate, and very high tech. We then ate at Tony's at J house. We had an absolutely amazing meal with outstanding service, we were even greeted by the owner, that engaged with us and our children. It was truly an amazing experience. In the morning we enjoyed a nice continental breakfast and some awesome Cafe drinks, again with friendly and accommodating staff. I would 100% recommend this hotel stay/package for a family, we all had such an amazing experience!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Perna-Nicholas, General Manager at The J House Greenwich
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Aimee, Thank you for choosing to stay at The J House Greenwich! We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback. Many thanks for your 5 star review! We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed our "Family Package" and all of the amenities that came with it. We are further pleased you chose to dine in Tony's and had an amazing experience as well. If I can be of assistance to you on your return visit, please contact me directly at (203) 698-6997, or at Janice@JHouseGreenwich.com, so I may personally assist you with your reservations. Thank you once again Aimee for your kind & thoughtful review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again. PS Our outdoor heated pool opens next week, the kids will love it! Warmest regards, Janice Perna-Nicholas GM, The J House Greenwich
Read more
TravelGirl wrote a review Mar 2021
New Haven, Connecticut4 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was great! Very high-tech, and the bidet was a nice touch. TV remote was not working but someone came up to fix it right away. Had dinner at Tony's which was delicious! I suggest getting "the meatball."The continental breakfast was a nice touch. I thought it would come boxed due to covid, but it was buffet like. One complaint is that no one at this hotel wears a mask correctly. My waiter had his on below his nose and people who worked at the hotel would take their mask completely off to talk. I wonder if the chefs were wearing theirs. Tony came right up to my table at dinner and took his mask off. I wish he had kept it on, as mine was off since I was eating. I suggest coming to this hotel once you are fully vaccinated due to that reason.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Perna-Nicholas, General Manager at The J House Greenwich
Responded Mar 22, 2021
Dear Travel Girl, Thank you for choosing to stay at the J House Greenwich! We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback. We are pleased you had a pleasant experience overall and appreciated our high-tech amenities in our guestrooms. Thank you for your feedback about the facemasks. We have been working extremely hard to maintain a clean & safe environment for everyone during these challenging times. Rest assured, I will review your observations further with Tony. If I can of further assistance on your return visit, please contact me directly at (203) 698-6997, or at Janice@JHouseGreenwich.com, so I may personally assist you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you - Warmest regards, Janice Perna-Nicholas GM, The J House Greenwich
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$203 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson riverside
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutGreenwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The J House Greenwich
What are some of the property amenities at The J House Greenwich?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The J House Greenwich?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The J House Greenwich?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The J House Greenwich?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The J House Greenwich?
Conveniently located restaurants include Valbella, Tony's at the J House, and Little Pub Greenwich.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The J House Greenwich?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The J House Greenwich?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The J House Greenwich?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The J House Greenwich offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The J House Greenwich?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The J House Greenwich?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Putnam Cottage (1.8 miles).