We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Railroad St, Falls Village, CT 06031-1328
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (14)

About

#1 of 2 in Falls Village
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
3.8
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Falls Village Inn is an historic inn located in Falls Village CT in Litchfield County. Accommodations designed by Bunny Williams make it the perfect stay or getaway in CT.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
51Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 11
  • 10
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nancy s wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
STOP RIGHT NOW!! Do NOT book a room here. We recently hosted a wedding at Lion Rock and we had guests booked at Falls Village Inn. We had multiple guests canceled the week of the wedding and up until the day before the wedding! No explanation. NOTHING!! We stopped by there to discuss this atrocious situation and as it turns out, the inn is being run as a drug rehabilitation facility. While that is laudable, why are they still taking reservations from the general public. And then strand people, leaving them with few last minute options. Do NOT book at this place! By the way, it was in dismal repair when we stopped by!! Shame on Susan Sweetwater, the owner for putting unsuspecting visitors to the area in an awful position.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chris H wrote a review Oct 2019
Litchfield, Connecticut537 contributions152 helpful votes
We were looking for a spot to have a quick dinner. Old fashion type place out in Falls Village Ct. Great menu with a little something for everyone. The chop salad with grilled chicken was excellent. The pumpkin soup was very good. It is now back on my Radar for a great place to stop for light dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Dickybird wrote a review Jun 2019
Springfield, Virginia17 contributions11 helpful votes
We were looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights near the Lime Rock Race Track as my husband was participating in the Mercedes-Benz AMG Driving Academy. We came across the inn online and as it's only 2-3 miles away from the track we decided to book a room. We spoke with Sue, the proprietor, and she kindly upgraded us to the "Beige Suite." The 2-room suite with 550 sq. ft. was very spacious, comfortable and cozy. Although there is no breakfast or coffee-tea making facilities, there is a large bar area and restaurant including an airy outdoor porch for enjoying dinner between 5 and 9 pm. We ate there both nights and the food was simply outstanding. The first night my husband ordered the New York strip with cheddar mashed potatoes. He said it was the best meal he had during our stay in Connecticut. I had the Mediterranean cod over spinach risotto and it was delicious. Our second night, a Monday, was "burger" night and the place was jammed. We could see why as the burgers and fries were delicious. We would definitely recommend "Falls Village Inn" to anyone that's staying in the area and especially those participating in Lime Rock Race Track activities. What would make it even better is if there is a coffee/tea tray in the rooms!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan S, Owner at The Falls Village Inn
Responded Jun 26, 2019
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed eating at the Inn. We all work hard to make sure the food is great! I hope your husband enjoyed the AMG Driving Academy!
Read more
George C wrote a review Dec 2018
3 contributions
Don’t miss out on visiting this hidden jewel of a restaurant and bar. There were four of us for dinner and the food was impeccable. The menu was full of good choices for dinner and they offered a nice variety of different wines by the glass.. Sue the owner was very accommodating and our waitress offered excellent service. Nicely set in the Berkshires it is a must. Hats off to a great night and look forward to coming back soon. Well worth the trip from Torrington.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Travelinggirl785 wrote a review Sep 2018
New York City, New York28 contributions13 helpful votes
To be fair, lukewarm food in restaurants seems to be the plague of the day, not only in this restaurant but in many others. I don't know if there is too much prep time in the kitchen ( leaving,say,the potatoes to get cold while the meat heats.) or if the absence of those old, dented aluminum tops is to blame. They weren't cool, but they kept the food warm! Anyway, our food was ok, cod in fact very good, as was the blueberry crumble. However, my risotto was actually cold, and the veal and soup were lukewarm. Others in our party had the same experience. Service, while friendly, was rushed. I'm a slow eater and the plates of others in our party were whisked away before I'd had more than three bites. So others, having nothing else to do, just stared at me as I ate. Very awkward. This practice too is widespread. So, not terrible, but not great either. I suspect that if some of the operational things were improved, place could be very good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
wamrazing wrote a review Sep 2018
Elyria, Ohio395 contributions184 helpful votes
We ate here a while ago with a group of friends and had a really good meal so looked forward to eating here again. While the service and food were really excellent the last time we were there, this time was a bit different. Perhaps our waiter was new, but he just didn't seem to know what he was doing. He would show up and then disappear for extended periods. We waited a long time to get our order in and then longer to get the food. It was pretty crowded but it was also a full house last time we were there and the service and food were much better. Bottom line, the food was just not as good or of the quality we had a year ago. I don't know if there is a different chef, they aren't getting as good food supplies or whether we ended up with the worst waiter in the house, but it all combined for a very expensive and rather unfulfilling dinner for the 4 of us. We'll be trying somewhere different next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
hansmeulenkamp wrote a review Aug 2018
Charlottenlund, Denmark1 contribution
The house is atmospheric and the room also and the restaurant quite fine. We stayed for three nights. Staying during the week is an odd experience. No staff available until five or six in the afternoon - no service at all and not even possible to make a cup of coffee or tea in the room. One thing that surprised my family and I was that breakfast was not served outside weekends. It may be perfectly understandable that you cannot uphold staff during the week mornings - but when the room description offers breakfast it is disappointing that this is not offered and one therefore had to drive some miles to find a breakfast restaurant - at a cost of $~50 each time. On taking contact to the hotel after our stay, we were ignored except that the website has been altered so as to remove the reference to breakfast (without reducing the room rate...). Not ideal and therefore not really recommendable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Susan S, Manager at The Falls Village Inn
Responded Aug 13, 2018
Mr Hans Meulenkamp, I apologize if you feel you were ignored - I responded to your email immediately. I wanted you to know that we do not market ourselves as a B & B. We are a classic historic New England Inn. There is always someone on site from 8:00 in the morning and here until the restaurant and tavern open up. We would have been happy to make you, your wife and your child coffee and juice that we have available but we were unaware that you thought breakfast was included! I wish that it was communicated to us on the first day so that we could have figured out a way to have made it work for you! I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and your meals. Thank you!
Read more
buffywell wrote a review Jun 2018
Carol Stream, Illinois16 contributions9 helpful votes
I stumbled upon the Inn as I was hiking the Appalachian Trail. Sue and her staff made my stay comfortable and restful. I can only speak to the chicken wings but they offer higher-end food. I enjoyed feeling like I was one of the family while I chatted with her mother and niece. Lovely and quaint.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: The Green Room was spacious and filled with light. Also, it has a large bathroom.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Silvio B wrote a review Oct 2017
51 contributions52 helpful votes
It is a cozy little inn in a beautiful town south of Cannan. Each room is nicely decorated, it makes feel you at home. Old style but with all the modern conveniences. The lady who welcome us was very friendly. We had dinner in the hotel that night, food was excellent and reasonably priced. No breakfast however.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
psd123 wrote a review Sep 2017
New Preston, CT8 contributions13 helpful votes
The inn is very nice and in an unusual location but the food that we had for dinner which was steak and fish was completely tasteless. We traveled about a half an hour and I hate to tell you but we're not going back. Too bad. Itould have been a really nice overall experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutFalls Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Falls Village Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Falls Village Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lime Rock Park (1.8 miles), Music Mountain (3.3 miles), and Bear Mountain (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Falls Village Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Falls Village Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Falls Village Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Falls Village Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Woodland, Mountainside Cafe, and Black Rabbit Bar & Grill.
Are there any historical sites close to The Falls Village Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colonel John Ashley House (7.2 miles).