We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (78)
Room & Suite (71)
Video
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Hi-Ho is a recently restored boutique hotel located in Fairfield, Connecticut. The iconic property, built in 1960, offers purposefully-designed guest rooms, stylish social spaces and destination dining at on-site restaurant Barcelona Wine Bar. With complimentary amenities including a daily breakfast bar, wifi and parking right off the scenic Merritt Parkway at Exit 44 , Hotel Hi-Ho affords guests an elevated hospitality experience amidst one of Connecticut's most bustling communities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Reviews & more
277Reviews
147Photos
5Q+A
57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 162
  • 64
  • 20
  • 15
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I was a guest at Hotel Hi ho and the customer service is horrible. The management is horrible.I had to call the police and make a police report. I would never stay here again and i wouldnt advise anyone to stay here either .Stay at your own risk.
Read more
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Jae, We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. Please note for the future, Hotel Hi-Ho is a non-smoking property, and due to the safety of our guests, we have a zero tolerance policy for tampering with our smoke detectors.
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
I grew up in the area, so I remember the original Hi-Ho. The new boutique hotel is fun, complete with tapas restaurant and good wine shop. Highly recommend as a place to stay. Easy on/iff the Merritt Parkway.
Read more
Checkin is strictly on-line. Since the email did not get to me before we arrived, had to contact the "local manager'. She came and handled it eventually. The "lobby" is just a small entry area. No desk personnel. The room was clean. The air system is right at the bed so
Read more
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Bob, We're sorry to hear your experience did not fully meet your expectations although we truly appreciate your feedback! Our daily check-in time is 3:00pm, therefore we typically ask guests who are looking to arrive before 3:00pm to contact the onsite manager ahead of time, so we can make necessary arrangements and be sure to accommodate the request. Although we have eliminated the traditional style front desk to check in, there is always a manager on duty able to assist 24/7. We have in fact put a lot of effort into Hotel Hi-Ho's transformation; however, as with older buildings, there are going to be improvements that need be made along the way and we always strive to enhance our guests' experience every time. We hope you do in fact decide to return to the Hi-Ho next year! All the best, Hotel Hi-Ho
Read more
You can’t go wrong. This gem of a hotel is very conveniently located off the Merit Parkway. For years we saw this landmark as an old hotel as we passed through but read it was remodeled and gave it a shot. So glad we did. This gem is so perfect for a short stay, you won’t
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded Dec 12, 2018
Thank you for the 5-star review! The hotel is certainly in a great location, being right off of the Merritt Parkway, and the iconic sign certainly tells a great story! We have definitely put a lot of hard work into renovating the property and always love hearing from our guests how much they enjoy Hotel Hi-Ho's new look and feel!! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Please don’t be confused by their name and gratuitous ads and reviews. This place is not worth your time. Firstly they do not staff the hotel so any problem is met by I’m sorry but there is nothin I can do about it until Morning Secondly the rooms are very small with mediocre
Read more
Response from Robbie P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded Dec 10, 2018
Hi Ricki, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Just to clear up any misconceptions you may have had, I'd like to address each of your concerns. Firstly, we have 24/7 support with on-call staff that is incredibly responsive. Assistance is only a phone call away- you don't even have to leave your bed. Secondly, the rooms are trendy and have been recently renovated. The pictures that we have posted on TripAdvisor are an accurate depiction of each of our rooms. The doors also have deadbolts. Thirdly, we're sorry that you experienced an excessive amount of noise from Barcelona. This is uncommon among our guests, and we're happy to provide an alternative room in cases like this. Fourthly, our entertainment package includes thousands of free on-demand movies and shows, including local real-time news and weather. The channel guide located on the center nightstand clearly explains this, and our staff is well trained in how to assist guests in the event that they run into difficulties. We allow guests to access their own Netflix accounts to supplement our huge complementary media package. Fifthly, we have relatively few people who check out before 7:00 AM. However, guests can easily check out using the prominently displayed support number. Finally, we have a wide selection of complimentary continental breakfast offerings. While we do our best to keep the breakfast bar stocked, we do occasionally run out of stock. Other than toast, we offer English muffins, several varieties of bagels and muffins, yogurt, parfaits, hard-boiled eggs, juice, tea, and coffee at no additional cost. Ultimately, we regret not being able to address these misunderstandings during your stay. Here at Hotel Hi-Ho, we are committed to ensuring that each guest have a fantastic stay. If you’d like to further discuss, please reach out to us at stay@hotelhiho.com. Thanks, Hotel Hi-Ho
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHotel Hi-Ho
Double Queen Bed
Photo provided by managementHotel Hi-Ho
Deluxe Bed
Photo provided by managementHotel Hi-Ho
Deluxe Queen Bathroom
Photo provided by managementHotel Hi-Ho
Espresso Machine
Photo provided by managementHotel Hi-Ho
Suite Rooms
PreviousNext
12345615
Hello, Are you pet friendly? Thank you
I'm with the above. Didn't see pets around.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do rooms have refrigerators ?
Yes the rooms have mini refrigerators. Very nice.
0 votes
Show all answers
The room I had did not have a mini-fridge or microwave. I have no idea how close the hotel is to Bluefish Stadium.
0 votes
Show all answers
Beach is 10 minutes away. There is Jennings beach costs $20 to park for the day. Other beaches also off reef road in Fairfield
0 votes
Show all answers
Pet's? Are you charge for very small dog?
not sure - you should send them a quick email and ask!
0 votes
Show all answers
"I was in the 200's street level and very easy access"
"make reservations in advance for the wine bar - gets very busy!"
"Stay away!! Or pay with cash. F these guys."
"Avoid restaurant side and street side if you want less noise"
"Clean and comfortable "
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
$93 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutFairfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing