We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4180 Black Rock Tpke, Fairfield, CT 06824-1844
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$105
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/26/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
$105
$99
View Deal
SAVE $6
Agoda.com$105
Priceline
Expedia.com$100
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (91)
Room & Suite (51)
Videos (2)

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Fairfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Hi-Ho is a recently restored boutique hotel located in Fairfield, Connecticut. The iconic property, built in 1960, offers purposefully-designed guest rooms, stylish social spaces and destination dining at on-site restaurant Barcelona Wine Bar. With complimentary amenities including a daily breakfast bar, wifi and parking right off the scenic Merritt Parkway at Exit 44 , Hotel Hi-Ho affords guests an elevated hospitality experience amidst one of Connecticut's most bustling communities.
Read more
Room & Suite (51)51
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
324Reviews5Q+A67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 182
  • 71
  • 28
  • 22
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Davo2000 wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Not only did I have to find someone to complete my reservation since when I arrived my online confirmation wasn’t recognized and the office was closed with a broken touch screen kiosk that didn’t help, but the entire back of the place has kitchen staff smoking and talking all night from the attached restaurant. That ended at 11:30. The vent in the bathroom didn’t work. Yuck! The volume in the remote control was broken. The room smelled like strong cleaning fluid, but didn’t feel clean since I could see dirt in the room. The manager “on call” didn’t really seem to believe or care about my complaints. I will never return. The “renovations” they brag about were clearly never completed, as the whole place looks run down when they aren’t showing you old pictures on the internet. There’s plenty of name brand places that have corporate offices you can call when treated like garbage, which is why they don’t treat you like this place did. Avoid this place. There is no customer service and no way to vent the cleaning fluid and cigarette smell. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hensey, Marketing at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded 3 days ago
Sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations. We have purposely not placed anyone at the front desk because the property is direct-to-room, which allows us to eliminate the hassle of waiting in lines to check-in or out. We have a 24/7 call line if you have any questions or concerns, as there are still staff members on the property. Unfortunately, we are unable to control the foot traffic near Barcelona Restaurant. However, they are a very popular tapas restaurant and we certainly recommend you check them out the next time you are in the area as they offer astonishing and award-winning cuisine!!
Read more
Theresa D wrote a review Feb 2020
Syracuse, New York4 contributions
This hotel is overrated. We stayed 2 nights and most likely will not return. The room was the smallest I have ever seen. It was lacking basic amenities like a mini fridge, microwave, desk and comfortable chair. The HVAC unit was very noisy and the door was drafty. The free breakfast is a joke. Other than fruit, a few hard boiled eggs and cold pastries, there was little else offered. Location may be convenient however there is a lot of street noise.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your stay didn't go as expected. Please read some of our other great reviews and reconsider us next time you're in the area.
Read more
SSPHanover_Mass wrote a review Feb 2020
Hanover, Massachusetts44 contributions38 helpful votes
The Hotel was fine for one night. Good location, we were visiting our daughter for her birthday. She goes to college close by. I had asked when I booked for top floor which I got. We were put next to the Lounge which serves a little breakfast in the morning. Needless to say we were awoken be the patrons going in and out of the lounge. The heater was so loud you heard it go on and off all night long. Also, the road news was awful. There will be no return visit. Too many nicer places in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: clean rooms, lots of road noise, loud heating system
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded Feb 20, 2020
We're sorry to hear your recent experience did not meet your expectations. Please know there is always a Manager on Duty, available 24/7 via telephone, at Hotel Hi-Ho to assist with any questions or concerns you may have throughout your stay. If you ever decide to stay with us again in the future, please be sure to give us a call and we'll gladly assist and address any concerns you have at that very moment in time to ensure your next stay is an enjoyable one.
Read more
superdupergal wrote a review Jan 2020
Concord, Massachusetts18 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked two rooms for my family. Both rooms had heat/air conditioning fans which were very noisy/rattling which was a bummer. Couldn’t switch rooms as they were full. Had to blow dry hair in bedroom as outlet in bathroom didn’t work. Noisy outside until 11 then quieted down. My kids in the second room got a x101 course as they could hear the couple next door having a good time. I guess they need to learn sometime... breakfast adequate - nothing special. Easy on and off highway for visiting Fairfield u.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded Jan 30, 2020
We apologize your experience did not meet your expectations. Thank you for bringing the ptac noise concern to our attention. We take guest feedback very seriously and will work diligently to address and fix the issue you mentioned. We hope you give us another opportunity if you do decide to return to Fairfield in the near future, as we can assure your stay was a one-off experience.
Read more
randygvm wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
I was in a rush and had to get into a room before the next comedy show and the sleep I was able to get got me ready to face the obnoxious audience I was to face the next evening. Yes my future mother in law can be very critical and hostile. Thank you again very much. Randy
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: More water bottles and microwave popcorn
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Hi-Ho
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Thank you for your five star review! We are happy to hear you had magnificent stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutFairfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hi-Ho
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hi-Ho?
Nearby attractions include Fairfield Theater Company (4.3 miles), Beardsley Zoo (4.6 miles), and Seaside Park (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hi-Ho?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hi-Ho?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hi-Ho?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hi-Ho?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ralph N Rich's, Brick+Wood, and Super Duper Weenie.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Hi-Ho?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Academy Hill (7.5 miles), Stratford Historical Society Capt David Judson House (7.5 miles), and Wall Street Theater (9.6 miles).
Is Hotel Hi-Ho accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.