We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$235
Agoda.com$235
eDreams$235
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (110)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (25)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Griswold Inn
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
3.8
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Gift shop
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
441Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 213
  • 125
  • 55
  • 28
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
VP wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
Located in the picturesque and historic town of Essex, CT. Surrounded by natural beauty and also had amazing ice cream near the inn. Rooms are historic, without TVs or fridges or microwaves and small but are extremely comfortable, tastefully designed and provide the 'inn' experience without compromising on essentials like a nice attached bathroom with wifi. Also ate at the tap room (children welcome too) where the beer and food was tasty, with ample portions and hospitable staff. Definitely recommend staying here for a day and a night on your way elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
sjgartner wrote a review Jun 12
Mantoloking, New Jersey86 contributions14 helpful votes
We stopped in the dinner at the Griswald Inn, one of the oldest and most historic inns in America. Our dinner was terrific. The staff couldn’t have been more pleasant. The menu was terrific and the prices were reasonable. The artwork covering the walls of the restaurant is worth the trip.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Essex is one of the prettiest towns in all of Connecticut. It has a wonderful history and is...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
riny wrote a review May 2022
New England1071 contributions263 helpful votes
We went to the Griswold Inn for drinks in the Tap Room. It's an old-fashioned, fancy bar in a historic hotel. The room was very nice and they had a pretty good selection of beers on tap. The service was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kathkel wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York62 contributions61 helpful votes
We visited on a Friday night to listen to live music and had a terrific time! A group of mostly middle aged+ locals and an amazing cover band made the night an absolute ball. I can't speak to the food but this place is an incredibly fun night out, especially for the over 40 set who want to relive the good old days of drinking and dancing and letting loose a bit!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Susan wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My sisters took me out for a birthday lunch and I was excited to have a nice meal out as it had been a long time since my last restaurant visit. It started out ok. We were seated quickly and our server seemed very attentive - at first. We ordered our meals and I figured I would take a chance on the steak ciabatta. I normally don't order steak except in a specialty restaurant as it can be chancy, but I figured at an upscale restaurant (and for the price $$$) I could expect a quality cut of meat. I was so wrong. The "steak" was literally inedible. It was a pile of grizzle on ciabatta bread. I was barely able to get a bite off of it, and what little I could manage to separate from the cut was chewy and flavorless. I actually had to spit it out because I couldn't chew it enough to be able to swallow it. My sister had ordered the same meal and said hers was chewy but she was at least able to eat some of it. She didn't finish her sandwich either. Our server mysteriously decided we were invisible once our meals arrived so no one checked at all to ask how everything was. Had he, I would have sent it back and asked for a different meal. Since he completely ignored us and I was very hungry, not wanting to make a big deal out of this rare quality time with (and gift from) my sisters, I just ate my bread and salad leaving the pile of meat on my plate. When we FINALLY got his attention, long after my sisters had finished their meals, our waiter just cleared our dishes, never inquiring about how it was and pretending not to notice that I had not eaten any of the meat. He didn't even ask us if we wanted dessert, just brought us the check and walked away. We continued to chat for a while and he came by after about 15 minutes to ask us if we might want a "complimentary coffee or tea" which we declined. I have no idea what kind of tip my sister left but I'll bet it wasn't our usual 20%. I have no plans to return here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ChefJW2433 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Amuse of Brussles Sprouts & Pizza were amazing. Bistro Steak Steak was cooked Pefectly. NY Sirlion was over cooked ordred Rare, cam out medium, was room temperature at best. This steak was visully un -appealing the moment is was place in front of myself. When a Steak comes off a Brilier/Grill one can see the out natural juices begin to come out. None of this was happening on this, as it was it served after not being used earlier in the night over Mise en place. The plates were nice & Hot, my wife & daughtet were pleased. However being in the Culinary Business all my career & dining at The Griswald a few times every year, i was very unhappy. To make worse, our server was plaesant & friendly, but he did not notice a unhappy patron.by my meal being hardly touched. I'm not make a scene at a resturant, we all work hard in our line of work. My wife said let's make the call in the morning and sicuss the our concerns in private with management.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Adrienne C wrote a review Jan 2022
New York City, New York112 contributions19 helpful votes
Every few years or so my family makes the day trip to Essex, and it’s always a delight to visit the Griswold Inn. I have very fond memories of their delicious brunch, and we had an incredibly tasty lunch when we stopped by for the holidays. To begin with, our service was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and we had a very nice chat about the history of the inn. The food was great too. I loved my hot butter rum. The sausage sampler was excellent, and my fish and chips were incredible. I’d say the fish and chips at the Gris were essentially as good as what I’ve had in London! It was truly a very special way to celebrate the holidays and I’m so glad we made the trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Lindy Marie wrote a review Jan 2022
Belchertown, Massachusetts3 contributions3 helpful votes
The room was great, staff friendly. I understand that staffing is a problem for everyone. This was to be a very special mother daughter visit, and it was. We booked this room weeks in advance. The draw was not only this beautiful inn, but to not have to leave for lunch, dinner and a nightcap! I received a voicemail three hours before checkin that the restaurant and bar would be closed during our stay. They must have known at least the day before. We honestly would have cancelled and booked at some other fully functioning inn nearby (which is I’m sure why they selfishly didn’t tell us earlier) they were very sympathetic at the front desk. So what!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
cool brit wrote a review Dec 2021
Sandwich, Massachusetts37 contributions48 helpful votes
We booked a room at the Inn and a dinner reservation weeks in advance for a very special occasion. The Inn is great. The restaurant not so much. We were seated at a dirty, non descript table sandwiched between two large parties in the main dining room. The view of the fireplace was completely blocked by a bus stand that was set up directly in front of it. The staff seemed harried and distracted. We could overlook all these failures as covid related, if the food had been better. It was not. The duck was rubbery and tasteless. The salmon was better but a very small portion. One of the sides was missing from the plate. The advertised wild game menu consisted of the aforementioned rubber duck and an expensive venison. There were no carolers (also advertised) and both the library and wine bar were closed for private parties. As other reviews mentioned, the breakfast options were extremely limited and very unappetizing. Very mediocre dining experience but a great place to stay in a lovely town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Betty G wrote a review Dec 2021
14 contributions
We came for a Coastal Connecticut Cornell Club dinner event and we decided to stay overnight. Great decision. Charming room, love those wood floors, comfortable beds, quiet, reminiscent of some European inns. Dinner was excellent, but by the time we got to dessert we were too full to try even one of the scrumptious-looking items. Next time maybe I'll remember to order a bowl of the superb clam chowder and go right to dessert. Perhaps the breakfast was minimal because of the pandemic, that was our only disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Paul Family, Owner at The Griswold Inn
Responded Dec 9, 2021
Seasons Greetings from The Gris! We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and thanks so much for extending your experience to enjoy an overnight stay! We look forward to hosting you again. A return visit for Clam Chowder and let's say...Sticky Toffee Pudding perhaps? :)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$242 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
griswold hotel essex
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutEssex
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Griswold Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Griswold Inn?
Nearby attractions include Florence Griswold Museum (3.6 miles), Connecticut River Museum (0.1 miles), and Essex Indoor Golf Center (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Griswold Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Griswold Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a fireplace, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Griswold Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Griswold Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Griswold Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant, Liv's Oyster Bar & Restaurant, and River Tavern.
Does The Griswold Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Griswold Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Griswold Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Essex.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Griswold Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Griswold Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Florence Griswold Museum (3.6 miles), Lyme Art Association (3.6 miles), and General William Hart House (4.5 miles).