We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Visit hotel website
Traveler (44)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Easily accessible from Interstates 91 and 84 and located only 12 miles from Bradley International Airport, Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area features 215 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites. Additionally, there is more than 7,200 square feet of meeting and event spaces. Plus a restaurant and lounge.
Read more
Property amenities
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
84Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
18Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
297Reviews
75Photos
7Q+A
50Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 124
  • 79
  • 51
  • 24
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Just stayed for a night on a business trip. The room was comfortable and fine. The breakfast options was also good. They do run shuttle service to downtown offices but only till a certain time, be sure to look that up while you are there. Nothing to complain, all was fine as
Read more
Response from MarkH9947, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Eshwar, Thank you so much for your positive comments. I will be sure to share them with our entire Team as encouragement to provide exceptional service. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to the Hartford Area. Best Regards, Mark Henshaw General Manager
Read more
Just stayed for a night in the hotel on the 7th floor. The room was old, the air conditioner rattled and made me turn it off during the night. The bathroom is small and old. Felt not confortable to take a shower. The hotel must undergo a general renovation. Pity that the Holiday
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Responded Jan 6, 2019
Hi 4birdsrg, Thank you for leaving us your review and for making us a part of your visit here in Hartford. We are grateful that you chose the Holiday Inn. As always, we wanted nothing more but to ensure your experience turn as positive as possible. Though it made me that you had a great time at our bar because of our appetizing meal options and great service, I'm sorry that it wasn't the same story all throughout. I regard your thoughts about the room condition, the bathroom space, and the noise coming from the AC unit. I understand that this isn't what you are used to having, 4birdsrg. I'm sorry that this stay didn't go as well as I have hoped it to be. Don't worry, I took the necessary steps to ensure our management gets to read your post and be discussed amongst all concerned staff. We are always on the lookout for ways to make your experience memorable. Reviews such as this goes a long way in identifying areas where we can improve. I also dropped a message via your inbox to further talk about your review. We may not have gotten off the right foot but I'm positive to make it better for your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Best regards, Frank A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Got in about 6pm. Had one person attending to people at the front desk and the other person took about five minutes to finally acknowledge I was there and get me sorted. The Heat/AC unit was loud enough to make me feel I was next to the Amtrak Train. I had to turn in completely
Read more
Response from MarkH9947, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Responded Nov 30, 2018
Thank you so much for your review. I am absolutely dedicated to guest satisfaction and will be addressing the items you mentioned. We share all comments with our Team and use them as an opportunity for training and growth. I can understand the frustration with the heat unit and the alarm clock. I am disappointed that our procedures to ensure these items were missed. I have reached out to you through TripAdvisor and hope to hear back from you directly so that I may have the opportunity to address your concerns personally. Sincerely, Mark Henshaw General Manager
Read more
+4
After reading all of the horrible reviews on the ride over, we were a bit skeptical about this hotel. We walked in, were greeted but two super cool guys at the front desk, and another man (maybe security) who was very friendly and chatty!!! Check in was a bit screwed up, but
Read more
My family and I stayed at this location for a wedding,and it was aveage nothing that wowed me..the breakfast is costly and not worth the money...very bland. Also it more like a party hotel because it was very noisey during late night hours. Other than that just an average hotel
Read more
Response from MarkH9947, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Responded Nov 8, 2018
Dear meko u, We are so pleased that we were able to be part of your recent celebrations. We are disappointed that we were not successful in providing you a stay that stands out as excellent. I can assure you that we share all feedback with our Team and will use your comments to help us provide more memorable stays in the future. Best Regards, Mark Henshaw General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Bathroom could be cleaner
PreviousNext
12345
Dear sisgldnhr, After writing my response, I tried to follow up with your IHG points. I realized after sending that the TripAdvisor system does not provide me with anything but your TripAdvisor name and so I did not have your confirmation number to follow through as I had said. I sincerely apologize for that. Mark Henshaw General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Doubtful. It's a hotel. I am sure you can find rooms by the hour over by VIP or Erotic Empire. Ha!
-1 votes
No the windows do not open. But keep in mind that, that is for safety reasons. Families stay at the hotel with young children and it is possible for them to fall out. I don't think you will find to many multi-level hotels with windows that open unless the whole hotel is on the ground level. Hope this helped.
0 votes
No shuttle to the airport. It's about a 30 minute ride. You could walk to XL center but I recommend you the the hotel shuttle.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Make sure you ask about the heat/AC unit. They are loud when running"
"Find another hotel"
"Make sure you check all of the appliances and linen in the room before settling in, and make sure you check the cleanliness of the bathroom."
"I am not sure what is a good room in this hotel as someone was smoking weed and you could smell it in the hallway."
"Our room was facing the main street of the hotel, you can see the tall buildings of the city and also the famous 84 west and east highway."
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton hotel east hartfordsheraton east hartfordeast hartford sheraton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hartford Plaza Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutEast Hartford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
215
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing