We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN Rambler

Hotel website
Hotel deals
457 US Highway 85 87, Walsenburg, CO 81089
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Rambler
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 256: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

BW Rambler staff were welcoming and helpful. My room was cool and comfortable with all the necessities. I thought having the aircon on before we arrived was great and good to retreat to after the 38c day outside. Serves its role as a traveller overnight stop well.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that our staff was able to make you feel at home and our rooms were cool and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through town. Thank you for your time, Heather G. Best Western Rambler Walsenburg,... More 

Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We usually stay at BWs while traveling but will never stay in this one again. No value for the price. I appreciate the hotels that offer pet friendly rooms and we don't mind paying the extra fee to stay at a nice property. This hotel made us feel like we were sent to the "bad" rooms out side because of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our property, we use the information from the reviews as training opportunities to improve our hotel for future guests. I am very sorry that you felt as if you were put into a worse room because you had a pet. Although we do have designated pet rooms for multiple... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Rambler is going through extensive remodeling, the room that we stayed in was one recently completed. WOW, they are definitely doing this on a budget, if nothing else it is interesting to see. Room was clean and well appointed, biggest issue was the lack of outdoor lighting. They have plenty of light fixtures just no bulbs? Construction materials piled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I apologize that the remodel we are currently doing negatively effected your stay with us. We hope that the next time you stay with us our construction will be over and our... More 

Ellsworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Efficient check-in & out. Very clean rooms and common areas. The beds were comfy. The Wi-Fi worked and the refrig was cold when we arrived. There as a wide variety of breakfast items including individual omelets.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary F
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our hotel and staff. I am glad that you had such a great stay with us! Thank you for your time, Heather G. Best Western... More 

Rock Island, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stay at Best Western hotels and usually have nothing but great things to say. This particular hotel does not fall into that category. We will not stay here again. The hotel was extremely overpriced and the room had a horrible smell. I really did not like that no place in the entire hotel had ice. Overall, we were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James L
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. We appreciate all feedback and use it as training tools for our staff and management. I am very sorry about the ice machine were waiting on the technician to bring a part. (being rural is a curse, sometimes). There is an addition Ice machine in the Main... More 

North Las Vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent hotel, great location, very clean, friendly staff, nice pool and hot tub, excellent workout room, the breakfast was really good each morning too! If we come back that way we will definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
Strasburg, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had read great reviews of this place and I was so disappointed with my stay. We got to the hotel the room was in the outside part which was OK. But the light fixture over the sink was missing a cover and the light bulb kept blinking, very annoying. We got bitten up by bugs while we slept.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Dear Kelly Schriner, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests... More 

Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our way to Great Sand Dunes, we stopped just off of I-25 at the Walsenburg Best Western Rambler. With two 10 year olds and a toddler in tow, we were quickly and efficiently checked in. Our room was in one of the outer buildings, but everything was conveniently located around the main building where the pool and breakfast were... More 

Helpful?
Thank CatS1969
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed about your stay with us. I am so glad that you had a good experience with us on the way to the Great Sand Dunes with the kids. If you ever head this way again we would... More 

Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good place to stay, friendly and accommodating staff. Nice clean place. It's in a perfect location, right of the freeway,I 25,there is a gas station,and a couple of fast food places. I got there late, and luckily Doug was able to help me out. I needed to extend my stay and Diana was able to help me. This place is... More 

Helpful?
Thank HeikeMB
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Thank you so much for completing a review! I am glad that all of our employees were able to improve your stay with us, especially Diana and Doug. Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you liked about your stay with us. We hope to see you... More 

Dallas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Clean, comfortable rooms with a welcoming staff and plenty of breakfast options. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool as well! Made a great stop over for our drive into Colorado and would consider staying there again on our next trip.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dan R
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests so that we can move forward and improve our hotel and staff for future guests. I am so glad that our staff was able to improve your stay with us and you enjoyed the options for breakfast. We hope to see you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsenburg
2.2 mi away
La Plaza Inn
La Plaza Inn
#1 of 7 in Walsenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
21.2 mi away
Days Inn Colorado
Days Inn Colorado
#1 of 1 in Colorado City
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rio Cucharas Inn
Rio Cucharas Inn
#6 of 7 in Walsenburg
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are Pet friendly, and would love to have you stay with your pet. However, our pet desginated rooms are limited please call ahead. Pet fee is $10 per pet. Best Western Rambler is a great place to stay for business or leisure. We are located at a major crossroads of Colorado. Just moment away from Lathrop State Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rambler

Address: 457 US Highway 85 87, Walsenburg, CO 81089
Location: United States > Colorado > Walsenburg
Price Range: $120 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rambler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rambler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walsenburg
Best Western Hotel Walsenburg
Walsenburg Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay