We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1100 N Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657
E-mail hotel
Booking.com
travelup.com
eDreams
Priceline
Lol.travel
View all 6 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (127)
Pool & Beach (40)

About

#10 of 52 Specialty lodging in Vail
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.5
Simba Run is located in beautiful Vail, Co. Simba Run features a large indoor pool, indoor hot tub, outside hot tub, fitness room, saunas & a front desk staff. In the winter you can enjoy our free shuttle to & from the Vail Slopes!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hiking
Horseback riding
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Skiing
Tennis court
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
365Reviews5Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 208
  • 107
  • 20
  • 16
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jim K wrote a review Feb 2022
Houston, Texas3 contributions2 helpful votes
Made a reservation in November for a stay at the end of January to be sure we got the bed quantity we needed. There fine print allowed them to screw us over despite the reservation notes indicated what we needed and did not get. Also Reconfirmed the reservation and beds three days before arrival. This made the stay very uncomfortable and not worth the $550.00/night (all in). Also, they do not have the ability to email you a detailed reservation of what you requested and agreed to. They can only send you a number. Shame on me for not interpreting this as “I’m about to get screwed”.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Simba Run Rentals, General Manager at Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Responded Feb 24, 2022
We are so sorry that the condo we had attended to place you in, had a pipe break & it was not able to be rented due to no running water in the condo. We placed you in another condo & offered extra beds at no cost, but you had declined. We do our best to accommodate to the best of our availability but some things (such as broken water pipes) are beyond our control. We don't know of any "fine print" anywhere that would allow us to treat a guest bad. We do state that we guarantee the condo will fit the number of guests in your party but we do not guarantee bedding configuration. We will go out of our way to help with any special requests if we are able to. We do have the availability to email you your reservation confirmation & it was sent over.
Read more
Susan R wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
The front desk staff and office management are horrible and unresponsive. The fire alarm went off one morning for almost an hour and the front desk would not answer the phone, and after hour maintenance was unresponsive. When Alysa at the front desk finally picked up the phone, she hung up as she was incompetent to handle this situation. The manager, Karen, was no better and did not seem to care about the fire alarm or that Vail fire department could be showing up or that the unit was on fire! Please do yourself a favor and stay someplace with staff that can be of assistance if needed. It really jaded our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Simba Run Rentals, General Manager at Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Susan, We will be providing the same response as your other review on booking.com & Google. While we apologized that maintenance did not pick up there phone to help you open windows to get the smoke out from your burnt breakfast, our staff did try to also call them multiple times while also assisting other guests. Our staff is not required to continue to take abuse such as screaming, jabs & cussing with things such as the "f" & "b" words. The Vail Fire department will not show up unless the building alarms are going off, in which case they were not. Once our maintenance manager finally got to your unit, you continued to scream at him, while the rest of your family told you to calm down, that it is not that big of a deal. Our entire staff were subjected to your out of control abuse which is not acceptable. As you stated "I am a psychologist & this is how people act in an emergency", it is in my experience that those in the mental health fields are usually calmer, as they have been trained with the "tools" on how to remain calm in escalated situations. Maybe things have changed since it is 2022 & COVID has really made people less patient, hurtful, rude, demanding & overly stressed which in turn makes them think they can belittle hard working staff that ALWAYS go out of their way to help guests. We do not control our maintenance department but AS SOON AS we got them on the line, we sent them straight to your condo. It's really hard to talk to a guest whom is screaming & cussing & not allowing anyone to talk. The manager assisted you as soon as you stopped screaming & maintenance had called back on the phone. She spoke with them & let you know that they were up there but the door was not being answered. That is when you stormed off, screamed "Thank you Alyssa for your help" at the top of your lungs, before heading up the staircase.
Read more
Chinmay wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Not good experience. We stayed in this property recently. We were 2 families and had kids. This was first time we visited Colorado and Vail and first time with this property. The experience with this is property was not satisfactory at all. The rooms were very small as compared to pictures(Queens rooms doesn't have space to walk), parking is a hassle no proper direction and also they charged us 150$ extra after we checked out for cleaning concerns apart from mandatory cleaning charges already part of the stay. They shared a picture stating a burn mark in the kitchen marble where as it appeared a stain mark. Before check out we checked with reception what things need to be performed like waste clearance and all. Point is there was nothing there one could have burnt or it was just a tactic to get money as property is getting old probably or their kitchen amenities are so old or fragile that not even a cooled down pan can be kept for a second. We cleaned everything from kitchen top to garbage before check out and even inform front desk about it . As it is practically impossible to take images or videos of each and everything when you check in or check out there is nothing we could provide as proof. What appears to be stain mark and hardly a 5-10$ spray fix if customer is charged 150$ we wouldn't be preferring this property again. My experience if you stay in this property take 1 or 2 hr out of your fun time :-) :-) to take before and after images and videos so that if there is any dispute you have proof. Not satisfied with this property. Wouldn't recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Simba Run Rentals, General Manager at Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Responded Feb 24, 2022
While we understand your frustration that we kept your deposit due to a yellow stain on the laminate countertop, we also discussed this with you multiple times. You stated that it was probably turmeric & it would come off with lemon. You requested a video of us cleaning it with your suggested cleaning method, in which we provided. You also stated you would send us the name of a cleaning product that would take stains off of laminate countertops. You never sent it. We tried everything we could to get the stain out & to accommodate all your cleaning requests for the stain, as the last thing we want to do is keep a damage deposit. The entire kitchen counter had to be replaced which was over $1600, so your damage deposit did not even cover that. We do not use any tactics here. We have photos of ALL our condos & existing damages on file so they are referenced upon departures. To this day, if you would like to send us your "miracle cleaner" that will take stains out of laminate countertops, we will try it on other counters & if it works, would be more than happy to refund your money. We bent over backwards trying to get you your damage deposit back, but everything you stated you would do, you did not.
Read more
Chris S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I would not recommend this place to a friend. The cleanliness of the rooms was mediocre (hair on the floors/bathe tubs) Refrigerator was not working when we arrived but we didn’t know until the day after we bought groceries. A total loss of fresh foods. On the 3rd day we were given another unit which had an ill working washing machine. Repair man came next day while we were out- said it worked fine. We did a load that night…washer would not drain. Luckily we had other family staying so we just used their washer. Maintenance was too slow to respond. Front desk closes at 4:00 so if u have any requests or issues after that, good luck The rooms were extremely warm, and no additional fans were available for use. NO A/C. Room card keys often did not work..luckily a few times we were able to catch the front desk before 4:00. Otherwise…not sure how one would get into their room. Not the best place for summertime visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bryanem wrote a review Jul 2021
Lakeville, Minnesota107 contributions99 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights in July. Very easy check in, convenient parking lot. Close to Lionshead Village. It was very clean and nice, upstairs had a nice walk in shower. Well equipped kitchen, fast WiFi , nice living room with big sectional couch and nice dining area. It was very clean and well maintained. As far as the complainers on the road noise, it’s a fact of life in Vail. You are never going to get away from road noise from I-70. Period. It runs all along Vail valley. Just shut the windows, and turn on the air conditioning and it’s just fine, the condos are fairly noise proof. I would come back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking is tough in the ski village. Down the road is the free Red Sandstone parking ramp, and a...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Katherine W wrote a review Aug 2020
San Diego, California138 contributions245 helpful votes
This condo 1510 Simba Run shocking to hear all the traffic noise on I 70. Trucks using engine brakes to slow down creating unbearable noise. Cars whizzing by day and night with every kind of engine you could imagine, as well as motorcycle noise. You could NOT have the windows open. The noise was the most irritating I’ve ever experienced when renting condos. I cannot believe the owner has not disclosed this fairly, as it was such a deterrent to our enjoyment of the condo and Vail. The condo itself is beautiful, pictures are exactly as it is, but I would NOT stay in the summer! when the temperature is close to 90s and you MUST have windows open to all that traffic noise. Condos in Vail do not have air conditioning! Huh? I would give the condo a 4 star for its amenities, but during this COVID time, I did not feel the condo stood up to the cleanliness and sterilization required by CDC. I swiped the dining table with alcohol and the paper towel was filthy! When I spoke with Itrips management they sluffed off this. I even sent them a picture of the dirty paper towel. Hopefully I can attach the towel picture. A disclosure to this noise in describing the condo MUST be disclosed. A big disappointment was that due to covid we could use the property BBQs and limited pool and spa use. Do not rent this during the summer unless you like NOISE!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Reserve rooms/condos not facing the I 70 freeway
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Simba Run Rentals, General Manager at Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Thank you for your review. you rented from ITRIPS which is a 3rd party. Each condo is individually owned & this one is not in our rental program. I'm sure you would love the condos if you booked with us directly. We even have our own on site maintenance staff for a quick response! We are so sorry that there were regulations with BBQ grills & pools during COVID. If our property does not follow local county guidelines, we could be shut down.
Read more
Jeffrey M wrote a review Jun 2020
Belleville, United States11 contributions2 helpful votes
First of all: BEWARE WHEN BOOKING. You might be drawn to the low price but they hit me with a $100+ fee after booking that really aggravated me. I'm not the only one this has happened to. (Check other reviews) Pros: Location is good and the kids loved the pool. Decent views and convenient amenities (such as kitchen). Parking garage is nice too. Cons: Aside from the ridiculous booking fees... The unit we stayed in was extremely dated and sort of run down. Toilets didn't flush right, kitchen cabinets and appliances were extremely dated and in disrepair. We were happy with our stay but will probably look around at different options next time we're in Vail.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Simba Run Rentals, General Manager at Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Responded Jun 22, 2020
Good Morning Jeffrey, Thank you for your review. If you could send us your last name, so we may look into the issues you mentioned in your condo, we would greatly appreciate it. We do walk through all of our condos & check to see that things are working prior to a guest checking in. If we missed something we apologize for the inconvenience & will note to double check the items. All of our condos are individually owned & we are always encouraging the owners to update their units. We will send your comments along to the owner once we know your unit so that they can see what areas of improvement there are for their unit. We do have a resort fee & a parking fee that we charge in addition to the nightly rate. Should a guest not require parking, we of course, do not charge the parking fee. The Resort Fee covers the care of all common areas, along with the pool, hot tub & fitness center. We do have photos of all units available should you choose to look at the condo you may get ahead of arrival. We have 3 levels of condos: Basic, Deluxe & Premier.
Read more
Melissa wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
The price is great as Vail is expensive. The shuttle to the mountain was very efficient with friendly service. Our condo (#2511) however was terrible. They are a good size but this particular condo was dirty, bad plumbing, mold and outdated decor and appliances. The bathrooms need to be updated. This was also made worse when I saw other condos classified at the same level and they were updated and on a completely different level. This should absolutely not be classified at the deluxe level. I like Simba but I’m nervous to book again as you really don’t know what you are going to get.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Alexander G wrote a review Feb 2020
Columbus, Ohio3 contributions5 helpful votes
I made reservation on website. You cant' see the total amount with taxes until you pay for it. After taxes I realized expedia price is better so I made reservation on Expedia and asked to cancel direct reservation. Karen Funnelle told me they cant' cancel direct reservation and that she canceled expedia reservation. I checked in using Expedia reservation which wasn't canceled and wasted 1 hour with expedia to get my money back after my trip. Huge lack of communication. Rooms were OK but facilities are outdated especially for that price level.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Cynthia H wrote a review Sep 2019
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California139 contributions27 helpful votes
There are many choices of condos in Vail, and we were pleasantly surprised at the value presented by Simba Run. The front desk is staffed and very helpful. Underground parking is convenient. We did not make it to the pool, but it looked clean and refreshing. Our apartment was well maintained, albeit a throw back to the 90's in decor. The kitchen was stocked with equipment. It is a short walk to the pedestrian bridge over I-70 to the shops and restaurants in Vail. Very pleasant stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$294 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
simba run hotel vail
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoVail
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Which popular attractions are close to Simba Run Vail Condominiums?
Nearby attractions include Adventure Ridge (0.6 miles), Piney River Trail (Upper) (0.6 miles), and Lost Lake Trail (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Simba Run Vail Condominiums?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Simba Run Vail Condominiums?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Simba Run Vail Condominiums?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Simba Run Vail Condominiums?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Simba Run Vail Condominiums?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Little Diner, Moe's Original BBQ, and Montauk Seafood Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Simba Run Vail Condominiums?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Simba Run Vail Condominiums have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Simba Run Vail Condominiums offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Simba Run Vail Condominiums located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Vail.
Are any cleaning services offered at Simba Run Vail Condominiums?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Simba Run Vail Condominiums have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.