We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
301 W San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (107)
Room & Suite (26)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Columbia
Updated 12/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 10 in Telluride
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise. We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world-famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventures that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's #1 fine dining restaurant, the Cosmopolitan. Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Boating
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Canoeing
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
318Reviews4Q+A59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 260
  • 40
  • 10
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
travelingmama1952 wrote a review Sep 2021
11 contributions8 helpful votes
So many positives about Hotel Columbia #41: Hotel could not be in a better location. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and the River walkway. #41 has beautiful windows, balcony off the bedroom, huge shower in large bathroom. Loved the location next to the gondola. Breakfast was very good especially the scones. Valet parking went smooth and with advance notice our car was outside ready for our morning departure. Mike at the front desk was great! Two negatives: The king bed is against the wall on one side making it challenging to get in and out. The sheets were old and need replacing. Overall highly recommend and would return to #41.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: #41 on top level was spacious, roomy & comfy.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Bills, General Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Oct 6, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our location and the wonderful views. We appreciate the feedback about the positioning of the bed and will look to improve this aspect of the unit. We hope to get the chance to host you again soon.
Read more
Hithard89 wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
Hotel Columbia is located right in the heart of town and steps from the gondola. The hotel was spotless and everyone on the staff made us feel safe. There are wipes everywhere as well as hand sanitizer. Contactless breakfast room service was included. Our room had many little amenities that made us feel cozy like heated bathroom floors and towel racks. Edward and his staff went out of their way to be polite and ensure our every need was met! We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Bills, General Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We are so glad you had a great time, and can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Read more
SC family wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
We had the best week in Telluride and The Hotel Columbia was one of the reasons. The location was perfect (right beside gondola, shops, hikes). The front desk staff were SO accommodating and friendly. One of the best meals we had was in the hotel restaurant, The Cosmo.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Bills, General Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Jun 11, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. We are so glad you enjoyed our location and the Cosmopolitan as well. We hope to host you again soon!
Read more
Jenee Craver wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
Outstanding stay. Great location, central to a ton of telluride attractions. The team was incredible. Felt very safe and appreciated the steps the staff took to ensure covid safety measures were taken and how they adapted their amentities to still provide everything you could need during your stay. Highly recommend staying here if you are in Telluride.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Bills, General Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and can't wait to host you again soon!
Read more
Pam S wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We enjoyed our stay here due to the location right by the mountain and river but still in town. Our room 35 had amazing views! Also the breakfast was included and it was excellent. And a special thanks to Michael for exceptional service and friendliness!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Bills, General Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind words about or property and staff. We are very glad you were able to enjoy your stay and the wonderful colors that can be seen around town. We hope to host you again soon!
Read more
msa23_2000 wrote a review Jul 2020
Chino Hills, California1078 contributions549 helpful votes
Great location. The people working the front were nice and accommodating. The rooms are nicely decorated. We had two issues. One is the air conditioning only blew in the living room of the room and not the bedroom, so the bedroom got incredibly hot at night. There were no screens on the windows so when we opened them to cool off the room, the mosquitoes flew in. So it was either get eaten or sweat. Also no one came to clean the room. Wouldn’t be that big of s deal, but breakfast is only served in the room, so the dirty dishes just sat in the room all day. They charge s premium price, so I do expect premium service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Bills, General Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Jul 17, 2020
Hello msa23_2000, We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. We wish we would have been informed of the a/c issue in the bedroom, as we certainly could have worked to remedy this issue during your stay. Due to COVID19 restrictions, housekeeping can be a challenging issue as well. Unfortunately, our staff can not enter the unit while guests are inside. If our guests prefer service, we ask that they leave their service sign out, and the front desk can set up a time to have the room cleaned. We are sorry that this may have had a negative impact on your stay, but we hope to be able to serve you better in the future.
Read more
Sarah J wrote a review Jun 2020
Denver, Colorado4 contributions
This hotel is amazing. Perfect location, gorgeous rooms (the shower is awesome!), and the staff are incredibly nice. Pre-pandemic, breakfast was served buffet-style. Now, during the pandemic, guests fill out forms for what they want for breakfast and at what time. Also, my friend and I did forget the business card that has the code to enter the hotel after-hours, but someone is on-call 24/7 and was able to provide that information to us in a timely fashion on a Saturday night. The one thing I have to mention is the noise. There were others that were staying above us that were incredibly loud. We could hear everything, and these guests kept slamming their doors. Fortunately the noise was only for 1 night, but for a dog-friendly hotel this is something worth mentioning if you have a dog who is sensitive to noise. If/when I return to Telluride, I will absolutely stay at Hotel Columbia again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
dmf926@gmail.com wrote a review Mar 2020
New York City, New York4 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel has a great location to the gondola. The people are friendly, restaurant is very good. The down side is the walls are thin and you hear everything from the people next door, to the hallway, to the bar. Considering the whole town is historic, this may just be the way the hotels are and if that is the case, then the friendliness of the people and location make up for the thin walls!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardHotelColumbia, General Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Hello, We are sorry that the noise around the hotel negatively impacted your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and interacting with our staff. We hope that you will consider us next time you are in town and would love to talk about room options that might mitigate the sound disruptions during your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Gina wrote a review Mar 2020
15 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel Columbia wowed us from the moment we booked a room for our honeymoon, over the phone. Yes, we were lured by the rustic facade, cozy feel and convenient location across the street from Telluride's free Gondola. What truly won us over, however, was the service. This property raises the bar -- going beyond "great service" to provide genuine hospitality, which reflects the authentic, Old World charm of this city. Edward, Rico, Michael and everyone else on the staff were so warm and attentive, and made us feel like family. They also went above and beyond to provide assistance when our flight was delayed and our bagged was temporarily misplaced. Bonus points go toward the delectable "continental breakfast," which is more like a mini-gourmet buffet with freshly made pastries that make my mouth water just thinking about them. Hotel Columbia, we will definitely return someday!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardHotelColumbia, General Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Wow, thank you so much for your kind words about or property and staff. We are so glad to have been able to make your honeymoon experience memorable. Our staff is what truly sets this property apart, and we are so glad you were able to enjoy the interactions you had throughout your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Telluride soon!
Read more
Brett Neuman wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York1 contribution
After a long day of traveling to my favorite town, we arrived at Hotel Columbia with tired feet, tons of bags and the desire to get some good sleep. Upon checking in, there was an issue with our room being ready. We had to wait almost an hour until we were able to get a room key. The staff could be a little friendlier and room prices are always MORE expensive than other hotels in the town of Telluride. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you are coming to Telluride to visit with family or friends. If you are looking for a true ski-on ski-off hotel without breaking the bank, this is NOT the hotel for you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from EdwardHotelColumbia, Manager at Hotel Columbia
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Mr. Neuman, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at Hotel Columbia. Our Check-in time is listed as 3:00 PM MST. We do our best to ensure rooms are available for early check-ins, but sometimes this is not possible. I am sorry you did not find our staff to be friendly and wish we could have gotten feedback during your stay to address this issue. This is the first we are hearing of these issues, so I would love to speak with you to learn more about your experience. If you can contact me directly at (970)-728-0660, we would greatly appreciate your feedback.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$568 - $1,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
columbia hotel telluride
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoTelluride
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Columbia
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Columbia?
Nearby attractions include New Sheridan Hotel (0.1 miles), Telluride Truffle (0.2 miles), and Sheridan Opera House (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Columbia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Columbia?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Columbia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Columbia?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Columbia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brown Dog Pizza, Cosmopolitan Telluride, and 221 South Oak.
Is Hotel Columbia located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Telluride.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Columbia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Columbia?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Columbia offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Columbia?
Many travelers enjoy visiting New Sheridan Hotel (0.1 miles).