We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1175 Bangtail Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1819
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (54)
Room & Suite (414)
Pool & Beach (65)

About

#5 of 88 in Steamboat Springs
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, a 3 bedroom or a 3 bedroom + Den. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, a Bar-B-Que area and winter shuttle services to take guests to shopping, dining and other area activities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Game room
Hiking
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Skiing
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Modern
270Reviews5Q+A68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 209
  • 43
  • 9
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
algirlluvsmaui wrote a review Feb 2022
Alabama161 contributions17 helpful votes
This Condo is wonderful. It provided so many extra things that made our stay so nice. I loved having a washer/dryer. They also had rolling laundry bins in the bathroom. There were plenty of towels, toiletries, and blankets/pillows. The gas logs were used every day. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. The parking was easy under the unit. The gondola was a perfect location and so easy to ride up the mountain. I loved having a shuttle service for anything you need. So many close stores and places to eat. We didn't use the pools but we went and looked around. They looked nice. The bed was so comfortable. The bathroom is very large. There is plenty of space to store luggage, etc. My cons (which are few) was they have coffee in the lobby and most days it was out or cold. The door to our balcony was broke. You couldn't even close it good and lock it. I did report it but we didn't want anyone working on it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Josh L wrote a review Sep 2020
Boulder, Colorado2 contributions8 helpful votes
Late September stay- each morning loud construction begins at 7:00am as workers cut stone with a loud saw. Continues through most of the day - this is for a property adjacent to the building towards the mountain. Easily penetrates the otherwise solid walls and windows of the property. Recommend not staying here until construction is done---and they have a lot of stone to cut. Could be ongoing well into November. Vacasa also impossible to reach - voicemails left, no response.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Christie G wrote a review Mar 2020
Charleston, West Virginia11 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a fantastic condo. We loved the location because it was a 3 minute hotel gondola ride right outside our lobby to the base of the Steamboat gondola. It is a faster ride there than so many of the locations on the base of the Steamboat gondola. We booked through Wyndym vacations and they were fantastic. Everything about the condo was also fantastic as well. The shuttle took you every where you needed to go and was always on time and never had to wait more than 15 minutes. The shuttle could also be scheduled too if you wanted an exact time. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
merboston wrote a review Feb 2020
Boston, Massachusetts114 contributions35 helpful votes
We were impressed with our studio #5108 at Trailhead Lodge. We stayed 4 nights. The location is ideal - unfortunately for us the gondola right outside the door was broken for our entire trip so we did have to take the shuttle to the ski area. Its only about a 5 minute drive to the mountain and the shuttle driver was great, we called him directly and never waited more than 5-10 minutes. I would highly recommend they add a ski rack to the outside of the bus - it was difficult getting into the shuttle with ski boots and holding skis and poles. We had a studio with plenty of natural light, great decor and clean. There was a king bed and couch/coffee table in front of a gas fireplace. It was great for 2 people; would have been tight if we had to use the sleeper sofa. There wasn't a dresser for clothing so we had to use the closet, not a big deal for us. I believe the units are separately owned so decor/ upgraded furnishings may vary. There is ski storage and a boot heater room. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The highlight for us was probably the grotto style hot tubs - there were 3 outside along with a heated pool, great for after skiing. There is a shuttle bus that will take you anywhere in the area, including Downtown. Ubers were difficult to get. Brick, a pizza/ Italian restaurant is directly across from Trailhead - we ordered takeout one night and brought it back to the lodge. It is convenient to have a fridge/ microwave, stove and toast to make breakfast in the morning. There is always coffee and tea in the lobby along with donuts sometimes plus a water cooler to fill up your water bottle. I would stay here again. Our room was not cleaned but I didn't expect it to be as it was an additional charge. There were plenty of towels plus a comfy robe to wear to the hot tub.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 5108 was on the top floor
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
wilfredoo257 wrote a review Feb 2020
Newnan, Georgia14 contributions1 helpful vote
My family and I really enjoy staying at this lodge. We are repeat visitors. The rooms are well maintained, all the utensils are new and the rooms are very modern. I usually stay in a two or three bedroom. It's been very comfortable for us. One of the main reasons we choose this lodge is because of its location and the easy access to the gondola which transports us to the bottom of the skiing location. We never drive to the mountain. Easy drive to the resteraunts and downtown. We have been coming for years and love it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you are looking for a well lit room you need to chose the outside and corner rooms. We had...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
lucius o wrote a review Jan 2020
Lane Cove, Australia17 contributions29 helpful votes
Just spent 9 nights at Trailhead Lodge couldn't be happier with the location. The gondola drops you to the ski village and returns you home at night. The skiing was outstanding powder most days ✔️ ✔️ ✔️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
skfaulkner02 wrote a review Mar 2019
Trappe, Maryland26 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in room 3113, the room was extremely dark. Very little lightning and what lights they did have were very dim. No lights in the closet or the laundry area. The shower water temperature would never reach the correct temperature. No one ever cleaned the room, the trash and dirty towels just piled up. And you had to go outside to get from the rooms to the lobby. The only plus would be the gondola that went to the base of the mountain was directly outside. I would not recommend the TrailHead Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Traihead1, Manager at Trailhead Lodge
Responded Mar 15, 2019
We are so sorry that the layout was confusing. We have two main elevators in the lobby in close proximity to the front desk that access all of the floors without having to go outside. We will have maintenance take a look at the water temperature. Housekeeping services are a la carte and can be booked in advance, we will confirm with the booking agent whom you booked through and make sure this is explained. We appreciate your feedback on the lights, we will reach out to the homeowner. We hope you return so we can meet your expectations.
Read more
anna m wrote a review Feb 2019
Boston, Massachusetts80 contributions56 helpful votes
To be clear, the room and property are nice, and clean. If I am paying close to 300 per night (hotwire secret rate too) for what is described as a 4 star hotel I would expect a 4 star hotel. The rooms all have kitchenette spaces (no oven). So definitely shop if you want to save money. There are no sundries or food available on site. Free coffee/tea in lobby. The room itself is beautiful. Pool, gym, and hot tub very nice as well. There is no housekeeping service unless you book and pay at least 24 hours in advance. I think this is absurd for what the room cost was and what the description we were getting was. There is a gondola at the door of the hotel, this is a big plus. There are a couple stores at the base village. Steamboat runs shuttle service to town for free. If your looking for a self maintained condo stay this is great, but dont be fooled into believing it is a 4 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Traihead1, Manager at Trailhead Lodge
Responded Mar 15, 2019
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not perfect. Our building consists of full ownership condominiums, which operate differently than a hotel. Our studios are the only room size that don't have ovens, all of our other unit sizes have full kitchens, we apologize for the confusion. We hope to have you return, please search Trailhead Lodge through Wyndham Vacation Rentals that way you can look at pictures and descriptions of each unit.
Read more
Snowcake1436 wrote a review Jan 2019
Oley, Pennsylvania3 contributions
My husband and I stayed in unit 3108 for 5 nights and it was reserved through Wyndam Resorts website.In it's description it states it is mountain view which is NOT the case. In the description it should state daily housekeeping is not included unless you pay for it.There were plenty of towels and toiletries to last your stay and if you needed anything the staff does address it. I just think we should have known on the website or told at check in about the housekeeping policy.The staff was friendly and helpful. The kitchen is small but well stocked with all utensils,dishes and pots and pans. Dishwasher too.Only a cooktop no oven. Microwave, toaster, coffee maker with filters, and tea kettle.Only spices were salt and pepper so if you want to do cooking plan accordingly. Laundry is in unit with detergent included. Very handy. The property is clean and very well kept.Three hot tubs were just the right temp. and felt great after a day of skiing. Also an outdoor heated pool. Two robes were in unit and were very useful for walk to the hot tub. My husband used the gym and said is was sufficient for a hotel facility. We did not use the game room, but it looked nice and never seemed crowded. The Wildhorse gondola is just steps away from the property and drops you right in Gondola Square near to Steamboat Gondola. No need to ride a shuttle to the slopes. There also is a free shuttle service that will take you wherever you want to go. We only used it once to take us into town(about 2.5 miles). You only need to call and let them know where you want to go. We did tip the driver. We walked back to Trailhead from town and with about 3.5 feet of snow on the ground they did have sidewalks plowed the entire way, so no worries about walking along the road. Great to know if you want to do walking. Grocery store, Walmart and several restaurants were about .5 -.8 mile away. We walked there daily. Overall a great location and we would definitely return. We did not have a car but there is a garage and ski storage in the garage with a heated boot room too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
277alissad wrote a review Jan 2019
Spartanburg, South Carolina34 contributions3 helpful votes
We rented through VRBO for a long weekend in Steamboat. The condo was beautiful. Very comfortable beds and linens, warm fireplace to help dry out equipment. The only thing I would have preferred would be a bigger refrigerator. We ended up using the porch as a fridge. I especially liked all the coat hangers everywhere for all the gear. It helped to keep the area neat and dry. It’s the small details like that that would bring me back. The outdoor pool was heated. It was still too cold for my taste but my son loved it. There are actually 3 smaller hot tubs instead of one ginormous one which is also nice for relaxing. Less creepy for sure. The location is perfect for access the ski area via the Wildhorse gondola. It is literally steps away from where you store your skis.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$249 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
trailhead lodge by steamboat hotel steamboat springs
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoSteamboat Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Trailhead Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Trailhead Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Steamboat Tennis and Pickleball (0.1 miles), Steamboat Gondola (0.3 miles), and Steamboat Ski Resort (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Trailhead Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Trailhead Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Trailhead Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Trailhead Lodge?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Trailhead Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Diva, Rex's American Grill & Bar, and Slopeside Grill Steamboat.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Trailhead Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Trailhead Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Trailhead Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Trailhead Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tread of Pioneers Museum (2.4 miles).
Does Trailhead Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Trailhead Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.