We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Spruce Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Spruce Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 212: English reviews
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice place to stay on our Harley trip. Room was outstanding with a great bed and a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The portable fan was a great added touch as we use one at home to sleep with! People were friendly and took care of anything we needed. Had a great breakfast the next morning before leaving.

Helpful?
Thank Graftondave11
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay at the Spruce Lodge was reminiscent of life in the early 1920's. Although modern amenities have been added for the convenience of the modern traveler, enough of the original rustic lodge remains to transport your senses back in time. Antiques and old photos line the hallway upstairs, highlighted by the display of a lace wedding dress. Docile dogs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula S
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived about 90 minutes before the 3:00 check-in time, the office door was locked, so I called the on-site owner to ask her for a very small favor that only took about 3 minutes away from what she was doing. She made no bones about the fact that she was very annoyed by my request. Not good customer... More 

Helpful?
Thank goodeye67
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Your simple request that only took 3 minutes of my time could have cost us our restaurant license FOREVER. No, I can NOT put that bottle of breast milk in our restaurant refrigerator. I will not. If the health inspector saw that we would be shut down on the spot. You would not take no for an answer so I... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

They are Nice people. The room was Definitely clean. It was A little dated but worth the money we paid . Our TV never worked but they did try to get it repaired. Breakfast not as good as advertised but adequate. Colorado is beautiful. We had a good time camping.

Helpful?
Thank Bernita S
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Berinta, Thanks for letting us know about the TV. We purchased another one the next day and all is well. We ARE overwhelmed. Summer is very difficult and most people are not very understanding of that. Please come see us in the Fall when things slow down. We'll buy you breakfast and have time to sit down and chat.... More 

Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

Charming setting and cool old rustic Lodge. We stayed in the Galbraith upstairs in the main Lodge. Staff was friendly and helpful. The stairs going up resonated with some major creaking and groaning. Upstairs hallway floor also very creaky and sway backed from the years. The floor in the room was also old and unlevel due to the age of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don G
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Don, Thanks for your review. It was nice having you here for a few days. We also like the creaky old floors and historic feel of the Lodge. It took a lot of thinking and planning to get modern renovated bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs into an old building without changing the feel of the place. There are only a... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

My family and I pulled in late to the lodge last night. Not only was Dee great on the phone, when we called, but Marie was awesome at check in. She even dropped by to make sure we had items to make sure our family stay was comfortable. The rustic charm was just what we needed to relax for another... More 

Helpful?
Thank twstr18
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your very nice review. It was nice having you all here. Breakfast at the Lodge IS amazing if one takes the time to enjoy it. Please come see us again! More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit. The first visit was marred by a health scare, but the stay was just as good! We love the cabin we have been assigned. They have made updates to the furniture and bedding. There is a box fan in the room which I love just for the white noise! It is very reasonably priced, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TIna D
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for coming back! It's always nice to see a friendly, familiar face. Come see us in September, we'll have a chance to sit down and chat. Have a wonderful day! More 

Owasso, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Recently my family (and sister's family) stayed here for two nights, each in our own rooms. The second night we went to give the kids baths and saw the tubs were thick with scum and grime in both rooms. We weren't expecting anything fancy. Just wanted some place clean and with indoor plumbing. My brother in law went to let... More 

Helpful?
Thank Consalvi2
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Every guest is given the owner's personal cell phone number at check in with specific instructions to call 24 hours a day if they need ANYTHING. You stayed 3 nights in two rooms with four kids and complained about dirty bathtubs at checkout. There were ample opportunities for you to tell us the bathrooms were unsatisfactory including each morning during... More 

Seminole, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed with this place, for 98 dollars a night, we had a huge dead bug on the floor, the vinyl floor was sticky, the room didn't smell good, there were no drinking cups, the cabinets were nasty, we had to share shampoo with the neighbors, because they were out at the office , NOT a good experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

I'll bet most Trip Advisor folks don't realize that there are people who travel like this on purpose. They book rooms, stay for several days and then complain at checkout about something we can't prove happened or didn't happen. I can't prove there wasn't a dead bug on the floor when they checked in, it's a cabin in the mountains... More 

Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

When we pulled up the kids were not impressed. But once Tuesday, the dog greeter arrived life at the lodge got better :-) we checked in late but the concierge service was happy to see us and very accommodating! We got to our room which was huge, super cozy and inviting! There was a refrigerator, microwave, box fan, and super... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cbratten
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this review

Tuesday, our yellow Lab is a wonderful greeter. Occasionally, if you are lucky, you will be greeted by a chicken, a cat, or even a bear! Our rooms are neat. A lot of people don't like them, but we do! We are glad you get our style. Please come see us again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fork
1.1 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in South Fork
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
24.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Movie Manor
BEST WESTERN Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 14 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.2 mi away
South Fork Lodge
South Fork Lodge
#13 of 14 in South Fork
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Price Range: $75 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge Colorado/South Fork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay