We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bent Elbow Hotel

Save
Share
1114 Notorious Blair Street, Silverton, CO 81433
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$133
View deal
Expedia.com
$133
$119
View deal
SAVE $14
Hotels.com
$133
$119
View deal
SAVE $14
Travelocity$119
Orbitz.com$119
CheapTickets$119
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (7)
Dining (4)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/23/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Bent Elbow Hotel
Updated 02/23/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Silverton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bent Elbow Hotel and Restaurant is a 1907 historic hotel with six Victorian rooms with a restaurant located on the bottom floor. The restaurant great homemade American food.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
60Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 29
  • 16
  • 6
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bebe wrote a review Mar 2021
Omaha, Texas1 contribution
awesome stay. owner was very nice and helpful. room was beautiful and clean. would come again and highly recommend. very nice touches to the room and amenities were the best. we stayed in the western room maybe one day will get to try a different room!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Mar 6, 2021
Thank You you the wonderful review! We also want to say thank you for coming and staying in Silverton and choosing the Bent Elbow for you accommodations. We look forward to having you stay again. Best wishes
Read more
ShigaKogen1992 wrote a review Jan 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada19 contributions44 helpful votes
I really liked this place. I had the cottage room which was perfect, a comfy bed and a kitchenette with a balcony out the back. I wouldn’t necessarily call this a hotel but a series of rooms on the top floor of the building, more of a b&b style. The entry system was very straightforward. The cleanliness and quality of the fixtures and fittings was fantastic, the owner clearly takes pride in their property. The one drawback is that the sound insulation between the room and the one next door is really very poor, if you want to hear two girls gossip about how their friend doesn’t have as much family money as she says she does then fine but it really was crazy loud and there needs to be a mutual understanding between rooms. This would drop it to four stars but the value,extraordinary cleanliness and effort made by the owner brings it back up.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Jan 10, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. The Cottage Room is pretty cozy. Sorry that you had to hear all that nonsense 😞. Thank you for staying with us and giving us a review. Hope that when you return to Silverton you will consider staying with us again. Thank You Darlene
Read more
Theresa D wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
I was recently surprised by my husband for my birthday. He reserved the Bordello Room at the Bent Elbow in Silverton. To say this was a special experience would be an understatement. The hotel has an old world classiness to it and the room had a spectacular huge balcony looking out on the charming and historical Notorious Blair Street. Back in the day you could just imagine horse drawn wagons and horseback riders galloping down the street, or maybe even a random gunfight over gold. The room itself is extremely comfortable with a luxurious bed and impressed with their attention to cleanliness and everyone's safety during this pandemic. We felt safe staying in this hotel. I would recommend this establishment to anyone and look forward to revisiting in the summer. Thank you to the wonderful host Darlene Watson and her incredible staff for making our stay awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Dec 18, 2020
Thank you Theresa for the wonderful review! Thank you for staying with us, and that you will return!
Read more
Gerald wrote a review Dec 2020
Bethesda, Maryland2 contributions1 helpful vote
I recently brought my wife to Silverton for a special trip. It was our fifteen year anniversary and I wanted her to see a town my family and I visited frequently during my childhood. I reserved the Victorian Room and spoke with the owner Darlene ahead of time to see if I could have flowers and chocolate in the room for us. She bent over backwards to have the room ready for me. The room was spotless and my wife loved it. An added bonus was the awesome balcony off the room looking out over the street. Thank you again to the amazing staff who made this such a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2020
Thank You Gerald for staying with us, we loved having you and your wife. Thank You for the nice review. We hope that you come again soon! Stay safe. Thank You Darlene
Read more
Cathyheyliger wrote a review Sep 2020
Glenwood Springs, Colorado6 contributions6 helpful votes
First off it was our mistake that we entered the wrong dates into Hotels.com reservation system. We arrived on a Sunday and did not have reservations until Monday. We had already paid for two nights and there was a room available on Sunday but they refused to let us use Sunday as one of our already paid nights. They insisted we had to pay for Sunday. So $187 dollars later we got the room. In short we ended up paying for three nights and only stayed two. The rooms are nice and everything was clean, but their restaurant was only open for breakfast and lunch. The breakfast on the first day took 30 minutes to arrive and the potatoes were not cooked through, they were hard and flavorless. The rest of the breakfast was good and the portions are enormous. Regardless, I think it is very bad business to not honor already paid nights no matter how you make a reservation. We were basically scolded by the gal who checked us in for using Hotels.com. Here's the big kicker for me- on both days during our breakfast in their restaurant that apparently has no heat they played Christian music. It is of course their right, but to me it was very offensive for them to assume everyone is okay with Christian music playing. Turning the heat on might have made it a little more acceptable, but there I was freezing, with uncooked potatoes and having to listen to music that I feel is inappropriate for public places! The short and the long of it is- we are from Colorado and we will never go back nor will I recommend The Bent Elbow hotel and restaurant to any friends or family! I know times are hard for these hotels and restaurants during covid and we are doing our best to support local business and their staff by always tipping well over 20%, and taking the risk to go there and possibly expose ourselves. We are diligent mask wearers and are respectful at all times in regards to Covid rules. I do apologize for being harsh in this instance and during these uncertain times, but I really feel in my heart there was no other choice! I just think for the price of this hotel it is not a good choice. They have bad business practices and apparently feel we should all be Christians and freezing!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Nov 16, 2020
It is unfortunate that you were so unhappy especially considering most of your complaints are your own responsibility. We do need to explain in our defense that when you book with a third party you are responsible for moving your reservation through them, the hotel can not do this! If you book directly with the hotel ... not a problem! Dale the piano player is totally awesome, he only plays on Sundays on a volunteer basis, most folks enjoy his playing, and tip him well. COVID requires us to keep the doors open for ventilation purposes, that is possibly why you were cold. Just trying to abide by state law. We are sorry your potato’s were hard, that is on us, we generally do not get complaints on our food. We are noted as one of the best places to eat in Silverton! Our restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch because there is not enough staff in Silverton due to COVID. Thanks for the review, and the complaints that can be fixed and that are our responsibility will be addressed.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$132 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoSilverton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bent Elbow Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Silverton Historic Downtown (0.04 miles), Fetch's Mining & Mercantile (0.1 miles), and Route 550 Gifts (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rocky Mountain Funnel Cake Factory, Brown Bear Cafe, and Avalanche Brewing Company.
Is The Bent Elbow Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Silverton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mayflower Gold Mill (7.1 miles).