We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1114 Notorious Blair Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (19)
Dining (4)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/23/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Bent Elbow Hotel
Updated 02/23/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Silverton
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
The Bent Elbow Hotel and Restaurant is a 1907 historic hotel with six Victorian rooms with a restaurant located on the bottom floor. The restaurant great homemade American food.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
65Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 30
  • 19
  • 7
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Brssjunk wrote a review Jul 2021
Tucson, Arizona1058 contributions119 helpful votes
+1
Bent elbow Hotel This review is a real challenge to write since the staff has been so pleasant, but the room had be a serious challenge. Positives The hotel is located in Silverton, which is a perfect place from which to start any off road trips. There are number of forms of entertainment in town, including the train coming in. This hotel is above the bar and grill, which is closed in the evening so the room was very quiet. The rooms are decorated in Old West all consistent with the town theme. All of the accoutrements you would expect were in the room including a microwave, a bar refrigerator, a TV, and Keurig coffee pot with coffee in the room. The room is clean and there is staff on duty to maintain it. The bathroom was also decorated and provided sufficient space but the best part was the wonderful shower. The room had a queen bed which was comfortable, perhaps a bit soft. However the pillows are quite hard. Temperature control in the room is managed by opening or closing the window. Security is via a keypad at the entry of the stairs and on your room door. The staff actually works out of the restaurant bar below, but have been quite helpful and pleasant. Since we were here for the week, we got to know several of them. Bonnie was particularly helpful since she allowed us to use the restaurant to work on the computer toward the end of the day since there was no desk or available space in our hotel room. Negatives. The largest negative is the fact that it is an old hotel and we ended up with a very small room (the Western room) in which the bed takes up nearly all of the floor space. As a result, there is insufficient room for storage since we are carrying enough stuff for our multi-week trip. There are other rooms that appear to be larger. Since we had to bring our stuff in, it ended up with our camera gear being piled on the only chair so there was no room to sit. We have trouble getting our stuff out of our suitcases since they must be stacked back in the closet behind the chair where we have the camera gear so everything has to be moved to the bed to get anything out. Another major issue, the staircase is long and narrow. If you have hip, back, or knee problems, so for me, the steep 19 stairs are a problem. If you I have no Mobility problems, and if you're carrying very little luggage, it's great. If you do have Mobility problems or are carry much luggage, you might wish to look further. I do not know that there is anything better in Silverton. The hotels are typically in old buildings with the rooms on the second (or higher floors).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Western Room is unacceptably small
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ranger145 wrote a review Jun 2021
Silverton, Colorado419 contributions134 helpful votes
The location of the Bent Elbow is perfect as its not quite on Main Street but a two minute walk will get you there to all the restaurants and shops of Silverton. Darlene is a perfect host and does a great job making sure all of your needs are met including going the extra mile. We arrived with expensive E-Bikes and she came after hours to let us store them in a secure area over night! The room was comfortable with all amenities provided including a fridge and microwave. This place is full of historical charm and when we return to Silverton will be our number one choice to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Jun 15, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Not a problem to store bikes safely in our restaurant! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Safe travels .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley S wrote a review Jun 2021
Los Lunas, New Mexico165 contributions118 helpful votes
My fiance & I stayed in the Bordello Room which had a balcony overlooking Blair Street & what views. Pay the extra for a balcony - well worth it. It was easy to walk into all the shops & restaurants. We had a good breakfast right there below the hotel - staff incredibly nice & helpful. The walls are a little thin so you have to be careful not to be too loud. There are steps leading up to rooms so you will have to carry luggage up. They text the entry code so no complicated check-in. Nice shower, bed & refrig in room - so fun!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AngieDO wrote a review May 2021
Nebraska159 contributions34 helpful votes
Clean, comfortable, quiet! If you like themed hotels, this is a perfect place for you. The hosts paid a lot of attention to details and made the stay feel very personalized. The only negative was that our room was warm, and since the balcony doors had no screen, we didn't feel we could open them. Overall, a great stay in a quiet town.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded May 28, 2021
Thank you Angie! Also thank you for the lovely note in the room , it made my day, bless you. Unfortunately we don’t have screens on the balcony room doors as the screens keep getting damaged. Although we generally don’t have trouble with bugs coming in the rooms. Thank You for the review, the beautiful note , and the suggestion.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Logan wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
My wife and I stopped in as we were exploring Silverton and the gist of our review is: “Wow” The food (Open-Faced Beef sandwich with mashed potatoes and grilled veggies, and a veggie sandwich with homemade pesto) were absolutely spectacular. What made it better was ending the meal with their massive chocolate cake and a side of ice cream. Our server, Bonnie, truly made us feel at home and between the food and service, I can honestly say it was even better than going to my own grandmothers house for dinner! We cannot recommend enough this location and are sure they will continue to thrive. We love the atmosphere and every aspect about this beautiful stop in the quaint town of Silverton, CO!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded May 16, 2021
Thank You for stoping in! Bonnie is an amazing waitress and such a great lady. We love her. We appreciate you taking the give us a review. We value your business and hope when you return to to Silverton you stop in and say Hi! Thank You !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bebe wrote a review Mar 2021
Omaha, Texas1 contribution
awesome stay. owner was very nice and helpful. room was beautiful and clean. would come again and highly recommend. very nice touches to the room and amenities were the best. we stayed in the western room maybe one day will get to try a different room!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Mar 6, 2021
Thank You you the wonderful review! We also want to say thank you for coming and staying in Silverton and choosing the Bent Elbow for you accommodations. We look forward to having you stay again. Best wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ShigaKogen1992 wrote a review Jan 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada19 contributions44 helpful votes
I really liked this place. I had the cottage room which was perfect, a comfy bed and a kitchenette with a balcony out the back. I wouldn’t necessarily call this a hotel but a series of rooms on the top floor of the building, more of a b&b style. The entry system was very straightforward. The cleanliness and quality of the fixtures and fittings was fantastic, the owner clearly takes pride in their property. The one drawback is that the sound insulation between the room and the one next door is really very poor, if you want to hear two girls gossip about how their friend doesn’t have as much family money as she says she does then fine but it really was crazy loud and there needs to be a mutual understanding between rooms. This would drop it to four stars but the value,extraordinary cleanliness and effort made by the owner brings it back up.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Jan 10, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. The Cottage Room is pretty cozy. Sorry that you had to hear all that nonsense 😞. Thank you for staying with us and giving us a review. Hope that when you return to Silverton you will consider staying with us again. Thank You Darlene
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Theresa D wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
I was recently surprised by my husband for my birthday. He reserved the Bordello Room at the Bent Elbow in Silverton. To say this was a special experience would be an understatement. The hotel has an old world classiness to it and the room had a spectacular huge balcony looking out on the charming and historical Notorious Blair Street. Back in the day you could just imagine horse drawn wagons and horseback riders galloping down the street, or maybe even a random gunfight over gold. The room itself is extremely comfortable with a luxurious bed and impressed with their attention to cleanliness and everyone's safety during this pandemic. We felt safe staying in this hotel. I would recommend this establishment to anyone and look forward to revisiting in the summer. Thank you to the wonderful host Darlene Watson and her incredible staff for making our stay awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Dec 18, 2020
Thank you Theresa for the wonderful review! Thank you for staying with us, and that you will return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gerald wrote a review Dec 2020
Bethesda, Maryland2 contributions1 helpful vote
I recently brought my wife to Silverton for a special trip. It was our fifteen year anniversary and I wanted her to see a town my family and I visited frequently during my childhood. I reserved the Victorian Room and spoke with the owner Darlene ahead of time to see if I could have flowers and chocolate in the room for us. She bent over backwards to have the room ready for me. The room was spotless and my wife loved it. An added bonus was the awesome balcony off the room looking out over the street. Thank you again to the amazing staff who made this such a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2020
Thank You Gerald for staying with us, we loved having you and your wife. Thank You for the nice review. We hope that you come again soon! Stay safe. Thank You Darlene
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cathyheyliger wrote a review Sep 2020
Glenwood Springs, Colorado6 contributions6 helpful votes
First off it was our mistake that we entered the wrong dates into Hotels.com reservation system. We arrived on a Sunday and did not have reservations until Monday. We had already paid for two nights and there was a room available on Sunday but they refused to let us use Sunday as one of our already paid nights. They insisted we had to pay for Sunday. So $187 dollars later we got the room. In short we ended up paying for three nights and only stayed two. The rooms are nice and everything was clean, but their restaurant was only open for breakfast and lunch. The breakfast on the first day took 30 minutes to arrive and the potatoes were not cooked through, they were hard and flavorless. The rest of the breakfast was good and the portions are enormous. Regardless, I think it is very bad business to not honor already paid nights no matter how you make a reservation. We were basically scolded by the gal who checked us in for using Hotels.com. Here's the big kicker for me- on both days during our breakfast in their restaurant that apparently has no heat they played Christian music. It is of course their right, but to me it was very offensive for them to assume everyone is okay with Christian music playing. Turning the heat on might have made it a little more acceptable, but there I was freezing, with uncooked potatoes and having to listen to music that I feel is inappropriate for public places! The short and the long of it is- we are from Colorado and we will never go back nor will I recommend The Bent Elbow hotel and restaurant to any friends or family! I know times are hard for these hotels and restaurants during covid and we are doing our best to support local business and their staff by always tipping well over 20%, and taking the risk to go there and possibly expose ourselves. We are diligent mask wearers and are respectful at all times in regards to Covid rules. I do apologize for being harsh in this instance and during these uncertain times, but I really feel in my heart there was no other choice! I just think for the price of this hotel it is not a good choice. They have bad business practices and apparently feel we should all be Christians and freezing!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Watson, Owner at The Bent Elbow Hotel
Responded Nov 16, 2020
It is unfortunate that you were so unhappy especially considering most of your complaints are your own responsibility. We do need to explain in our defense that when you book with a third party you are responsible for moving your reservation through them, the hotel can not do this! If you book directly with the hotel ... not a problem! Dale the piano player is totally awesome, he only plays on Sundays on a volunteer basis, most folks enjoy his playing, and tip him well. COVID requires us to keep the doors open for ventilation purposes, that is possibly why you were cold. Just trying to abide by state law. We are sorry your potato’s were hard, that is on us, we generally do not get complaints on our food. We are noted as one of the best places to eat in Silverton! Our restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch because there is not enough staff in Silverton due to COVID. Thanks for the review, and the complaints that can be fixed and that are our responsibility will be addressed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoSilverton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bent Elbow Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Silverton Historic Downtown (0.03 miles), White Eyes Gallery (0.1 miles), and Fetch's Mining & Mercantile (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rocky Mountain Funnel Cake Factory, Kendall Mountain Cafe, and Avalanche Brewing Company.
Is The Bent Elbow Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Silverton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bent Elbow Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mayflower Gold Mill (7.1 miles).