Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch

Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch

17931 W County Road 74e, Red Feather Lakes, CO 80545-9312
Traveler (167)
The "Eagle" Room
Room & Suite (14)
Outdoor dining options allow you to get closer to nature
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 ranch in Red Feather Lakes
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Family owned and operated dude ranch 100 miles NW of Denver - we love living here, and we love guests!Family friendly summer dude ranch, and pet friendly B&B the rest of the year, with horseback riding every day.Families play together and make memories of shared adventures. Horseback riding, mountain hiking, white-water rafting, awesome disk-golf, trout fishing, riflery/trap and lots more!Ours is not a nose-to-tail program - a good place to learn to ride.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

17931 W County Road 74e, Red Feather Lakes, CO 80545-9312
Getting there
General Brees Field
Cheyenne Regional Airport
44.6 mi
See all flights
1 Restaurant
within 5 miles
150Reviews3Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 130
  • 14
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
father3KansasCity wrote a review Aug 2020
kansas city
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Return visit to this property. Second visit was just as good as our first. Staff and owners are taking Covid seriously. Wranglers make the experience great. One wrangler literally gave my son the boots he was wearing. We brought two dogs with us. They might have had an even better experience than our children. Beware if you’re looking for luxury and fine dining you may be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded Jan 4, 2021
It was so good to see you again, Kevin & Adriane (and Aiden, Truett & Mia!); It’s amazing to watch the kids grow over the years. Although Covid and the Cameron Peak fire were a challenge, we again found sharing the week with your family delightful! As RN’s (and with a creative and willing staff) we’re pretty proud of how consistently we’ve been able to adapt to provide a safe environment for our guests having fun. Come back and see us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan W wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our horseback day ride at Sundance Trail Guest Ranch was outstanding. Our nine year old granddaughter was coming for a visit and loves horses. I researched several places and contacted Sundance. I spoke with Dan (owner) and explained I was looking for someplace that would teach my granddaughter the basics of horses and horseback riding as well as a ride. Based on Dan's and my conversation, we booked our ride at Sundance. When we arrived, the personnel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We watched an informational/educational video about horses and then attended a demo at the barn with the horses. Chrissy, our wrangler, went above and beyond teaching our granddaughter about horses and safety. She helped her with getting on the horse and showed her how to stop, start and turn making sure our granddaughter understood it all. After the ride, Chrissy and Sydney showed her how to untack a horse, brush it down, and even allowed her to return the horse to her pen. What an incredible experience for our granddaughter and what an amazing place Sundance Trail Guest Ranch is.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Thank you, Janet, for your kind words! We’re glad that Emma enjoyed learning from Wrangler Sidney & Wrangler Chrissy. I think that it was pretty clear within about a minute that they were the perfect student/teacher pair. And mare Journey was the perfect horse for them! We hope to see lots of you as Emma grows in her equine skills!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann-Marie U wrote a review Feb 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I came to Sundance Trail Guest and Dede Ranch in February of 2022. Making the arrangements over the phone was very easy. The staff graciously took a lot of time to answer all my questions - even walking me through how to dress in layers.

They picked us up from the airport with clear communication and stopped so we could grab lunch on the drive to the ranch. My daughter had a ton of questions about horses, and Grace thoughtfully answered each one.

Our room, the Eagle, was perfect for our needs. We especially enjoyed the wood burning fireplace. The staff pointed out which way the sun rose, and the sunrises did not disappoint.

We enjoyed our trial ride each morning. Grace, John, and Peter were very generous in sharing about the wildlife, National Forest information, the flora and fauna, and points of interest. They gave us an unforgettable experience of hiking and riding.

The food was exceptional. We don't eat beef, and this was generously accommodated. We especially enjoyed the cookies, muffins, and tea and hot coco which were always available. Eating with the staff was such a fun experience. They were generous in sharing stories of interest, and in listening to our experiences. We really enjoyed hearing from Dan and Ellen about how they acquired and ran the ranch.

My daughter loved playing in the snow each afternoon, and the staff located some sleds for us (and gave us some pointers!). We really enjoyed the game room with pool, shuffleboard, and fooseball.

I cannot speak highly enough of the experience we had. My daughter LOVED using the wood burning tool to make her own brand on the wall. I would love to return and bring my entire family to enjoy the beautiful, fun, and exceptional place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Thank you, Ann Marie, for your wonderful review! And the details of Kathryn's birthday that you shared can be so very helpful for Texas folks wanting to know more about our winter Country Inn February life style. We would love to see you again, come back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa wrote a review Jun 2022
Land O Lakes, Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I have visited the ranch over the years, literally, going back 15 years. Our first and subsequent visits were incredible; the ranch was well maintained, staffed by seemingly experienced wranglers, decent chefs/menu and although the accommodations were dated at the time, they were well maintained with daily cleaning service. The last two times my family visited (last summer and a couple years prior to that), I left feeling very disappointed if not dissatisfied. Were it not for the location being what I like to call, "God's Country," unbelievably beautiful and serene, I would have chosen to leave after the 2nd day. But I stuck it out for the scenery of the mountains. They built a new structure for the staff but In the span of 15+ years, there have not been any upgrades to the accommodations provided for guests. And as I read in another review, the carpeting, beds, furniture, lighting is all the same, which is that much more "dated," and undeniable dirty. Riding horses all day I expect to track in dirt and I don't expect to be pampered on this type of vacation but during our stay, no one vacuumed/swept the rooms, tidied let alone cleaned the bathrooms. At the very least, provide me a workable vacuum cleaner and I will do it myself but for the amount of money, which is competitive with other dude ranches, that shouldn't even be a consideration. The food was genuinely average. Again, I don't expect nor need gourmet cooking but a few of the meals, I truly picked through or left hungry for lack of appeal (and I am not a picky eater). For the cost of the stay and the time it takes to travel to the ranch, it's truly disappointing that the owners (Dan & Ellen) haven't upgraded for the benefit of the guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded Jun 13, 2022
We are shocked and deeply saddened by your review, posted a year since you were here last. We have not heard from you in the last year, and your observations are outdated. We were closed by Covid and the Cameron Peak fire from February to November of 2020, eleven months of expenses but no revenue. Unlike many small businesses in the hospitality industry, we survived the pandemic and largest wildfire in Colorado history. When you were here, in 2021, we had actually accomplished a great deal of renovating; we replaced over 100 feet of outdated copper pipes requiring extensive removal of and replacement of walls and ceilings. About half of the bedrooms were repainted. The week you were here we replaced two hot water heaters, a boiler and a water pump. In the year since you were here, as revenues and SBA loan payments allowed, we fully renovated (floor to ceiling) two guest room bathrooms, the Dining Room powder room (with a horse bridle encased in the clear acrylic sink counter – visually spectacular!). We removed and replaced all the flooring in one cabin and the kitchen, we replaced the jaccuzzi, and painted the Recreation Barn forest green. We are painting all buildings to match the new color this summer, and replacing all latticework as the painting progresses. I am so proud of the staff who did these extensive renovations. Ir is unfortunate that our friendship of over 15 years has to end this way. We wish you well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miss L wrote a review Oct 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited Sundance Trail Guest Ranch for the first time the second weekend of October.

I was excited to experience the ranch style lifestyle for a weekend knowing that it wouldn't be your typical hotel accommodations. However, I was not expecting to be met with a dead mouse in the toilet of the cabin I would be hanging out at that weekend, and removing a long strand of black hair from my mouth from the first meal I had there.

Staff was friendly and accommodating to my dietary restrictions, but the ranch can do a better job of cleanliness. I would suggest doing final walk-throughs of cabins the day of expected guests, set cabin thermostats according to the season, and keep a clean sanitized kitchen

For groups that visit the ranch, it would be nice to have a staff person or owner share history about the dude ranch, do tours, have an instructor or staff show beginners how to do archery and tomahawk, and other outdoor activities, and have all activities available that are advertised

On the bright side, I experienced horseback riding for the first time. I conquered my fear, and I got to meet and connect with some wonderful people
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
happywifeandmom wrote a review Sep 2020
Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed with hubby, 4 kids (15, 13, and 12 yo boys and 8yo girl), and our dog and had an absolutely amazing time. We are vegetarian and Shaina went out of her way to ensure that we all had food we would enjoy. Ethan took us rock climbing twice, since the kids loved it so much the first time, and even spent part of his day off tossing the frisbee for our dog. Callie was so encouraging to our kids whether she was leading line dancing, teaching them to shoot a rifle, or helping them learn to ride. The kids had only been on one trail ride previously, but quickly got their skills up to where we were doing arena games the last morning! The rides through the national forest led to gorgeous views. Debbie also helped especially to get the kids comfortable on their horses. The pace of the week was gentle, with plenty of time to play pool, relax in the jacuzzi, and take of the incredible frisbee golf course! They even took the kids into town for ice cream one afternoon and for a cookout and campfire one night so my husband and I got 2 dates during the week! Dan and Ellen were conscientious in their planning around COVID, so we felt comfortable during our whole stay. And since we had the place to ourselves for the middle of the week, we really got to have a break from the constant wariness of living in the middle of a pandemic. It was very hard to leave and I sincerely hope we will make it back again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Hello Kara and Siri (and, of course, Nathan, Luke, Peter, Josephine)! Thank you for your kind words! Covid certainly provided a challenge, but as RN’s (and with a willing staff) we’re pretty proud of how consistently we’ve been able to adapt to provide a safe environment for our guests having fun! And, yes, our kitchen is always ready to provide alternative and allergen free diets. We’re planning to expand our dining room out to include the front porch. You folks were lots of fun! We hope to see you again this summer!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan M wrote a review Dec 2021
Grimes, Iowa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sundance Trail Guest Ranch met and exceeded our expectations! The place was so beautiful and peaceful, just what we need after a long exhausting year. The staff was so much fun to spend time with, so incredibly accommodating, food was incredible, and we made instant friends with the other guests. We enjoyed every minute of our time there. As we were reminded of our love of country and horses, we came home and added a new member to our family; an American Saddlebred to love and cherish. Next step is getting a farm outside of the city. Thank you for the great vacation, the feeling of family, and reminding us of what are truly the important things in life.
Sincerely, Pat and Sue
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ray H wrote a review Jul 2020
Fort Collins, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our grand kids were visiting and we took them here on a horseback ride. They have a great ranch, wonderful horses and terrific guides. The owner, Dan, and his wife are terrific hosts and he and his guides will give you a great experience. They take their time and not rush you and focus on safety and providing a memorable experience. We definitely will visit again for another ride.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Hello Neighbor Ray & Judy (and Mackenzie and Caleb!)! Thank you for your nice review! Your grand kids were delightful, we had a great visit with you and would love to see you anytime. Next visit, we want to hear about your trip to Central America. Until next time, be safe!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheMets5 wrote a review Jun 2021
Portland, Oregon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best place for a relaxing week filled with family connection and fun! Fantastic owners, incredible staff and delicious food. They are very accommodating of our food needs as well.
This is our favorite annual family vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerstin W wrote a review Sep 2020
Winterbach, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the place, the horses, the wranglers and the other guests! It’s rustic, but beautiful! There’s not much to do which is nice for a change, not having the fear to miss out on something. Everyone can do what he likes to, you can go riding but don’t have to. I really liked the bad WiFi, as my kids (8,12,14) got to experience one whole week without gaming and social media. And they didn’t even miss it! We loved that we could bring our dog, she had the best time ever!
And You I didn’t have to worry about cooking, since everything is provided! The only downside for us was that the meals didn’t really meet our taste, too much meat and rather rustic, too. But everything else was perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Thank you, Kerstin & Felix (and Johanna, Justus, and Mathilda!) for your kind words and feedback! We have been blessed with first-class staff, well trained horses, and, of course, only the finest of guests, both human and canine! Because we are so small, we can be much more flexible with scheduling and what we call “ranch time,” which never needs rushing. We agree with you about children lost in their phones gaming and social media, and have no intention of improving the wifi that they have access to (although we have installed a new gigabit-fiber system for the office and adults who need to check-in with their work). Cowboy-western fare is very different from good German fare! Our new cook was a little challenged by simultaneous vegan and vegetarian requirements, as her orientation to alternative diets was interrupted by the Cameron Peak fire. Our menus are always evolving and we will work on expanding both vegan and vegetarian choices for children. Thank you for the feedback – it is very helpful!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aileen P asked a question Jun 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia4 contributions
Do you have availability for just horseback riding one day between 7/12-15?
John P asked a question Mar 2017
is there a hot tub?
Red Feather Lakes, Colorado35 contributions45 helpful votes
Hi John! We do have a large Jacuzzi built into the recreation room deck.
Anne N asked a question Sep 2015
New Berlin, Wisconsin1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do they have hair dryers ?
Red Feather Lakes, Colorado35 contributions45 helpful votes
We do! Every bath has a hair dryer.
Glenda R wrote a tip Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No air conditioning and I was on the second floor during a hot week. I would stay on the main floor during hot weather."
Read full review
equinelites wrote a tip Jan 2021
Denver, Colorado35 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hiking is simply to "die for": ask them about hiking. The hiking is the icing on the cake of this fabulous place!"
Read full review
Bev G wrote a tip Oct 2019
West Lafayette, Indiana111 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eagle room has a great view, fireplace and in-room bath."
Read full review
D K wrote a tip Aug 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Several rooms are attached to the lodge. If you want more solitude, request one of the cabins."
Read full review
Amy cervantez wrote a tip Feb 2018
Asheville, North Carolina155 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Birthday trip with my love."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Red Feather Lakes area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
sundance trail guest & dude ranch hotel red feather lakes, sundance trail guest and dude ranch
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoRed Feather Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNDANCE TRAIL GUEST & DUDE RANCH - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Which popular attractions are close to Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Nearby attractions include Drala Mountain Center (3.2 miles) and Dowdy Lake Day Use Area (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch have airport transportation?
Yes, Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Red Feather Lakes HotelsRed Feather Lakes Hotel DealsHotels near Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars