We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch

Save
Share
17931 W County Road 74e, Red Feather Lakes, CO 80545-9312
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (165)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 01/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Updated 01/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Red Feather Lakes
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Travelers' Choice
Family owned and operated dude ranch 100 miles NW of Denver - we love living here, and we love guests!Family friendly summer dude ranch, and pet friendly B&B the rest of the year, with horseback riding every day.Families play together and make memories of shared adventures. Horseback riding, mountain hiking, white-water rafting, awesome disk-golf, trout fishing, riflery/trap and lots more!Ours is not a nose-to-tail program - a good place to learn to ride.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
17931 W County Road 74e, Red Feather Lakes, CO 80545-9312
Getting there
General Brees Field39 miSee all flights
Cheyenne Regional Airport45 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
140Reviews3Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 12
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lisa wrote a review Jun 2022
Land O Lakes, Florida1 contribution
My family and I have visited the ranch over the years, literally, going back 15 years. Our first and subsequent visits were incredible; the ranch was well maintained, staffed by seemingly experienced wranglers, decent chefs/menu and although the accommodations were dated at the time, they were well maintained with daily cleaning service. The last two times my family visited (last summer and a couple years prior to that), I left feeling very disappointed if not dissatisfied. Were it not for the location being what I like to call, "God's Country," unbelievably beautiful and serene, I would have chosen to leave after the 2nd day. But I stuck it out for the scenery of the mountains. They built a new structure for the staff but In the span of 15+ years, there have not been any upgrades to the accommodations provided for guests. And as I read in another review, the carpeting, beds, furniture, lighting is all the same, which is that much more "dated," and undeniable dirty. Riding horses all day I expect to track in dirt and I don't expect to be pampered on this type of vacation but during our stay, no one vacuumed/swept the rooms, tidied let alone cleaned the bathrooms. At the very least, provide me a workable vacuum cleaner and I will do it myself but for the amount of money, which is competitive with other dude ranches, that shouldn't even be a consideration. The food was genuinely average. Again, I don't expect nor need gourmet cooking but a few of the meals, I truly picked through or left hungry for lack of appeal (and I am not a picky eater). For the cost of the stay and the time it takes to travel to the ranch, it's truly disappointing that the owners (Dan & Ellen) haven't upgraded for the benefit of the guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are shocked and deeply saddened by your review, posted a year since you were here last. We have not heard from you in the last year, and your observations are outdated. We were closed by Covid and the Cameron Peak fire from February to November of 2020, eleven months of expenses but no revenue. Unlike many small businesses in the hospitality industry, we survived the pandemic and largest wildfire in Colorado history. When you were here, in 2021, we had actually accomplished a great deal of renovating; we replaced over 100 feet of outdated copper pipes requiring extensive removal of and replacement of walls and ceilings. About half of the bedrooms were repainted. The week you were here we replaced two hot water heaters, a boiler and a water pump. In the year since you were here, as revenues and SBA loan payments allowed, we fully renovated (floor to ceiling) two guest room bathrooms, the Dining Room powder room (with a horse bridle encased in the clear acrylic sink counter – visually spectacular!). We removed and replaced all the flooring in one cabin and the kitchen, we replaced the jaccuzzi, and painted the Recreation Barn forest green. We are painting all buildings to match the new color this summer, and replacing all latticework as the painting progresses. I am so proud of the staff who did these extensive renovations. Ir is unfortunate that our friendship of over 15 years has to end this way. We wish you well.
Read more
Jan W wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Our horseback day ride at Sundance Trail Guest Ranch was outstanding. Our nine year old granddaughter was coming for a visit and loves horses. I researched several places and contacted Sundance. I spoke with Dan (owner) and explained I was looking for someplace that would teach my granddaughter the basics of horses and horseback riding as well as a ride. Based on Dan's and my conversation, we booked our ride at Sundance. When we arrived, the personnel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We watched an informational/educational video about horses and then attended a demo at the barn with the horses. Chrissy, our wrangler, went above and beyond teaching our granddaughter about horses and safety. She helped her with getting on the horse and showed her how to stop, start and turn making sure our granddaughter understood it all. After the ride, Chrissy and Sydney showed her how to untack a horse, brush it down, and even allowed her to return the horse to her pen. What an incredible experience for our granddaughter and what an amazing place Sundance Trail Guest Ranch is.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, Janet, for your kind words! We’re glad that Emma enjoyed learning from Wrangler Sidney & Wrangler Chrissy. I think that it was pretty clear within about a minute that they were the perfect student/teacher pair. And mare Journey was the perfect horse for them! We hope to see lots of you as Emma grows in her equine skills!
Read more
Ann-Marie U wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
My daughter and I came to Sundance Trail Guest and Dede Ranch in February of 2022. Making the arrangements over the phone was very easy. The staff graciously took a lot of time to answer all my questions - even walking me through how to dress in layers. They picked us up from the airport with clear communication and stopped so we could grab lunch on the drive to the ranch. My daughter had a ton of questions about horses, and Grace thoughtfully answered each one. Our room, the Eagle, was perfect for our needs. We especially enjoyed the wood burning fireplace. The staff pointed out which way the sun rose, and the sunrises did not disappoint. We enjoyed our trial ride each morning. Grace, John, and Peter were very generous in sharing about the wildlife, National Forest information, the flora and fauna, and points of interest. They gave us an unforgettable experience of hiking and riding. The food was exceptional. We don't eat beef, and this was generously accommodated. We especially enjoyed the cookies, muffins, and tea and hot coco which were always available. Eating with the staff was such a fun experience. They were generous in sharing stories of interest, and in listening to our experiences. We really enjoyed hearing from Dan and Ellen about how they acquired and ran the ranch. My daughter loved playing in the snow each afternoon, and the staff located some sleds for us (and gave us some pointers!). We really enjoyed the game room with pool, shuffleboard, and fooseball. I cannot speak highly enough of the experience we had. My daughter LOVED using the wood burning tool to make her own brand on the wall. I would love to return and bring my entire family to enjoy the beautiful, fun, and exceptional place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cowboy Morin, Owner at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, Ann Marie, for your wonderful review! And the details of Kathryn's birthday that you shared can be so very helpful for Texas folks wanting to know more about our winter Country Inn February life style. We would love to see you again, come back soon!
Read more
Dsquared512 wrote a review Feb 2022
Chicago, Illinois73 contributions68 helpful votes
I have been to the ranch 4 times. The reviews reflect it is a repeat destination for many people. Personally I cannot wait to go back and recommend it for everyone. My son went when he was younger and whenever I go back without him (in college now) he is extremely jealous. It is a big world with a lot to see but I will keep going back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
M4Family2014 wrote a review Dec 2021
Grimes, Iowa7 contributions1 helpful vote
Sundance Trail Guest Ranch met and exceeded our expectations! The place was so beautiful and peaceful, just what we need after a long exhausting year. The staff was so much fun to spend time with, so incredibly accommodating, food was incredible, and we made instant friends with the other guests. We enjoyed every minute of our time there. As we were reminded of our love of country and horses, we came home and added a new member to our family; an American Saddlebred to love and cherish. Next step is getting a farm outside of the city. Thank you for the great vacation, the feeling of family, and reminding us of what are truly the important things in life. Sincerely, Pat and Sue
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Chris L wrote a review Nov 2021
Hong Kong, China79 contributions79 helpful votes
We returned to Sundance for what is either the fourth or fifth year in a row - I can't remember exactly. Through our years visiting we have watched our son develop skill and confidence in his horse riding and he is now sometimes mistaken for a wrangler by the other guests (he is tall for his young age.) If you are looking for a Waldorf Astoria you would be better off elsewhere, but if you want to get your family riding horses through fantastic countryside with knowledgable and fun wrangler guides, in a setting that allows experienced horse riders more freedom to ride at their own skill level, I can think of no place better than Sundance Trail. We will return again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
mfgunter wrote a review Nov 2021
Fort Worth, Texas2 contributions
+1
My wife and I wanted to do something different and just relax for a vacation instead of getting an Air BnB and travelling around sightseeing. For once we wanted to just be in one spot and not have to worry about anything. Almost as a joke, I suggested a Guest Ranch and was surprised at how eagerly she agreed. We checked around and Sundance Trail was highly recommended and was very affordable. Communication was great, even when we had to make a couple of sacrifices for a large wedding party coming in after us. Full honest review: Cons: The place isn't Disneyland or high end. It's a bit dirty (it's a ranch!) and a little old. Things aren't fancy. The food can vary as they don't have a permanent cook. A great cook one year could be totally different the next. Our cook was up to the task. Good solid family fare. I was expecting more actual horse training. But generally we had a trail ride in the morning and that was it. Note that we were in the "B&B Phase" so it may be more intensive during regular season. Spotty wi-fi even in the one building with wi-fi access. This can be good and bad. Pros: Great prices. Great people. Beautiful scenery. Fantastic horses. The world's best barn cat. When I arrived I had a bit of experience with horses but was a bit scared of them and wanted to know more. By the end of the week I was able to groom them, saddle and unsaddle, put on and remove the bridal, and take rather challenging trail rides. I went from barely experienced beginner to intermediate and loving horses. The most important Pro. By the end of our stay, we didn't feel like guests. We had kind of adopted all the hands. Heck, one night I even cooked dinner for the staff. The owners are absolute joys. The horses are amazing. The beds comfortable. After we left, all I wanted to do was go back "home" and go ride "my" horse.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
painterela@gmail.com wrote a review Aug 2021
Memphis, Tennessee1 contribution
The cabin we stayed in was quite, well, rustic. Which would have been fine, but the housekeeping was almost nonexistent. Our cabin was never vacuumed or swept in the week we were there. Guests were responsible for making the coffee for everyone in the morning. There was a great cook for most of the week, the food was simple but good. On a few days, however, a substitute cook prepared our meals, many of which were inedible. The horses were great, and obviously well tended and trained. The little boys (7 - 10 age range) staying there were having an absolute blast. If you have school age children this might be the place for you. Be advised, however, that a bunch of 20-25 year-olds run the place without any adult supervision that I could see -- and they run it for their own convenience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
midwestmel wrote a review Aug 2021
Iowa82 contributions66 helpful votes
We just returned from Sundance Trail and we can't say enough good things. We had a large group of family celebrating a decennial birthday and everyone from the young grandkids to the newly-minted 70-year old had a fabulous time. The experience exceeded all of our expectations. Vaccinated staff, outdoor eating, and keen attention to COVID protocols helped us all have a relaxing week. If you had told me that this 62-year old riding novice would be loping on a horse at the end of the week, I would have said you were off your rocker. But lope we did - a couple of the adult "kids" actually galloped on the last ride. The 5-year old was trotting on her last ride. Dan and Ellen were terrific hosts. Dan's horse and safety lecture was the springboard to us having a really excellent week. I had not been on a horse for over 20 years and had never really had any training. That all changed at Sundance. The staff and wranglers were top notch and focused on safety and fun all week. The horses and the humans were great - we learned so much and really felt the attention of the staff. We hiked, did rock climbing, white water rafting, watched the hummingbirds, threw hatchets, did target practice with 22s, played pool, Jenga and disconnected for a week. In-between all the activities, we ate wonderful meals (they skillfully accommodated 2 vegetarians and 3 dairy-free folks), took in the amazing scenery and rested up and did it all again. We are already making plans to return. Our heartfelt "thank you" to everyone at Sundance for becoming a beautiful thread in our tapestry of family memories. It was so very special.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Larry Liston wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful time at the dude ranch. Incredibly beautiful along with great activities. We would highly recommend the Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch. Also, the food was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
sundance trail guest & dude ranch hotel red feather lakes, sundance trail guest and dude ranch
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoRed Feather Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Which popular attractions are close to Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Nearby attractions include Shambhala Mountain Center (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch have airport transportation?
Yes, Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.