We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Save
Share
45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (239)
Room & Suite (375)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/31/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/31/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 16 hotels in Ouray
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year.
Read more
Room & Suite (375)375
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
Hiking
Skiing
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Hot spring bath
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Evening entertainment
Baggage storage
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
694Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 477
  • 172
  • 33
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vica wrote a review Oct 4
Aurora, Colorado4 contributions
Definitely would not recommend and will never stay here again. Way too expensive for this rundown facility. The “outdoor mineral hot springs tubs” are disgusting and are not what they claim them to be. They have 4 wooden barrel tubs which they claimed can fit 4-5 people when we called. We were traveling with a group so we thought it would be okay. Totally false. Only 2 people can comfortably fit into one tub, maybe 3 people if you squish together and don’t mind touching feet. Worst part is we were expecting all 4 tubs to be working because we called the night before and they said all tubs were operating. When we got there around 4pm, they were filling up the bottom 2 tubs with cold water from a hose. There was no way the water in these 2 tubs would heat up by the evening (and it had not). We asked the front desk what happened? They said someone, who was not a guest, went into the tub to wash himself and they didn’t know which tub he went into, so they had to drain both. GROSS! By the way, why were the tubs getting filled up with cold hose water? Mineral hot springs water is supposed to be HOT coming from the natural springs not through a hose. Long-story-short, there was no way we were going to get our group to fit into the only 2 tubs available. Not to mention, the water was murky and looked very unsanitary. There was no sign of “filtration” happening. Seeing how this was cold hose water, you would think some chemicals would need to be added to keep the water clean (?) – just speaking from experience being a hot-tub owner. As for the room, it was old, as expected. It would have been nice if they offered a better breakfast than the one packaged pastry. Overall, for the price they charge, we came for the mineral hot springs they advertise, but it was a total disappointment. Having stayed at Twin Peaks Lodge, their neighbor, the prior two years, we were able to compare this Box Canyon experience to what real mineral hot springs are supposed to be like and that is why we feel this was a terrible stay and why we will never stay at Box Canyon ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenA4597, Manager at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Responded 2 weeks ago
We apologize that we had to drain two of our tubs prior to your visit. The safety and sanitation of our facility is our top priority, and we take all cleaning precautions necessary. Our hot springs are not like a regular hot tub -- the water is filtrated naturally by the surrounding sedimentary rocks, and we do not put chemicals in our tubs as this would seep into our precious landscape. We fill our tubs using the natural spring water from our area, and it is some of the purest water in the country. We're disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay more, and we hope that we can get a chance to resolve any issues you had and leave you with a better impression going forward. All the best, Rich Avery, Owner
Read more
Joan B wrote a review Sep 2020
Pleasantville, New York8 contributions
Beautiful setting & views, charming old- fashioned redwood hot tubs along the hillside out back. Attentive staffed helped with local restaurants, hikes, & addressing promptly initial concerns about bedding.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenA4597, Manager at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Responded 3 weeks ago
It's fantastic to hear that you had a great time staying with us. Thanks for taking a moment to let us know how everything was for you during your stay. We hope you'll be back for another excellent stay in the future. Take care, Rich Avery, Owner
Read more
Edward B wrote a review Sep 2020
Colorado11 contributions1 helpful vote
We came looking to enjoy hot springs after mountain touring and hikes. We were not disappointed. Perched at the base of the Box Canyon slopes, there are four old school redwood tubs of varying temperatures on three levels, with an upper level path to a glider spring overlooking the charming town of Ouray in its mountain splendor. The suite we had was a little tight, with the swing down bed in the parlor a little awkward. . . bedding had not been properly seton that bed during our first night, but they corrected that the second night, and we all slept well. Convenient to the eateries along the main drag through this eccentric mountain town. Maybe not the fanciest, but certainly the most unique accommodations to be had in Ouray.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: AC in master bedroom required provided box fan to ventilate parlor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenA4597, Manager at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to let us know that you had a great time enjoying our hot springs. We apologize for the issue with your bedding, but we're glad that we could correct it for you quickly. We hope you'll join us again in the future. Take care, Rich Avery, Owner
Read more
rwspiegel wrote a review Sep 2020
Ignacio, Colorado2 contributions
When I checked in at the hotel, i was given a bill much higher than the quote I received. I showed the clerk my quote, he apologized and promised to fix the charge. Despite this, when I received my bill, it was higher than the quote. I had to dispute the charge through my credit card to get it fixed. Watch out for bogus billing at this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: In back section
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenA4597, Manager at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Responded 4 weeks ago
We apologize for the confusion with your billing. You should always know what to expect when it comes to your bill. We'll be looking into this issue so that we can resolve everything and leave you with a better impression going forward. Best, Rich Avery, Owner
Read more
Greg L wrote a review Sep 2020
Denver, Colorado34 contributions7 helpful votes
This was our first time to Ouray and our first time to the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs. We were in town to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday over the weekend. This is a charming lodge with rustic accommodations. A lovely birthday gift of coffee mug and some snacks were placed in the room upon our arrival, a much appreciated gesture. The room was clean and very comfortable. We found the natural spas to be quite enjoyable and the view of town was remarkable from the upper levels. However, the spa benches are very slippery to get in and out of. We "hiked" to the adjacent Box Canyon Falls which was well worth the admission and who doesn't love $.30 post cards to commemorate the occasion? The lodge is walking distance to downtown. We can hardly wait to return to Ouray and stay here again and would highly recommend this inexpensive gem to anyone who asks for suggestions. The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is truly a charming lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask the staff for placement based on your individual needs.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from KarenA4597, Manager at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Responded 5 weeks ago
Greg, it puts big smiles on our faces hearing that your first experience here with us was an unforgettable one! It's awesome the two of you decided to spend your wife's birthday out in Ouray, and we were more than happy to surprise you with the gift. We appreciate all the feedback regarding the room as well as our spa benches, and we'll see what we can do about making those a little bit easier to grip. We hope this isn't your last time out at Box Canyon. We look forward to many more memories made at our lodge! All the best, Rich Avery, Owner
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
box canyon lodge & hot springs hotel ouray, box canyon lodge and hot springs, box canyon ouray, box canyon hotel hot springs
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoOuray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
Nearby attractions include Ouray Alchemist Museum (0.3 miles), Yankee Boy Basin (0.3 miles), and Bear Creek Falls (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a fireplace, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include BrickHouse 737, Mouses Chocolates and Coffee, and Bon Ton Restaurant.
Is Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Ouray.
Are any cleaning services offered at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs?
Many travelers enjoy visiting New Sheridan Hotel (9.4 miles).
Does Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.