We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
505 Main Street #1265, Ouray, CO 81427
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$269
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$269
Hotels.com$239
FindHotel$239
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (259)
Room & Suite (93)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 15 in Ouray
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
The historic Beaumont Hotel & Spa (built in 1886) is the only luxury hotel in Ouray, Colorado. A recent award-winning restoration modernized the building for today's traveler while preserving the historical grandeur. This graciously appointed boutique hotel has 12 elegantly furnished luxury rooms & suites, each uniquely furnished & decorated with reproductions & restorations of original hotel antiques. Guests are treated to modern sumptuous amenities, personalized service & timeless old-world ambience. Elegant, authentic decor, exquisite antiques & custom-made furnishings, shopping, a luxurious spa & concierge services make this award-winning hotel an unforgettable experience. The Beaumont has welcomed such famous guests as Presidents Theodore Roosevelt & Herbert Hoover, King Leopold of Belgium, Chipeta (Ute Chief Ouray’s widow), actress Sarah Bernhardt, actress Angie Dickenson, singer/songwriter Jewel, and media megastar Oprah Winfrey among many others.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Sauna
Hiking
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Street parking
Wifi
Meeting rooms
Body wrap
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
416Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 329
  • 47
  • 12
  • 11
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Renee E wrote a review May 10
Charleston, South Carolina70 contributions20 helpful votes
You LIED about my daughter and I in response to our review of your over- priced, pathetic customer experience, miserable hotel. You are without a doubt, the MOST arrogant, undeserving owners of a hotel I’ve EVER encountered ! To put it bluntly, you have e NO BUSINESS OWNING OR RUNNING this beautiful building. And STOP LYING to the public on trip advisor! BEASTS!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Saraphia W wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
+1
My husband and I decided to visit Cortez, Durango, Ouray, Moab, UT, and Springdale, UT over our Christmas vacation. We had not yet chosen our hotel in Ouray, but we saw the Beaumont and stopped to check availability…boy are we glad we did! This is a beautiful hotel (we stayed in the Dove Suite)! It is rich in history, conveniently located, SPOTLESS, and has the best staff (especially Maria). If you are looking for a great place to stay in Ouray, book the Beaumont hotel, you will not be sorry!I
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
GitOutaHere wrote a review Nov 2021
126 contributions54 helpful votes
Really nice old hotel that has been nicely restored. Be prepared for a lot of rules such as what you can touch, sit on, etc. No big deal but just be aware that it’s sort of like being in a museum. Also, sort of runs like a b&b without the breakfast. Check in hours limited to 4-9. No bell service. Again, not a big deal for me. Staff was really friendly upon check in and it was nice to provide a little take away snack for breakfast. Enjoyed stay and would love to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SoozNJJ wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
+1
We stayed on the 3rd floor in the Bluebird room which is the only room we were told was not resized from the original build. This hotel is incredible in the way it was refurbished and I loved the history! We were told upon arrival it's the warmest room and currently the air conditioning was off for the season. So be prepared to shut off the heat all together. If you don't open the windows during the day and put the ceiling fan on the updraft setting, it'll get up to 80°F! And throw a pillow against the door along the floor or the wind will whistle loudly and keep you awake! Otherwise, beautiful place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Bring clips to close the drapes from the sun. The Artisan Bakery catty corner has a great breakfast.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Greg U wrote a review Oct 2021
Fort Worth, Texas93 contributions58 helpful votes
This was our 3rd stay at the Beaumont. The property was refurbished in 2010 to model the original hotel. It is very well done. Staff is very friendly and helpful but limited due to Covid. No bell service. Operates more like a B&B than hotel. Most expensive hotel/motel in Ouray. However, the ambiance makes it worth the extra money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sean O wrote a review Sep 2021
Phu Huu, Vietnam3 contributions
Awesome time, surpassed our expectations, the care takers were awesome, and set us of to experience the most interesting things to do in the area, hotel was right in then center of things in Ouray. They also made all of our dinner reservations. We will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Emily wrote a review Aug 2021
San Francisco, California15 contributions7 helpful votes
Great hotel to stay at to be steeped in history. Perfect location in downtown Ouray and easy parking on the side of the hotel. We stayed in the Skylight Suite which was nice and had a large bathroom with shower and clawfoot tub. If you’re light sensitive, do be aware that the skylights are pretty large and let a lot of early morning light in. There was also an ongoing squeaking sound throughout the night that made it hard to sleep. Staff seemed nice enough although the check-in felt a little brusque. However, seeing all the history in the hotel was certainly a highlight!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Renee E wrote a review Aug 2021
Charleston, South Carolina70 contributions20 helpful votes
PLEASE PLEASE BE ADVISED! If you don’t have money to flush down the toilet, do NOT USE this hotel. It is a very lovely building, very historic and nicely decorated. We would have left a good review …….. IF the OWNER had not enforced a $35 COLLECTION FEE because we couldn’t GET to their hotel by 9:00 PM!!!! I even phoned the front desk DAYS in advance to let them know we wouldn't be able to get there by a particular time, as we had a tour earlier that day in Sedona Arizona, and would not be able to leave there and drive those dangerous roads to get to their establishment by ANY predetermined time. You cannot predict driving time on the extremely dangerous roads that lead to Ouray CO. This hotel CHARGES you if you arrive after 9:00PM! They don’t care WHAT your reason is! If you have an emergency or anything (avalanche!) TOO BAD FOR YOU! This hotel also ABSOLUTELY will not accept any reason for cancellations. NONE! Even a DAY AFTER you make your reservation! Even if it’s far in advance! We made ours 3 weeks in advance. You BETTER not have ANYTHING happen that requires you to cancel — including reading, and then disagreeing with, their long list of “we will CHARGE YOU if this happens”! I am STILL in disbelief that the owner thinks it’s OK to PUNISH a TRAVELER — who could stay at any other number of hotels —- for arriving at HER hotel after 9:00 pm. All they did was leave a key in an envelope, on the front desk! No one was “put out”! (Except us — driving horribly curvy, steep drop roads with no guard rail.) The NERVE of this owner astounds me. REALLY! By the way— you will have to use your room key to get INTO THE FRONT door of this hotel every time you go in or out— SO….. if you have to make several trips to pack your belongings into your car to leave, you better hope you don’t have the same new employee at the front desk that we had. She made us hand her the key, so we were forced to drag out too many things in one trip on our our last load instead of just making another trip. YET ANOTHER INCONVENIENCE! In dreary hot weather there we were — dragging multiple bags on our shoulders, and pulling multiple suitcases. NICE! Thanks! This hotel already charges more than it should — $400 + a night (after all those nice little fees are added!!!) But for THAT amount of money- you’d think you would get SOME KIND of decent breakfast. NO! You’ll get a tiny little bag with a cheap dried out packaged muffin, a tiny tangerine, and a granola bar! Thanks but no thanks! The manger told me they actually “dropped their prices” to make up for the “GOVT forbidding them to give a real breakfast”!!!!! THATS RIDICULOUS! We’ve traveled all over the US since last summer, and EVERYONE ELSE is making breakfast “DARLING OWNER” !!! (NOT darling) I sure as heck didn’t see any price drop! It’s wayyyyy over priced to begin with! You know— I could go on and on— especially about the manager just REPEATING HERSELF OVER AND OVER to me I the phone — like a ROBOT who is PROGRAMMED to say what the GREEDY OBNOXIOUS OWNER TOLD her to say - instead of UNDERSTANDING there are times to make EXCEPTIONS!!!!! I WARN YOU THE READER—- if you aren’t a VANDERBILT, or WARREN BUFFET—- DO NOT attempt to stay in this MONEY TRAP, UNFAIR FEE-FILLED, hotel. You’ll be as SORRY as we are SURLY ARE! I’ve never left a review like this before. I hope I never have to again! I’m still very angry at ALL the twisted principles that are broken with how this place runs. Reminder to the “OWNER”….. Your COMPETION IS STIFF LITTLE LADY!!!!!!!! I DO NOT wish you a future of prosperity with your attitudes and poor decisions on treatment of your patrons!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Leaver, Owner at Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 31, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback. I’m glad that you appreciated the “very lovely building, very historic and nicely decorated”. We work really hard to maintain it. It is too bad you couldn’t allow yourself to enjoy your stay. Our staff bent over backwards to please you during your stay and you cannot deny that. They try really hard to make each guests’ stay amazing. “It is a very lovely building, very historic and nicely decorated. We would have left a good review…” = black·mail /ˈblakˌmāl/ noun - the action, treated as a criminal offense, of demanding payment or another benefit from someone in return for not revealing compromising or damaging information about them. I am so sorry that you took such personal offense to a $35 fee that you felt you needed to write paragraphs of terrible things about our lovely old place and resort to ranting, name-calling, and ill-wishing. Our manager is a very competent, intelligent and responsible person. I didn’t ‘program’ her to repeat herself. When a person doesn’t seem to be able to hear you, it is polite to repeat yourself. She, along with most other humans, also gets flustered when someone yells at her or refuses to let her speak. However, I did train her that she is not expected to allow customers to abuse her and we stand behind her if it happens. We do not bend to abusers, threats, coercion, yelling or tantrums. We do charge a $35 fee for early/late check-ins/outs. Despite your assumption, there are exceptions. Your situation was not one of them. We also have (like every other hotel in the world) cancellation policies to which we also may make exceptions. There are also some fees just like other hotels – we don’t charge some fees that others do. You need your room key to regain entry and you are never asked to return your key until you leave. We began locking the front doors at the beginning of the pandemic because daily we get about 500 visitors (not staying at the hotel) coming in to see the magnificent multi-million dollar restoration. When you check in, you simply press the button and the staff lets you in. Upon check-in, you receive a key to your room that also gives you access to the front doors. Our guests have shown great appreciation for the locked doors so we continue to do so to maintain the quiet, private, exclusive atmosphere it provides. Our rates start at $139 and are competitive with other luxury historic hotels but are always going to be too much for some. We are sorry you thought they were too high. We don’t advertise to provide breakfast but we try to give our guests some food to take with them. We are also sorry you didn’t like our to-go bag. Lots of guests love it and see it as an extra bonus surprise at checkout. I guess it all depends on how you look at life. Please do stay elsewhere. ‘Little Lady’
Read more
Go761365 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Stayed for 2 nights, beautiful hotel however the staff did not seem interested to be there. The website was mis-leading and implied that the garden area is open to guests however the staff informed our party of 6 that the garden is only reserved for special events. The same reply was given when we asked to see the parlor and bar area of the hotel. No coffee or simple guest amenities were available or put out for guests. I would not stay here again, there's better options in Ouray.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Leaver, Owner at Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the beauty of the hotel. We are so sorry our staff wasn’t friendlier! We are working tirelessly to make sure our guests enjoy their stays and we will pay more attention to displaying our smiles. We are not sure why, but we suddenly have received the same feedback regarding our website. The site hasn’t changed in years but (due to the last few reviews) we just updated it to make sure viewers know the venues are for private events & weddings. We double-checked that there is nothing that could possibly imply otherwise (even if you don’t read the words on the page). Now on our website, the only way you can find photos of our beautiful private event venues is to click on ‘Weddings & Private Events’. Also, under the virtual tour section, we separated those spaces from the rest of the virtual tours so there is no confusion. We hope that this makes it clearer that there is no restaurant/bar in the hotel. However, you can find eateries right next door and all up & down Main Street so you have lots of choices within one block. If you are seeking a hotel with an eatery, there is only one in town. We are sincerely sorry that access to our venues weighed so heavily on your overall experience. Since the pandemic started, we have not been offering coffee downstairs. Each room has its own private coffee maker and we can provide an endless supply of coffee for whoever requests it. We also offer a complimentary grab & go breakfast bag. We apologize to have disappointed you.
Read more
Phil C wrote a review Jul 2021
Corvallis, Oregon3 contributions
Ouray is a great place but simply stated-find somewhere else to stay as we were highly disappointed in the Beaumont. We do wish to thank the management for providing our free take breakfast which must have costed $2 each and for the six chocolates each the size of a dime which we were charged $15. For $1200 for a three night stay, you can definitely do better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Leaver, Owner at Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback. We are so sorry to have disappointed you. We are also sorry that you missed all of the wonderful qualities about the hotel. You might find what you missed in some of the other reviews. Most of our guests are grateful to have a complimentary breakfast bag to grab and take out to their adventures in our beautiful mountains surrounding the hotel. They tell us every day! We try to make everyone happy but we cannot please all. We are so sorry you were displeased. We also apologize for the size and price of our gourmet chocolates. We charge MSRP and they are delicious! If you are looking a cheap place to stay, we are not the place for you. Our room rates vary $139+. The Beaumont is the only luxury hotel in Ouray. Please refer back to the other reviews for reference to whether or not you can do better.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoOuray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Beaumont Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Ouray Alchemist Museum (0.04 miles), Yankee Boy Basin (0.1 miles), and Ouray County Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Beaumont Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Beaumont Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Beaumont Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beaumont Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include BrickHouse 737, Mouses Chocolates and Coffee, and Bon Ton Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Beaumont Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Beaumont Hotel & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Ouray.
Does Beaumont Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Beaumont Hotel & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting New Sheridan Hotel (9.6 miles).
Does Beaumont Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Beaumont Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.