We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Monarch Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monarch Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a great experience at Monarch mountain lodge. The rooms where very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and went out of there way to accommodate us. The kids loved the pool, weight room, pool table, and of course the game room. The views were spectacular, we will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank bre935
Cheyenne Wells
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great experience here on our summer honeymoon trip through Colorado. My husband had been before which is why we stopped but we were treated so well I know we will go back. As soon as they heard we were newlywed, our room got upgraded and we also received a great home cooked dinner from the owner. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devon C
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here on our way from Crested Butte back toward Denver. Bottom line, we should've kept driving to Salida. We could have paid the same price, $120, for an ACTUAL 3 star hotel and breakfast. The girl behind the counter was helpful, cheerful, and pleasant to deal with, but our good experience stopped there. No AC in the room, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank mile_high_travels
alhambra, california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Frightening place! Looks like a horror film in the dark hallways. They post on the wall the 4 star TripAdvisor review showing how they're the number one hotel in Monarch, but that is total false advertisement because they're the ONLY hotel in Monarch. There is no AC, so when we got there at 8pm it felt like a hot box.... More 

Helpful?
Thank california-hawkeye
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made a reservation knowing we'd be in later in the afternoon early evening - Driving from Chicago to Prescott with a stop in Denver we decided on this pet friendly hotel. We arrived in Monarch at 8:00pm (we were leaving at 6:00am the next day) and our room was not ready (along with a dozen other people waiting for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fourth_T
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thought we would really enjoy Monarch Mountain Lodge based on the website descriptions and pictures. However, I was very disappointed with reality. We rented a suite, but it was really two adjoining rooms; the TVs in both rooms didn't work and most importantly, the air conditioning didn't work so we sweated all night. Definitely would not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Audrey, we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience. The lodge does not have A/C at all as temperatures stay cool year-round on the mountain, but we do provide fans upon request. Thank you for your review, it helps us grow and improve. More 

Glenview, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had been traveling for 8 hours. everything in buena vista was booked, everthing in salida was booked. It was about 12:00 midnight and we wondered into the lobby, looking every bit as tired as we were. We explained we had rooms booked at the MML for the next 2 nights but tonight there was no where to go. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nursetyk
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are happy to help and hope you had a wonderful rest of the weekend! More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Read that this hotel had closed and recently reopened - We found a work in progress. Pros - Hot tub fine with a view, indoor pool ok - Room was roomy. Cons - must negotiate steep ramp to elevator - staff wifi only in public areas, restaurant open on weekends only, staff a littly surly. No free coffee in am.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigBigAl
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us; These reviews help us grow and learn. Right now our restaurant is only open a few hours every day but will be back full-time once ski season starts! We'd like to hear more about your stay if you'd like to reach out to our guest relations team at guestrelations@monarchmountainlodge.com More 

Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

If you have read reviews of MML that are more than 18 months old....discard that info. What was and what is are considerably different....sorta like a date from Match based on a 10 year old photo! Having said that, what you will find is a fine old mountain lodge in a state of resurrection. This incarnation has only been open... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ratherrandy
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you back soon! More 

Henderson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

We were greeted by very friendly staff and a clean room and it had a pillow-top mattress which we requested. The pillows were really soft. If I would have known that we were going to get a room on the highway side, I would have requested one of the other side. Our room was stuffy and didn't have any air... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hildegarded_2000
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We would like to know more about your stay. Please reach out to our guest relations team at guestrelations@monarchmountainlodge.com. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monarch
15.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
22.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 4 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
22.2 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monarch Mountain Lodge is in the heart of the Rockies and surrounded by the San Isabel National Forest. Re-opened in Feb. 2015 Under new ownership, the guest rooms have been repainted, re-carpeted, and refurnished for a more modern feel. We've also put brand new tile in our lobby and restaurant, and fresh carpet in common areas. We are just 4 miles from the Monarch Mountain Ski Area, and given our unique location, the possibilities in terms of outdoor activities are virtually endless. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Mountain Lodge

Address: 22720 West US Hwy 50, Monarch, CO 81227
Location: United States > Colorado > Monarch
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monarch Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Monarch Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Mountain Hotel Monarch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay