We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hideaway Resort

Traveler (230)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (36)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#5 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Arugam Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
At Hideaway, we are small enough to get to know you personally and big enough to give you room to breathe. We've opened the doors of this magical place we've lovingly called home for 30 years and we invite you to join us here and discover its very special charm. Hideaway is primarily a family owned and run entity and has its own distinct personality and style of service and is not for everyone. The relaxed and homely atmosphere has a certain panache and all our guests receive sensitive and personalised attention. Hideaway comprises 14 rooms in total: four double rooms and one triple room within the main villa, three family bungalows, four double bungalows and two air-conditioned double rooms - all discretely situated within the resort's gardens, furnished with a rustic charm that will nourish your mind and soul. We are now delighted to provide our guests with facilities for wellness and healing. We have added a pool, yoga pavilion and treatment center - the latter two operate daily during the season. Let us feed your body too! The quality of our cuisine is renowned for miles around and we are proud to share it with our guests and visitors. Our inviting restaurant, open for a relaxed breakfast, lunch and dinner, delivers the finest gastronomic encounters, courtesy of Sharon and her skilled team and carefully selected ingredients. Whatever your reason for visiting Arugam Bay, we have the knowledge and a whole host of local contacts to ensure you make the most of your stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free parking
Pool
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Airport transportation
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
441Reviews
6Q+A
99Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 312
  • 77
  • 22
  • 20
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Although we didn’t stay at Hideaway we used pretty much all other facilities. Beautiful airy yoga shala, peaceful swimming pool set among the trees, lovely meals at their restaurant (the tuna in particular was fabulous) and drinks at the Hideaway bar. We also visited the cafe
Read more
Our stay at The Hideaway was very special. They upgraded us to an cabana that we loved. The grounds and swimming pool are beautiful. I did yoga with Ava 2 mornings and thus was really lovely and relaxing. However, it is the food that is exceptional, definitely the best we have
Read more
The people there were lovely and helpful. Our place was a chalet which was good, and there is a nice swimming pool. The food is good, the restaurant was comfortable and clean. We walked down to the beach which is very near. There are 2 National Parks nearby Lahugala N.P. and
Read more
I have just read the review before this and I think not only do I agree I think they have been reserved and polite in their comments. I cannot believe what they charge. It is not justified The garden and pool are beautiful There was a basic but clean room The bathroom as they
Read more
Response from SharonTIssera, Owner at Hideaway Resort
Responded Mar 17, 2019
We must, as we do with reviews of this nature, begin by apologizing. Not only for our exquisite open-air bathrooms but for the mosquitos and centipedes themselves. How dare they presume to take up space in this jungle? This is simply unacceptable behavior on their part, and as the owners of the mosquitos (and the nets), we are deeply sorry for how crushed you were. We're delighted you found a hotel you like across the road; for those wanting to do their holiday on the cheap, Bay Vista is a wonderful option. I run Hideaway and in the off-season manage the affairs alone; due to an injury I was away at the time of your stay. My team occasionally overlook the odd thing and I'm sure to whip them into shape when I'm around but on this occasion a higher force clearly took over. We're sorry you stepped directly in the dog poo. It seems uncanny - given that it was SO GINORMOUS - that you wouldn't have seen it first. Perhaps some higher power at work? Not sure what your point is about the dogs we have. We have four rescues and two Rhodesians. Not sure what the point of this is, but hey you seem to be on a roll!! On a more serious note, thank you for your objectivity and your candor, which we’re sure many will find rather useful when booking their stay with us. As we’ve mentioned time and again, the untamed ways of this land aren’t for everyone, certainly not for you, it seems. But at least now you know. May your next destination be more welcoming to your needs.
Read more
Our family had booked originally for 6 nights at Hideaway but had to revise this to 2 nights. We should have done our homework (we came during low season) but we were not made aware by management that so much of Hideaway would be shuttered for our stay. Major renovations were
Read more
Response from SharonTIssera, Owner at Hideaway Resort
Responded Mar 17, 2019
We're really pleased you had such a good experience with our members of staff; we take so much pride in our team. Equally, we're really sorry you were disappointed with your stay. When you booked, we were at the height of our season with no plans for the building work that is currently underway. We had managed to communicate this to our current bookings but somehow you fell through the net. Our apologies. We're sure you'll love high season in the Bay and look forward to welcoming you for complementary drinks at the (seasonal) bar when you come: yes, the on and off-season offerings are presented on our website. We were pleased to be able to refund your deposit on one of the bungalows in light of your dissatisfaction. Hideaway is loved by many but, as you acknowledge, is not for everyone and I'm sorry you caught us at this time of the year. Best from the Bay!
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
Sri LankaEastern ProvinceArugam Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing