We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Traveler (21)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#12 of 18 Specialty lodging in Grand Lake
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
152Reviews
1Q+A
36Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 39
  • 32
  • 16
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cut little cabin complex, but really dated. Found out it was for sale after we were there. Reserved a cabin ahead of time, but when we arrived, had what sounded like squirrels in the ceiling (not the roof -- the ceiling). Were told this sometimes happens. Our 3 night stay
Read more
Response from DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Responded Oct 2, 2018
We are so sorry about your stay; Even though the Lodge is for sale we do daily maintenance and try to make things as best as possible for our guests. We would have been more than happy to accommodate you to another cabin and feel bad that you found many things that you did not like.
Read more
Daven Haven is in Grand Lake, located just outside the West Entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park. We stayed at there because we were attending a wedding, which Daven Haven catered. The cabins themselves are cute, updated, and nicely furnished. Ours slept four, but like a
Read more
Response from DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Responded Aug 29, 2018
Susan; Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you found our cabins to be great. I would agree the food at the restaurant is absolutely fabulous. We hope that you had a great time at teh wedding and that you will visit us again
Read more
We had our family reunion at the end of July and chose Daven Haven as our venue. It was wonderful. The cabins are clean and neat, the staff was outstanding, and we were able to make ourselves fully at home. Within walking distance of both the lake and the downtown shops and
Read more
Response from DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Responded Aug 29, 2018
Karen; Thank you so much for your wonderful review and am so glad that you found this to be a great place for your family reunion.Also I am so glad to hear that you found the staff to be outstanding as we strive very hard to provide excellant cusotmer service. We hope that you will return to see us again
Read more
The cabin we stayed in had a nicely decorated kitchen/family room with a twin sofa bed and large clean kitchen. The kitchen was moderately supplied with dishes and utensils and linens. The bed was not comfortable and needs a new mattress. Bathroom towels were soft and fluffy.
Read more
Response from DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Responded Aug 29, 2018
Thank you for your review; we are glad that you found the cabin to be nicely decorated and clean and that you found our staff to be friendly and competent.
Read more
Got bumped from another hotel due to overbooking, the other hotel was nice enough to look around for another place for us. They said and we read the review about how nice this place was. Well, when we got to Check- In we were told we were in the ASPEN cabin at the “other
Read more
Response from DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Responded Aug 29, 2018
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am sure that if we had had more availiavbility we could have put you in one of our newer cabins. We are happy that at least you liked the restaurant. Many people love the Aspen cabin; We are sorry that you did not and will check into these issues.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoGrand Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing