We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bauers Spruce Island Chalets

Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good41%
  • Average0%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible25%
  • Jan 13, 2018
    “Tried to cancel six months out.”
  • Aug 3, 2016
    “Loved this quiet, rustic place. Close to Evergreen Lake, hiking trails with a bubbling creek running by your cabin.”
5937 S Brook Forest Rd, Evergreen, CO 80439-7134 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Golf course
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
2
5
0
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
2
5
0
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 12 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2018

Made the mistake of booking here before thoroughly vetting this place. They immediately took $30 off my "refund" as "policy." Don't fall into their nickle and dime trap. Your money is best spent elsewhere.More

Thank Salgal81621
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Manager at Bauers Spruce Island ChaletsResponded January 15, 2018

Our policy clearly states that we collect a 50% deposit and there is a $30 cancellation fee if you cancel more than 14 days in advance. This is so people don't hold on to a room during high season and then cancel. Plus we do...More

Reviewed August 3, 2016

Local hosts were very helpful and this was perfect for a small family reunion, with an open green grass area for kids to run, and a kick a soccer ball, and they provided two bbq grills and picnic tables for outdoor group meals. We loved...More

Thank Cindy H
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island ChaletsResponded August 4, 2016

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We so enjoyed hosting your wonderful family. It was a pleasure to see everyone enjoying all that Bauer's has to offer. We're glad the fish were biting and appreciate the picture of the fisherman with his catch posted...More

Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at Bauers on Tuesday night to stay for one night. We had been travelling since June 26 and this was, by far, the worst place we stayed. The freezer in the mini fridge was so iced over we couldn't use it and the...More

Thank Emily W
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island ChaletsResponded August 4, 2016

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the room not being up to par. Had you let us know the evening you arrived rather the morning you were leaving we would have taken care of the issues or provided alternative accommodations. Sue Retterer

Reviewed August 18, 2013

My daughter, grandsons and I took a day trip and ended up in Evergreen. We found ourselves in a park where the boys had a great time and didn't want to leave and return home. Since we had nothing we needed to be back home...More

1  Thank Rita F
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island ChaletsResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and especially for providing potential guests a realistic overview of Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed or two night at the Ponderosa. We were so wxcited after seekng rhe pics and reviews on the webste. The cabin was relatively clean but not at all as nice as the pics on website. The whole place seemed to not have been...More

3  Thank Mom3ky
Response from BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island ChaletsResponded August 20, 2013

I am sorry you feel that your family of five plus your dog were not well accommodated in our three bedroom Ponderosa Chalet, which is one of the favorites of our guests. We particularly cater to families and therefore are able to offer accommodations to...More

View more reviews
About
Description
We are a small family owned resort offering accommodations for 2 to 10 people in our studio, one-bedroom, three-bedroom, and four-bedroom chalets and cottages. Fully furnished and equipped kitchens More offer vacation rentals for groups of up to 40 in the Evergreen, Colorado area of the Rocky Mountains, 25 miles west of Denver.Our playground for the kids, large lawn for volleyball, badminton, etc., the picnic tables and grills, elk and deer visitors, and the pond and creek for fishing provide a fun vacation without leaving the property. But you'll also want to explore the wonderful Rocky Mountains surrounding Evergreen.Evergreen provides cultural activities such as art shows and musical presentations throughout the year. And we're only a short drive to Red Rocks Amphitheater and Bandimere Speedway as well as world class skiing, snowshoeing and rafting. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Golf course
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
7
Price range
$181 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United States > Colorado > Evergreen
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
7
Price range
$181 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United States > Colorado > Evergreen
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
369 reviews
6.26 miles away
Origin Hotel Red Rocks
54 reviews
9.52 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Denver Littleton
205 reviews
10.65 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Littleton
690 reviews
10.87 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 81 nearby restaurants
The Bistro at Marshdale
215 reviews
1.78 miles away
Willow Creek Restaurant
365 reviews
1.72 miles away
Beau Jo's Pizza
220 reviews
1.88 miles away
Creekside Cellars Winery and Cafe
211 reviews
1.94 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 28 nearby attractions
Alderfer/Three Sisters Park
113 reviews
1.30 miles away
Evergreen Lake
363 reviews
1.58 miles away
Hiwan Homestead Museum
42 reviews
2.19 miles away
Flying J Ranch Park
30 reviews
4.71 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bauers Spruce Island Chalets staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you want the Ritz or the Weston.... this is not the place for you. This a place for people who are..."
704ritaf
Aug 18, 2013
Read review
"We stayed in the Aspen chalet and it fit our needs. One king size bed, a daybed, and a trundle bed for two..."
jeaniek2013
Jul 31, 2013
Read review
"I would suggest finding a good room elsewhere."
KSH1370
Sep 23, 2011
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing