Strater Hotel

Strater Hotel

Cowboy Poets in the Strater Lobby. Fascinating.
Traveler (615)
Room 311
Room & Suite (186)
From the Christmas Buffet ....YUM!
Dining (52)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Only 2 left at
$269
Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 2 left at
$269
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 33 hotels in Durango
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Skiing
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

699 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
La Plata Airport
Montezuma County Airport
41.1 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,451 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Strater Hotel captivates guests with its historic allure and spirited ambiance, thanks to its antique furnishings and live music. Many travelers fall for the charm of its unique decor and find the rooms cozy, despite occasional comments about size and temperature control. The spotlessness of the premises garners high marks, and the staff's attentiveness is widely recognized, with only minor suggestions for service enhancements. While some visitors miss modern touches like in-room coffee makers, the central location is a hit for its convenience to local attractions. Opinions on value vary, with some guests questioning the price point.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Historic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,451Review15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 774
  • 437
  • 139
  • 57
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Catherine K wrote a review Jul 2020
Portland, Oregon18 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here one night on a trip from Sedona AZ to Portland OR as COVID cases were surging in the west and southwest. This hotel had a well thought out and careful plan to social distance guests and ensure guest safety. Our room had been specifically cleaned and was socially distanced from other guest rooms. Hand sanitizer was readily available and the staff were diligent about wearing masks and also gloves when necessary. They also didn’t let these extra measures get in the way of conveying a warm and helpful presence during our stay. I would stay here again because of their hospitality and also their willingness to go the extra mile to ensure guest safety and comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ucanhavethisone wrote a review Sep 2021
Minneapolis, Minnesota11 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When trying to book a room a month or so in advance directly through Strater's own website failed (none available) , we still managed to reserve a room through AAA (which showed several available). The friendly staff member we spoke to when checking in told us that behind the scenes most everything goes through Expedia anyway. Why the difference in availability is...strange.

The lobby has a thoroughly non-Victorian hydration station, which we used several times during our short stay. We did not visit any of the restaurants, but they all seemed open and busy.

I liked the beds in our second floor room just fine, finding them comfortable and attractive. The bathroom was spacious and furnished with many towels and a few toiletries. The room had an HDTV (which we did not use). The electrical outlets we found would not firmly hold the plugs of our chargers, but the clock/radio had plenty of outlets of various form factors (standard two-prong, USB, etc) that worked well enough.

My companion was disappointed by the lack of a mini-fridge. We instead stored the perishables we brought in the provided ice bucket filled with ice from a machine down the hall.

We stayed here just one night, mostly for the experience and the convenient access to the Durango and Silverton RR, which we planned to ride the next morning. It really wasn't enough time to properly enjoy everything the hotel had to offer. Not even enough to explore the building thoroughly. But staying longer did not fit our schedule or budget.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Dane Sosniecki wrote a review Jul 2021
Kansas City, Missouri9 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Strater for our wedding night and it was absolutely perfect. We received possibly the nicest room in the hotel on the fourth floor (Room 422). I had called ahead and worked with their front desk staff on whether they could specially prepare the room prior to our arrival and they were more than happy to accommodate us. I had rose petals and ELD tea lights delivered to the hotel and they decorated the room so perfectly - my wife described the whole setup as breathtaking. We are so appreciative of the Strater for all the extra things they did to make our stay one we'll never forget!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
80237travel wrote a review Jun 2020
Denver, Colorado1,733 contribution1,812 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Strater Hotel has a lot of charm and character. Then agin you expect that, given its heritage. Once you get past the history and heritage, some parts of the hotel were average:

1) Breakfast doesn't begin until 8 a.m., even on weekdays. That is way too late. At the minimum, they should have light breakfast options available from 6:30 a.m. on weekdays. This is uncompetitive and unacceptable in this day and age.

2) No on-site gym. Even a couple of treadmills would be a welcome addition.

3) No stocked mini-fridge, which is expected at this price point.

4) No bathrobe or slippers.

5) No valet parking.

6) Speaking of parking, there is a resort/amenity fee that covers internet and parking. This is kind of outrageous because what if you don't have a car or don't need the wifi? Charging for wifi is absurd in this day and age.

7) Some parts of the room are dated. Carpet was stained as was the bedspread/duvet.

8) Bathroom was outdated and not even classic, but like 1950s or 1960s colored tiles. Out of keeping with the late Victorian or Edwardian decor.

9) No newspapers.

10) Worst pillows I have ever seen in a hotel. Especially for a king-sized bed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yankee33 wrote a review Sep 2022
Williamsville, New York914 contributions184 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 4 nights at this conveniently located historic hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Our bed was comfortable, the room clean and the shower was ok. There was no desk, microwave or refrigerator, although you can request a fridge. The room was spacious, the TV acted strangely but the WI FI works very well. As many reviewers have stated, the only elevator is very small plus they only have one small luggage cart to use. The staff was friendly and they do have coffee in the lobby, but no breakfast. Typical of many hotels since the pandemic began, you have to beg for housekeeping services. But location, location location. Everything downtown is within walking distance of The Strater. Check out the French restaurant down the street for some pastries!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Poipu04 wrote a review Sep 2021
Connecticut895 contributions95 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the historic Strater Hotel is without par. It is walking distance to EVERYTHING: shops, the supermarket, the train, restaurants, and the Animas River walk. The lobby is well appointed with velvety tones of deep red and mahogany and antique furnishings and light fixtures. We stayed on the third floor in a King deluxe room. however, the bed was queen sized. The room was nicely furnished with fantastic wallpaper in a gold foil lily design. We enjoyed reading the room journal and what prior occupants of the room wrote about their stay. There is a small flat screen color tv. USB ports are available in the clock radio. Shampoo, body lotion and shower cap were among the amenities in the bathroom. The hair dryer is in the desk. There was no clothes line to dry bathing suits. No daily housekeeping but the maid was very nice and always gave us clean towels when we found her in the hall and any toiletries we needed. The train horn woke us up some days but it wasn’t an unreasonable hour. The room was otherwise quiet and we slept well. I would stay again for this timeless old west charm.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Quiet room on third floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ella Y wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the Classic Plus Room with one Queen Bed two month in advance. Upon the arrival was given a Standard room with the Queen Bed that looked like a Twin size and when questioned, the response was "sorry, that is all we have available at this time". The promised upgraded view was to look at the roof top mounted AC units. Dusty wall boards, TV table, the shower curtain from a dollar store, the lack of simple things that even every cheep motel has these days (as a hair dryer, coffee maker, a little refrigerator) sure does not make you feel like you are in the "resort" which you are being charged the additional fee for. Location is only good thing is for this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Strater Hotel, General Manager at Strater Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2021
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to meet guests' expectations always and it appears we fell short. We hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves with another stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert G wrote a review Oct 2020
Ann Arbor, Michigan5 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
In addition to having hair in between the top sheet and the fitted sheet, we found pubic hair on the bathroom floor and, what looked to be throw up covering a quarter of the inside of the lampshade next to the bed (who knows how it got there). When I told the desk person early the next morning ...and told her that my wife and I slept with our clothes on and covered ourselves with our coats (night of 10/11/2020), she shrugged and said...thanks for letting us know (I took the lampshade down to her, showed it and left it with her). Just gross and seemed completely disinterested. For $250/ night, I'd expect much better. Skip this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Strater Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Strater Hotel
Responded Oct 14, 2020
We are disappointed to learn of your experience. This complaint is a first of its kind and we apologize. I have addressed these issues with our team and want to assure you that we will never put someone in a room with these issues again. This review has been used as a training issue. We wished you had alerted us as soon as you noticed these issues. We would have moved you to a different room so that you would not have had the night you had.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe Ziemba wrote a review Mar 2020
Neenah, Wisconsin20 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were excited to stay here for at couple nights. the Lobby, Bars, Restaurants, and rooms are from a time long gone. The property is well maintain. The front desk staff and wait staff in the dining room need to be properly trained.

Our room was small and on the top floor. Even in early March I could not get the room below 70 degrees. Making for restless nights of sleep since we like it cool. In an effort to cool the room we opened the window a good six inches. (no screens) late winter not concerned about flies. Still the room would not get below 65 degree's. It would have been nice if the ceiling light incorporated a fan! That would really help.

Most of us will use the in room coffee maker. The hotel instead and I thought this a nice touch had a coffee station on each floor by the elevator, stairs, sitting area. It would have been nicer if they provided those small individual serving of half and half. Instead it was that powder stuff. Oh well I dealt with it anyway. However on the second morning i walk out to the coffee station and not even the powder creamer was present. I am ok with black coffee however for the price we paid I would have like the option to choose. I called the front desk and was told they did not have any and would see what they could do! Yikes I refer back to my comment about staff training. Two hours later when checking out the coffee station was still not set up.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: request lower floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LovelyLexi2010 wrote a review Dec 2021
Dallas, Texas240 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not our first stay at the iconic Strater. In Durango for Xmas wanted to stay downtown. This is a beautiful hotel, clean and has a really fun saloon and restaurant in the bottom. Food is excellent staff friendly. Each time we stay we always wonder when they will update the morning coffee area to all floors instead of just the first. Hot tea or cocoa would be a great addition as well for cold climate. Always a line or out of coffee each stay. Rooms are comfy very simple but clean. You are staying for the experience here not the amenities. They do have a hot tub. Just call the front desk make a reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Does come with free parking they do try and accommodate late checkout early check in if possible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toni G asked a question Apr 2022
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Does the lobby offer coffee in the mornings? Cereal or toast?
Answer from Eliza52
Bryan, Texas77 contributions49 helpful votes
The hotel is wonderful! Yes for coffee, no to any other breakfast items.
petlovr67 asked a question May 2021
ILLINOIS1,828 contribution91 helpful votes
hello.. does this hotel have an elevator? thank you
Answer from SH_GuestRelations
Durango, Colorado
Yes, we have an elevator that serves our hotel.
Answer from SH_GuestRelations
Durango, Colorado
Hello Violet, We look forward to hosting you this coming Christmas. Yes, the Mahogany Grille will be open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. Lunch will be served in the Diamond Belle Saloon. For information about the City of Durango Parks and Recreation facilitates please refer to the City of Durango website.Their pool usually is not open on Christmas Day but you should confirm with them. Our Front Desk staff will be happy to assist you in fining fun holiday activities in the area during your stay.
ShawnWL asked a question Jul 2017
Bulverde, Texas4 contributions5 helpful votes
Do you allow pets?
Answer from SH_GuestRelations
Durango, Colorado
Hello, Yes we do! We have several rooms reserved for travelers with pets. Please call our Front Desk directly for more information. Thank you and we look forward to hosting you at the historic Strater Hotel!
seahoyden10 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dallas, Texas16 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would not return"
Read full review
KK N wrote a tip Mar 2024
Denver, Colorado8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the live music!"
Read full review
joshuascottllc wrote a tip Dec 2023
Grand Junction, Colorado60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in the larger rooms up front! "
Read full review
George D wrote a tip Oct 2023
Cleveland, Ohio300 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is right downtown, so parking is away from the hotel. They have a good system to drop your bags off, so we didn’t mind."
Read full review
Linda D wrote a tip Oct 2023
Denver, Colorado179 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask about the jacuzzi!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durango area.
PRICE RANGE
$206 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
strater hotel durango
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoDurango
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STRATER HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Strater Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Strater Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Animas River Trail (0.3 miles), Historic Downtown Durango (0.1 miles), and Four Leaves Winery (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Strater Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Strater Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Strater Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Strater Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Strater Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Derailed Pour House, Michel's Corner Crepes, and Eolus Bar & Dining.
Is Strater Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Durango.
Are pets allowed at Strater Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Strater Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Strater Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Strater Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Durango HotelsDurango Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurangoHotels near Strater Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars