We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Show Prices
#10 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 720: English reviews
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very nice hotel. Just off the main area of Durango. Walking distance of the down town. Many nice restaurants in the area. They have a great happy hour with free drinks and snacks. Nice pool and great rooms.

Helpful?
Thank JovialJohn
emerald hills, ca
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our tour company booked our group here and the tour director warned us that the hotel is dated and scheduled for a winter renovation. Small entry and the center where there should be a common area is a swimming pool and hot tub so there is no common area to wait for our tours or breakfast and there's a strong... More 

Helpful?
Thank georwc
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good location and wonderful happy hour. Pleasant staff and clean room. No complaints! Breakfast was decent. Wonderful balcony-ask for room 205! Parking good but get there early. Good wifi. Would definitely stay again!

Helpful?
Thank acashwells
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was recommended by a friend who lives in Durango. We loved the location - walking distance to downtown! Friendly staff. We reported a light bulb missing above the sink and it was fixed immediately. Lots to choose for breakfast, but the space was small. Turned off by the long lines for the Manager's Happy Hour drink special. A... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank markdB4592UX
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked a suite there and on arrival found it to be a bit shabby. The room smelt stale and damp so obviously hadn't been used for a while. Don't bother trying to have a bath! The water took nearly an hour to fill and was cold at the end. Next, the swimming pool. On our second day after touring... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Copland741
Tucson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place to stay if you do not mind getting up at 5:30 am every day. They have a lot of tour buses. We were awaken every morning to the people of the tour groups getting breakfast and talking in the center pool area every day we were there. I paid a very high price for rooms and was told... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice, clean hotel. No issues other than slow flushing toilet. The room where breakfast was served was a bit stuffy, needed some air flow. Great location!! The breakfast and happy hour was a nice addition and the staff was quite friendly. The frontdesk staff was pretty indifferent upon check-in and quite friendly and helpful on check-out.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jschmit2
CONCORD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms, not worth the price. $99. would be about it. Breakfast was a JOKE. One person to handle two buses and a car club all leaving at 8:00 AM. They ran out of food. Rooms have a view of cement walls. Had to move rooms, gave us the worst rooms until we complained.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorne T
Management response:

Dear Mr. Thompson, Truly I appreciate your input on this site, the Best Western Review and your email to me. Your input and management advice have been been most helpful. We are back to our regular staffing of multiple people in breakfast. Again I apologize for your displeasure with the property. More 

Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were here on a bus tour. Having stayed in many best westerns on this trip, this was the worst! The rooms are dark and dreary! The bathroom mirror was difficult to use and had one sink. The rooms definitely need updating. The "bar" looked like a 1950's luncheonette. On the bright side there's free wash and dry available. We... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry S
Management response:

Hi Sherry, Thank you for your response. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but hopefully you enjoyed the free cocktails and our downtown location. We know our property is in need of updating which is why we are getting ready to do a large scale renovation of the property. Unfortunately we can't do that... More 

Waddell, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is really good, an easy to walk to anything downtown, nice complimentary cocktails at night, pool and hot tub area is very nice and the breakfast was really good. Not the "best" Best Western we have stayed in, beds were not very comfortable, sheets were rough and thin, toilet seat almost fell off and a leg on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank beverly1160
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate the information you have provided. Definitely want to make sure our rooms are in the best repair possible, so we will get those items (including the sheets) fixed. Those beds!!! Some people love them...some people hate them. Finding beds that meets everyone's preference is definitely a challenge. I am excited to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Price Range: $102 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay