We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Durango Riverside Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Durango Riverside Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice, quiet and well maintained. Much better than Alpen Glen and United campgrounds. A little farther out of town but well worth it. Nice store as well. We did t use the showers but they looked nice. Great river sites and river access. Friendly staff with good amenities...cable and wifi.

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

So happy to see that this was your experience, Mary. Thanks for spending some time with us out here. Take care, Durango Riverside Resort Staff More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The one room cabins on the river are truly rustic but are clean and right on the river. They only have electricity, heat and beds. Even though the temperatures dropped into the low 50's, we never turned on the heater. The showers and toilets are always clean and the personnel are very helpful. They also have a tent area and... More 

Helpful?
Thank bdan1947
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

We always aim to offer a relaxing spot to enjoy nature and unwind, so it is great to see this has been your experience with us. Thank you for coming out for some down time by the river. Durango Riverside Resort Staff More 

New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property is a combination of cabins, rv parking and a few tent sites about 15 minutes north of Durango on the Animas river. If you can put up with the view and noise of godzilla sized "rv homes" running their power generators...well then the quaint log cabins, many above the shore line of the river, are a lovely break... More 

Helpful?
Thank FuserABQ
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

I'm glad you came out to camp with us for a bit, and it's nice to hear that the Animas river called to you. We do have a mix of RVs, regular tents, and cabins; and we've seen most of our guests all get along just fine. It's good to know you like the value we're offering over the other... More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall I really liked this campground and I would stay here again. We tent camped for 4 nights -- spaces are tight but we still got 2 tents on our site and were comfortable. All sites are gravel so that can make tent camping a bit less attractive here, but not so terrible as to be a deal-breaker for me.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mellisa H
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

We're sop glad that you had a good visit with us, overall, Mellisa, but apologize that a few items were not up to proper working order. We know the whole experience contributes to your vacation, and we hope the next time you stop by that you'll see that these were easily remedied. Thank you, Durango Riverside Resort Staff More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved being by the river! The kids loved being out there! It was quiet and beautiful! Had a pool and ice cream shop! The only thing was most cabins don't have bathrooms but I guess it worked out fine! Some of the staff was very friendly! Had a big field with soccer nets, we played wiffle ball out there.

Helpful?
Thank Mom0803
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

It's great that you and the kids were able to have a good time out in nature. Thanks for letting us be a part of the family vacation. Safe travels, Durango Riverside Resort Staff More 

Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in a 35 ft fifth wheel for four nights. Very nice park. Clean and kid friendly. Even had an ice cream shop and they show kids movies nightly. You can fish the Animas from this site as well. There is a heated pool, nice 24/7 laundry facilities and a game room. They even come get your trash daily.... More 

Helpful?
Thank P1285YXamyh
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed your stay out here with us, and it sounds like you got a lay of the land while you were here. That's a handy tip about the route to take in approaching the site. Thanks for sharing. Hope we'll see you again soon. Safe travels, Durango Riverside Resort Staff More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

I have nothing but good things to say about this place. The staff are all super friendly. The grounds are kept clean. Each of the sites are private. The views are amazing. The showers and bathrooms are clean. They have a pool, laundry room, meeting room, ice cream shop and playground.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much, A. It means a lot to see this. So happy that your visit was as pleasant as we aim for. Take care until next time. Durango Riverside Resort Staff More 

Hutchinson, Ks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

$50 per night for full hookups was reasonable. Sites were very close together, but didn't really pose too much of an issue. Yes, you knew what your neighbor was up to, but you have to accept that land is money in these type of locations, and people are going to crowd as many campers as they can in the space... More 

Helpful?
Thank thomasjW7035PH
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

So glad you could roll in and join us, Thomas. The location and amenities are all meant to give you the most relaxed and enjoyable visit we can muster. Thanks for being our guest. Safe travels, Durango Riverside Resort Staff More 

Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

This campground is a big rip off. Its $55.00 a night for full hookup which is expensive for a very tight, noisy, non relaxing stay. Our so called firepit was located right next to our vehicle gas tank and the neighbors water hose. The picnic table is located right next our neighbors sewer dump. Sites so close that you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kwanyen
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry of the pricing was not something you were comfortable with, Kwanyen. We feel that the location and amenities we offer add a lot of value to the cost of staying with us. Our camping areas are a bit more community minded and don't offer large spaces between sites. Most of our guests like being closer to each other,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay, open your door and your at the river, very clean camp grounds and bathrooms. Lots of stuff to do with the kids. Second time I have stayed here, cheap place to stay with great views. Heated pool and kid movies at night, well stocked store and laundry.

Helpful?
Thank Rick Z
Edward H, Manager at Durango Riverside Resort, responded to this review

We're thrilled you all had so much fun, Rick. It sounds like you really got a feel for many of the things we offer, and we hope you come enjoy a bit of nature with us again some time. Take care, Durango Riverside Resort Staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
12.2 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
15.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#14 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
11.6 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Durango Riverside Resort is a beautiful home away from home in the lovely San Juan Mountains of southwestern Colorado. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Durango Riverside Resort

Address: 13391 County Road 250, Durango, CO 81301-8602
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Durango Riverside Hotel Durango
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing