Adventure Inn Durango

Adventure Inn Durango

Ask about the history of their amazing front desk.
Traveler (73)
King room
Room & Suite (113)
Frühstücksraum
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 34 hotels in Durango
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.7
*The health and safety of our guests and staff is our priority. Enhanced cleaning and sanitation measures are what we concentrate on in our little mom and pop motel. We offer extremely clean rooms that have exterior entries and individual exterior bathroom ventilation systems insuring no cross-room infection risks by having individual room PTAC units- self contained heat and cooling systems.* We're welcoming, personable and affordable with comfy beds, pillows, and soft silky linens. We have exceptional free WI-FI, large flat screen TV's with streaming options (no cable), , microwave/mini-fridge in every room. We offer tea and freshly ground and brewed locally owned Durango Joe's coffee during lobby hours. We're located on the quiet North end of Durango close proximity to the San Juan National forest, Purgatory Ski Resort, near multiple hiking/biking trails. Our friendly and courteous staff are more than happy to make recommendations for family adventures or local favorites. **Due to COVID-19 restrictions we've limited breakfast options.** *No pets are allowed. ADA Certified Service Animals specifically trained to aid a person with a disability are welcome.*
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Children's television networks
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Sun deck
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3515 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4028
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
La Plata Airport
12.5 mi
See all flights
Montezuma County Airport
41.7 mi
See all flights
592Reviews14Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 430
  • 126
  • 24
  • 10
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
basroadie wrote a review Aug 2020
Granite Bay, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My experience started with a phone conversation With Tammy to book the hotel. I told her that besides the reviews and pictures, the comments that were made showing up as customers and leaving as friends resonated with me. I found Tammy to be extremely helpful in working with me in booking a room for me while my wife was finishing up the Colorado Trail. As there was no way to know exactly what day she would come out, I booked a room for 3 days for myself and 1 night for her backpacking partner. As it turned out we had to make some changes as plans changed and Tammy was very helpful and understanding. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the AC worked and the bathroom had a tub and shower with a great showerhead. COVID changed the check-in process and the only employees we saw were the housekeeping employees who were very nice and helpful. They answered all my questions and did their best to make sure i had everything i needed. Now for the COVID issue. There was no breakfast, although that is typically included and the office was closed so no real personal interaction. Tammy did call to make sure we got in ok and if we needed anything. I appreciated that. COVID i'm sorry to say has affected all our lives. With that being said, i certainly would not hold the owners accountable for inconvenience's beyond their control so i did not reduce my rating because of that. I would most certainly come back to this inn again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If youre coming from a lower elevation, ask for a 1st floor room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Aug 17, 2020
Thanks so much! We really appreciate the kind review and for supporting a small mom and pop business! COVID-19 has definitely disrupted 'normal' but we're trying our best to make sure guests are taken care of and are given all the information needed during their stay. We've had the honor of hosting several weary hikers- thanks for sharing that your wife had stayed with us 2 years ago after hiking the Colorado Trail! We understand the weather conditions and other variables come in to play while hiking so flexibility on our part is paramount. If we have room availability, we are more than happy to help out with a welcoming clean room, awesome shower and comfortable bed. We are not providing breakfast, but we have made a great deal with Durango Joes coffee that is 3 doors south of us at a discounted price. Locals helping locals. It was a pleasure to assist you and your lovely bride - BTW Happy Anniversary! We would welcome your return, until then take care and safe travels to you friends!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stormy O wrote a review Aug 2020
Clifton, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay overnight on our way to Ouray. The place was extra clean, updated nicely and with friendly staff. Our transaction took place over the phone and we were able to get our key in a no contact exchange d/t COVID. They have the old school shampoo and soap dispensers in the shower which I personally loved. We received a card for a discount at Durango Joes, a coffee shop a block down the road with breakfast goodies as well. It was delish. We would stay here again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Thank you so much! COVID19 has presented a lot of challenges for us all. We wanted to alleviate as much exposure as possible for guests and staff taking care of people via phone. The shampoo/body was dispensers are the most eco-friendly option on the market. Our friends at Durango Joes Coffee and wonderful, they in turn are supporting another local breakfast place selling their breakfast burritos (yum). It's local helping local in these trying times... it's the right thing to do! We hope to host your next Durango stay. Take care and safe travels friend!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jetset114 wrote a review Aug 2020
Houston, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were looking for a last minute motel while driving to Durango. I called the Adventure Inn after reading a few reviews. I must say they have very friendly employees who take the extra time to help. The lady who took my reservation over the phone, the young man who greeted us and gave us very helpful information and the sweet young girl who got us extra towels and pillows.
The room is large and has everything you need down to a shoe tray for muddy boots. It was very clean and comfortable. My only negative was the
A/C. You could not turn the fan on continuous run. My husband and I like the fan noise to block out other noises, like the guy who let his kids run up and down the sidewalk screaming at 6:30 am the next morning. So although everything else was nice, we both didn’t sleep as sound as usual. I might stay here again if I brought my own fan.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Aug 3, 2020
Thanks for staying with us and supporting our small independent business! Apologies for the inconsiderate neighbor that let his children disrupt not only yours but everyone's early morning sleep. We appreciate the feedback and giving us a try.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maureen S wrote a review Jul 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel advertises continental breakfast but when we arrived, they said they wouldn't have it. The other hotels we stayed at on our 2 week vacation had breakfast, so Covid is not an excuse. If they chose not to offer what their website states, they should offer a discount. This is false advertising. The coffee they offered wasn't available until after 7:15 and no coffee makers were in the room which other hotels provide in each guest room. The ice machine was broken the whole time. The room is outdated with actual keys for entry, and worn carpets and the room in general needs updates. Not worth the price for what we paid!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Jul 12, 2021
Hello, first I would like to sincerely apologize. I see that you booked directly from our website, the pop-up notification that we had placed notifying guests of no breakfast had recently expired and I did not catch it. So, thank you for bringing it to my attention so that I can rectify the problem (btw I understand, and agree with your being upset) I also need to take off the verbiage and icon showing breakfast. I would appreciate the opportunity to make this right, would please give us a call at the motel we would be happy to address this for you. I have notified my coworkers and we look forward to speaking to you. Again, my apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nancy A wrote a review Aug 2020
Saint Louis, Missouri
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited in late July. We had stayed at this location last October and enjoyed it, so we booked it again. This latest visit was not as satisfying as our previous one. It’s a renovated old motel, but the room was clean and the bed, bed linens, and bath towels comfy.
On our last visit, we stayed in one of the newer rooms which was more modern. Our room this time was in an older section. On our visit last October, a continental breakfast was served. Of course, Covid has changed many things, but there was no breakfast, not even grab ‘n go was offered, and we paid $20 more for the night than the previous October. It was as if the whole place was on autopilot. I understood the contactless check in and check out, but other properties we stayed in that week offered at least a bag of breakfast items for their customers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Aug 3, 2020
We appreciate your staying with us and supporting our small business... we're sorry you were disappointed,we are following state and county guidelines. We advertise on every venue online and our website that we are doing remote check-in to ensure our staff and guests have limited exposures / interactions. We understand not everyone will be happy not being face to face that's why we explain our processes from initial booking (by email notification) or by phone call the day of expected arrival. Because our lobby is not open due to COVID-19 again, as advertised, we made a deal with our friends at Durango Joe's coffee for a discounted breakfast option. Locals helping locals. As with every hotel/motel nationwide prices vary from season to season, holiday to holiday. Fall/winter months (October) is always at a lower price unless you are staying at a ski resort than pricing during busy summer seasons (May to October). Take care and safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim P wrote a review Jun 2021
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was very nice! It was clean probably more so than some big name corporate motels. Adventure Inn is locally owned but the staff was very friendly and helpful and interested in making your stay good.
Located in a great area of town with some great eating options close and on the main bus line and allows you to park your car and still get around easily.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Thank you so much! We certainly appreciate your entrusting us with your vacation stay while in Durango and the awesome review! We are different, we care for our coworkers and guests. We want you to have a great time and enjoy Durango and the surrounding beauty to take home fond memories of our little slice of heaven. Hopefully, you will return and share with friends and family what a fabulous vacation you had here! Take care and safe travels friends!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin Z wrote a review Jun 2021
Fairview, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice place for the price. We stayed one night but would’ve been comfortable staying longer. Our family of 4 thought the room was spacious and we appreciate the fresh smelling towels and linens. Clean rooms, great staff, and excellent coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Thank you, we hope that one night just wasn't enough and you will want to return to see more of what Durango and the surrounding areas have to offer! From the Durango Silverton train ride, rafting, hiking, biking, and a must-see is Mesa Verde National Park in southwest Colorado. It's known for its well-preserved Ancestral Puebloan cliff dwelling and is a UNESCO world heritage site. Rich in history and beauty! Safe travels to you and yours.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JHMHouston wrote a review Aug 2020
Houston
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was really outdated and the carpet looked like it was from the 1970s. When we arrived late at night we found a laminated card on the dresser with a picture of a bug. I was so disgusted, I didn't read it and turned the card over. I was traveling alone with 2 teen boys and we didn't feel safe as the door was literally 2 steps from the parking lot. The sheets felt like plastic and we were so happy to leave the next morning. I booked directly with the hotel and the process was easy, just wish I thought to ask for a renovated room. There was nobody there to request a room change and no contact number to call in case of issues. Never saw any employees either. Left the key in the room the next morning and got out as soon as we could. Wish I paid $60 more/night to stay at a newer chain hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't stay there unless you get an updated room..even then, not sure it's worth it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Sorry you were disappointed. We are as advertised a roadside motel that was given renewed life with great WiFi, large flat screen TVs, Hulu streaming in clean and comfortable rooms. Our sheets are a microfiber blend sheet that most guests ask us if we sell the sheets or where they can be bought. The 'bug picture' was to inform people of the beetles that are hatching everywhere throughout town - which happens every year. We are not on property as stated online due to COVID-19 to keep staff and guests to limited exposures. We have a total of 5 employees - they are family. We did not lay anyone off since COVID started because they have families, mortgages and bills. We have the capability to take care of people and stay socially distant so we chose the best option we felt was available. Our phone number is on the reservation information that was emailed to you, in the envelope left for you, on the business card that was in that envelope, on the back of each and every room door, on the sign in the lobby window and online (Google is great). We are not for everyone and we're fine with that. Again we're sorry you were so disappointed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vikram E wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have spent about 4 days here. Durango was a new place to us and as we were not into skiing there were limited options regarding what we could do. Hotel staff every morning were extremely helpful of advising us with various options nearby etc including some great restaurants' recommendations.

I worked with about 3-4 people and all of them were very helpful people.

Looking forward to coming back here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TammyP1746, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Jan 5, 2020
Awesome, we appreciate the wonderful review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and time in Durango. There is so much to see and do in this area and we have a lot of tasty restaurant options here! We enjoy helping our guests and really want you to have a memorable experience while here. We look forward to seeing you again Spring and Summer offers so many more things to do for the outdoor adventurers. Safe travels and take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason wrote a review Aug 2023
Iowa City, Iowa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Adventure Inn Durango for one night while passing through town. I chose it because reviews said it was clean, comfortable and moderately priced compared to other hotels in town. I agree with other reviewers--it's a no frills overnight experience. Located on the north end of town on Main Ave., right on the road, so you can hear cars passing by but they didn't interfere with our night's sleep. The bed was quite comfortable, the cable tv worked well and the shower had excellent hot water and pressure. For ~$50+ less than many other places I would happily stay here again, especially for one overnight and with no kids in tow. If you're bringing your family for the weekend or longer you might want a bigger room with more amenities available (e.g. there's no breakfast). Be sure to check out Durango Joe's coffee three doors down for your morning java fix too!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tammy Peck, Owner at Adventure Inn Durango
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Wonderful, thank you for entrusting your Durango stay with our small mom-and-pop motel! We concentrate our efforts in cleanliness, friendly and welcoming staff to help with recommendations or travel tips. Correct, we no longer offer breakfast options. Only serving coffee and various tea options during office hours. In lieu of us offering breakfast, we got together with our friends at the Durango Joes Coffee kiosk at 3455 Main 4 doors south of us to get a % discount off their yummy breakfast offerings! Locals helping Locals... it's a win-win! Take care and safe travels friends.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NMStoryteller asked a question May 2021
Ohio158 contributions149 helpful votes
Is there a breakfast that comes with the room? I see coffee...
Answer from Tammy P
Durango, Colorado3 contributions
Not at this time, we are remodeling our kitchen while COVID restrictions were in place. Currently, we are only offering coffee and tea.
Tom asked a question Sep 2020
Surprise, Arizona41 contributions8 helpful votes
Do you have refrigerators in the rooms?
Answer from T P
Durango, Colorado
Yes, we have mini refrigerators and microwave in each room.
Sinadams asked a question Jul 2018
17 contributions8 helpful votes
Can you walk to downtown Durango?
Answer from ntpeck
Durango, Colorado
Yes, downtown proper is 2.2 miles south of us. There is also the Durango Trolley that runs from 7am to 830pm there is a pickup 1 block south that picks up every 30 minutes. The Trolley is $.50 for those 60+ and $1.00 under 60 yr old. A great option vs the parking meters downtown.
Cindy K asked a question Jul 2018
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Is the trolley close to your place
Answer from ntpeck
Durango, Colorado
Yes, the Durango Trolley picks up/ drops off 2 doors south of us.
Niechelle G wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place. There are plenty of good motels in town and these people are awful."
Read full review
will wrote a tip Sep 2022
Hoschton, Georgia5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking. Good start going to Silverton and beyond Close to restaurants and market"
Read full review
WhirldWind wrote a tip May 2022
Ogden, Utah315 contributions205 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are stairs to many of the rooms, so let them know if you have mobility challenges and they can accommodate."
Read full review
Keith O wrote a tip Sep 2021
Michigan55 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no elevators. Plan your room selection accordingly "
Read full review
Lisa G wrote a tip Sep 2021
23 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was plentiful. Our room was upstairs so we had to carry luggage but didn’t bother us at all"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Durango area.
PRICE RANGE
$134 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
knights inn durango hotel durango, alpine hotel durango
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Knights Inn Durango CO
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoDurango
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ADVENTURE INN DURANGO $163 ($̶1̶8̶8̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Adventure Inn Durango
Which popular attractions are close to Adventure Inn Durango?
Nearby attractions include Animas Museum (0.4 miles), Ski Barn Durango, Colorado (0.03 miles), and Dalla Mountain Park (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Adventure Inn Durango?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Is parking available at Adventure Inn Durango?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Adventure Inn Durango?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zia Taqueria, Serious Texas Bar-B-Q, and Fiesta Mexicana Family Restaurant.
Is Adventure Inn Durango accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Durango HotelsDurango Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DurangoHotels near Adventure Inn Durango
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars