We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Save
Share
321 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$269
Travelocity$269
Booking.com$269
Priceline$269
Autograph$269
ZenHotels.com$321
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1179)
Room & Suite (446)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 05/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Updated 05/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#38 of 176 hotels in Denver
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Gold level
Built in 1892, The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, is located in the heart of downtown Denver and is an icon rich in tradition and history. The luxury boutique hotel in Denver, Colorado has been a four-star and Four Diamond hotel since 1977. Inside, soaring eight stories above the ground floor, you'll be greeted by its atrium lobby crowned by a beautifully detailed stained-glass skylight. Dramatic Florentine arches surround the atrium, and intricately wrought iron panels decorate six stories of balconies. Timeless elegance and modern amenities best describe our luxury hotel in Denver. Each of our guest rooms includes a 42-inch HDTV, Wi-Fi, and Keurig® coffee maker. The bathrooms feature Carrera marble countertops, sophisticated silver fixtures and rain showerheads that tap water from an artesian well. We offer unique dining experiences where you can enjoy casual dining, afternoon tea, fine dining, a lavish brunch and a cigar bar. Plus, our spa offers luxurious treatments.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2546Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,605
  • 465
  • 229
  • 143
  • 104
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Taylor B wrote a review Sep 2022
Chicago, Illinois7866 contributions6579 helpful votes
The Brown Palace in Denver is one of the grandest hotels in the United States. And it is even grander today after undergoing considerable renovation and remodeling since the last time we visited. Located at 321 17th Street, off Broadway, it is centrally located with easy access to some of the city's most popular tourist attractions, including Coors Field, Larimer Square, 16th Street Mall, the American Museum of Western Art and Unsinkable Molly Brown's house. Opened in 1892, it still retains its signature eight-story atrium lobby with stained glass ceiling and balconies rising eight floor above ground surrounded by cast iron railings with ornate grillwork panels. At the time, it had 400 guest rooms. Today, it has 241 guest rooms, a concierge, three restaurants, 24-hour business center, valet parking, 24/7 front desk, gift shop, hair salon, barber shop, dry cleaning/laundry service, room service, full-service spa and limo-town car service. To relax and enjoy the ambience in the atrium lobby, visitors can partake in afternoon tea daily and cocktails and jazz from 5 to 8 on Friday and Saturday. My wife and I booked a comfortable 450-square-foot signature room, non-smoking with a city view, a king-sized bed, wi-fi, LCD flat screen TV, mini-fridge, coffee/tea maker, shower/tub, iron/ironing board, desk and safe. Denver is a good restaurant town but if you are staying at the Brown Palace, you don't have to leave the hotel for dining and drinks. We highly recommend Ellyngton's for breakfast, Ship Tavern for lunch, Palace Arms for dinner and Churchill Bar for cocktails. The Brown Palace is a historic treasure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AshBernadette88 wrote a review Jul 2022
Colorado Springs, Colorado1511 contributions340 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Afternoon tea with one of our close friends is a tradition, and we hadn't yet been here...we had such a great experience! Tea is served right inside the main entrance in the atrium. We loved being able to see all the neat architecture from this vantage point! Service was excellent, and all staff were very knowledgeable about the menu items. We chose The Brown Palace Signature Tea, which comes with three different pots of tea (continuously refilled) served with homemade scones, Devonshire cream, preserves, finger sandwiches, and classic tea pastries (petit fours, etc.). The three teas we chose were the Peach Blossom, Masala Chai, and Peppermint. All were delicious, but my favorite was the Masala Chai! All the food items were delicious as well. We're hoping to come back soon to try some of the other dining options at The Brown Palace. It's definitely on the pricey end, but well worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
taraship wrote a review Sep 2022
Radford, Virginia191 contributions124 helpful votes
This is a nice enough hotel. I loved the location and I loved the Ship Tavern, the restaurant/bar on the first floor. Friendly staff. We stayed here because we decided to splurge on our road trip. We had been to the Ship Tavern before and we decided that the next time we came to Denver, we would stay at the Brown Palace. The bed was comfortable. It was relatively quiet. The shower was hard to operate but water pressure was good. The room was incredibly small and very difficult for two people to move around. To be honest, we stayed in a Fairfield Inn a few days later and had a much more comfortable experience (though the location wasn't ideal). If you want to just have the experience of staying at the Brown Palace, go for it but if you want a more comfortable hotel for a lower price, there are other options around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GMary wrote a review Sep 2022
Denver, Colorado75 contributions2 helpful votes
We have been attending Holiday Tea and overnighting at the BP for years. We love the Sugar Plum Fairy Ball, the Millennial Ball in 2000, the Holiday & Historical atmosphere, the bellman talk about the historical history of the initial Grand Opening and facts about the Great Depression, etc…..but our last experience was a 2-star rating at best. The in-room breakfast dinning was so bad we didn’t eat our breakfast because the food tasted strange. However, they did credit the bill for the lack of quality. My husband inadvertently took the service elevator and end up in the kitchen. Although, clearly marked “service elevator” - he mentioned, the elevator had a trash can filled with food that smelled bad and a kitchen that was dirty and in disarray. The Breakfast with Santa was not what it used to be. The quality of food was not good. My daughter cut into her pancakes and there was a huge pile of white flour. The overall Hotel appearance was in need of a major reno. Maybe someone reading this will mention to their Executive team, the amazing historical building so many people love is in need of a major overhaul.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Burrow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 275ginad, Thank you very much for providing your candid feedback from your most recent stay with us. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with our food quality and have reviewed your feedback with our Executive Chef. I will also discuss this matter with our Director of Engineering and hope that you give the Brown Palace another chance the next time your travels bring you to Denver. Thank you,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corie Lee wrote a review Sep 2022
Locust Grove, Oklahoma21 contributions6 helpful votes
Very nice area and love historic hotels; however there was no hot water (not even warm), room had an iron but no ironing board, and they mistakenly charged my personal card (on file for accidentals) for the hotel stay, instead of my corporate card. Also, in the conference room, there were inadequate receptacles. Only a few around the exterior of the room, and the majority were damaged and didn't work.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Burrow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear coriecorieboborie, Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us! I have shared your feedback with our leadership team to improve future stays. We hope that you give us another chance the next time your travels bring you to Denver. Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherman wrote a review Sep 2022
17 contributions20 helpful votes
Nice rooms beautiful architecture. The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. This is an historical treasure. It is near the 16th Street Mall. Spend some time wandering around the beautiful areas of this hotel of a bypast time. And yes, the Unsinkable Molly Brown spent time here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gail wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We came here for our 47th wedding anniversary as a present from our daughter. For $300+ per night, we were sorely disappointed. When we got to the room, it was claustrophobically small, the light on the makeup mirror did not work, there was no hair dryer, there was no bathtub, and the air conditioning was broken. To boot, the ice machine on our floor was out of order and we had to go to another floor to get ice. We demanded a new room. This room was slightly better, and the upgrade was at no extra charge. However, upon checkout, we were asked about how we liked our stay. I listed the long list of problems that we encountered, and the desk clerk flippantly asked for the "short list" of positives. When all was said and done, the clerk said next time would be better. I told him that there would not be a next time. We could have gotten a room like this for less at Motel 6.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Burrow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 21, 2022
Dear kelliec969, I am so sorry to hear about your experience at the Brown Palace. We aim to provide exceptional service, and it is evident that we fell short during your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our Engineering team as well as the Front Office Manager. They will use this to improve our service standards moving forward. We truly apologize for these issues and hope that you give us a chance to deliver the service we are known for in the future. Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nrandom wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I've stayed at the Brown many times over the course of three decades. I love historic hotels, and the Brown has history. I'm sentimental about it. Until now. Seriously folks, if you want to maintain your rep and charge luxury prices, you need to get your act together. Everything was off. Booking has devolved to an anonymous 800 number, routing to someone who doesn't even know the property (hello Bonvoy!) The doormen ignored most people coming in. Guest should be greeted. Check-in was inconsistent -- the couple next to me was offered bottled water, I was not. 'Updates' to rooms should make sense, not provide useless design flourishes, like a poufy footstool rather than a comfy chair. There was obvious water damage above the window. The drapes were not fully attached -- they gaped and sagged. The lamps still had dim CFLs rather than bright LEDs. The desk had plugs and USB ports facing out a waist-height, so cords dislodged easily when using the desk. There wasn't a pen nor notepad. The ice machine was out of order. The staff left the linen/trash room door gaping open most of the day. The Ship Tavern totally blew dinner -- we'd ordered burgers rare and medium rare, and both arrived well done, with cold fries. They replaced the burgers, but put them on the same plates with the same cold fries. I suppose that if one didn't know the previous levels of service at the Brown, one might think this is normal, or what we must put up with now. It is not. A shameful, sad decline to a landmark.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: if you don't want a lot of noise until 8PM, request a room that is not directly off the atrium.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Burrow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Good Afternoon nrandom, I truly appreciate your feedback and am sorry that your stay did not meet expectations. I have shared your feedback with the hotel leadership team to improve our service and standards for future stays. Thank you,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JulieHC2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
Orange Beach, Alabama41 contributions56 helpful votes
We stayed at The Brown Palace for 2 nights while passing through Denver. The check-in experience was a little odd, even after checking in on line it took a while. She kept clicking buttons with a concerned look, and after a few minutes asked if I reserved a specific room class to which I responded yes, larger king room with a city view. The clerk said unfortunately our room class was not yet ready and would I mind a suite instead, all asked seriously with a hesitant tone - did she think I would turn this down? We were upgraded to The Beatles Suite. The hotel has beautiful architectural detail and the staff is exceptional and it’s a very convenient location, lots of food choices, shopping and sites within walking distance. The hotel itself needs a little TLC, door jams are chipped, button lights in the elevator don’t work our shower knob swung around and unless you hit the sweet spot, you couldn’t turn off the water. The bathroom was beautiful and remodeled except the shower? Old tile, dark grout and the size of a phone booth, very hard to shave your legs. The jukebox in our room didn’t work. We ate breakfast at Ellingtons, eggs Benny was terrible and fruit cup had unripe watermelon and honeydew, a few pieces of pineapple and 3 blue berries. I expect much higher quality than that at this level of a hotel. We each had a massage at the spa, both of us agreed that the massage was ok, not great. The spa needs a definite remodel, red velvet couches, 1970’s color scheme, I felt like I was in a brothel. Overall it was an ok stay but not worth a second visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Moschetti, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Hello JulieHC2022, I'm very appreciative of your feedback, and I regret that you had a less than ideal stay. I am glad we were able to upgrade you into one of our premium suites, even as awkward as the interaction may have been. We will certainly use your feedback to improve the quality of our offerings here at the Brown Palace, so we may continue to exceed the expectations of future guests for years to come. Thank you, Nick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen M wrote a review Jul 2022
Santa Rosa, California20 contributions57 helpful votes
At arrival, the guys at the door made no effort to either help unload bags from the taxi, no effort to assist in carrying them up the steps or no effort to open a door. One person checking in guests on a busy Friday afternoon. The hotel does not have water in the rooms and I was handed one 16 oz bottle at check in. The hotel doesn’t even have a shop or vending machine. I asked at the check in desk (after waiting for 5 minutes for someone to come to the unattended desk at 8pm on a Friday) to receive what I can only describe as a smart assed response telling me that the tap water is fine to drink. Absolutely bizarre that something so basic is so difficult to get in a hotel that is charging $350 per night. I’ve just spent 40 minutes trying to order room service. Despite pushing he “room service” button on the phone I learned that “I’m the operator so can only try transferring you” to the number that no one answered. After holding dialing back multiple times, I asked to speak to a manager and was out through to someone at the front desk who is not a manager. I was told by that man that I should come down to order at the restaurant directly - I’ve no issue with making that effort but frankly, the hotel specifically says that room service is available until 10pm, and my call was at approx 9. I was told that “they are probably busy and you are not the only guest”- I’m fully aware that I’m not the only guest but I am not the person charging for a 5 star experience and providing 1 star service. I was also told that if I had a issue I should call the general managers office and he would return my call on Monday - that’s in 3 days time. I’ve been here for less than 8 hours and already, am regretting choosing this hotel. To say the staff are rude and unhelpful, is an understatement.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: If you want a quality hotel experience, this isn’t it. An expensive hotel, ran by amateurs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Burrow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Dear Stephen M, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am certainly sorry for the issues experienced during your stay with us. I have reviewed all of our areas of opportunity with our team in an effort to meet expectations in the future. Thank you,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
brown palace denver, hotel brown palace
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoDenverCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
241
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include American Museum of Western Art (0.03 miles), Churchill Bar (0.03 miles), and 16th Street Mall (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Guard and Grace, Maggiano's Little Italy, and La Loma Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Denver.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Epic Escape Game Denver (1.1 miles), Molly Brown House Museum (0.6 miles), and Denver Union Station (0.9 miles).