We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

De Vere Wokefield Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
De Vere Wokefield Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,712: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was here for a two day/one night conference and the place is your typical large conference facilites catering on the upper scale of the market. No idea how much it costs but I am guessing it wasn't cheap for the company but the facilities were more than adequate. Room was your standard affair with everything you could need with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Weekend_Roamer1
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Attended a conference here last week. My room had just had a refurb (Mansion House I think) so was in good condition. Water pressure was poor and room had no AC. They really shouldn't be advertising a gym. Dated runners and no weights whatsoever. The "pool" looked in a bad state too. Reminded me of a public leisure centre pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luke O
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that your room was comfortable and to your liking, however I am disappointed to read that our gym was not up to your expectations and that you had problems with water pressure and AC in your room.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stratfield Mortimer hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I attended a course here. The facilities for conference is great. Spacious room. God coffee and tea and had pastries too on the morning break. Found the staff to be very friendly and polite. Food was lovely that we had for lunch. Over all very good for conference. Would recommend and would go again

Helpful?
Thank holsey87
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Wokefield Estate. I am pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So this is really a conference venue rather than a hotel and part fo the de Vere chain. The grounds have an OK golf course if that is your thing and they do discount rates at weekend when they are otherwise empty of their core customer base. Positives - staff friendly and welcoming, buffet restaurant good, price (doubles B&B for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nutflu5h
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that your overall stay was enjoyable and thank you for your constructive comments which have been shared with our management team for their attention. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope to have... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with a small group of friends. Only experienced eating dinner in the Mansion which is just a three minutes walk from the main conference hotel. The food there was very good and not too expensive. Staff in the Mansion were also very helpful and friendly. Take a coat and umbrella if planning to eat in this restaurant as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl O
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Wokefield Estate. I am pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and thank you for your comments and suggestions. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your back again in the near future. Kind Regards, More 

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Up several country lanes followed by a long drive and not many signs. Check in was efficient and helpful. The room and bed were comfortable and clean. It can be quite a long walk to some rooms and the directions are not always that clear. Food was good and the buffet style was very efficient. Always had food available and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy69Uk
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Devere Wokefield Estate. I am please to read that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a couple of days to evaluate the facilities for a golf society event. I can say the hotel staff were excellent, the room was ok (but no heating on in November) food ok, but the golf course was not great for a golf society event. Far too many bunkers, most of them unnecessary, and we like to just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smudger1953
DWPFeedback, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, my apologies the golf course was not how you anticipated, we have done a vast amount of work to the course over the past two years which has in general been well received, thank you for your kind words regarding team here at Wokefield, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were over 160 of us - a nightmare for catering - but they coped very well. Food was very good, although not approaching MIchelin Star standards and the wine list is rather limited and slightly over proced. The Executive Centre has tea, coffee, water and biscuits on tap all day. Very friendly and helpful staff, despite a few language... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SmartMart54
DWPFeedback, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor, we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay, I am happy to hear your event went well and the team here at Wokefield took good care of you, and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights, To be fair the rooms were clean I cant fault that the room was also nice. Apart from the fire alarms going off at 8:30 on a Saturday morning. not just once but 5 times. we had gone to reception to see what was going on, to find out from staff they were just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare D
DWPFeedback, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, we really appreciate your feedback and must apologise that the testing of the fire alarms was not communicated properly. We value your safety and security when you stay with us and the testing was necessary to ensure sounders were effective in all areas of the Executive Centre, again my sincere apologies and I am... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Possibly the worst hotel I've stayed in. On arrival I was told that I was staying in the mansion house, after a 10 minute walk and Three flights of stairs I was greeted with a very small dirty room. Stained headboard (white stain!!) scatter cushions stained with white a substance!! Bathroom mouldy damp and dirty. Kettle scaled and dirty, walls... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
DWPFeedback, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor, I am disapointed that your stay was not as you anticipated, I will certainly follow up with our new Executive Housekeeper as this is certainly not the standard of cleanliness we strive to achieve. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, if you are travelling to Wokefield in the future... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

413 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (386)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
20.4 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,587 reviews
3.4 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
6.7 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range: $66 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from De Vere Wokefield Estate staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Wokefield Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Mansion House has more character - but mixed reviews.”
 of 5 bubbles Nutflu5h, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for the newly refurbished wing overlooking the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles cherylo771, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The main holte is more convenient than the Mansion House”
 of 5 bubbles Jeremy69Uk, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Try staying in main hotel or lower rooms in Mansion house”
 of 5 bubbles phillh_11, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“New part of the building modern old part apparently rooms were cold in old buildinh”
 of 5 bubbles Flynnandmegan, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay