The Lodge at Flying Horse

The Lodge at Flying Horse

1880 Weiskopf Point, Colorado Springs, CO 80921-5400
Unser Raum-Nr. 213
Traveler (91)
Flying Horse Queen
Room & Suite (35)
Wine Cellar Vignette Edit
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Mon, May 27
Get rewarded with One Key
$399
Fully refundable before Mon, May 27
Get rewarded with One Key
$399
$330
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#40 of 113 hotels in Colorado Springs
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
3.8
The 1,500 acre community of Flying Horse, along with The Club and Lodge, located in Northeast Colorado Springs and adjacent to Black Forest, has become one of Colorado's most desirable resort and meetings destinations. A mere 10 minutes from Downtown Colorado Springs and a scenic, 50-minute drive from its sister city, Denver, The Lodge at Flying Horse is perfectly positioned to provide guests with a peaceful respite, while keeping them close to local entertainment, shopping and dining. Conveniently located 25 minutes from the Colorado Springs Airport and 60 minutes from Denver International Airport, it offers an easy-come, easy-go lifestyle for both the casual traveler and busy corporate executive. The newly constructed Lodge features a "Rocky Mountain Tuscan" style and essence, blending the stunning Flying Horse Club facilities and all of its amenities. The Lodge serves as an extension to the existing landscape of the community, offering rich, warm, sophisticated and elegant color palettes to complement the posh, yet comfortable, furnishings and finishes. Please note that due to the COVID-19 crisis state mandated restrictions are currently in place. These restrictions change weekly. Please refer to the Flying Horse Lodge web page for up-to-date information on available amenities at the resort as well as activities available in and around Colorado Springs. .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
145Reviews6Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 85
  • 30
  • 18
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JKTraveler11 wrote a review May 2020
Golden, Colorado233 contributions111 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night at the Flying Horse during the pandemic while celebrating an anniversary. Many of the other local choices were still closed until further notice. The staff did a good job adhering to "Covid rules", although I cannot say the same about many of the guests, especially the Texans. Our room was spacious and clean and well-appointed and the resort, overall, was well-cared for. We would have preferred a room with a view of Pike's Peak, but apparently the resort was sold out. Instead, we enjoyed watching duffers shank the ball across the fairway from our second floor balcony.
We order a craft cocktail which was delivered promptly in a quart container designed to serve 4 drinks. It was more like 10 drinks and we became too sauced to finish half of the container. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, but the walls are a bit thin and noise from adjacent rooms as well as the hallway was distracting. We spent much of the early evening sitting on the clubhouse patio watching the sunset where an employee names "Jessica" I believe took great care of us. She gave us extra utensils and cold water to accompany our delivered dinner. For breakfast, we ordered room service, and all things considered, the food was tasty and fairly timely. Obviously, the lodge is ironing out some kinks given the unprecedented circumstances, but overall they did a great job.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Mountain views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 587jeffreyh, Director of Sales at The Lodge at Flying Horse
Responded Jul 3, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Flying Horse. These are unusual times as you noted. We get better every day at offering a high level of service with so many restrictions. You also provided me with the :chuckle of the week" with your comments about the bountiful drink portions! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris M wrote a review May 2021
Kansas City, Missouri16 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lodge at Flying Horse was spectacular, the room with its walking shower with double shower heads and very spacious bathroom, the beds are comfortable, the view from the room balcony was also great. The staff to include the lodge manager was amazing and handle all our requests as well as a small issue while we were there.

The lodge is amazing, right in the middle of a subdivision that is apart of the resort which includes Steakhouse Restaurant, Tennis Courts, Golf Course, Workout facility, and Swimming Pools. The residents of Flying Horse can pay dues to utilize the resort amenities so there may be people utilizing the pool or workout facility that are not staying at the lodge.

The water in the pools was not warm enough for me in May, tried it, but getting out you are going to freeze when it is in the low 70s. There was only 1 pool open and the jacuzzi was closed not sure why.

If I ever go back to Colorado this is my number 1 pick for sure, just not sure when I will be going back if anythime soon.

The lodge is North Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy and pretty close to numerous restaurants and indoor/outdoor shopping choices.

Couldn't be more pleased with how I was treated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Best views overlooking either a golf course or the restaurant and club house.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jeffrey Howell, Sales at The Lodge at Flying Horse
Responded Jun 21, 2021
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hope that you may be able to return in the summer when all 5 pools are open and the temps are a bit more comfortable. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raymundo wrote a review Aug 2023
14 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Only some of the rooms have a view of the mountains, across the parking lot. At $600 all in a night I expected to see them in the morning. Not the case with us. We had a view of the very nice golf course.

The hotel uses gym/pool/ spa in a separate building across the parking lot that is an upscale YMCA for the surrounding community. The pool is filled with screaming children all day. Unexpected at a mountain resort.

The place is brand new and the rooms are very nice and spacious.

Services are limited. The restaurant is open only open for breakfast buffet and a very short lunch and dinner menu served in the bar area. The food here was excellent. As were the staff. Kristin and Randolph were great.

Beyond that you’ll have to get in your car and drive. Choices nearby are limited. We can’t recommend the Steakhouse for $200+ a couple with mediocre food. There is no gift shop for snacks, Tylenol, etc, again you’ll have to drive off campus. No bell staff to help schlep golf bags etc.

Most everyone was nice. Given this is a new place there are bound to be issues. We mentioned these to the staff, mostly about housekeeping and they were mostly receptive. One incident I asked for water because our room hadn’t been serviced by late afternoon and after some confusion I was advised two bottles would cost $8. They later took it off the bill.

Frankly if you are looking for a full service mountain resort that looks at the mountains this isn’t it. It’s not a bad place otherwise but has limited or shared services. Not what most people are looking for in this category and price point.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jeffrey Howell, Sales at The Lodge at Flying Horse
Responded Aug 18, 2023
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. please know that we address all of the concerns mentioned and will as a team work to provide a better resort experience. Thank you once again for sharing.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon B wrote a review May 2020
Denver, Colorado1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed at the lodge over the weekend. I was told when I called two days prior to my arrival that they were honoring the social distancing practices but the lap pool would be available by appointment only. When I arrived this was no longer an option. This was never conveyed to me by the lodge before I arrived. We both went and purchased swimsuits so we could take advantage of some form of exercise. Then we arrived in our room to find a thick dust collection on all surfaces of the furniture. We called down to the front desk and the manager immediately came to our room to check on this concern. She stated she just dusted that morning and the day before we arrived. That was a lot of dust to collect in a couple of hours. The bed was so uncomfortable that my partner went down and slept in the car. We attempted to eat on the balcony and the very dirty small table was standing on three legs with the fourth one hanging in the balance. Our drinks slid off the table and landed on the ground. This was supposed to be a birthday celebration and it turned into a nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 587jeffreyh, Director of Sales at The Lodge at Flying Horse
Responded May 11, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience though it seems you did not enjoy your stay with us. We had been given conflicting reports on the status of opening the pool and I am sorry you weren't made aware of the change in the opening date. I believe your resort fee was waived as we did not have the fitness resort amenities available. Again, we are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. If you would care to discuss further you are welcomed to call and ask for the director of sales.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherri G wrote a review Jan 2021
Austin, Texas11 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Impeccable. Luxurious. Everything was perfect from check-in , room service to check-out. The rooms are the most beautifully decorated. Your visit includes luxurious bathrobes, large showers, super thick towels and a coffee bar. Included is the state of the art recreation center equally Luxurious spa womens room, the workout equipment is super. The hot tub is a curvy design, the largest i have ever seen in my life and it had an indoor / outdoor version where you could swim under and then your outdoors. It was 22 degrees outside and snowing and one would think thats simply crazy to be out there in a wet bathing suit but no. The outdoor temp was barely noticeable when your in the jacuzzi. The steam rolling off, the sunset, the brightness of the snow lit the environment. Absolutely unforgettable and relaxing. A real hidden gem to be experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jeffrey Howell, Sales at The Lodge at Flying Horse
Responded Jan 18, 2021
We are thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay with us and took full advantage of the resort amenities. We look forward to your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
camjohnson816 wrote a review Sep 2021
Raton, New Mexico74 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a spa review, but I felt it was important to share my experience as polite feedback is important I believe. The staff was very nice and the grounds are just beautiful. Down to the details that made our experience mediocre at the very best— The room where I received my massage was very cold and I was told my heating pad was on high the whole time but remained cold for the 100 minutes. This promotes tension instead of relaxation. I asked for the hot stones since I was cold and they were rough which is not something I’ve experienced before at other spas. Next, my particular masseuse’s nails and cuticles were not well trimmed which made for a scratchy massage. The music that was playing(which I do not know if all the rooms have separate sound) was very upbeat classical which I don’t dislike, but was not relaxing at all just hyped up a bit and not conducive to a soothing environment for treatment. The staff and guests do not talk softly in the hall which can be heard in the treatment room which adds to the distraction. We arrived 40 minutes early is anticipation of taking time to enjoy the whirlpool and steam room but we’re not given an opportunity. Last thing, which may seems small but really adds or takes away from what should be a soothing atmosphere; the tile in the rooms is rough which makes the stool rolling around very loud, and the rooms are small so the legs/wheels knock into the walls. Small things really do make all the difference. Sadly, we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kctravellers3 wrote a review May 2022
Kansas City196 contributions74 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The area and lodge are very nice, gated and secure. The fitness center and pools are top notch.

However, the “mountain view”…at least from our first floor room was just the parking lot. They have a curved archway outside on the small patio and all you see if a view of cars…like the old motels.

There is also very little in the way of cell coverage, their Wi-Fi did work well but it was frustrating as you couldn’t even get directions via an app in the car before leaving.

Many of the sites are about a 20-30min drive from this location.

The room was very warm most of the time, they have the temp locked, the lowest it would go was 67 but the room was always above and the air would just randomly (and rarely) come on.

Finally, be warned they are having a massive construction project going that starts around 6am every morning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I would avoid first floor rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jeffrey Howell, Sales at The Lodge at Flying Horse
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Not all of our rooms offer mountain or golf views and I hope that it was not sold to you as such. While over 75% of our rooms offer golf or mountain views we cannot guarantee those rooms will be available for your stay but we do note all requests on our reservation system. Having weak cell service can be very frustrating for both leisure and business so we provide elevated bandwidth throughout the resort however, there is one provider that does not support strong service in much of the city and I suspect that might have been the issue in this case. We apologize for the construction on campus. Our new Lodge expansion adjacent to the existing Lodge will be complete in a matter of weeks. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you will return to experience the most luxurious and spacious 4- Diamond rooms and suites in the city.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KimberlySue wrote a review Jun 2020
Omaha, Nebraska17 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge is a smaller property, part of an overall club/community with security and all amenities. It was quiet, and felt exclusive yet casual. The room was great and we had a private patio on the golf course, so we could spread out a bit. We all enjoyed the pool and athletic facilities. And my son enjoyed playing golf.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jeffrey Howell, Sales at The Lodge at Flying Horse
Responded Jul 8, 2020
We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities available here at Flying Horse. We appreciate your review and look forward to your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul J wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Reserved a room online with the Honeymoon Spa Package. Received a confirmation email with instructions to call Spa to confirm service reservation. Since, it was currently after hours, called Spa following morning. Was told all Spa reservations were full and they could not fulfill services promised at time of reservation. Had to cancel entire reservation. How disappointing!! Everyone from Spa to Reservations seemed overly casual about our disappointment. Will never consider this lodge, Spa or golf course in the future. Encourage others to do the same until they are able to provide services they promise upon reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
R871STmp wrote a review Nov 2021
Raleigh, North Carolina38 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our hotel room was spacious, with a nice balcony and a very nice shower. We loved our room. We stayed 4 nights and used the fitness center each day. It is a GREAT fitness center compared to a typical hotel.
Our only complaint was that the front desk at the fitness center/spa was - depending on who was there - A) indifferent, B) annoyed that a customer was there, or C) very pleasant and helpful. This really needs addressed for a lodge that clearly considers itself (and prices itself) as luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
franciehomewood_IL asked a question Jun 2020
Catalina Foothills, Arizona20 contributions3 helpful votes
Do they allow dogs?
Rama asked a question Sep 2019
Denver, Colorado29 contributions21 helpful votes
Would the kids pool be open around this time - Sep last 2 weeks? How is this place for toddlers?
Answer from Beverly S
Manhattan Beach, California44 contributions24 helpful votes
The pool is outdoors but I would call the hotel and ask if they have a date set for closing the pool. There were a lot of young kids around the pools and hotel when we were staying there during the summer.
Giocolon asked a question Jul 2018
8 contributions
Is parking free?
Answer from Jeffrey H
Colorado Springs, Colorado4 contributions
Parking is complimentary.
greencozmo asked a question May 2018
Colorado Springs, Colorado119 contributions43 helpful votes
Is there covered parking available?
Answer from Adrienne D
United States
Hello, we have plenty of parking available but we do not have covered parking. Thank you,
Answer from chrys59
THE WOODLANDS26 contributions33 helpful votes
I'm sorry I don't know, but I do know they had an indoor pool area as well which was opened.
Adventure60981366907 wrote a tip May 12
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't do the buffet at the East Lodge at Flying Horse."
Read full review
L.Campbell wrote a tip Aug 2023
Norman, Oklahoma3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No AT&T coverage"
Read full review
Keith wrote a tip Aug 2022
Long Beach, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you plan on golfing keep bugging the golf shop to get earlier time. There’s plenty available. Private courses are never packed."
Read full review
Debie R wrote a tip Jul 2022
Castle Pines, Colorado171 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"get a 2nd floor room, request golf course, but it is not guaranteed"
Read full review
SparrowFromAlaska wrote a tip Jul 2022
6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for one that doesn't overlook the parking lot."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Colorado Springs area.
PRICE RANGE
$341 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoEl Paso CountyColorado Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LODGE AT FLYING HORSE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lodge at Flying Horse
Which popular attractions are close to The Lodge at Flying Horse?
Nearby attractions include Focus on the Family Bookstore (3.8 miles), Western Museum of Mining and Industry (2.1 miles), and Fox Run Regional Park (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lodge at Flying Horse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Lodge at Flying Horse?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lodge at Flying Horse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lodge at Flying Horse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lodge at Flying Horse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ted's Montana Grill, Colorado Mountain Brewery, and Falcon's Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lodge at Flying Horse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Lodge at Flying Horse offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lodge at Flying Horse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Western Museum of Mining and Industry (2.1 miles).
Does The Lodge at Flying Horse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Lodge at Flying Horse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Colorado Springs HotelsColorado Springs Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Colorado SpringsHotels near The Lodge at Flying Horse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars