We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mission Reef Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mission Reef Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner came here over the weekend for a night away together from cairns. The room was way to small, the TV didn't work, the bed was horrible to sleep as it was 2 single beds put together and kept rolling apart. The fact we had to share a balcony with the people next to us took away... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikaela E
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Advertised as 4 star luxury apartments, more like 3. On the plus side, we had one bedroom apartment which was of a good size, bed reasonably comfortable, onsite parking and had an apartment which actually had a decent view, unlike most which looked over the streets and area was really quiet. Negatives were walls thin, could hear showers, toilets from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa1162
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Thanks for the review. As advised in your other review, if you had advised me of lack of toiletries and milk, I would have made sure that they were replenished. I'm not sure why these items were not in your room in the first place. I'm sorry that we were not up to your standard. We received the... More 

eugenee, or
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here overnight during a road trip. The lodgings were spacious and would have been great for a longer stay or for families, as it was a one bedroom suite. It was clean and comfortable. The host was very helpful for local recommendations. There was a full kitchen and laundry in the suite.

Helpful?
Thank mirandini
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Mirandini. I'm glad that you found your accommodation clean, comfortable and spacious. Come again for a longer stay next time! Kind Regards, Susan More 

Cervia Milano Marittima, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

The first sentence the manager told me was "usually we dont't have backpackers here!!!". This holiday should be a gift from my sister. She booked 3 nights for me. From the beginning on the manager was really rude and unfriendly. I got a room with a view to the backyard. The WLAN was not working. Because of the unfriendly behaviour... More 

Helpful?
Thank tinafrei
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hello Tina, I really think you are reviewing the wrong hotel. I cannot recall any of the above allegations and cannot recall anyone reducing a 3 night stay to just one night. I also have never refused a request for a lift into town. In fact I insist on people not catching a taxi. The review of staff on other... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Main room & bathroom were a good size and clean. We were offered free use of the jacuzzi, which was ok. Kitchenette area was tiny. We also had a shared balcony, which had no view. In fact, it was a just a few feet from the shared balconies of the next block of rooms. Privacy would have been zero if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blubeckers13
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Blubeckers13. Unfortunately not every room has a balcony with a view. If people request a balcony with a view when booking, we can usually accommodate their request. The kitchens in our one & two bedroom apartments are a good size and well euipped, whereas the facilities in the motel rooms are not of the same standard. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Situated close to the beach this resort has all that you can ask for. Very clean spacious and quiet rooms make for a very relaxing stay at a reasonable price. Susan the host is an absolute gem, she makes everyone feel very welcome and is very accommodating for any extra needs and makes a fantastic breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Vincent for the wonderful review. We try our best to ensure that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Please come and stay again sometime. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Susan runs these holiday units with great care and attention to detail. The place is spotless and everything you need is available. The beach is a short stroll away, and at the time we were there was pretty secluded. There is a local bus service that runs from Mission Beach several times a day. We would not hesitate to recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, Thanks very much for the kind review. It is much appreciated. We try very hard to ensure that the Resort is kept clean & tidy. We are also lucky to have our wonderful beach only 100 metres from our front gate. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a very spacious and clean 2 bedroom apartment right next to the pool. the resort was in a great location across from the beach and the owner was exceptionally friendly and helpful during our stay. We highly recommend Mission reef resort for your stay at mission beach.

Helpful?
Thank Josh W
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Josh for the great review. We are in a great location across the road from a beautiful beach, with a couple of great restaurants a short stroll down the road. More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

Had a weekend getaway for valentines day, great spot, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice pool. Lots of nice restaurants and take aways nearby plus woolies just down the road if you want to self cater. Close to the beach. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank anon887
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thanks anon887 for the great review. Our region has a lot going for it, so I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime. More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Great place to relax, family friendly resort with nearby park and beach for children. Walk to restaurants. Tropical garden setting, fabulous pool and barbeque area for gatherings. Excellent value for money! Clean, modern and self contained units.

Helpful?
Thank Ann2110
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Ann for your great review of our resort and region. I really appreciate your taking the time and effort to post your review. I hope that you are able to stay with us again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#2 of 7 in Wongaling Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge
Hibiscus Lodge
#2 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mission Reef Resort is a luxury holiday apartment accommodation venue situation in magnificent Mission Beach, North Queensland, Australia.Offering 14 tastefully furnished,2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments or 14 1 bedroom self contained and motel style suites plus on-site manager, the resort is one of the newest in the area, having been officially opened in May, 2005.Mission Reef Resort is less than a one minute walk to the famous pristine sands of Mission Beach and is centrally located within the township.When you stay at Mission Reef Resort you can choose to experience all the wonders the area offers, from Great Barrier Reef snorkeling, diving and coral viewing trips to guided walks in the lush tropical North Queensland rainforest. The tours and activities choices are endless. And if you are not the adventurous type, you can just relax in the cool resort pool to savoir the tropical sunshine and sea breeze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mission Reef Resort

Address: 58-62 Holland St, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Price Range: $77 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mission Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mission Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Reef Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay