We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Prospectors RV Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Prospectors RV Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Had a great weekend tent camping here. Clean, large and quiet site was very private with amazing views, and plenty of space for our 6-man tent, which is hard to find in many campgrounds. Attentive staff checking to make sure site was to our liking. Kids loved the jumping pillow and playground, and the pool was a great place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank michkieft
ProspectorsRVResort, Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay here at Prospectors! The natural beauty of our surroundings is one of the many incredible joys we share with our guests. We're happy you were able to take advantage of our tent area, and your children enjoyed some of the kid-friendly amenities here at the... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

Last year we visited in May and were thoroughly impressed with the direction the new owners were taking this park (see review titled "Best Family Camping in the Royal Gorge Region"). Unfortunately, this year we noticed some things that have prompted us to re-characterize the direction the park is heading. Let's start with this year's new front desk manager, who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clint K
Traveler...
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

This location seems to be a place where people stay year round or at least for the entire season. Several "permanent" residents. The hosts were very helpful in finding a good spot for us and our RV. Bathrooms acceptable. Good pool with nice pool area seating. Big "bounce pad " which is great for the kids - like a trampoline... More 

Helpful?
Thank lauragatz
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Great first impression. Phone reservation with Owner. He was very pleasant and offered me #17, which is a wide, pull-through, full hookup site. We were staying for 4 days. Things went downhill once I actually checked in. The woman decided to downgrade us to another location once she looked at our rig. She didn't give a reason why she was... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharlesCarroll80210
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Rent a cabin. Go rafting. Stay a few days and hang out at the pool and relax during your vacation while the kids run around their large property and use the game room, bounce pillow, and bring your bicycles and frisbees for their disc golf course.

Helpful?
Thank Cris B
ProspectorsRVResort, Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review

Cris, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us about your stay here at Prospectors! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the family-friendly atmosphere at our park! We're proud to be able to offer plenty of options for every family member to enjoy. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. We look... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

I was referred to this campground by a local rafting company. No one was at the office when we arrived at 5:00pm which is fine...I understand it's Sunday and sometimes people need a break. Upon arriving we were greeted with multiple mid aged adults drinking and appear to actually live here. Splash pad was obviously clogged and run down, therefore... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amber E
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

We were in Canon City for rafting and stayed in one of the cabins. The only issue we had was the size. It had two sets of bunk beds and a futon. We were a little cramped, but the price was right and the campground was great! The kids loved the pool, the launch pad, and the game area. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
ProspectorsRVResort, Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review

Scott, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us! We're sorry to hear the cabin wasn't as roomy as you had hoped, but should you stay with us again, we'd be happy to provide further information about the several other cabins we have available. I'm sure we would be able to find a... More 

NW Arkansas
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Went to Canon City for family whitewater trip. Prospector was recommended by the rafting co. Many very long term "residents." Restrooms were clean, but we're out of order on second day. Pool was very dirty and splash pad was out of order both days. Foul language, a lot of alcohol, and theft of items by kids (only observed against other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stewart D
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Booked for 3 nights based off reviews... thanks for nothing Google and Trip Advisor... Site was small, not big enough for a 39' MH with slides. Amenities seem quite run down, splash pad looks like it's been there 10 years and is Sun bleached and wasn't running when we got there. The worst part are all the full-timers living there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank K H
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

We rented bunkhouse cabins 6 and 7 and camping space 66 for my daughter and new son-in-laws bachelor and bachelorette parties the night before their wedding. The RV park is nice. Parking is great with a lot of space. Bunkhouse cabin 7 has a curtain for the bathroom door. Bunkhouse Cabin 6 has a pocket door on the bathroom. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank bregabe
ProspectorsRVResort, Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us! We're glad you were able to take advantage of our cabin accommodations for your daughters and son-in-laws pre-wedding celebrations! Congratulations to you and your family from all of us here at Prospectors. We apologize that you were unable to enjoy the splash pad and hot... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
7.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 13 in Canon City
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#7 of 13 in Canon City
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Canon City
BEST WESTERN Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
7.1 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Address: 43959 W US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-9742
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Price Range: $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 139
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Canon City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing