We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Vagabond Inn - Whittier

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn - Whittier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 72: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and updated rooms, courteous and helpful staff. I've stayed here numerous times, and have never had any negative issues. When I need a place to stay in the area, the Vagabond Inn, will continue to be my choice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank richardmC2013NT
WhittierVI, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Richard...I want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay at our Hotel. We are very Happy to know that you have been our returning guest. I will make sure to let the front desk staff know what a great job they did. We want to thank you again and hope to... More 

Ponca, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

Online the room seemed normal/average. Was supposed to be a non-smoking room but the room smelled awful. It was most likely recently converted from a smoking room. The room was clean but still seemed "dingy" and poorly lit. Reserved for a week, but changed to another hotel after one night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank petev205
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer...We want to thank you for taking the time our to post your review about your stay here at the vagabond Inn. We want to apologize for the room that you were in smelled like a smoking room. We are very sad that you had to leave and go to another Hotel. I'm sorry that we did not move... More 

Travelers are raving about these Whittier hotels

San Jose, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

I made reservation online for two queen beds. Night before I was to arrive, I got a phone call that I would get one bed and a roll-away because of 'an emergency." I asked for a reduction in payment in price, and was told I would have to speak to manager. At check in, I asked and the clerk said... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank N6925KTstevenh
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer....I want to thank you for taking the time our to post your review. I want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of your stay at our Hotel. We will take action to why this happened and make sure that this does not happen again. We hope to see you again and we would give you a special rate... More 

Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

This hotel was dated, for sure. The carpet was in drastic need of repair / re-do and the a/c was also very dated and had trouble keeping up with the heat and the TV did not work (no instructions on how to work it, either) There was constant noise at all hours. It was very difficult to sleep here, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephanieg51
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer. We thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay at our Hotel. We are sorry that your stay was not satisfied and you had a lot of issues in the room. We value our customers and we will take action to fix these issues right away. Once we sincerely apologize and we... More 

Honnalulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Clean and newly remodled. Centeralized and ok to walk around at dark in the neibor cose by. Im military just dropong in and i will be usint them again only wished there was a way to book for a fool month but california will not allow you..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jaymonc461
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer. I want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay here at the Vagabond Inn. We value our customers and we appreciate your review. Thank you again hope to see you soon More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

The showers are nice , bathroom as well , and bed was comfortable but smelled a little funky. Front desk was helpful and nice. Morning breakfasts was okay. Rate was okay $135 per night at 4 of July weekend. They do have a pool but i didnt go on it. I would stay again but I would stay on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1lovetrip
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer. I want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay at our Hotel. We apologize for the smell of the room and we will take action to find out why. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon More 

Eugene OR
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

I've stayed at the Whittier Vagabond many times due to its proximity to my sister's house and downtown and it's reasonable rates. Other that that, it has little to recommend itself. The rooms are reasonably clean but the walkways and stairs could use a good power-washing. The room I stayed in my last visit had numerous maintenance issues. The minute... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank charlesmW4846KN
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer..I want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay here at our Hotel. I want to apologize for the issues that you had in your room. We will take action to fix all these issues you had addressed, We are in the process of renovating all our rooms in the next... More 

Modesto, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

I needed a pet-friendly place and this was the only one I found in the area. Price was okay and the room was clean. My only complaint was the smoke smell in the room even though I requested non-smoking

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 360cor
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer. We want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay here at the Vagabond Inn. I apologize for the smell of smoke in the room in the non-smoking room. I will take action to train our housekeeping to report this issue right away. Thank you again and we hope to see... More 

Whittier, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Today Saturday 04-16-16 my wife and I visited this Vagabond Inn on Whittier Blvd we encountered a very unpleasant front desk female that was not to helpful. We requested to see a room and her reply was NO. We explain to her it's our way before we pay for a room we would like to see the condition of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward S
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer. We want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your experience here at the Vagabond Inn. We want to apologize for the unpleasant front desk clerk. We had took action to correct this behavior and to train her in a professional manner, so this will never happen again. Once again we apologize... More 

fresno
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

The property is just getting old and needs updating rooms and outside need safety features added if they're going to have a small breakfast in the morning they need to separate it from the office otherwise a friendly place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank candlkruse
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer. We want to thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay and we are sad to know your stay was not pleasant. We are in the process to upgrading. We will take action to fix these issues to better our place and to make our customers more Happy. We hope to see you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Whittier
Radisson Hotel Whittier
#2 of 11 in Whittier
3.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lambert Inn
Lambert Inn
#9 of 11 in Whittier
2.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
4.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Pico Rivera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk Inn
7.0 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
0.2 mi away
Friendly Hills Inn
Friendly Hills Inn
#1 of 11 in Whittier
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - Whittier

Address: 14125 Whittier Blvd, Whittier, CA 90605-2043
Location: United States > California > Whittier
Price Range: $75 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - Whittier 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Vagabond Inn - Whittier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Hotel Whittier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay