We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge at Blue Lakes

Save
Share
5135 W State Highway 20, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9513
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$154
View Deal
Hotels.com
$154
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
$171
$130
View Deal
SAVE $41
Agoda.com$132
Priceline$154
Trip.com$171
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (118)
Room & Suite (65)
Pool & Beach (13)

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Upper Lake
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Nestled in a crack of the Mayacamas Mountains, Blue Lakes shimmer clear in the Northern California light. Time moves differently here; once you check into your room, you can feel it slow down. Just outside your hotel door the lake rests, and a gentle breeze blows. Pull up a lawn chair and relax. Or bring your wedding party and get married in the Special Event Center. No matter what you do, the lake is always cool, clean and inviting, waiting for you to explore. Make your staycation complete by renting a boat, kayak or paddleboard from the largest fleet on Blue Lakes, and wander, the waves gently lapping against you. All’s peace and fun times here at The Lodge at Blue Lakes, Lake County, California. You’ll have your choice of 22 recently remodeled guestrooms, including 2 Executive Suites. And if you’re looking for a romantic getaway, curl up in a Deluxe Jacuzzi room, complete with a four-poster bed and in-room Jacuzzi tub. Should the lake be too beautiful to leave for dinner, take advantage of the kitchenette rooms and cook your dinner with the door open, listening to the laughter of children and watching the sun slowly set. Then go head to bed, knowing that tomorrow will be another beautiful day: wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast, then enjoy the morning on the water with a free hour-long kayak rental. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, small refrigerators, microwaves and coffee/tea makers. air conditioning, climate control, iron/ironing board, clock, and hair dryers are also included. All guestrooms are non-smoking. Free self-parking on-site. The Lodge at Blue Lakes follows all social distancing and safety protocols; a mask is required.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino

Location

Full view
Contact
5135 W State Highway 20, Upper Lake, CA 95485-9513
Getting there
Sacramento Intl Airport83 miSee all flights
Sonoma County Airport47 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
325Reviews6Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 236
  • 54
  • 16
  • 6
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carlos Miguel wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
The most friendly staff, comfortable rooms, beautiful location. They even have boats you can take to the lake on-site! Relaxing and fishing with the family was definitely something that was much needed with everything going on. It was my wife’s first time here and she enjoyed it as well! Loved staying here with my family and will definitely be back for more!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie S, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Dear cvrlosmiguel, Thank you so much for this awesome rating and review! We're so glad to hear you had a great time and can't wait to host your family again!
Read more
Des P. wrote a review Oct 2020
San Francisco, California1 contribution
It was my first time here and I was very impressed. I arrived with my husband and his family for a weekend getaway and The Lodge was a perfect spot. The staff was very nice from the second we arrived to the moment we left. They were nice enough to wait for us to check in as our arrival time was a little delayed due to some traffic. The boat ride was a good way to spend the day and the staff was very informative on the safety of our ride and the best spots to fish. They also have a spot to barbecue and bring the family together after spending the day at the water. They definitely made it work and didn't let a pandemic stop them from performing great service while keeping their guests and staff safe. Hope to come back again. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jackie S, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Dear desxrose, We are over the moon for this awesome review! Our zero-emission fleet of boats really is our pride and joy, and we are so happy that we had the opportunity to share the magic of Blue Lakes with your family. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
Nalani G wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Before you stay here, please read all the low star reviews and realize that they are not wrong! Also notice that the staff that reply to those bad reviews only comment to discredit their customers experience and never take accountability for their own actions. It's a perfect example of just how horrible their attitude towards their guests is. Blue Lakes is an absolutely beautiful location that should be a must-see for all in the area. HOWEVER. The Lodge at Blue Lakes staff has a lot of room for improvement in their customer service and policy areas. Our family stayed the weekend, we rented out two different rooms and the staff members still had the audacity to come to our room, knock on our door and try to enforce some kind of "head count" to tell us that we were only registered for four people and that were not allowed to have the family from the other room hangout and have dinner with us in our room! On top of their obscene prices, we're not allowed to have any local family members come join us for a bbq during our stay without them having to pay the $25 day pass fee per person. Charging $25 per person for every family member we want to have over for a bbq for lunch is ridiculous. I've never been charged for non-overnight guests in ANY of my travels throughout the world. This place overcharges you from the get go and tries to extort more money out of you at any chance they can. We had such a horrible experience with them breathing down the necks of our family that we couldn't even stay the rest of the weekend and left early. This is an absolutely beautiful place with great views and activities, but the staff creates a hostile atmosphere. I've heard whispers that the owner is considering selling, and I truly hope he does as I think a change in management would be just the thing this place needs to reach its full potential!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline S, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Dear 65nalanig, Thank you for your feedback and perspective. We apologize that you had a negative experience. From our perspective however, we believe that there are a few facts that need to be stated: 1) Our staff inquired about the number of guests staying overnight in your rooms, because they are required to document the occupancy of rooms due to local fire marshal regulations. Additionally, now that we have to practice extra precautions due to COVID-19, they need to be aware of who is coming into and going out of the property. 2) Day Use passes for non-overnight guests have been a feature of this resort for over a decade. A quick perusal of the FAQ section on our website may have been beneficial prior to your arrival so there would be no surprises. Please remember that The Lodge At Blue Lakes is a commercial resort located on private property, access is available to paying customers per the outlined fees. 3) The General Manager waived all day use pass fees and additional person fees, as a one-time exception for your group. We apologize if you were offended, but the manager performed his job correctly by reminding you that such policies existed. 4) Those staying overnight requested to check out of their rooms on the second day of your stay, this is true. However, for context, this request was made after the hotel’s regular check-in time at 3PM – making it impossible to fully sanitize and potentially resell the rooms that evening as the housekeeping staff had already completed their work and departed for the day. Had your group informed our staff of your discomfort during the morning or early afternoon of your second day, management would have been able to work with you regarding a partial refund. We certainly did not intend for your group to feel unwelcome and truly apologize that you felt uncomfortable; however, there are rules for use of this property that all guests are expected to abide by when they book rooms – and it is the responsibility of management to enforce said rules. We hope this helps to clarify any misunderstandings, thank you again for your feedback!
Read more
Rosan L wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We fell in love with this place! The staff especially Pablo, was beyond amazing and super sweet. This adorable Lodge provided a wonderful room with a fireplace and jacuzzi as well as beautiful lake views right outside our door! We had kayaking reservations for late morning but it started raining and they were very accommodating at changing our time until the rain held off! We highly recommend this amazing little Lodge and we definitely will be staying here again! Thank you to Pablo and the staff at Blue Lodge for making my birthday weekend the best!! One happy fan! Rosan
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline S, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Dear Rosan, Thank you so much for this lovely review! We're so happy to hear your birthday weekend was celebrated in relaxation and comfort, and we look forward to your next visit!
Read more
SippyCupAdventures wrote a review Aug 2020
Roseville, California59 contributions8 helpful votes
We were not able to stay at the lodge, but we did want to rent one of the electric boats. Our stay this particular weekend was at an AirBnB on Clear Lake. The stay was wonderful, but Clear Lake has its issues with all the blue algae, at least in mid-August it did. So, we could not get in and swim. I had learned about the boat rentals at the Lodge, so, we rented a boat about a week prior. Once we arrived, the staff was wonderful. I believe the owner sat down and chatted with us as he was out and about conversing with others. Was really a nice touch. The lake is simply beautiful! The boat trip was nice and relaxing. The boat worked fine and was easy to navigate. My only complaint is this. We rented the "Jungle" Boat. It was covered and it was big enough for just my wife and I. It says it can hold 8 people I believe, but that would be tough. The problem was, as I wanted to get in the lake on this hot day which I did, but getting BACK in the boat proved to be impossible. We were given a ladder that you can hook on to the edge of the boat, but that was useless because of the concaveness of the boat. Fortunately, my wife stayed in the boat. Had she gotten in to the water too, we would have been in real trouble not being able to get back in to the boat. What we did was navigate to a shoreline as I held on to the side of the boat and once we got to the shoreline we "docked" it, something that the staff discouraged us to do, but, we did it in a safe manner and we really had no choice but to do so. Once "docked" the both of us enjoyed a swim. We then were able to both get in the boat and take off and enjoy the rest of the day. I would suggest that staff inform folks when getting dialed in with the directions, that when using the "Jungle Boat" that it will be difficult to get back in to the boat if you choose to jump in the lake. Now, I am 55 and "phat" so, maybe younger folks can navigate this, but, just a word of warning if you choose the "Jungle Boat." Maybe, just get the pontoons which are easier to get in and out of.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacqueline S, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Blue Lakes
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Dear Sippycupadventures, Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time overall. You are correct that our large, pontoon-style boats are better for swimming, but as you also mentioned some folks do fine with the smaller, traditional boats. That being said we've taken your feedback into consideration and are implementing a dialogue with boat renters in regards to which boats are better suited for swimming based on recommendations such as yours. Many thanks again for your feedback, constructive suggestions for improvement from the perspective of our guests as truly invaluable to us. We look forward to hosting you again any time!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lodge at blue lakes hotel upper lake, hotel at blue lakes, resort at blue lakes
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLake CountyUpper Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lodge at Blue Lakes
What are some of the property amenities at The Lodge at Blue Lakes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Lodge at Blue Lakes?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lodge at Blue Lakes?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lodge at Blue Lakes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lodge at Blue Lakes?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Lodge at Blue Lakes?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Lodge at Blue Lakes offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Lodge at Blue Lakes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Filipino.
Does The Lodge at Blue Lakes have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.