We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip and practically half the village at the units' complex were closed. All activities are available during weekend - which sucked for me because my stay was during a weekday. Rooms are great but the beds including pillows and sheets were not comfy. I barely got some sleep.

Helpful?
Thank sshaxx
Nicole R, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Sshaxx- Thanks for your review. We're sorry that there wasn't enough going on while you visited; we are constantly sharing this type of feedback with Vail Resorts/Northstar California as they handle activities, restaurant & shop hours. We don't have control over this, unfortunately, but we're trying very hard to get Vail to make some necessary changes. We have upgraded... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

I rented a unit through Vacasa and they were really responsive once you found the right person to speak with. No night life to speak of in Northstar Village, which was fine for me as I was "working from home" and relocated for the week ;) I tried several restaurants around which were all fairly good.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca- We're so glad you had a wonderful stay at Catamount Lodge; we are not Vacasa, however, we are Tahoe Mountain Lodging. Hope to see you again in Tahoe soon, have a terrific summer. More 

Chico, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Our family just spent Memorial Day weekend at a condo at the Catamount Lodge. When we first arrived, the staff was great. They answered our questions and even came out to our car to get our license plate number instead of having one of us run out to get it. Our room was wonderful. It was clean and spacious and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Renee D
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Renee D- Thanks for taking the time to submit a review & for staying with us! It sounds like you & your family had a terrific weekend, enjoying the best of what your residence, The Village & Ritz have to offer. We're especially pleased to hear about your great service experience with our team. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Redding, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

We stayed in a studio unit at the Catamount. The sheets and blanket on the pullout couch were dirty. Had to call front desk for clean sheets. The shower has mold. We needed ice for our ice chest. Called front desk to see where the ice machine was. There are none!!! This is a dog friendly resort, but I don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladytraveler31
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hello LadyTraveler31- We are sorry to learn you encountered some issues during your stay. Yes, Northstar California is a pet-friendly Village & while your experiences with the dog sound frustrating, please understand this does not involve Tahoe Mountain Lodging nor is it within our control. Our housekeeping team checked the shower & did not see any mold, but they have... More 

Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016

We really liked just about everything about our room at Catamount. It was spacious, well appointed with elegant decor (not Alpine kitsch!) and had all the amenities we would want. You just walk out the door and walk a few feet to the gondola. Similarly, shops and really good restaurants are within several feet and yards. We generally go to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eileen N
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Eileen N- Thanks for taking the time to share a review & we're so pleased you enjoyed Catamount & The Village at Northstar. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon & if there's anyway I can make your stay more enjoyable, don't hesitate to reach out. Nicole More 

Carmel, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We stayed in Catamount 405 for three nights recently. The skiing was great and the Catamount Lodge is just steps from the Big Springs Express Gondola. There is also a high-end restaurant with good food on the ground floor named Tavern 6330 (for the elevation at that location). However, those thinking of renting this unit should be aware of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SojournsFromCarmel
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hello SojournsFromCarmel- Thank you for taking the time to submit a review & for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed the residence, skiing & The Village restaurants. I have passed along your feedback about the sheets not fitting properly & cobwebs. The toilet paper we offer is two-ply Angel Soft, so it's not industrial grade-- but perhaps we can... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

This was a top notch place. Our unit was exceptional and super clean. The decor was perfect. Our view was excellent. We have not complaints. I would definitely stay here again! The front desk was super helpful. We were able to get an early check in, but not a late check out. Butit was all good!

Helpful?
1 Thank usroyalty
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Usroyalty! We're so pleased you had a terrific stay at Catamount Lodge! Our team works every hard to assure guests are happy & that their residence is clean, nice & has every last creature comfort one could want. Come see us again this winter-- Catamount Lodge makes for an excellent ski-in, ski-out option & the Village is tons of... More 

on the go
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

This was our 1st time here. From other reviews I chose the Catamount building and we loved it. I liked that i could book specific rooms and they had abundant photos of each. Staff at check in was great. We chose a 4th (top) floor unit with 1 bed, 1.5 bath. Some have adjoining rooms if you have larger parties.... More 

Helpful?
Thank fotogirl
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hi fotogirl- We're so pleased you had a great stay at Catamount & were able to enjoy the Travel Zoo offer. We look forward to seeing you again this winter when the Village is in full swing with skiing, ice skating, s'mores by the fire. Be sure to check our website for some new specials & deals we're releasing this... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We went to ski. While the snow was disappointing, the condo was not! It was very nice. Service was great. Ski locker was a bonus. All around well equipped and well placed condo. We loved it for the convenience of being able to cook our own meals, and have skiers return easily home on their own individual schedule.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janebI9908AH
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Janeb- Thanks so much for your review & for staying with us! We're very pleased that you enjoyed Catamount Lodge & were able to make the most of the residence-- i.e. cooking a meal in the full kitchen, utilizing the ski locker & being just steps away from the gondola. We'll order up great snow for the 2015-2016 ski... More 

Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

This is a perfectly lovely condo and normally I would give it four or five stars. But this review is specific to unit 404. I want to warn others to avoid this unit because the mattress is truly terrible. My husband and I both got very little sleep and more than a little back pain. We left after one night... More 

Helpful?
Thank DebraT26
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Debra- We are sorry you did not enjoy Catamount 404 &, specifically, the mattress. We have researched this situation & understand that our staff offered to move you to another residence, which you declined, & also gave you a full credit for one night's stay toward a future visit. We hope you will come again & try a different... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Catamount Lodge, located just steps from the Northstar at Tahoe® gondola, in the Village at Northstar, consists of well appointed, luxury, residences. Suite, studio, one, two, three bedroom and three bedroom villa accommodations provide luxury vacation rental experiences for the most discerning traveler. A residential fitness facility with state of the art exercise equipment, steam rooms, locker rooms and outdoor hot tubs are all features of the Catamount Lodge. A wonderful location for families looking for an incredible vacation experience, winter or summer, while still enjoying all the conveniences of home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Address: 4001 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4250
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Price Range: $129 - $1,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Catamount Hotel Truckee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing