We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Donner Lake Village

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Donner Lake Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pros: Lakefront property, beautiful location, picnic tables and BBQ available. Community Rooms with fireplaces are available. Very cosy. Cons: 1) The property is old: the walls are paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING your neighbor is doing. From watching TV to brushing their teeth, etc. we were unlucky to have neighbors that went to bed at midnight and woke... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clarita2012
Muldrow, OK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No air conditioning, only a box fan. No elevator. No bars (handholds) near the tub. I am sure this place doesn't pass Americans with Disability Act. The maids never vacuumed the room and only once after asking did they clean and refresh the coffee. There is no person on duty after 8 PM and if you call the front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kermit W

Travelers are raving about these Truckee hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely loved our stay here, was surprised about this little total city getaway with the disconnection you get from the city. lovely setting, the resort being situated on the beach with easy access to the marina. We came with out boat and it was nice to be able to park it in the marina overnight and not having to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank aliesem
DTGPM, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Hi aliesem, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Donner Lake Village. It certainly is a peaceful slice of heaven. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you! Dan Tester Manager More 

Lake Tahoe (California), California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

When we visited they had given us a room where the patio was blocked with yellow tape where the view from the room is just the yellow tape and not the lake. The patio door was jammed. So there was no air circulation and it was horrible horrible experience. If they have any issues with the room, they MUST MUST... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank gs12mat
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

We were sorry to read this review about your Donner Lake experience. And equally sorry we did not know of this at the time of your stay or recently after. I have learned that a heavy load of snow fell onto the deck right before your arrival and possibly compromised the deck safety. This happened at a time that we... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

Beautifully located on Donner Lake in close distance to Truckee and the northern Lake Tahoe ski resorts, e.g. Tahoe Donner, Northstar, etc. We stayed for 5 nights as 2 adults and 2 children. Good Points: i. Having a mini kitchen in the room with fridge, hot plate, etc. ii. Parking iii. Sauna iv. Excellent view of Lake Donner (right on... More 

Helpful?
Thank greghare
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing about your stay at Donner Lake Village: pointing out all the good you experienced about our lakefront property, and its proximity to local ski resorts. We’re glad you enjoyed such fantastic spring skiing this year! We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in printing your lift tickets. While we do not have a business center on... More 

Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

Great location for a ski weekend in North Tahoe. Close to Truckee, Squaw and Sugarbowl. Great to have a little kitchen to bring own food! Beautiful view of Donner Lake and easy drive over Donner Pass or I80 if the weather is bad.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

This was our first time here. This is a lakeside hotel on Donner Lake, a few miles from Lake Tahoe. We stayed in the Winter because its less than 15 miles from Squaw Valley and even closer to Sugar Bowl, Northstar etc. The place is up-to-date in decor, has good, easy to access and free internet and the people there... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo G
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

We rented one of the Town homes on the Lake. AMAZING view. The place was perfect for a mother and FOUR teenage boys ready for some snowboarding at North Star. I had the upstairs all to myself. Super comfortable bed. The boys had the downstairs and loved it. The kitchen was fully equipped. I have not complaints. However, the only... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Shellie T
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016

I feel sorry about giving this a one-star, because all the staff we interacted with were exceptionally nice and helpful. But the facility is literally a dump. Most of the electrical outlets in our room did not work. The overhead light flicked on and off. The bed made us sore. It was shockingly bad. I'm not a grump - I've... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank MoAnderson
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your complements about our staff in your review. They work hard to take care of all our guest's needs. We were sorry to read the rest of your comments about your room and wish that you had contacted us during your stay to fix the lighting issues. We are in the process of room and furniture upgrades... More 

San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

The location is nice but the hotel lacks any character. With all the other charming hotels in Tahoe and air bnb, I won't choose Donner Lake Village again unless everything else is booked. Be wary of making a reservation here if there is any chance at all you might not be able to keep it - their 'policy' is to... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew K
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a poor customer service experience at Donner Lake Village. While we understand that plans change and sympathize with your frustration, our 7 day cancellation policy is communicated clearly throughout the reservation and confirmation process. When plans do change, we do make efforts to rebook the room however in this case, during the holiday season and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 14 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
9.2 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Price Range: $98 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donner Lake Village 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay