We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Howard Johnson Torrance

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Torrance
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Torrance
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Torrance
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I really liked the hotel. I was surprised by the selection they had for the breakfast they include with your stay. Most hotels that I have stayed at have coffee and maybe a danish if you get up early enough. but here i had my choice of bagels, toast, cereal and even waffles. Now I'm not a person who goes... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Melissalozano L
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear Melissalozano L: Thank you so much for you feedback! We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience in Howard Johnson. As you mentioned in your review, we also believe our breakfast and location two of the greatest assets. The hotel is right in the heart of the city, which makes it easy to walk to most... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Torrance CA. howard Johnson hotel where we stayed was terrible.when we arrived the desk person who was new found our reservation and told us where to go.This employee asked for my sister in laws debit card just for holding purposes and said he would charge nothing on it, but he did.Second our room had a water leak in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LALiz4549
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear LALiz4549: Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. I'm truly sorry you and your sister had an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. Our staff have always been trying to go above and beyond to meet the unique and diverse needs of our guests, but there are circumstances that may lie beyond our control... More 

Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

small, dirty .. electricities are out of control .. very noisy when wind blows.. clerks are very annoying with little patience ..

Helpful?
Thank RyanLee0203
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear Jupapa23: Thank you for dropping us a line. I see that you only had a less than average stay, and my sincere apologies for that. Although we are not the newest hotel in the area, our hotel staff have always been able to shine with their professionalism and warm customer service. I'm truly sorry to hear they missed the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I booked the hotel a few weeks before our stay and emailed the hotel twice to ask for early check in. They never got back to me and I regret not making the international call to confirm this. We arrived at HoJo at 12:00pm after a 13 hour flight from Sydney and were told we would have to wait a... More 

Helpful?
Thank EmmaAdvisor
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear EmmaAdvisor: Please know your comments help us immensely in the efforts to improve our service, and I sincerely thank you for sharing them. I do apologize for the hiccup during the check-in, as our clerk was trying to get you into the room as soon as possible. Like in many hotels, early check-ins are not guaranteed, but I am... More 

Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had two rooms for a family of six. The rooms were reasonably big, beds were comfortable and clean, the free breakfast was fine, even though nothing fancy (the juice and fruits were good). The area was good for our purposes, (longish) walking distance to Redondo Beach and the place was quiet. The main complains were the fitlhy carpet (sticky),... More 

Helpful?
Thank diidu
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review

Dear diidu: Thank you so much for such a detailed and wonderful review about your stay! We know that you have many choices when it comes to hotels, and we are thrilled to know you chose Howard Johnson. Our location and great staff are the two major highlights of our hotel that make us so special. I'm truly sorry to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
3.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway
3.1 mi away
Ramada Torrance
Ramada Torrance
#15 of 20 in Torrance
3.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Torrance

Address: 3673 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-4804 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Price Range: $92 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Torrance 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torrance
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay