We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Redac Gateway Hotel

Save
Share
20801 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501-1804
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$116
View Deal
Agoda.com
$116
View Deal
Expedia.com
$155
$110
View Deal
SAVE $45
Free cancellation until 01/30/21
Priceline$116
FindHotel$110
lovevacations$155
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (36)
Room & Suite (80)
Bathroom (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 19 hotels in Torrance
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Torrance does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Redac Gateway Hotel, a nice option for travelers like you.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Redac Gateway Hotel offer a refrigerator, air conditioning, and a desk.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and currency exchange. Guests of Redac Gateway Hotel are also welcome to enjoy a fitness center and a lounge, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available.

If you like barbeque restaurants, Redac Gateway Hotel is conveniently located near Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ, Gen Korean BBQ House Torrance, and L & L Hawaiian Barbecue.

Should time allow, Chen Art Gallery and Destination: Art are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Redac Gateway Hotel puts the best of Torrance at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Hindi and 1 more
114Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 40
  • 19
  • 11
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CoachRKR wrote a review Aug 2020
Templeton, California1 contribution
TRAVELLERS BEWARE!!! A $250 charge on our cc after our stay. We were accused of smoking in our room and covering the smoke detector with a plastic bag. My wife and I have NEVER SMOKED, nor did we cover the smoke detector. Hotel said they have pictures...we asked for them to email photos to us four days ago...still no email. A few other reviewers on Yelp have listed similar phantom charges to their credit cards. Spoke with mgr Judith, who was very polite and promised a return phone call/email I later than noon today, after she spoke with general mgr. Four hours after her promised deadline, absolutely no communication from Redac. We were planning to day once/month repeat stays at the Redac until the pandemic eases, to visit the granddaughters in Torrance. For a bogus 250.00 charge to our credit card, The Redac lost a minimum of 10-14 nights of lodging from us, and now I hope others who read this post. On the positive side, the room was clean and comfortable. If admit their mistake and refund our money, I will gladly edit/rescind this post.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Adley B wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
After weeks of trying to resolve an overcharge on their part, even when Hotwire confirmed the over charge they refused to reimburse the money owed. They used my credit card without consent. I had a nice stay but it is not worth being ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from RGH20801, Front Office Manager at Redac Gateway Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear Adley B, I hope your day is going well. I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience during your recent visit to the Redac Gateway Hotel in Torrance, CA. While we're pleased to have welcomed you, and that you have enjoyed your stay, it's disheartening to hear this mixed feedback of your experience. I sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience. Please know that we take pride in delivering exceptional service and it is much to my chagrin when we are unsuccessful. Please contact me directly to discuss this no-show charge further. We do hope you will afford us the opportunity to serve you again. I look forward to hearing back from you soon. Well wishes and safe travels until then. Sincerely,
Read more
An Engineer wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
I could have given this hotel a decent rating, but they charged me for the breakfast buffet for 9 days, even though I didn't request it and didn't eat it. Then they promised to take the charge off the bill but never did. Very dishonest. What hotel wants to force you to pay for services not received? And then refuse to give you a credit? Another problem is that the floor is too thin. The upstairs guest kept waking me up at night when they walked around. The carpet is ugly, too. It makes the hotel look dingy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Do not order the breakfast buffet! Try to stay on the top floor to avoid noise from above you.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from RGH20801, Front Office Manager at Redac Gateway Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for taking some time, but the breakfast fee has been refunded. I was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced and we're currently taking steps to upgrade some of our facilities.
Read more
Lkearns25 wrote a review Dec 2019
Scottsdale, Arizona3 contributions
We booked this hotel because of the reasonable price (we needed a room for 6 nights), the fact it had a fitness center, and the pictures looked like a cute boutique hotel. This place is NOTHING like the pictures. I cannot understand how this hotel has such high ratings. Everything is old and outdated. The nightstand in our room was worn and chipped. The whole hotel is in serious need of some fresh paint. It felt very dirty. We decided to just suck it up and on the first night, we couldn’t watch a specific Christmas movie on tv because there were parental controls and no one knew the code. After asking twice, the front desk finally sent someone but all he did was unplug the tv and turn it back on. It didn’t solve the problem. We went to bed frustrated and annoyed. We also didn’t sleep because the hotel is SO NOISY. We were on the second floor and the people above us were up and walking around all hours of the night. We also could hear our neighbors. In the morning we headed down to the fitness center only to discover than neither treadmill worked, which was extremely disappointing. The second night we returned to our hotel after a lovely day with family on Christmas and our room smelled HORRIBLE. The window was even wide open but it wasn’t coming from outside. The fan/air conditioner didn’t work either. Once again we didn’t sleep due to the noise upstairs and around us. We cancelled the rest of our stay and went elsewhere. This hotel is one of the top 5 worst hotels we’ve ever stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RGH20801, Front Office Manager at Redac Gateway Hotel
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. I was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced and we're currently taking steps to upgrade our facilities.
Read more
julia_le84 wrote a review Oct 2019
Richland, Washington84 contributions5 helpful votes
Location: hotel is right off the Western Ave road so it can get a bit hard to go in and out during commute time. There are plenty or parking around hotel ground so I never had any issues. Restaurants, markets are near by but I don't recommend walking there. There are residential houses across the street so if you get the street facing rooms then it can be loud. Hotel: lobby was very nice. Service was very good. I got the second floor room, however the room on top of me was loud and walked around. Not hotel's fault but absolute distracted my sleep. The room was spacious and decent in size. A fridge was included. There was a bidet toilet! Loved it. Overall, I would stay again for the cleanliness and the cost. Hotel:
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from RGH20801, Front Office Manager at Redac Gateway Hotel
Responded Oct 30, 2019
Dear Julia. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
torrance plaza hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Torrance Plaza Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaTorrance
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Redac Gateway Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Redac Gateway Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Chen Art Gallery (0.7 miles), Torrance Antique Street Faire (0.6 miles), and The W.W.II Store (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Redac Gateway Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Redac Gateway Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Redac Gateway Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Redac Gateway Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Redac Gateway Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mitsuwa Market Place Torrance Branch, Nozomi, and 85C Bakery Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Redac Gateway Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Redac Gateway Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Redac Gateway Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Redac Gateway Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Redac Gateway Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Banning Museum (4.7 miles).