We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

River Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
River Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2016

We reserved the River Inn for a summer weekend at a rate that seemed to be too good to be true, and were therefore a little wary as we pulled into the lot along the commercial strip. The lobby in this older building has not been updated in a few decades, but check in was very friendly. We parked at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CorpsofDiscovery
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, CorpsofDiscovery... Glad you made way to the River Inn during part of your California journey from Milwaukee, Wisconsin! Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers on our TripAdvisor page. The reversed faucet in your room was due to a construction error. Once discovered, and without tearing out the the plumbing in the complete space to fix it, the... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Motels - well you get what you pay for and for our price we thought it was great. Call direct and get the best price (always do that if you can). It was clean, a microwave, little fridge, and they provided coffee and a danish in the morning to get you going (located at the check in area). The staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bunchkin
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Bunchkin... Thanks for taking a minute to reach back out to us on our TripAdvisor page. We believe that you don't have to sacrifice amenities for value and, in addition to our on-site guest laundry area, having a mini-fridge and microwave in each room helps your travel budge to a lot further. We hope your journey back to Canada... More 

Pahrump, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

We were tired after a long day of driving... I jumped on TripAdvisor to hopefully find a room in Susanville. I was able to secure a booking at the River Inn. Upon arrival they did not have our reservation! Thankfully the kind desk clerk ( who has been there since 1976), found us a small room near the exterior stairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Susan... We're glad we could accommodate you on short notice. We're not using an online booking site expect Booking dot com at this time. Please give us a call directly next time to be sure we have a room waiting for you. We're here to serve your travel-rest needs. :-) More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016

We stopped in Susanville because there was a huge motorcycle convention in Reno, so had to find something fast. I called and was able to get a room at River Inn. It was not cheap, due in part, to the $15 added for my dog. The room was 'OK'.... not updated or very clean. With the water shortage in Northern... More 

Helpful?
Thank namastesali2014
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, namastesali2014... Our $11 pet fee is due to the extra cleaning we need to do to ensure those who do not travel with pets can have a clean, comfortable and pet-free room. Thanks for being water-conscience! All our toilets have been retrofitted to flush at the required 1-gallon per flush limit! We have updated most of our rooms; however,... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2016

We made reservations two weeks in advance but when we arrived we were told we could not have a ground floor room because a baseball team had reserved them all. We explained that due to our age and disabilities that it would be very difficult to carry our luggage up the steep stairwell. The manager apologized but said there were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Victor L
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Victor... Please know we're sorry you were disappointed. We wish we could have moved you to a lower room; however, the Booking dot Com reservation you made did not mention the need for a lower room, only the 'type' of room. As you saw, both a baseball team and a Wild Fire Crew took up every other room we... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised by this motel, centrally located and easy to find we had a very quiet and good stay here. Everything was clean and the room was well appointed. Check inn was easy and the wifi worked well. I felt very safe here. We visited the Mexican restaurant on the site for breakfast and it was good. The brewery/... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Michael E... It was great to be added to your list of stays during your holiday from the UK. Thank you for visiting our TripAdvisor page and leaving positive remarks for other travelers to see as well. We appreciate hearing from every guest and do our best to ensure a fantastic stay each time while not breaking your travel... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

This is a budget motel in Susanville. All rooms overlook the car park. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, they come with a mini fridge, AC, TV, toiletries and a hairdryer. There is a wonderful Mexican restaurant on site, the food portions are huge and they serve a vast range of breakfast foods. The thing that made The River... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathryn Q
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hey, Cathryn Q... We like to think of Eris as our Goodwill Ambassador and Universal Travel Mom. We're glad you found her that way too. We believe we offer one of the best values in hospitality without sacrificing creature-comfort. Our heartfelt thanks for your affirmation today. We hope all your travels are safe and we'd love to have you back... More 

Hermiston,Or
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2016

We were on a long road trip and got into Susanville and stop at this motel. I was very happy with this Motel. It was very quite ,Good parking we had a great meal right next door. The folks that run it are very nice. they had every thing we needed to make our stay nice. You can't asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank JimG65
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, JimG65... Thank you for the kudos today! We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can be sure to provide a clean and comfortable stay at an amazing price. We don't skimp on our amenities and are thankful to know we exceeded your expectations. Peace be yours until we see you again. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Wife and I were on our way to Reno and were getting tired of driving we checked the best western and super 8 in town to find they were full. The girl at the super 8 recommended the river inn. When we got here we got the last room. The room had no working a/c and was very dirty. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeff b
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

ey, Jeff... Didn't expect this kind of review today. We disclosed to you that we were sold out except one smoking room, without an air conditioner. We even gave you a discounted rate due to the non-op AC. You appeared very pleased to have actually found a room this past holiday weekend. Where we agree we have a vintage looking... More 

Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,666 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Easy to get to. Not bad. We did not have a shower curtain. Clean and safe. On the order and about the price of Motel Six. Breakfast house, Mexican restaurant and still there's more a steak house located right next door in the parking lot. We chose not to eat dinner there. We went up the street to the Pioneer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Journeyman644... Thank you for taking a minute to rate us on our TripAdvisor page. Our shower curtains are washed between guests, and evidently we didn't replace the curtain after it was removed for cleaning. Sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate your recommendation for other travelers and hope we can see you again soon! :-) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 9 in Susanville
384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#1 of 9 in Susanville
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#7 of 9 in Susanville
8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The River Inn is a traditional motor inn located in the beautiful Northeastern California town of Susanville. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Inn

Address: 1710 Main St, Susanville, CA 96130-4517
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Price Range: $69 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from River Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from River Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room furthest away from the main road if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles Bunchkin, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles , Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“Lopsided bed, lights and fridge didn't work, maintenance never arrived and assigned a room that was already occupied!!”
 of 5 bubbles kristinb184, Aug 29, 2015 | Read review
“Try to get one farther away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles laneyb2015, Jul 6, 2015 | Read review
“This is a two-story motel. First floor is always great for easy move-in / move-out”
 of 5 bubbles 344annieb, Jun 18, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay