We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
River Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Hermiston,Or
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on a long road trip and got into Susanville and stop at this motel. I was very happy with this Motel. It was very quite ,Good parking we had a great meal right next door. The folks that run it are very nice. they had every thing we needed to make our stay nice. You can't asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank JimG65
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, JimG65... Thank you for the kudos today! We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can be sure to provide a clean and comfortable stay at an amazing price. We don't skimp on our amenities and are thankful to know we exceeded your expectations. Peace be yours until we see you again. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wife and I were on our way to Reno and were getting tired of driving we checked the best western and super 8 in town to find they were full. The girl at the super 8 recommended the river inn. When we got here we got the last room. The room had no working a/c and was very dirty. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeff b
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

ey, Jeff... Didn't expect this kind of review today. We disclosed to you that we were sold out except one smoking room, without an air conditioner. We even gave you a discounted rate due to the non-op AC. You appeared very pleased to have actually found a room this past holiday weekend. Where we agree we have a vintage looking... More 

Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,566 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Easy to get to. Not bad. We did not have a shower curtain. Clean and safe. On the order and about the price of Motel Six. Breakfast house, Mexican restaurant and still there's more a steak house located right next door in the parking lot. We chose not to eat dinner there. We went up the street to the Pioneer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Journeyman644... Thank you for taking a minute to rate us on our TripAdvisor page. Our shower curtains are washed between guests, and evidently we didn't replace the curtain after it was removed for cleaning. Sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate your recommendation for other travelers and hope we can see you again soon! :-) More 

Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

Very soft, old beds; battery missing from the smoke alarm (the woman behind the counter said she'd have to go buy some more because "they've been getting stolen a lot", so at this point we still have no smoke alarm, and we've been checked in for a half hour at least); no bar lock on the inside of the door... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelinmind
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, travelinmind... Thank you for reaching out to on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay with us. We're sorry that everything was not to your liking; however, please know that we committed to providing a comfortable and safe stay, at an economical price for every guest. Where there is no bar lock on the front of the door, each... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

We lucked out that a room was still available when we arrived late on a Wednesday evening without a reservation. Check in with Eris, the spunkjy 90-year old was fun. The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet. It was an excellent value. In checking reviews I didnt notice if breakfast was listed, but there was free coffee and small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Cathy B... Glad we could accommodate your recent visit, and more importantly, that you had a great stay with us to boo! Eris is iconic with our property and is loved by just about every guest. I hope I get to live as long and touch as many lives as she for sure! Blessings and travel mercies by yours... More 

Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

We arrived and the woman who checked us in let me know immediately about the errors I had made when I reserved the room online. She then gave me the incorrect room number so that I was trying to open the door of another occupant who proclaimed that he was there! Our refrigerator was not cooling so we contacted the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin B
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Kristin B.... Sorry for your out of our ordinary guest experience. From the large number of guest comments, you can see our norm is to provide a stellar guest experience at a great price. We're sorry that was not accomplished during your last stay. We'd love to have you back if you come our way again. Travel mercies be... More 

Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

The most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! Staff is friendly and courteous. Two restaurants across the parking lot for your dinner or breakfast choice. Coffee and danish in the lobby in the morning. $60 room was worth the money!

Helpful?
Thank ChurchOfWicca
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Howdy, ChurchofWicca. We hope you're safe from the recent fires in the Roseburg, Oregon area! Brave men and women are active in so many states to ensure our safety right now. We don't know the circumstances of your visit with us (pleasure/work/necessity) but we're glad you enjoyed your stay enough to let the other in the TripAdvisor world know too!... More 

the dalles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile

It was cheap and we had been driving over 10 hours. It was clean and it was your basic set up. The beds are full size they are not queens. We have a queen at home that was just my only complaint. We had a great night sleep and are thankful to find it. Bathroom is pretty small reminded me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chaosreigns
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hey, chaosreigns... We're glad you made it safely to our doorstep and that we could provide an economical, safe and comfortable stay for you. We hope your trip back to The Dalles was safe as well. We'd love to have you back whenever you travel our way! :-) More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

For this hotel, you're not getting any more than what you paid for. When I booked, it said it had an outdoor pool, but I guess it was taken out, because now there's an open area that it like a courtyard. The rooms were okay sized. The toilet and shower are separate from the sink and counter, and the toilet... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laney B
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Laney B. Sorry for the confusion regarding a pool. I checked all of the social media sites we control, TripAdvisor, etc, and couldn't find any reference to a pool as an amenity. We use 5 different social media platforms and none that we use list a pool. It would much appreciated if you would comment back where you booked... More 

Brookly Center, MN, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

The rooms are great, clean and just as expected. The "breakfast" sucks but the rooms have a fridge so no worries there; although, in room coffee would be nice. They are pet friendly which is the reason I stayed but they have no grass area to walk your dog and the dirt, weed, sticker patch out back is super sketchy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Jennifer Thank you for staying with us! Sorry we don't currently have a grassy area for our animal companions, but please know you were safe in the area behind our motel to walk your pet. Our property shares the parking area with a great restaurant; however, a parkway is not available at this time. We do have coffee at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 10 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#1 of 10 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 10 in Susanville
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The River Inn is a traditional motor inn located in the beautiful Northeastern California town of Susanville. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Inn

Address: 1710 Main Street, Susanville, CA 96130
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Price Range: $70 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay