We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
River Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was pleasantly surprised by this motel, centrally located and easy to find we had a very quiet and good stay here. Everything was clean and the room was well appointed. Check inn was easy and the wifi worked well. I felt very safe here. We visited the Mexican restaurant on the site for breakfast and it was good. The brewery/... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Michael E... It was great to be added to your list of stays during your holiday from the UK. Thank you for visiting our TripAdvisor page and leaving positive remarks for other travelers to see as well. We appreciate hearing from every guest and do our best to ensure a fantastic stay each time while not breaking your travel... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a budget motel in Susanville. All rooms overlook the car park. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, they come with a mini fridge, AC, TV, toiletries and a hairdryer. There is a wonderful Mexican restaurant on site, the food portions are huge and they serve a vast range of breakfast foods. The thing that made The River... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathryn Q
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hey, Cathryn Q... We like to think of Eris as our Goodwill Ambassador and Universal Travel Mom. We're glad you found her that way too. We believe we offer one of the best values in hospitality without sacrificing creature-comfort. Our heartfelt thanks for your affirmation today. We hope all your travels are safe and we'd love to have you back... More 

Hermiston,Or
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We were on a long road trip and got into Susanville and stop at this motel. I was very happy with this Motel. It was very quite ,Good parking we had a great meal right next door. The folks that run it are very nice. they had every thing we needed to make our stay nice. You can't asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank JimG65
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, JimG65... Thank you for the kudos today! We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can be sure to provide a clean and comfortable stay at an amazing price. We don't skimp on our amenities and are thankful to know we exceeded your expectations. Peace be yours until we see you again. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Wife and I were on our way to Reno and were getting tired of driving we checked the best western and super 8 in town to find they were full. The girl at the super 8 recommended the river inn. When we got here we got the last room. The room had no working a/c and was very dirty. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeff b
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

ey, Jeff... Didn't expect this kind of review today. We disclosed to you that we were sold out except one smoking room, without an air conditioner. We even gave you a discounted rate due to the non-op AC. You appeared very pleased to have actually found a room this past holiday weekend. Where we agree we have a vintage looking... More 

Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,603 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Easy to get to. Not bad. We did not have a shower curtain. Clean and safe. On the order and about the price of Motel Six. Breakfast house, Mexican restaurant and still there's more a steak house located right next door in the parking lot. We chose not to eat dinner there. We went up the street to the Pioneer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Journeyman644... Thank you for taking a minute to rate us on our TripAdvisor page. Our shower curtains are washed between guests, and evidently we didn't replace the curtain after it was removed for cleaning. Sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate your recommendation for other travelers and hope we can see you again soon! :-) More 

Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

Very soft, old beds; battery missing from the smoke alarm (the woman behind the counter said she'd have to go buy some more because "they've been getting stolen a lot", so at this point we still have no smoke alarm, and we've been checked in for a half hour at least); no bar lock on the inside of the door... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelinmind
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, travelinmind... Thank you for reaching out to on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay with us. We're sorry that everything was not to your liking; however, please know that we committed to providing a comfortable and safe stay, at an economical price for every guest. Where there is no bar lock on the front of the door, each... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

We lucked out that a room was still available when we arrived late on a Wednesday evening without a reservation. Check in with Eris, the spunkjy 90-year old was fun. The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet. It was an excellent value. In checking reviews I didnt notice if breakfast was listed, but there was free coffee and small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Cathy B... Glad we could accommodate your recent visit, and more importantly, that you had a great stay with us to boo! Eris is iconic with our property and is loved by just about every guest. I hope I get to live as long and touch as many lives as she for sure! Blessings and travel mercies by yours... More 

Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

We arrived and the woman who checked us in let me know immediately about the errors I had made when I reserved the room online. She then gave me the incorrect room number so that I was trying to open the door of another occupant who proclaimed that he was there! Our refrigerator was not cooling so we contacted the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin B
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Kristin B.... Sorry for your out of our ordinary guest experience. From the large number of guest comments, you can see our norm is to provide a stellar guest experience at a great price. We're sorry that was not accomplished during your last stay. We'd love to have you back if you come our way again. Travel mercies be... More 

Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

The most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! Staff is friendly and courteous. Two restaurants across the parking lot for your dinner or breakfast choice. Coffee and danish in the lobby in the morning. $60 room was worth the money!

Helpful?
Thank ChurchOfWicca
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Howdy, ChurchofWicca. We hope you're safe from the recent fires in the Roseburg, Oregon area! Brave men and women are active in so many states to ensure our safety right now. We don't know the circumstances of your visit with us (pleasure/work/necessity) but we're glad you enjoyed your stay enough to let the other in the TripAdvisor world know too!... More 

the dalles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile

It was cheap and we had been driving over 10 hours. It was clean and it was your basic set up. The beds are full size they are not queens. We have a queen at home that was just my only complaint. We had a great night sleep and are thankful to find it. Bathroom is pretty small reminded me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chaosreigns
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at River Inn, responded to this review

Hey, chaosreigns... We're glad you made it safely to our doorstep and that we could provide an economical, safe and comfortable stay for you. We hope your trip back to The Dalles was safe as well. We'd love to have you back whenever you travel our way! :-) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Susanville hotels
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 10 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#1 of 10 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#9 of 10 in Susanville
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The River Inn is a traditional motor inn located in the beautiful Northeastern California town of Susanville. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Inn

Address: 1710 Main St, Susanville, CA 96130-4517
Location: United States > California > Susanville
Price Range: $70 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay