We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel V

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel V
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 514: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel V
 Click to rate
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is the worst I have been to ever. I stayed here 2 awful night and had to pay for 3. The owner was not willing to cancel my stay although I asked to cancel 1 hour after my reservation. the hotel is between 2 main roads: 101 and airport blvd. what make the room noisy to the point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nipo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean and comfortable The only problem I had is that they charge you for parking 10 bucks which is a hustle to me I think if you pay for the hotel room You should not be charged a extra 10 bucks for parking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie K
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review

Johnnie, Thank you for trusting Hotel V to deliver the comfort and cleanliness you were expecting. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your comments with us. Being located in such a central area, parking is often a luxury. Nonetheless we apologize that you felt it was unjust that we charge a fee for this amenity. We hope this...

Palmdale, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel...beautiful rooms, plenty of parking, huge TV, comfortable bed, tile and marble bathroom. However, the rate is actually $10 more than is stated due to a sneaky "service charge" that is not included in the advertised rate. Overall still a good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petermT835DP
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review

Providing the value our guests seek is definitely a priority. Despite the uncommunicated service fee, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our well equipped accommodations and found our rates to be within your budget. Next time you find yourself in San Diego area, we would love to welcome you back.

Reviewed December 5, 2016

These stupid people accused me of smoking in the room and kept my 100 deposit which they said when I checked in I could only Leave ot in cash. I never smoked in the room, didn't even get out to go smoke they are some thieves.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Evee F
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review

Evee - We are a smoke-free facility, but we sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your stay. Our policy is in place to ensure the comfort and quality experience for all of our guests. Please feel free to contact us directly, and we will be happy to look into how the misunderstanding occurred and determine how...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night as leaving for early flight. Its good value but the room was soo noisy thought i was sleeping right on the freeway. Its quite clean but old style refurbishing... Downside was that you will need to pay for parking which wasnt stated on the website.. Meh

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Win H
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. Our convenient location near the interstate sometimes comes with challenges for the light sleeper. Our leadership team has been looking at some solutions that will soon be introduced to help with the situation. I'm glad you found your room to be clean and at...

Reviewed October 21, 2016

Lied about me smoking in the room and charged an extra 100 dollars. The room was booked through Hotels.com. Once I got to the motel, they take $100.00 deposit which was never credited. I was never notified, never did I get an invoice for this charge. Once I got my credit card statement, I investigated and was told that I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Patrick B
Tokyo
Reviewed September 21, 2016

If I had not paid a hugely inflated price for what this property turned out to be, I might have given a full 2 stars. It was worth 1/3 of what was charged. Make no mistake, this is a MOTEL with all rooms facing the parking lot and noisy commercial street. How can they call it Hotel? There was also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scott H
Reviewed September 19, 2016

These guys lied about us smoking and charged us an extra 100 dollars for no reason. The carpets were wet we told them, said that we have no other rooms, wouldn't refund us. Then told us after we said room smelled like smoke that the previous person was smoking there, that why. THEN CHARGED us 100 dollars. Tried to contact...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Aadam. J
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed September 19, 2016

A typical motel type. Close to the airport. Rooms are clean but simple. Free shuttle van starts at 4AM to SFO. Very close to South SF where you have lots of restaurant choices. From our room we can see the busy highway but not much noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JYCaryNC
Roseville, California
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We booked for a full week and then after staying one night our plans changed due to an emergency. They would not refund us our unused nights and indicated that they had clearly explained their "policy". Totally untrue. Beware....do NOT STAY HERE.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank mjjlud
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South San Francisco hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#13 of 28 in South San Francisco
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#9 of 28 in South San Francisco
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel V is brought you by Lifestyle Hotels, and offers an elegant retreat in a classic San Francisco Boutique environment. Blending world class hospitality with an inviting atmosphere, we promise you'll be pleased with your stay. Our newly renovated 53-room hotel was designed to cater to business and leisure travelers alike by providing a complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle, complimentary breakfast, in-room coffee, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary Wifi through out the hotel.Great location and phenomenal service! Close to Downtown, Golden Gate Park, the Convention Center, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Alcatraz, and the San Francisco Airport. - Visit us soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel V

Address: 222 South Airport Boulevard, South San Francisco, CA 94080 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > South San Francisco
Price Range: $112 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel V 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel South San Francisco
Howard Johnson Hotel Express
South San Francisco Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson South San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel V staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel V staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles ScottH253, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“Just Don't Stay Here!”
 of 5 bubbles mjjlud, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“choose ground floor if you can (easier to carry luggage)”
 of 5 bubbles 32mihaelam, Jun 30, 2016 | Read review
“Don't ever stay there”
 of 5 bubbles looking4sun1, Feb 3, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 110 which was nice because it was away from the busy street.”
 of 5 bubbles 541alit, Oct 29, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question