We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
335 Monterey Rd, South Pasadena, CA 91030-3524
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$208
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$229
View deal
Travelocity
Only 1 left at
$229
View deal
Hotels.com$229
Priceline$208
Agoda.com$208
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (104)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (21)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 02/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Arroyo Vista Inn
Updated 02/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Pasadena
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Arroyo Vista Inn is centrally located in South Pasadena, California. Built in 1910, the Arroyo Vista Inn occupies a home designed by noted architect Lester Moore, and it is one of the few remaining examples of his residential design. The private home was completely remodeled to form a ten room Inn in 2007 and is great for a business stay, romantic getaway or vacation. Your room at the Inn includes Breakfast, WIFI, Parking and Daily Happy Hour. Breakfast hours are 7:00 am to 9:00 am weekdays and 8:00 am to 10:00 am on weekends. Happy Hour starts at 5:00 pm. Check in is 3:00 pm and check out is a 11:00 am. The Inn is 6 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 3 miles from Pasadena and Pasadena Convention Center. Vacation travelers will enjoy the fact that we are within one hour's drive of many Southern California attractions - Disneyland, Universal Studios, Getty Center, Huntington Library, Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach, Norton Simon Museum, Regan Library, Old Town Pasadena,
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese
304Reviews3Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 219
  • 43
  • 22
  • 6
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tara A wrote a review Sep 12
Rio Rancho, New Mexico11 contributions10 helpful votes
We cannot recommend the Arroyo Vista Inn more! We have stayed twice and each time the stay has been perfect. Easy check in and check out process, great service, great breakfast. Seriously you will not find a better place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hilda D wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
We stayed here for 2 nights. Outside is sort of nice. The first room we were assigned, the bed was like a rock and one of the outside door to a terrace had only a sheer curtain… not privacy at all. We asked for another room and the bed was not that bad but… the towels were old and with holes on it… they were not white anymore! The bathroom door was broken… also no privacy at all. We had to put the only sheet to cover the door to have some privacy It is an expensive place so I was hoping for something better… not worth the price!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mark H wrote a review Jul 2022
27 contributions1 helpful vote
This BNB is absolutely perfect! My wife and I visited recently for a concert near Pasadena, and we stayed here for a few days for a mini-vacation. The room and the bathroom were both very clean and neat. We also had a porch/balcony with a spectacular view of the Pasadena area. Breakfast was delicious, and they had a variety of food to choose from. Check in was quick and easy, and we had no issues at all while we were there. The hosts are also super-kind and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chris r wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This was a last minute stay and what a delightful stay it was! Susan was welcoming and so kind in arranging my reservation. She even upgraded my room-it helps to be kind and courteous folks :-). The room was comfortable and clean. Excellent water pressure and great AC. The facility is lovely and welcoming. I'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jo c wrote a review Jun 2022
San Clemente, California12 contributions
The driveway to the Inn was a little steep and narrow but my Chevy truck had no problem. I was in town for a So Pas reunion and several other classmates were also staying there- which made breakfast time especially fun! The dining room is bright and cheerful and the food was fantastic! The spinach and artichoke frittata was amazing and we had a couple of choices- you could order a big fluffy waffle w fruit also... lots of coffee and teas available too. A crowded but comfortable room with a huge dining table and a couple of sides for two also. This is an old Pasadena home and when you walk in it sorta feels like you are in a time capsule! Which I loved. It's not a swanky modern design but it's cozy and clean. My room had newly redone floors and was clean and comfortable - the air conditioner was a bit difficult to get right- apparently because its an old house the control is linked with the whole downstairs- it's self check in and the staff is not around a lot, so if you do have questions make sure to ask them when you see them;). Janice is a super friendly and nice person and willing to help in any way.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
uscgrad wrote a review Apr 2022
Carlsbad, California63 contributions47 helpful votes
My expectations were too high. I thought this was going to be a gem (like West Cliff In in Santa Cruz, a gorgeous and charming old house that is one of my favorite BandBs). Instead, it is an old house that needs a lot of care. Upon entering, you note it smells strongly like damp attic, the paint and furnishings need upkeep, and it is crying out for some interior design attention. You check yourself in--you just sign a form and take your key with your room number. There are no humans around to greet you. When I opened the door to my very worn room with cracks and peeling paint, I saw a dirty rag crumpled up on the floor, right in plain sight. I couldn't find a person to tell so I emailed the email address on my reservation and was told my room had been cleaned and that the rag was an oversight. No one came to get the dirty rag. The website and reservation had noted a wine hour (5-7 pm) but when I arrived at 3 pm I saw a sideboard with some lukewarm wines and a bag of pretzels, and when I came downstairs at 5:15 nothing had been cleared, replaced or added. So apparently that was all they were going to do. The next morning the sideboard looked the same. The bed was fine, just old, and I would have slept okay but at 2 am, the heat turned on in my room, and I was blasted with foul hot air (think stinky feet smell) until I figured out how to turn it off. Needless to say, I slept poorly. On the good side, there was a cheery lady in the dining room at breakfast time and while I wanted to rush out, I was sleep deprived and starving so stayed to eat and get some coffee. The breakfast was tasty. The coffee was meh.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I do not recommend this hotel at all
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KLM wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Looking forward to meeting a friend at the Arroyo Vista Inn on March 5th, potentially an ideally situated hotel between Palm Springs and Ojai where we could meet & stay every couple of months. The first disappointment came only an hour after check in when we met in the lounge for the advertised Wine, Cheese & Cookies 5-7pm. No wine/ cheese were evident, another couple had the same expectation and were similarly disappointed. We left the hotel in search of 'a glass and a nibble', followed by our reservation for dinner. We returned to the hotel around 10pm to settle in for the night only to find there was no heat in our rooms. The Inn is circa 1910 so the overnight low of 40C was felt in the room given the ill-fitting windows and patio doors. No extra blankets were available in the wardrobe. An uncomfortable night wearing extra clothes and a bathrobe. Suffice it to say the proprietor when I spoke with her that evening from Palm Springs said she would send me an amended invoice to compensate for the inconvenience. This did not happen she simply went ahead and charged my card the original amount. In summary, such a disappointing experience followed by unprofessional business practices.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arroyo Vista Inn, Other at Arroyo Vista Inn
Responded Mar 10, 2022
Dear KLMChelsea, your review is simple untrue and a direct retaliation to our unwillingness to give you a full refund. As I explained to you on the phone, your room rate was heavily discounted and it is not our policy to refund for service rendered, However you were offered a credit to stay with us another time, but you refused.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1717Liz wrote a review Jan 2022
Chicago, Illinois16 contributions4 helpful votes
stayed in the Veranda room 2- had shared balcony on second floor Could hear traffic but not in room. Beautiful sunrise. Great Breakfast. Bathroom was very clean. Owner there and very attentive. Would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dani wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Perfect nights stay included a good nights sleep in the queen size bed, soak in the tub and yoga on the patio off my room in the am. The bed slept wonderfully and breakfast was light and delicous. The decor was tasteful and made me feel right at home. Downstairs was a sitting area too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Room 4 has a great patio, view and soaking tub
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BobbiWest wrote a review Jan 2022
Hudson Oaks, Texas3 contributions6 helpful votes
I booked the Veranda room 2 with a large balcony and beautiful decor for three nights in November. I was asked by the manager to switch rooms to Room A on the first floor. They indicated that the room was comparable and had been newly renovated but they conveniently did not have any pictures. The room and bathroom were a total disappointment. The TV was the only one in the house that did not have local channels. You could not see out of the windows because they had some kind of film on them. The "outside private entrance" led to a public porch so that you could hear every conversation that went into the late night. There was a mysterious room two steps down into a cave like area off the bedroom. It had a small bed and dresser, but you had to duck your head to enterl. The tiny bathroom had a sink hat seemed to about fall off the wall and the bedroom furniture was old and worn. The thermostat for the room was located in the public outside hall on the way up to the second floor. No kleenex were furnished. the price of the room stayed the same $640 for a three night stay. No one was around to help with questions except for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms are mainly up stairs on the 2nd and 3rd floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSouth Pasadena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arroyo Vista Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Arroyo Vista Inn?
Nearby attractions include South Pasadena Farmers' Market (0.7 miles), Arroyo Seco Golf Course (0.3 miles), and Griffins of Kinsale (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Arroyo Vista Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Arroyo Vista Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Arroyo Vista Inn?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arroyo Vista Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Heirloom Bakery and Cafe, Nicole's Gourmet Foods, and Bistro De La Gare.
Is Arroyo Vista Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of South Pasadena.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arroyo Vista Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Arroyo Vista Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Huntington Library, Art Museum and Botanical Gardens (3.4 miles), Heritage Square Museum (2.8 miles), and Millard House (3.1 miles).