We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Save
Share
405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$400
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Trip.com
$284
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Expedia.com$400
Travelocity$400
FindHotel$440
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (116)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (23)

About

#5 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
416Reviews3Q+A81Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 178
  • 150
  • 39
  • 32
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kim C wrote a review Jun 20
Little River, South Carolina52 contributions45 helpful votes
Lovely restaurant BUT, we have a person with dietary restrictions. The restaurant could not accommodate a “plain” meal request. Would not substitute a buttered pasta for plain pasta. Suggested broccoli for vegetable and gave us a mixture of corn and other assorted vegetables …none of which were even in the original suggestion. The buttered pasta we received was heavy and over buttered!!! NOT what can be tolerated on this diet. Why they couldn’t just give us plain fettuccine, I’ll never know!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Kim, We are so sorry to hear about your less than perfect experience and we wanted to extend our heartfelt apology. Please let us know next time you are in town as we would like to do something for you to make up for it. Warmest Regards, Joël
Read more
Todd G wrote a review May 2022
Los Angeles, California33 contributions34 helpful votes
Checked into this hotel for the first time for a three-day wedding weekend in Sonoma. At check-in, a welcome glass of champaign was preceded by a warm smile, always the nicest way to start a mini vacation. Got room 4, smallish but with a large balcony overlooking the square. Complimentary coffee and tea in the morning from 6 to 11 am. Ice water available all day and night. Bikes also available for easy pedaling around this quaint (and relatively flat) paradise. The hotel's restaurant is delicious, with a lovely patio for lunch and maybe a warm night and a beautiful inside dining room where I recommend getting a table on the periphery, preferably by the window. The wait staff and hostesses were warm, personable, helpful, seeming to like each other and the menu. The entire staff was great. The women of the cleaning staff who showed up at 6:30 to start their day's work were also very friendly, speaking both Spanish and English and chatting among each other and sharing jokes and laughter before they buckled down to a long, hard day. Basically, this was a bright, clean, quality hotel. Thin walls, soft, squishy pillows are the only drawbacks, but other little details like cold bottled water, a nice variety of snacks in the room more than make up for this, as does proximity to excellent local restaurants (The Girl and The Fig, the Basque Bakery where you must try the raisin-apple muffins - OMG - and so on) ... enjoy the search for for your own favorites, this beautiful, comfortable hotel with the friendly staff will be waiting for you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a large balcony.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded May 25, 2022
Hello Todd, Thank you for staying at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen! We appreciate your detailed comments about your experience in Sonoma. Your comments have been shared with the team. Getting feedback like yours helps us stay on our toes. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sonoma.
Read more
markabaddon wrote a review Feb 2022
Apple Valley, Minnesota199 contributions53 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel last minute when we had to leave another hotel in Sonoma because of various issues. The El Dorado was able to find a room for us last minute and the service was impeccable. Great experience at check in and leaving. The room itself was nice but a bit small, more of a European style room. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The location of the hotel could not be better as you are literally just a few steps away from a ton of restaurants and shops. My one complaint is the lack of an elevator. This is a historic building so it is a bit of a pain taking your luggage up but the staff could not be nicer or more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room had a view of Sonoma Square which was lovely
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Feb 10, 2022
Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased that you found us and hope that you enjoyed your Sonoma experience. While, as you note, we don't have an elevator - our staff will be happy to help navigate the stairs. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you on your next visit to Sonoma.
Read more
cja2k1 wrote a review Nov 2021
San Francisco, California476 contributions157 helpful votes
For the rate I paid, I definitely expected better. We booked a king room with an outdoor patio, and what we got was an ADA accessible room right next to the parking lot that had to be the loudest room we've ever had in all our years of traveling. The patio was useless because you would've had to listen to cars pulling in & out of the parking lot, deliveries going back & forth, gates banging, and other crazy noises. The walls were so thin that we actually heard the guest snoring in the room next door! The worst part was the thunderous noise we heard very early in the morning: we really thought there was an earthquake, but as far as we could tell, it was the garbage truck that sounded like it was literally on top of us. Fortunately, we were only staying one night, and I can't remember the last time we were so eager to check out. The location was great, but otherwise, definitely think twice about staying here
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: do not book room 28 or any other "bungalow" room unless you bring ear plugs...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Nov 26, 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your room. Based on your description, it looks like you stayed in one of our Patio Queen rooms. If you had booked a king bedded room, those would be located in the main building. Our goal is to provide the service and experience that makes you want to return. It does not look like we succeeded. I do apologize. I would be happy to discuss this with you over the phone. Feel free to reach out.
Read more
Holly C wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We had our son's rehearsal dinner in the Wine Bar on November 12th and the staff did a fabulous job. Nisha and Rose adjusted things around late guests and helped us to create a magical evening for the future bride and groom. The food and drinks were fabulous from start to finish. This is a wonderful place to host a private event.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Wine Bar for a private party
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Nov 18, 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent event at El Dorado Hotel + Kitchen. We are so pleased that Nisha and Rosie helped make a magical event. We hope the rest of the celebration weekend was just as amazing.
Read more
stephaniem0404 wrote a review Oct 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia36 contributions54 helpful votes
My fiance and I stayed here for three nights while in Sonoma and we loved the hotel. The location is ideal if you're looking for something within walking distance to restaurants and tasting experiences. The room itself was very clean and it was also quiet late in the evening and early in the AM. The balcony is a nice touch too. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and it was among our best meals in Sonoma--highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at El Dorado Hotel + Kitchen. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sonoma!
Read more
Bedoniese7 wrote a review Oct 2021
San Francisco, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Let me start with the good. The El Dorado Hotel is in an excellent location and is nicely designed with vintage wine country features throughout. But I simply cannot justify giving more than a one-star review given that we booked three nights for a family member's wedding, had bed bugs the first night, were subsequently moved rooms, and I arrived home with bites all over my body. When we raised the issue with management, I was told that they "understood" and were "sorry", but then management proceeded to state that staff checked the room and there was no evidence of bed bugs - seemingly discounting the obvious bites on my arms and legs, and picture we provided of a bed bug. To top it off, I was initially told that the hotel covered our first night's stay, but when I went to the front desk to confirm, the hotel had only provided us $75 off the first night. After a back and forth with management, I was told that we would be compensated for the first night, but nothing more. Given the experience with bed bugs, the shifting narrative about compensation, and the various bites I have all over my body, I cannot recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Oct 26, 2021
Hello Bedoniese7, Please know that we take your comments very seriously. I am so sorry you left with an unpleasant perception of our hotel. While it does appear there was an insect that bit you, we thoroughly inspected the bed, stripping it all including the zippered mattress protector. We found no evidence of actual bed bugs. Unfortunately, what you discovered had been discarded so we could not investigate further. I personally followed up on Friday after our inspection to advise you of the results. I am sorry if there was a miscommunication about the compensation that was offered. I have left a voice message on your cell number to follow up with you again. Feel free to reach out to me at your convenience. Regards,
Read more
Karen L wrote a review Jul 2021
Marin County, California91 contributions42 helpful votes
The location can’t be beat but this hotel is not worth its hefty price. Bathrooms are tiny. Rooms are outdated decor and NOISY! We heard everything including the young children awaking and screaming at 6:30 am, the cars driving by at 8:00 am and the other guests walking down halls. Service was great - very friendly staff but can’t make up for paying $500/night for a very mediocre room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from H Wagner, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Jul 6, 2021
Hello Karen, Thank you for staying with us over the Fourth of July Weekend. I am sorry to hear that you felt your stay was not worth the price. It appears that you were in a room that overlooks the Sonoma Plaza. The holiday weekend attracts more families to our hotel than typical, as well the town is more active than usual. This is partly due to the vintage car parade early on the Fourth, as well as our location just a couple of blocks from the fireworks show. While are bathroom sizes do vary by room, our rooms were updated with RH furnishings in the last few years. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do hope you give us another opportunity on your next visit to Sonoma. Kurt
Read more
Jg321879 wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions
We had a wonderful stay at the El Dorado Hotel in Sonoma! We were staying for a night during our honeymoon and the hotel recognized and made it a special and memorable stay! The parking was a little bit difficult as we arrived on Tuesday during the farmer's market - that seemingly everyone in town attends! Once we were settled, we had a great time getting tacos from the Cantina window and heading over to the park to join the festivities and wandering the market. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
SGS wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
I wish I could’ve given the El Dorado 5 stars - our street-facing room with balcony was comfortable (although the bathroom was pretty tight), the staff was attentive, and the restaurant good. Our only complaint, and in no way the hotel’s fault, was the daily 5am racket made by garbage and recycling trucks. Full disclosure: we like to sleep with the windows open and not use the a/c. My suggestion would be to book a room overlooking the courtyard and sleep with the windows closed for a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Henrike Wagner, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded May 27, 2021
Hello Susan, Thank you so much for staying at El Dorado Hotel in Sonoma. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$372 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el dorado hotel and kitchen, el dorado hotel kitchen, el dorado sonoma
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSonoma CountySonoma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Which popular attractions are close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Nearby attractions include Vella Cheese Company (0.3 miles), Sonoma Plaza (0.01 miles), and Sonoma Coast State Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Scoops Homemade Ice Cream, Cafe La Haye, and LaSalette Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Sonoma.
Does El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Many travelers enjoy visiting General M.G. Vallejo Home (0.4 miles), Lachryma Montis (0.4 miles), and Haraszthy Villa (1.6 miles).