El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Traveler (137)
Plaza king with balcony overlooking Sonoma Plaza
Room & Suite (63)
El Dorado Kitchen's dining room
Dining (23)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 4 left at
$555
Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
$388
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#7 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Park View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
41.7 mi
See all flights
Sonoma County Airport
24.2 mi
See all flights
447Reviews3Q+A84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 198
  • 157
  • 41
  • 33
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
stephaniem0404 wrote a review Oct 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia38 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiance and I stayed here for three nights while in Sonoma and we loved the hotel. The location is ideal if you're looking for something within walking distance to restaurants and tasting experiences. The room itself was very clean and it was also quiet late in the evening and early in the AM. The balcony is a nice touch too. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and it was among our best meals in Sonoma--highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at El Dorado Hotel + Kitchen. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sonoma!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flaglady80424 wrote a review Jan 2020
Breckenridge, Colorado33 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went back to EDK (El Dorado Kitchen) several times during the week that we stayed in the area. We were never disappointed. The first time was on Thanksgiving Day when there were tons of people. Our server made us feel like we were the only ones he was serving. The food was exceptional so we went back for brunch. Again - a great experience all the way around. And sitting at the bar waiting for our table was just as much fun since the bartenders obviously enjoyed the people as well as their jobs! Try this place out!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markabaddon wrote a review Feb 2022
Apple Valley, Minnesota184 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel last minute when we had to leave another hotel in Sonoma because of various issues. The El Dorado was able to find a room for us last minute and the service was impeccable. Great experience at check in and leaving. The room itself was nice but a bit small, more of a European style room. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The location of the hotel could not be better as you are literally just a few steps away from a ton of restaurants and shops.

My one complaint is the lack of an elevator. This is a historic building so it is a bit of a pain taking your luggage up but the staff could not be nicer or more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room had a view of Sonoma Square which was lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Feb 10, 2022
Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased that you found us and hope that you enjoyed your Sonoma experience. While, as you note, we don't have an elevator - our staff will be happy to help navigate the stairs. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you on your next visit to Sonoma.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bedoniese7 wrote a review Oct 2021
San Francisco, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start with the good. The El Dorado Hotel is in an excellent location and is nicely designed with vintage wine country features throughout. But I simply cannot justify giving more than a one-star review given that we booked three nights for a family member's wedding, had bed bugs the first night, were subsequently moved rooms, and I arrived home with bites all over my body.

When we raised the issue with management, I was told that they "understood" and were "sorry", but then management proceeded to state that staff checked the room and there was no evidence of bed bugs - seemingly discounting the obvious bites on my arms and legs, and picture we provided of a bed bug. To top it off, I was initially told that the hotel covered our first night's stay, but when I went to the front desk to confirm, the hotel had only provided us $75 off the first night. After a back and forth with management, I was told that we would be compensated for the first night, but nothing more. Given the experience with bed bugs, the shifting narrative about compensation, and the various bites I have all over my body, I cannot recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Oct 26, 2021
Hello Bedoniese7, Please know that we take your comments very seriously. I am so sorry you left with an unpleasant perception of our hotel. While it does appear there was an insect that bit you, we thoroughly inspected the bed, stripping it all including the zippered mattress protector. We found no evidence of actual bed bugs. Unfortunately, what you discovered had been discarded so we could not investigate further. I personally followed up on Friday after our inspection to advise you of the results. I am sorry if there was a miscommunication about the compensation that was offered. I have left a voice message on your cell number to follow up with you again. Feel free to reach out to me at your convenience. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cja2k1 wrote a review Nov 2021
San Francisco, California475 contributions166 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
For the rate I paid, I definitely expected better. We booked a king room with an outdoor patio, and what we got was an ADA accessible room right next to the parking lot that had to be the loudest room we've ever had in all our years of traveling. The patio was useless because you would've had to listen to cars pulling in & out of the parking lot, deliveries going back & forth, gates banging, and other crazy noises. The walls were so thin that we actually heard the guest snoring in the room next door!
The worst part was the thunderous noise we heard very early in the morning: we really thought there was an earthquake, but as far as we could tell, it was the garbage truck that sounded like it was literally on top of us.
Fortunately, we were only staying one night, and I can't remember the last time we were so eager to check out.
The location was great, but otherwise, definitely think twice about staying here
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: do not book room 28 or any other "bungalow" room unless you bring ear plugs...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Nov 26, 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your room. Based on your description, it looks like you stayed in one of our Patio Queen rooms. If you had booked a king bedded room, those would be located in the main building. Our goal is to provide the service and experience that makes you want to return. It does not look like we succeeded. I do apologize. I would be happy to discuss this with you over the phone. Feel free to reach out.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen L wrote a review Jul 2021
Marin County, California101 contributions47 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location can’t be beat but this hotel is not worth its hefty price. Bathrooms are tiny. Rooms are outdated decor and NOISY! We heard everything including the young children awaking and screaming at 6:30 am, the cars driving by at 8:00 am and the other guests walking down halls. Service was great - very friendly staff but can’t make up for paying $500/night for a very mediocre room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H Wagner, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Jul 6, 2021
Hello Karen, Thank you for staying with us over the Fourth of July Weekend. I am sorry to hear that you felt your stay was not worth the price. It appears that you were in a room that overlooks the Sonoma Plaza. The holiday weekend attracts more families to our hotel than typical, as well the town is more active than usual. This is partly due to the vintage car parade early on the Fourth, as well as our location just a couple of blocks from the fireworks show. While are bathroom sizes do vary by room, our rooms were updated with RH furnishings in the last few years. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do hope you give us another opportunity on your next visit to Sonoma. Kurt
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mccurdymary wrote a review Apr 2023
Paradise, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at the El Dorado Hotel are so professional and polite. The front desk clerk carried my suitcase up the stairs for me without even being asked. The room was beautiful, extremely clean, and very elegant. It was a bit cramped, even for just one person, but since most people don't spend much time in their hotel room, it's not a big deal. Most people would appreciate the down pillows, but they didn't work for me. So, next time I stay here, I will bring my own. The Illy espresso maker (and complimentary pods) were such a delight the next morning. I couldn't stop drinking it! It was so good that I didn't even feel the need to go buy my usual espresso that day. The thing I really want to emphasize about this hotel is how immaculate the rooms are. I'm extremely fussy when it comes to cleanliness and they passed my scrutiny with flying colors. As well, the staff made me feel like an important guest in every way. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this historical and elegant hotel any time I visit Sonoma. Having a corner room with views of the Square was absolutely enchanting. It was a bit noisy in the evening, but all of that died down once the restaurants in the area had closed for the night. As well, I got a parking space on site (located at the back of the hotel), so I didn't even need to park on the Square. But if I had parked there, it would have been perfectly fine and within close proximity to the front door. I'd stayed mid-week (on a Tuesday), which made a difference in terms of parking and noise.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Apr 27, 2023
Hello Mary, Thank you for sharing your recent expeirence at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen! We appreciate your constructive comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pcmano wrote a review May 2023
Sacramento, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at El Dorado hotel and were warmly greeted and the general manager helped us with our bags and noticed my 84 year old mother struggling with the stairs and moved us to a ground floor room. We had the cutest little cottage and were very comfortable. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel and the other shops and dining were all within walking distance. We will plan to go back soon
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded May 15, 2023
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am glad we had a comfortable room option for you brief stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becky W wrote a review Sep 2023
Charleston, South Carolina62 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2023. It is a small hotel located right off Sonoma Square with shopping and restaurants close by. We stayed in a king room with a narrow balcony with two chairs which was nice since the room itself was small.

At check in we were offered a glass of sparkling wine. The room had a refrigerator stocked with several drink options for purchase. We were told there was water but we had none in our room. The room had an Illy coffeemaker but the hotel also had a coffee bar in the lobby each morning.

The bathroom had nice amenities but is quite small and although there was a mirror in the room there were no outlets conveniently located. In addition there were outlets on one side of the bed only so if traveling with more than one person it is hard to charge phones, watches etc.

The bed was moderately comfortable although we did get hot at night even with the AC at 69 (which is the lowest it would go). The pillows are soft but by the end of the night completely flat.

Room 9 is across from the housekeepers room and at the top of the stairs so it was a bit loud at times. There was also quite a bit of traffic noise so if you’re bothered by this request an interior room.

The hotel has a pool although we didn’t use it. There is limited parking behind the hotel but also plenty of on street parking. Also be aware that there are no elevators in case of heavy luggage.

The staff were nice but not overly friendly. I expected the staff to be more attentive for an upscale hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Sep 6, 2023
Hello Becky, Thank you for staying at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen and providing your detailed feedback. We have shared your feedback with the team. Our goal is to provide attentive service to our guests. We do hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Sonoma.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim C wrote a review Jun 2022
Little River, South Carolina55 contributions46 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely restaurant
BUT, we have a person with dietary restrictions.
The restaurant could not accommodate a “plain” meal request.
Would not substitute a buttered pasta for plain pasta.
Suggested broccoli for vegetable and gave us a mixture of corn and other assorted vegetables …none of which were even in the original suggestion.
The buttered pasta we received was heavy and over buttered!!!
NOT what can be tolerated on this diet. Why they couldn’t just give us plain fettuccine, I’ll never know!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Englund, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Dear Kim, We are so sorry to hear about your less than perfect experience and we wanted to extend our heartfelt apology. Please let us know next time you are in town as we would like to do something for you to make up for it. Warmest Regards, Joël
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph S asked a question Feb 2021
Martinez, California
Is parking available?
Yes, parking is available in our private parking lot on a first come, first serve basis. Parking passes for hotel guests are available upon check in. Plenty of parking is also available in font of the hotel on First St West and around the Sonoma Square.
NLBLondon asked a question Aug 2017
London, United Kingdom1,220 contribution70 helpful votes
Is there a hairdryer in the rooms ?
Answer from 3Woodstorks
Libertyville, Illinois14 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes, hanging from the back of the bathroom door.
Answer from Brittan
Boise, Idaho28 contributions15 helpful votes
I doubt it, this hotel is in Sonoma, California.
corpdoc wrote a tip Nov 2023
Huntington Beach, California6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the overlook hike Try the vegan dinner meal"
Read full review
RJB1215 wrote a tip Mar 2023
Fort Lauderdale, Florida3,367 contributions813 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking can be challenging! Make a reservation in advance"
Read full review
Kim0530 wrote a tip Aug 2022
Tucson, Arizona39 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember that there is parking in the back for the hotel"
Read full review
Todd G wrote a tip May 2022
Los Angeles, California43 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for one of the rooms with a large balcony."
Read full review
markabaddon wrote a tip Feb 2022
Apple Valley, Minnesota184 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room had a view of Sonoma Square which was lovely"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sonoma area.
PRICE RANGE
$409 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el dorado hotel and kitchen, el dorado hotel kitchen, el dorado sonoma
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSonoma CountySonoma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EL DORADO HOTEL & KITCHEN - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Which popular attractions are close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Nearby attractions include Vella Cheese Company (0.3 miles), Sonoma Plaza (0.01 miles), and Mission San Francisco Solano (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Scoops Homemade Ice Cream, Cafe La Haye, and LaSalette Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Sonoma.
Does El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen?
Many travelers enjoy visiting General M.G. Vallejo Home (0.4 miles), Lachryma Montis (0.4 miles), and Haraszthy Villa (1.6 miles).
All Sonoma HotelsSonoma Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SonomaHotels near El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars