We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort

1054 Alisal Rd, Solvang, CA 93463-3033
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (224)
Room & Suite (423)
Dining (146)


#1 of 12 hotels in Solvang
Travelers' Choice
The Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort is located in the beautiful Santa Ynez Valley and renowned Santa Barbara County wine country. Privately owned and operated since 1946, the Alisal is a working cattle ranch and full-service resort. This historic ranch is one of four original Spanish land grants on the west coast given to conquistador Raimundo Carrillo in the late 1700’s. Today, the romance and majesty of the old west remain in the wide-open spaces and unspoiled natural beauty of the Alisal. They serve as a reminder of simpler times and as an invitation to those with a taste for adventure. As California's premier guest ranch, the Alisal transports guests back to a bygone era. Set on a 10,000-acre working cattle ranch, this one-of-a-kind resort blends the best of nature with exceptional golf, horseback riding, tennis, fishing on a 100-acre private lake, fitness center and spa, children's activities, barnyard activities and fine dining.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Golf course
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Hidden Gem
354Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 268
  • 43
  • 15
  • 20
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John M wrote a review Sep 18
Santa Cruz, California4,081 contributions298 helpful votes
We were day guests with family who has stayed there many times, and it seemed very nice. Not sure about the value for price paid, and there were reported changes to available services because of the virus. Evening dinner in the outdoor tent was nice, with very good food, certainly more variety than we could enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Monica S wrote a review Sep 17
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico1 contribution
My husband and I got married at the Alisal in September of 2019, and recently went back for our Anniversary. The Alisal is such a special place. They offer so many different activities on site, you never have to leave! The staff is friendly and accommodating, and they definitely go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. Due to COVID, they had many safety precautions in place and we both felt safe with all of the new guidelines. The food and cocktails are incredible. You can really relax because everything you need is right there. I would highly recommend a visit to the Alisal for any couples or families who want to experience a unique vacation tucked away in the Santa Ynez hills. Although the Alisal is a bit on the higher end price wise, once you factor in the food, drinks, etc., it ends up being a good deal. We can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Nancy P wrote a review Sep 11
1 contribution
Wonderful visit to the Alisal Guest Ranch. Even during these crazy times, they have figured out a way to make everything work. My family has been returning to the Ranch for over 60 years, and each time I pass thru the gates, I can smell the trees and the horses, and I immediately relax! Can’t wait for my next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Kathleen Cochran, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank YOU for your amazing loyalty! Really appreciate the feedback about our COVID-19 safety protocols. We have been working hard at ensuring both staff and guests are safe while still providing the level of service and experience our guests have come to expect. We appreciate you visiting us during this time and we will see you again soon! Kathleen Cochran, General Manager
Read more
Cheryl R wrote a review Sep 1
Santa Clarita, California, United States29 contributions10 helpful votes
This was our first real time away during the pandemic. My husband golfed, I went to the pool and enjoyed reading outside. The grounds are immaculately maintained and they have worked hard to make everything as comfortable as possible while also keeping you and the staff safe. The food was outstanding and we dined outside. Everyone who took care of us was warm and caring. There were lots of activities and everyone seemed busy and content. There are some things that are closed for safety or for State of California mandates but it wasn't an issue to us. Thank you to everyone for making our anniversary trip special.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Kathleen Cochran, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks so much for your amazing review. And Happy Anniversary- so honored you chose to spend it with us. Hope to see you back again soon. Kathleen Cochran, General Manager
Read more
laoban173 wrote a review Aug 2020
Pebble Beach, California168 contributions202 helpful votes
in forty years of five star travel, I was never asked to stay in a room which couldn't lock ( room had no working key ) The maintenance guy who showed up kept adding WD40 to the key hole , when it was clear the key was cut incorrectly. Just added a grease stain , which I cleaned up . Chairs on porch had bird droppings . Most guests did not wear masks or social distance when I asked Staff, and a manager , said “ not required “ wow . Didn’t feel safe after that . Room certainly wasn't quiet as requested , nor clean. ( as I showed Manager lily) What is the thinking of $100 a day for a service charge when there is in fact No service ? ( had to haul my luggage 450 feet myself ,no parking , no housekeeping in two days , didn't use golf or horses .... so what is this fee for when there is in fact just not no service but bad service ? aft waiting 3 hours to speak to your property GM ( having been told she was on a call ) concluded Alisal just doesn't care about guests Had been here a few times twenty years ago . Physical plant doesn’t appear to have been updated at all in that time and service certainly has deteriorated No cell phone reception on property , nor internet Spoke to 2 other couples who had same experience ( and all of us had same carrier... some perhaps it was the carriers fault Food was ok if uninspired. Enjoyed the 14 hour cooked brisket ; but not the fact that my egg white omelet was made with regular eggs . In these tough times , am trying to safely give business to help Service industry This property has a serious management issue . Don’t need bad service , nor a receptionist who made a point to tell me she had been here 23 years, and that I should be grateful to have a room ? Maybe that’s why was given the worst room
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Response from Kathleen Cochran, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Clearly based on our overall reviews; your experience is isolated and full of inaccuracies. Frankly, I don't understand why you came to a Dude Ranch in the middle of summer to have a quiet experience by yourself. If you were not satisfied with the discount, we gave you- perhaps a conversation with me would have been more appropriate. And, it’s just simply not true that you waited for three hours to speak with me. I am fully available for all guests. The Alisal has worked VERY hard to keep both our employees and guests safe and we have received outstanding feedback on both accounts. Masks are mandatory at Alisal and currently a State Law when social distancing cannot be maintained. As an example; you are required to wear a mask when entering our dining area and when in line for food; but it’s not required when sitting at your table. We do not offer bell service or daily housekeeping service unless on request. Our guests appreciate less interaction during this time. We do have cell coverage and internet; although some providers are better than others. In this case; you can use WIFI calling or we also have hot spots to loan out to guests. If any readers have any concerns about this review; please contact me directly. Kathleen Cochran, General Manager
Read more
alisal guest ranch hotel solvang, alisal guest ranch and resort, alisal hotel solvang, alisal resort solvang, alisal ranch solvang, the alisal guest ranch
United StatesCaliforniaSolvang
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort?
Nearby attractions include PCPA - Pacific Conservatory Theatre (2.3 miles), Solvang Festival Theater (2.3 miles), and Old Mission Santa Ines (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn, and Birkholm's Bakery & Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.