We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Solvang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel whilst with a tour during august 2013. I found the location was ok, solvang is very small so everything is within walking distance, it did have a convenience store opposite which was handy. The room was good, comfortable bed, clean and hot water. Our room was next to the road but its a quite town... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank emilypeters92
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Emilypeters92, Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again. More 

Culver City, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Before my stay I tried to call and no one called me back. When I got there the shower handle is broken and the shower got so hot I was burned. The beds are so uncomfortable I think I need to see my chiropractor. ...do not go there please!

Helpful?
3 Thank Lacey H
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Lacy H, Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Two friends from Orange County that enjoy food and wine as much as we do had offered to take us to Santa Barbara County Wine Country at the end of our three week visit to the USA, and made reservations for the four of us at Holiday Inn Express Solvang for two nights (July 24 and 25 - Rooms 112... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Charles S
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Charles S, Thank you for staying with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room with the amenities and that the towels were above average! I am very sorry to hear about the wine that was stolen out of your car. We hope you return to our hotel. If you decide to visit us again I will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Solvang hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at several properties in Solvang previously and made this booking at the last minute because we wanted to attend the acclaimed Theaterfest in town. Weekends are busy in Solvang so plan ahead. The hotel is located on the edge of town as your approach Solvang from the freeway. It is in a convenient location and you essentially... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Theroadwarrior12
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Theroadwarrior12, I’m disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a... More 

Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is not your typical newer Holiday Inn Express. It really shows it's age. That being said, the hotel does have a few things going for it: 1- Saroja at the front desk. We travel the world and are elite members of several of the big chains. This woman is one of the best! Very friendly and helpful. When I... More 

Helpful?
Thank GregArizona
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear GregArizona, We are glad you enjoyed staying with us on your week long trip. We have an amazing staff that really takes pride in providing a comfortable and clean atmosphere.I will pass this great rewiew on to Saroja as well as her Supervisor. We thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express! More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The only way a hotel will get a "terrible" rating from me, is if an employee goes the extra mile to make it bad. This is not the case. However, I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. The location is very good, the amenities are very poor. Solvang is a really beautiful place to visit and all over town you... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Eddy S
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Eddy S, Thank you for taking the time to share your challenges while visiting us. I am sorry your stay was not of the caliber that most of our guests enjoy. I did take note of your comments about the room 141. We take these comments seriously as we are always attempting to improve. More 

Sun City, California, United States
Level Contributor
322 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Boy has this place gone down hill fast. Service here used to be important. W arrived in the afternoon & checked in but there were no luggage carts.. I looked around & found the staff was using them for room upkeep (towels & such) I complained to the mgr & he said "they need them right now" What..? I"M THE... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher W
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Christopher W, I would like to first thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

EXCELLENT value! Prices are very fair. Rooms are a good size and clean. Location is great - Within walking distance of everything but not right in the middle where it can get noisy. Free hot breakfast and WiFi are a nice bonus. Staff was always polite and helpful. Parking is free and easy. The hotel only loses one star because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie178
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Jackie 178, Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our hotel. We really do appreciate it! We hope that you can schedule another trip to the Valley, as there is always so much to do. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express across the July 4th weekend days. When we got there just after check in time our room wasn't ready but they said it should be in 20 minutes and once we returned it was ready. We had a standard King room, and it was basically what you'd hope from a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jlutzky
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear jlutzky, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and the staff! We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is comfortable and taken care of. I believe that from your response we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Solvang. More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We usually stay at the Pea Soup Anderson's Inn in Buellton, but it was booked up so we tried this Holiday Inn Express instead. Like Pea Soup Anderson's, this motel is not inexpensive but a good price for the Solvang area. We were pleasantly surprised by this motel. It was surprisingly quiet, had plenty of underground parking and was located... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tom F
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Tom F, Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. We hope to accommodate you again when you return to the area in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Price Range: $142 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay