We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
104 Main Street, Sierra City, CA 96125
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (53)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Sierra City
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Sierra Pines Resort is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Sierra City, offering a romantic environment right on the beautiful North Fork of the Yuba River. 12 rooms offer river and waterfall views. We offer several amenities designed to enhance your stay. Four guest rooms offer kitchens. Also available are mini-refrigerators, roll-aways, microwaves, free parking, TV and WiFi. The property also boasts an on-site fine-dining restaurant & bar, to help make your stay more enjoyable. Enjoy your stay in Sierra City!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Game room
Hiking
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Private beach
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish
78Reviews2Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 47
  • 19
  • 7
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jen MacQuiddy wrote a review Nov 10
San Jose, California7 contributions2 helpful votes
Our group of friends had an awesome weekend at Sierra Pines Resort and Restaurant! Our hosts Glen and Cindy were super welcoming to us and all the guests. Our visit felt like we were among old friends and neighbors! There are so many gorgeous biking and hiking trails in the area. We took a great hike at Sardine Lake and it started snowing! Magical! We checked out The Brewing Lair: a very relaxing brewery with a great tasting flight. Overall, a fabulous place!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rudi D wrote a review Aug 2022
Mareeba, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
What a find! We booked here after being unable to secure anything in downieville and are so glad to have discovered this place. We had a cute little one bedroom cottage with a kitchen, wood burning fire, and deck with a clear view of the sierra buttes. Gorgeous! Had dinner at the attached restaurant and received outstanding service and the best food of our trip so far. We didn’t want to leave but sadly had to continue on.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Cabin 3 is super cute
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
evaready wrote a review Jul 2022
Dallas, Texas32 contributions41 helpful votes
Cindy & Glen are the proprietors of this wonderful resort. It is charming in a rustic manner. Nestled on the banks of the Yuba River in full view of the majestic Sierra Buttes. There are a variety of accommodations to choose from, private rooms, kitchenettes, to an Airstream trailer. What is so special about this establishment is their fine dining, in a remote area. We were lucky to have a breakfast and dinner there, both were exceptional, with friendly knowledgable staff and an excellent chef who turned out tasty meals. There are activities to do at the resort, or you can just relax by their trout pond. They have an expansive property where you can self BBQ, play corn hole , or just relax and view their waterfall. This remote area of CA is a hikers mecca, plenty of trails to keep you busy. We spent 5 days/4 nights there and can't wait to return in 2023. Thank you, Cindy and Glen for a memorable and enchanting stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book Early!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John K wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
From start to finish (beginning over a year ago) Glen and CIndy were the consumate hosts. They more than delivered on all our requests to make the celebration of our 50th anniversary an unforgettable weekend. Our group of 32 attendees were blown away by the food, the setting, the accommodations and the caring staff. Thanks for treating us all so well!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the Yuba River
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
foodiefool_10 wrote a review Jul 2022
Carson City, Nevada363 contributions191 helpful votes
The cabins at this little resort are older, but the rooms are modern and have all the amenities. The rooms are quiet, clean and neat with good storage space. There was a small deck with chairs out the back of our room. The shading pines made it a nice place to have a drink before dinner. We just had fridge / coffee maker but some rooms have a little kitchen. There is good parking across the small street and some near the rooms. The grounds for this resort are interesting - there are games that can be played on the huge grassed area across from the office. This area is partially shaded and would be great to run your kid or dog around on. There is a large fishing pond where you can feed the trout, and catch one for dinner if you want. There is outdoor seating with shade near the pond where one can eat and have a drink. The restaurant inside is rustic as it should be up in the mountains. There is breakfast and dinner at least. The menu is varied and the food is quite good. We had a beef stroganoff special that was great, with big portions. A friend had the trout special - the fish was larger than her plate. Right now, this facility is short staffed and there is one gal basically doing everything. She is amazing and is doing a great job.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: River view rooms have steep access steps. Rooms near the restaurant are level with parking but no...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David S wrote a review May 2022
San Francisco, California6 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a charming, friendly, reasonably priced resort in a beautiful setting. The restaurant is surprisingly good and open 7 days a week. Rooms are not air conditioned but are otherwise comfortable and very private. Lots of open air activities nearby. Heartily recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kerry K wrote a review Mar 2022
San Francisco, California22 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
We spent a long late winter weekend in the small kitchen cabin with our dogs and had a great time. Sierra City was very quiet, as in basically closed this time of year. Downieville down the road about 20 minutes was almost closed, but the little grocery store was open (no produce though), and there was one decent pizza/burger place by the river off the main square. The cabin was well furnished and clean. The owner is friendly, helpful but unintrusive. The meals were hearty, healthy and good (and until the season, you're going to need to order them and even in season they're likely as good as you can find in the area). The property is large with lots of different buildings and rooms, not sure they're ever full but it might be a little crowded if they were, the cabin is tucked in between a couple of them near the office and trout pond in front. The best part is you can walk down the hill on well graded roads around the buildings to a flat bend on the river and further along on an old road and have a very high quality short hike just on the grounds, it's special. Then you can have even cooler hikes at Love's Falls, rushing this time of year, and we went on up to nearby Lower Sardine Lake in the snow which was amazing with no one there, like having our own private little Maroon Bells. SIerra City is a bit of a trip for us, closerr to Reno than Sacramento, but it's basically unspoiled since the Gold Rush days and worth a visit. The Resort is an excellent base and we recommend, just understand you're in a small village in the middle of a national forest high in the Sierra Buttes and appreciate the effort it takes to provide this level of accommodation!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jax wrote a review Jan 2022
8 contributions
+1
After an absolute nightmare with another wedding venue, we were forced to find a new event space in the area just a few months before our wedding so that we wouldn't also lose out on the deposits we paid to other vendors. We were so thankful to find Sierra Pines Resort. Cindy and Glen's kindness was a gift after such a long and heartbreaking process with the other venue. We were finally able to be excited about our wedding again! Throughout the planning process, Cindy was responsive and helpful in making our vision come to life. She coordinated with our vendors and went above and beyond on the day of to ensure our day was a success. The reception food was INCREDIBLE, our guests still talk about the steak. And everything was beautiful, it still feels like a dream. Throughout the weekend, she and her staff made our guests feel welcome. Our guests loved the cabins and having a space that felt like ours for a few days. After 2 years apart, it was what everyone needed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dennis S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We were scheduled to stay in September. With the dixie fire and air quality as well as a surge in covid, we decided to cancel, 26 days prior to our reservation. The owner refuses to return the deposit refund because we were 4 days short of a 30 day notice. How can one anticipate fire and covid hazards? We've been coming for years and are not happy with the new owner's attitude. It has left a sour taste. The only way to get our money "back" is to book way into the future for at least one night. What a pain. In the meantime, she gets to keep our money and potential interest gain, while we sit on our hands. I'm not sure we will ever return. We've found a new place in the coast with managers who go out of their way to accommodate its lodgers.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Haubl, Owner at Sierra Pines Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
As a small business in fire country, we've had to tailor our cancellation policy and it is well publicized. With credit card fees being so high, we feel that offering a credit for a future stay once you are within our cancelation policy is generous given the extreme circumstances we were facing. We have consulted with other hotels in the area and aligned our policies. We are sorry that you do not agree with our policy which is clearly outlined before you consent to your booking.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debra B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I and my husband we in town for a lovely wedding in July. After spending time researching available lodging nearby we settled on Sierra Pines Resort. The tranquil pictures and quaint cabins were enticing... we were scheduled to stay for 3 nights and do some sightseeing, attend a wedding and hiking. The first nights tranquility was interrupted by 3-4 rooms full of young adults getting progressively drunker and louder as the night wore on. I'm not sure if someone complained or they passed out, but they finally quilted down around mid-night. At this point we were not happy but let it slide. The following night the same group started drinking and partying again. This continued until 10:00 pm then settled down. Within 30-45 minutes they resumed their partying until after 1:00 am. At this point we had decided we had no interest in investing another night at this place. That morning I went to the front office and asked for the owner/manager to check out a day early and tell them why. I was met with a defensive owner telling me they leave at night around 10pm and if we had an issue we should have used the phone to call them by the front office. I was flabbergasted she would make it a patrons problem. I mentioned we had no knowledge of the "phone" as it wasn't mentioned when we checked in. She semi-apologize and tried to convince me to stay the third night, professing this was an isolated incident. (Two nights back to back partying is not an isolated incident, it is a pattern.) When I told her no thank you and asked it there was a problem with us checking out early she said no,then told her employee to check us out. The employee asked her if there was anything else she needed to do the owner said no and walked away. The employee finished checking me out but didn't give me a refund for the last night. I had to ask for it, she went and got permission from the owner only after I asked. This was inexcusable, the owner would have the audacity of charging us for the last night after we had endured two prior nights of partiers. I say all this to let others know if you are looking for a tranquil place to spend a night or two, this is not the place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the river, was nice to sit out and watch it during the day.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Cindy Haubl, Owner at Sierra Pines Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We sincerely apologize for your experience, this was truly a one-off group that has been asked not to return. We have no phones or WiFi in our remote and tranquil cabins, so the only way to alert management of a problem is a phone located right at the entrance of our property and this is communicated to all guests at check-in. This was a one-time partying group...we are very well known as a relaxing getaway and we do hope that you return for a better experience
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
herrington`s sierra pines hotel sierra city, herringtons sierra city pines hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSierra City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SIERRA PINES RESORT - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Sierra City, CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sierra Pines Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sierra Pines Resort?
Nearby attractions include Kentucky Mine Museum (1.3 miles) and Sorracco's Saloon (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sierra Pines Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sierra Pines Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Sierra Pines Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sierra Pines Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sierra Pines Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Herrington's Sierra Pines Resort Restaurant, Red Moose Cafe, and Mountain Creek Restaurant.
Is Sierra Pines Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Sierra City.
Are pets allowed at Sierra Pines Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sierra Pines Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and French.
Does Sierra Pines Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.