We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Expedia.com$69*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The worst customer service I have ever dealt with I booked 3 rooms for my Family and when they arrived the counter person tried to increase price for rooms from what I was given on line and then started raising his voice at my parents who are in their late 70's.. So i called and the counter guy hung up...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garielc2017
Carmel, California
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed September 3, 2016

Clean, comfortable, safe with all the amenities I needed. Flat screen, coffee maker, micro, hairdryer, iron/board, mini-fridge. Bed was super comfortable & management is kind & quick to help. My hairdryer wasn't working & they had a hand held dryer to my door in minutes. They serve a real breakfast with lots of choices. I slept in but grabbed fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
About Hotel's Favorite Review
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Thanks very much both for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Seaside, Susan. We are thrilled that you had such a comfortable stay with us, and that you experienced our good, service-focused hospitality.We do hope that you will be back in Monterey area, and we look forward to seeing you again when...

Benton Harbor, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melindabM6085JX
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Cameron Park, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was not as advertised -- booked a jacuzzi suite with a fridge & microwave -- at check in was told could only have jacuzzi or fridge & microwave, not both. First room assigned to us was way small and smelled. The did move us to a larger room that smelled cleaner. Had to wait at front desk for over...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Hi Deborah, We are very sorry that your stay with us was not as you anticipated. We apologize for the fact that your room did not have all of the facilities that you had requested, and for the inconvenience that this caused. We are also very disappointed that a member of staff did not provide you with the level of...

Fayetteville, Georgia
Reviewed April 16, 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank denisegI6694SW
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

-
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Food was left in microwave from previous guest never cleaned up---yuk...other belongings left in room should bin gone.....stains on pillows, hair on toilet seat, puss in toilet....I could go on n on

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markeO1679EJ
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are sorry that your stay was not perfect, and we apologize for any shortcomings in the cleanliness of your room. Our housekeeping team usually do a fantastic job in preparing our rooms for our guests, and we will let them know your feedback in relation to your room. We...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed April 13, 2017

The rooms don't look like the pictures but they are not horrible. You can hear what everybody is saying in their rooms the heater smelled like pee when you started it ok if nothing else is availabe

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nakia M
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your room did not have the appearance that you were expecting, but the pictures on our website are all of our rooms, but we do have a number of room types available. Thank you for your feedback regarding our heaters; we will be sure to address this immediately. Thank you for choosing to stay with...

Oakland, California
Reviewed April 13, 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mamagami
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Hayward, California
Reviewed April 13, 2017

This was supposed to be just a quick easy one night stay, at a hotel. 60 bucks, one night. I am a college kid and me and my girlfriend were staying here for the aquarium. We check in and the room smelled so much like smoke my eyes started burning, and the faucets didn't work. So we asked to switch...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeaOtter97
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. It is a shame that you were disturbed from enjoying your upgraded room by other guests. We apologize that we were unable to provide you with a great stay on this occasion, and we thank you for your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Oakland, California
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joyd232
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#4 of 13 in Seaside
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
5.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
1.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Address: 1893 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Price Range: $62 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Seaside Hotel Seaside
Howard Johnson Seaside
Seaside Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Santa Rosa, California
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the sweet rooms are really nice”
saitejamst, Mar 5, 2017 | Read review
“I am not sure there ARE any good rooms here.”
  • We had 2 towels for a room that sleeps 5. Both were stained. Gross.
  • Flooring is coming apart and you can see the mold around the door. Not to mention the dirt.
  • Smoke detector just hanging
  • Just some of the filth in the bathroom
  • More mold in the bathroom
91brem, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Bring earplugs and look down as you walk.”
499garye, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“We were in the back - did not hear a lot of noise, except when we first arrived - there was a couple arguing up on the second floor.”
RMPCW, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“The noise from upstairs was kinda loud, you may want a downstairs room if this bothers you.”
busymom3too, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$69* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$69
Travelocity$69
Priceline$69
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates