We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

When you pull up to the property it looks ok. The reason why we picked this place was because they had a jacuzzi in the room. As we walked in the room it looked ok at first, but I needed to use the bathroom. I turned the bathroom light on & the 1st thing I noticed was the sink was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
Somerset
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K1959TXelizabethd
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Rescue, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of THE worst hotels I have been to in years! I have no idea how it has a decent rating. The place is horribly outdated, dirty and is in a seedy neighborhood. My kids and I were in one of the "suite" rooms, The floors were dirty, there was mold in all the windows and bathroom. Grime...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bre M
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to read your review, which is not at all in keeping with the reviews that we usually receive. Our housekeeping team generally does a great job with our rooms prior to each guest checking in, and we do wish that you had let us know that you were so dissatisfied at the time. We would happily...

Monterey, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was average. It smelled like cigars. The area is not the best. Had waffles for breakfast. Below average stay.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susansZ1709GA
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Susan, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Whilst we are happy that you felt that your room was a good place to sleep, we are sorry that you weren't blown away by your experience with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we do hope that you might stay again if you are in...

Pacheco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The motel room was nice but carpet was old. There were ants around the sink and no kleenex. The hot tub was out of order and has no plans to reopen. The continental breakfast was stale and the desk person was obviously there overnight and in the morning came out into the breakfast room in bare feet and rumpled clothes.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank constancec336
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Whilst we are sorry that you didn't have a fantastic stay with us, which is what we want all of our guests to experience, we are happy that you enjoyed your room, and trust that you had a restful night with us. We appreciate your other feedback, and will speak to the relevant people to ensure that our staff represent...

Cypress, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanetteh2017
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Victorville, California
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G9310HUlydiam
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Monterey, California
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 514jennyferg
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir S
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
5.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Address: 1893 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Price Range: $60 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Seaside Hotel Seaside
Howard Johnson Seaside
Seaside Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Santa Rosa, California
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I am not sure there ARE any good rooms here.”
  • We had 2 towels for a room that sleeps 5. Both were stained. Gross.
  • Flooring is coming apart and you can see the mold around the door. Not to mention the dirt.
  • Smoke detector just hanging
  • Just some of the filth in the bathroom
  • More mold in the bathroom
 of 5 bubbles 91brem, 1 week ago | Read review
“Bring earplugs and look down as you walk.”
 of 5 bubbles 499garye, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“We were in the back - did not hear a lot of noise, except when we first arrived - there was a couple arguing up on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles RMPCW, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“The noise from upstairs was kinda loud, you may want a downstairs room if this bothers you.”
 of 5 bubbles busymom3too, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
“Go to another motel!”
 of 5 bubbles Nonno2000, Jul 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question