We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Gateway Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean Gateway Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The whole place was scruffy. The room was dirty and the carpets and walls in the corridors were stained and greasy. The towels and bedlinen were grubby. 'Breakfast' was a muffin. Couldn't wait to get away.

Helpful?
Thank glen577
OGI350, General Manager at Ocean Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We constantly strive to improve and will definitely focus and bring attention on the area(s) that you mentioned. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here a year ago and it seemed a nice enough hotel. my how things changed in the last year. The floors were dirty, the walls need paint, the bath tub/surround needs to be replaced and the bed wasn't comfortable. Needless to say, I would have given a lower score if I could. We won't be staying there again!

Helpful?
Thank George B

Travelers are raving about these Santa Paula hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

We stayed here cause everything else was full. The place is old but that should be no excuse to not maintain it or update the bedding. We got there and went to our room and it smelled bad like musty . The A/C was turned off and once we turned it on it smelled like melting plastic . So we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

Staff was friendly during booking and after arrival. Booked king 'suite' here as no other room available in area. Room was old and tired. Carpet was new though commercial utilitarian. Jacuzzi tub sit up size, shower head tall enough for a 5' person. Room fairly clean, though a few hairs, spots on walls, and fixtures needed attention. Had to ask... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonja K
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

We ended up staying here as it was the last hotel with room in the Ventura area. WHAT A GROSS PLACE. We paid $163 with tax for an outdated, very filthy room with two full/double beds. I arrived to find out that the room they had reserved for us "had a man inside it". The lady got her manager to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank aw0211
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

I stayed their 2 nites room smelled. Microwave had no plate walls dirty desk dirty.poop stains on bathroom wall. When i got home i had to take shower because i was very itchy on my hair. Never staying their again.

Helpful?
6 Thank aliciar12birth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

I am a budget traveler who wanted to visit Ojai but didn't want to pay the high prices for a room so I opted to room here in nearby Santa Paula. I was very happy with the great customer service provided by Mr Patel and his staff. I liked the large room that was fairly quiet and I slept well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ugogo22
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Thought we had a great deal last minute. We knew the hotel was going to be less than desirable but we needed a hotel. The front desk lady was very accommodating to us. We had the room in a matter of minutes. The next morning we left the hotel and left behind a beautiful white embroidery silk blouse by accident.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BJ O
California
Level Contributor
1,696 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 940 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

The Ocean Gateway Inn is a budget motel, so it's not fancy, but it is clean, has a pool, and is located next door to the best Mexican restaurant in Santa Paula. Try the chilaquiles for breakfast, or the mixed seafood bake for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank CarmichaelVentura
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
437 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

This place is a 1 star at best. Yes it's the number two hotel in town but it's a mess. I stayed once and will never be back. Ventura is 15 minutes away. Drive it you will thank me. Imagine a motel 6 built 30 years ago and not taken great care of. Now you know what to expect at... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Paula
1.5 mi away
Santa Paula Inn
Santa Paula Inn
#2 of 4 in Santa Paula
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Tavern Inn
Glen Tavern Inn
#1 of 4 in Santa Paula
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN la Posada Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
#3 of 10 in Camarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ventura
La Quinta Inn Ventura
#14 of 22 in Ventura
3.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
12.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Ocean Gateway Inn

Address: 350 S Peck Rd, Santa Paula, CA 93060-3030 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > Santa Paula
Price Range: $76 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gateway Hotel Santa Paula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay