We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 322: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good big room with bathroom & kitchen/dining, but noisy - poor sound insulation. Suites laid out around a central courtyard & pool, a la Melrose Place. No meals, no safe, no elevator. Minimal staff & service. 4 blocks to Santa Monica Boulevard, 6+ blocks to Santa Monica Pier & 1 block to the 3rd Street Promenade.

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey5063
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey, We thank you for your comments, We have minimal staff on after 8pm but please let us know what times you felt we needed more we are only a 36 suite hotel. We are ordering safes to be added to our room so on your next visit I hope you will see a change. Again thank you for... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed in the Cal Mar for 2 nights and this was our biggest regret. We had a great time in Santa Monica and wished we had booked to stay for a bit longer. It was great staying at the Cal Mar as our room was self-catering which enabled us to save a bit of money by cooking our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Faye H
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

We do thank you for your kind words and for letting us know where we need to make changes. We hope that you can come back and stay longer. More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two days. Its more like apartments not hotel rooms. Very spacious. Friendly staff. But THE most important thing about this property - location! Perfect location! Two blocks from the beach and two blocks from the shopping. Safe neighborhood. Lots of restaurants around. Older but clean and in good condition.

Helpful?
Thank lana2302
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us we appreciate your kind comments More 

dublin ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights. This hotel is a real throwback to the 70s so dont expect swipe door locks super air conditioned rooms. No blackout curtains and paper thin walls and ceiling. While we enjoyed our stay we did not enjoy the rip off car park fee of $34 a day for outside parking and $10 a day WiFi.... More 

Helpful?
Thank joeandterriroche
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we do try to make your stay enjoyable. Our prices are comparable with the other hotels in the downtown Santa Monica area and most hotels do charge for parking and our rates are lower that others. I will forward your comments to the ownership. More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hi just left the calmar on our way to San Fran stayed for 5 nights sept 1 until 6 sept , great budget hotel yes it is dated as a 50s style motel and yes it is , but what you get is a very very clean room and a lovely pool ,all the staff worked very hard and always... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidQ3761XN
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

We do strive to make you stay with us an enjoyable one. We appreciate your comments. More 

Northallerton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, I have rated this as 'terrible' purely because the hotel billed me twice for my stay. This shouldn't happen or be allowed to happen, and I see from other reviewers that it has happened before. Be very careful if you pay by credit card or debit card at this hotel. I stayed for two nights and paid using a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

We never bill twice but when I looked at your account I see that it was an authorization and not a charge, the + $20.00 in the authorization is always for any incidentals that might incur such as phone calls or wifi. I am pleased that the staff jumped on any mistake and corrected it. More 

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stay a king suite room, has kitchen including refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Our room has nice size of a balcony, just like one bed room apartment!! Grate location on the quiet street. Clean room. I has everything I wanted. The front desk was very nice. I will definitely stay here when I come back Santa Monica!

Helpful?
Thank mayE76ZF
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

This place was booked by an agent on our behalf- we were 2 couples travelling through California and were supposed to have 4 nights here for some down time. We thought we had 2 rooms, then realised upon check in that we had one apartment - not ideal but we thought again we had 2 rooms - nope - there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

I had a pleasant stay since everything was conveniently close. The Third Street Promenade, beach and Santa Monica Pier , however at the end I didn't realize they also charge you $31.00 per day to park your vehicle. No one explained this up front which I didn't appreciate.

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. The parking fees are listed when you make your reservation, sign your check in slip where we have you initial and when you receive the parking pass. We are no different than any other hotels in Santa Monica or anywhere else in the US, parking is very limited on the streets... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

The room was OK. Clean, close to stuff. My reason for 1 star is that the Hotel mysteriously charged my credit card again, two months later. A different amount, so i guess I paid for someone else's room. Two phone calls to a desk clerk and a controller, and clear instructions for the manager to call me got me nowhere.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack L
Douglas N, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review

It did take us a couple of days to find out what happened but finally did. Your reservation was entered twice but once on the day that you did stay and the other in same date in May. What made it hard to find the name was changed ex: William to Bill... and with that reservation and no one showing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (147)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (70)
Viewed
King Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighborhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Address: 220 California Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90403-3606
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: $219 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal Mar Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay