We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$539
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Traveluro
$495
View deal
Travelocity$539
Hotels.com$539
travelup.com$652
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (942)
Room & Suite (336)
Dining (61)

About

#17 of 38 in Santa Monica
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders Silver level

Welcome to The Georgian Hotel, your Santa Monica “home away from home.” The Georgian Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Nearby landmarks such as Santa Monica Yacht Harbor Sign (0.2 mi) and Santa Monica Looff Hippodrome (0.3 mi) make Georgian Hotel Santa Monica a great place to stay when visiting Santa Monica.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and you can stay connected during your stay as The Georgian Hotel offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge. Plus, The Georgian Hotel offers an on-site restaurant, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, parking is available.

While visiting Santa Monica, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Cassia, The Lobster, or Water Grill Santa Monica.

Should time allow, Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica State Beach, and 26-Mile Bike Path are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

The Georgian Hotel puts the best of Santa Monica at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2900Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,405
  • 989
  • 337
  • 110
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
tracywelsh325 wrote a review Jun 24
Narvon, Pennsylvania33 contributions15 helpful votes
The location of the Georgian is perfect, walking distance to everything! It is very charming, which is why we booked it months ago. I wish we would have been told about the renovations. Ozzyl (spelling!!??) at reception was absolutely amazing throughout our stay. He was accommodating, kind, and helpful. If it wouldn't have been for him, I probably would have only given 2 stars. The "lobby" is in the back of the hotel in a room with a make-shift desk, there is not a restaurant, and the terrace is closed. I just feel that the rates they are charging are for a full-service hotel, which this is not. The rooms that we had were VERY tired and the renovation very badly. I hope the next time we visit the hotel is in better shape than it is now. Thank you, Ozzyl, for making our stay pleasurable!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
nina n wrote a review May 2022
Baltimore, Maryland1 contribution
I have stayed at the Georgian multiple time, and love the large rooms, and the location is terrific. But considering that the lobby , terrace, and restaurant are closed, and there is construction going on from 9-5, I believe the room rates should be reduced and / or maybe waive the resort fee for now? This is a wonderful hotel but I’ll probably wait until everything is done. Edie I stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded 4 weeks ago
nknoble4, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback about your experience, especially during renovation. We will make sure to discuss with the appropriate departments. We are so glad you enjoyed your room and the location. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
EMT1311 wrote a review May 2022
Tucson, Arizona101 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
Fantastic location! The beach is right across the street. Short walking distance to 3rd Street Promenade, the Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica Place, and many restaurants. The staff is friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a room on the 8th floor (top floor, room 806, next to the elevator). We had a partial ocean view which was a nice surprise. The room itself is a good size. There is even enough space for a table with 2 chairs. We really appreciated the 2 luggage racks. It looked like there was a space in the dresser cabinet for a mini-fridge. It would've been nice to have one - I'm guessing it's by request or is an add-on to the room. The bathroom was very small, but since it's a historic hotel, it's understandable. There is a pedestal sink. To get around the lack of counter space, there is a long, narrow glass shelf right below the mirror. The shelf was slightly sloped, so we made sure to not put anything on the shelf above the toilet. If you need more counter space, there is a desk/vanity with a mirror in the room (w/a Keurig coffee machine). The only actual towel rack was located inside the bathtub/shower. We used clothes hangers to hang dry the towels in the closet. Also, for some unknown reason, the bathroom door would pop open if you didn't have the lock turned - which was startling since the toilet is located right next to the door! They started remodeling the lobby during our stay but we didn't hear any noise. Although the hotel is a bit dated, overall we had an enjoyable stay. Looking forward to their updates/remodel. If you like historic hotels, this is the hotel for you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Room 806 has partial ocean view but also overlooks some rooftops and is near the elevator. The...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded May 10, 2022
EMT1311, Thank you for taking the time to write a 4 star review on your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed our perfect location. While our hotel is full of history, charm, and great service, the renovation will only elevate a wonderful experience at The Georgian Hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
Schnorrer wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco, California17 contributions26 helpful votes
The Georgian has all the style and charm of a classic Hollywood-era hotel with modern comfort and convenience. Lovely architecture and a perfect location with modern bathrooms and plumbing. Our room was fresh and clean and had plenty of plugs for all of our gadgets. The only thing a bit "dated" was the elevators (they worked fine but a bit creaky.). This is a hotel where the staff will get to know you quickly and greet you when you return. The woman at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful and the valet was fast and very courteous. We have stayed here three times and will always return when we are in Santa Monica.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded Apr 26, 2022
Schnorrer, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled to see that you love our charming hotel and wonderful team! We cannot wait to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Alvaro Insa wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The stay at this hotel has been simply awful. I stayed at room 504 which is a suite with ocean view. The nightmare begun when I arrived on Thursday February 17th and with all sort of excuses I could not check in until 5pm in the afternoon. To make matters worst and with the excuse of COVID, today my room has not been cleaned because apparently you need to make a housekeeping request in advance (seriously) in order to have the room cleaned. All this “magnificent service” for the economical price of USD 700 per night. Certainly a hotel I will never come back in my life nor recommend to anyone I know. Regards Alvaro Insa
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded Feb 26, 2022
AlvaroInsa, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do find that due to COVID most guests prefer not to have someone enter their room for service, which is why we require the request before entering. This ensures the safety and comfort of our employees and guests. We are sorry that it impacted your stay in a negative manner. We truly apologize for the late check in. Hopefully you were still able to enjoy your time in Santa Monica while you were here and everything our hotel and location has to offer.
Read more
60745Mary wrote a review Feb 2022
Boston, Massachusetts129 contributions54 helpful votes
I stayed next door, at the Shore Hotel, and next time will upgrade to this hotel. The hotel is just exquisite, and architecture is unusual for this part of California. I did breakfast on the terrace, with a view of the beach, and loved the location of the terrace. The food was incredible, and the fresh juice worth the splurge!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded Feb 11, 2022
60745Mary, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed a beautiful and delicious breakfast on our Veranda. We can't wait to welcome you at The Georgian in the future!
Read more
LizCSimon wrote a review Feb 2022
Lima, Peru226 contributions41 helpful votes
Wonderful classic hotel recently maintained. Welcoming kind personnel. The hotel has its own bar and restaurant. It’s comfortable for more than one night. Good beds for a good sleep, sunny rooms across the beach so nice views every morning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Valet parking
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded Feb 4, 2022
LizCSimon, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled to see that you loved our beautiful hotel. We hope to see you again!
Read more
Jadranka P wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom518 contributions144 helpful votes
We loved the location, and the hotel .. but reception staff completely spoiled our experience. From the check in when we have explicitly asked in advance (by email several weeks prior our arrival) for the two rooms that our family booked for 2 nights to be near each other (we ended up with 5 floors separating us) till the check out when the receptionist charged our daughter for parking which we already paid (they knew we had only 1 car). For the hotel of this reputation this is unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Jadranka P, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We take the feedback of our guests very seriously and always work to improve the guest experience. We always try our best to accommodate requests, but unfortunately it is not something we can always guarantee. We are so sorry about the billing mistake, but I do see that it was removed at check out. We are so glad you enjoyed our location and hotel. We hope you give us another chance in the future.
Read more
drwatsonjd wrote a review Jan 2022
Dallas, Texas568 contributions112 helpful votes
+1
It was a decent stay. Check in was mostly painless. The lack of ramps made getting luggage to the room a pain. It's an older hotel, so noise from the elevator was a bit of a problem and the restaurant and bar closed way too early. Valet parking was insanely expensive and I feel like for the price point, the room was too small and the bathroom is just claustrophobic. The customer service was good and everyone was helpful. It seemed like the valet guy was pulling double duty doing something else so each time we had to wait a bit for him to come back outside to the stand when dropping the car off.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded Jan 16, 2022
drwatsonjd, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback about your arrival and departure experiences. We are always striving to make the guest experience better so hearing from our guests is imperative. It is great to see that you noticed how wonderful the team is here. We will make sure they are informed of how they impacted your stay!
Read more
phillytraveler07 wrote a review Dec 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania39 contributions35 helpful votes
Historic hotel that is modern enough to have all the conveniences to make your stay very nice. The location of the hotel is ideal as it is right across from the pier and steps away from the beach, restaurants, and shops. Breakfast was delicious. The staff was top notch...professional, friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. Thank you! This is not a budget hotel so the breakfast was pricey, but delicious and an ocean view table to begin our day
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were glad we splurged and got an ocean view room. Really made a difference to enjoy the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Del Rosario, General Manager at The Georgian Santa Monica
Responded Jan 6, 2022
phillytraveler07, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed our wonderful location, staff, and restaurant!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$417 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
georgian santa monica, georgian hotel santa monica
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta MonicaSanta Monica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Georgian Santa Monica
Which popular attractions are close to The Georgian Santa Monica?
Nearby attractions include Santa Monica Pier (0.2 miles), Santa Monica State Beach (0.2 miles), and Santa Monica Yacht Harbor Sign (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Georgian Santa Monica?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Georgian Santa Monica?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Georgian Santa Monica?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Georgian Santa Monica?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Georgian Santa Monica?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burger Lounge, SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa, and Tender Greens.
Is The Georgian Santa Monica located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Santa Monica.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Georgian Santa Monica?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Georgian Santa Monica?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Georgian Santa Monica offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Georgian Santa Monica?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.